Tweet talk

• Thread starter Thread starter MacMum

For people brought up in a footy culture where being a one club player meant something, it is hard to cop players leaving purely because they would prefer to be in their home town.

When these guys nominated for the draft, they knew the likelihood that their destination club would not be in their home state. This is part of the deal of being a professional Aussie Rules footballer.

I can't feel sorry for them when their actions will probably leave my club in a worse place. And I refuse to assume that there is some pressing personal reason for each of them needing desperately to get home because we have no evidence of that.

And before the response, I am also incredibly angry at the club for allowing a culture or environment to develop where so many players would prefer to be somewhere else.

I'm all for wrapping this all up into a financial transaction (because let's face it, that's the real motive for most of them leaving anyway).

I'll swap my calling them "The Mummy's Boys".......for them paying back the precious Development Spend we've now needlessly invested in them.

Of course any true "Mummy's Boys", will remain "Mummy's Boy's ( as will any welcher)

I have just put patfullfankezz on ignore, because I come on here to read about, & discuss football - and the Lions in particular but everything winds up about her. I do not care about everyone elses issues - I care about the Lions.

If you're going to ignore people that's up to you, but do we really need to hear about it?

Half the fun of supporting a sports team is hating opposition teams and players. These boys have decided to leave the club and will become opposition players soon. Have no problem with the hate and anger towards them.

Unless they decide to re-sign with us of course

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

Can we all agree to disagree?
I don't agree to that!

zvTRP.gif

I don't "feel sorry" for them, I just understand the reasoning why.

The thing is, there is a facility there for them to get home. I don't blame them for using it. Seriously, would you rather earn $200k and a fair flight from close family and friends or $200k close to family and friends? I know which one I'd pick

It sucks, but some of the comments I read here and elsewhere would make you think they murdered half the remaining playing group and slept with the other halfs wifes/girlfriends before leaving. Oh, and probably kicked a puppy too.

Earth to Lions fans: Being "homesick" (if that's what the reason is, personally I have my doubts) is NOT a crime. It's a fact of life.

And like I said on twitter, with fans like these, why wouldn't you rack off?

Actually, it's very similar. My employers pulled a LOT of strings to get me to Brisbane. And I'll happily piss on them (and the rest of the taxpayers) to get to where I want to be.

I also pissed on my ex-employers by leaving when I knew there was no way I'd ever get a transfer to Brisbane with them - I was outta there faster than these boys want to get out of Brisbane.

Like I said, there is a facility there for them to get home if they want to. And they are fully entitled to use it.
You secretly miss Toowoomba Kezz.;)

Look for the silver lining...get ready to BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Yeo when we play the Eagles at the Gabba,;)

Yep, I'll be taking great pleasure in absolutely giving it to Yeo, Doc, Longer (If he goes) and Karnezis (If he gets a game).

Polec maybe not so much, as I can understand with his injuries how he may just need a bit of a change.

Get real seriously. You following your parents down south is not even close to being the same as these homesick flogs nominating clubs and just Pissing on our club after we gave them their shot. **** them.

Well said...completely different circumstances and some are beyond precious it is laughable.

I have just put patfullfankezz on ignore, because I come on here to read about, & discuss football - and the Lions in particular but everything winds up about her. I do not care about everyone elses issues - I care about the Lions.

Well said, certainly a few on here that could be said of.:thumbsu:

Actually, I can see the sense in it. Do a "deployment" away from home for two years, get myself set up and established as a player and then go home with a better income and better facilities to take care of friends/family. It's a pretty smart move IMO.

It's not the best for the Club, but that's why we have a retention all...nevermind (thank you Eddie).

It's nothing to do with the retention allowance....This falls flatly at the feet of the club and those in the coaching group and above...AFL is a team sport it means making sacrifices for the ultimate reward "premiership glory"
...Setting yourself up for a 2 year deployment is not really the attitude needed for a team in rebuilding mode...It's piss weak...I'll pick on Longer for example..,here's a bloke who wants out because he can't see himself getting the opportunity. What's happened to the old thrive on challenges?.. the dare to live the dream..I will be better than those playing in this position...Sure these guys can play football but they're missing an important cog in their artillery... not prepared to go the extra mile..**** 'em!

You guys are revolting. What, you're going to start on me next because when my parents move down South I will more than likely be following them?

I normally enjoy your posts patfulfankezz but I reckon you are missing the point badly on this one. This is not about you and your personal history it is about some of us being bloody upset about losing a number of our young and up and coming players to the "go home" factor for bugger all in return. We have every reason to be upset about our Club being boned by these players. Let's not forget that the great man himself, Blacky, was from Perth and felt "home-sick" in his early years as well. So did Leppa and he stayed around through a knee reco as well. Blacky had the gumption to stick it out and look at the love and respect for him now.

Quite frankly, I think some of these blokes are way ahead of themselves and hence Rocky's tweet to that effect.

I would imagine, every single one of them sat before Kerr at interview and promised that they would be "over the moon" to come to Brisbane. Two years later, the going gets a bit tough and they want out. Whilst I accept that there will always be good reasons why people leave and move on, this still doesn't preclude me from being bloody upset, particularly when the draft picks we may be getting in return look dreadful.

I've got myself on ignore.

Nearly 60,000 posts and I've never read a single one.
If they're anything like mine, reading one should about cover it.

It is upsetting as a fan. I can see two sides to it. End of the day, they are human, and if they want to go home that badly, it's hard to make them stay, especially when they are staying to just probably play in the NEAFL. On the other side, 12 months in they seem to have made up their mind buy not signing a contract extension. They choose to play a national sport at the national level and enter a national draft. I'd like to think you'd give it a better shot than that, especially at such a young age, you are far from guaranteed senior games, or have these kids had their egos blown up too much about how good they are ? I then find it just a kick in the guts to have these players nominate the club they want to go to. This is a sport with a draft system, you don't just go play for who you want, if you don't like it, stay at your local leagues and get a real job.

I look at someone like Rocky, played 1 game in his first year (IIRC) and went away in his own time and busted his arse to get himself up to standard and hasn't looked back. Reports seem to be these guys haven't had the same gumption or dedication to make it happen. I also look at someone like Harwood who just kept working on his game, and has reinvented himself as a hard nosed rebounding defender to get to the next level. Boy this kid just seemed to have something special from the start, but never able to really get into the senior team. He didn't crack it and leave for better opportunity, he toiled away in the NEAFL, and look at him now, not in our best 22 at the start of the season, a vital cog down back heading into 2014.

I really don't know if these guys are that off put by our development and level of reserve grade that they feel like they can't get the best out of themselves here, and TBH, i think it might be a bit of that making the homesickness decision that much easier. They don't have family or friends up here for support, and the club doesn't seem to have the resources to really help those not in the senior team. Hopefully it's something we really work on going forward, as it is important, not just for interstate players, but for our academy kids as well, especially if we really do want 25% (or what ever it was) of our team to be made up of academy local players. On the flip side though, these boys have to turn into men at some point, and give it their all, and then go away and find how to do more. Our hard stance on senior selection might have cost us some high draft picks, but i'll take a player taken at 48 and gives everything and more and doesn't give up first try. That grit and determination allows players like Bushy tag a player like Buckley out of a GF.