Reminiscence

New York Rangers, Charlotte Hornets
Had a chat with one of my mates about the worth of Steinglein. Yes this is several years after he's gone, but my mate reakons he was a scrub of the highest order, while I seem to recall a pretty solid player.

For me, I only really started following Eagles heaps around 2009 or so and really picked up on footy knowledge then, although back then I did know that Rojo was an absolute champ for the Eagles :D. I seem to recall him being in the middle and HF kicking goals. I recall in 06 him kicking 3 goals in the comeback vs Geelong as well.

So was he a scrub, role player or an A grade middy?
And what made him retire? Forced or not.

Stenglein was vital during 2005/2006. His protection and blocking for Judd and co. was top notch. He was our defensive cog in a very attacking midfield.

He was one of our better players when were up the top. It was quite sad to see the end of his career though because had we not had the circus of a year (2007) players like Stenglein would only now be hanging up the boots along with Cousins. The only players that I feel really have the spark from the 06 era left are Kerr, Embers, Glass and Cox. Other than that the rest of our game changing players really will be the new breed :/

Our midfield and team took that next step after recruiting Stenglein and Chick who were both great players in their own right but more importantly were superb defensively. Highly underrated player was touted as the next captain of Adelaide IIRC.

tagging and the blocking around stoppages to get cousins, judd et al to the ball was very important. people who criticise players like these have no idea how football is played. teams dont win games only by doing things that are obvious or pleasing to the eye.

He was very underrated but like some players his career tailed off pretty quickly.

as others have said we had a very very attacking midfield, and the recruitment of Stenglein and Chick (in particular Stenglein as Chick was down back or on the HFF more than in the middle) was a vital defensive cog in that midfield.

Very few midfields can get around without having at least one lock down option and Stinger was the main man for us and one of the best in the competition.

was a real leader at the club.

and i don't think his attacking side was that bad either. in fact i know it wasn't. but with judd, kerr, embley and cousins around it just wasn't really needed. he still racked up 18 touches a game in 2006 and he usually used the ball reasonably well. from a pure attacking perspective someone like Michael Braun was not much better, but TS was a great stopper so that was his role in the team.

It was unfortunate to see how quickly he fell away.

and i don't think his attacking side was that bad either. in fact i know it wasn't. but with judd, kerr, embley and cousins around it just wasn't really needed. he still racked up 18 touches a game in 2006 and he usually used the ball reasonably well. from a pure attacking perspective someone like Michael Braun was not much better, but TS was a great stopper so that was his role in the team.

This is the key. Stenglein had very good skills and was a particularly good contested mark and reliable kick at goal. Such was the team-first nature of the player, he sacrificed his own game to make our midfield a complete unit. Had he been required to play as a creative midfielder, he would have been more than capable of doing so.

Still oved that hit on the Port player, can't remember who - should never have been rubbed out for it...

Couldn't believe he got rubbed out for this and don't believe he was the same hard nut when he returned.
Embley loved it at the time though :D

Was my favourite player until he fell away and retired. Was just an honest footballer, played the game on its merits and served well in our gun midfield.

fantastic player, was one of the crows best at the time of his departure to west coast. he really topped our midfield off as we were lacking a strong defensive midfielder.

you could rely on him to play well every week.

when the team starts to play shit, the tagger in the team looks pretty ordinary. he retired earlier than i would've thought. but it was the right decision as we had to move forward and play more youngsters. i think scott selwood has stepped up to assume his role.

yeah, you're mate is a knob though. we wouldn't have been so dominant in 05-07 if it wasn't for stenglein.

yep, no doubt he would've been the next captain after roo retired.

i think he came 2nd in their B&F in his last year at the crows too.

they done bloody well out of it though, scott thompson is a great player.

melbourne got dealt paul johnson and something else if i recall correctly?

Tyson was a great player for Adelaide - 106 games - B&F runner up in 2004. Won best team man in 2001. I loved watching him play, reliable and honest. A very good servant of the West Coast and Adelaide Football clubs.

Stinger was one of my favourites.

Wasnt a flashy player but just went quitely went about his business and played a vital role for us. Often went unnoticed aswell.

Hes the type of player that every team needed. He served a role and done it week in week out.

Was a shame to see him retire so early to be honest.

Stenglein dropped away really quickly, and that was a shame, but as others have said he was so important to our structure during our premiership assault. Also, as others have said his blocking for the more creative midfielders was first class, but the other thing was his negating effect against his direct opponent. In his prime, it wasn't unusual for Stenglien's direct opponent (who would have been an absolute elite player) to end up with single figure disposals for a game.

I thought he was overrated.

Did he job when he had the likes of Judd, Cousins, Kerr, Embley and Fletcher all playing and in form, however post-2007 he was exposed as just a tagger, who was slow and who's skills weren't polished.

I went on to Wiki to see how many games he had played for us (luckily 102 - so we're in with a chance for any father/son picks ;)), and found this:

Tyson Stenglein (born 16 July 1980) is an Australian rules footballer, who played for the West Coast Eagles in the AFL.

Someone rubbed out his Adelaide days from the title sentence (it does have a whole section on it later on though).

I thought he was overrated.

Did he job when he had the likes of Judd, Cousins, Kerr, Embley and Fletcher all playing and in form, however post-2007 he was exposed as just a tagger, who was slow and who's skills weren't polished.

But that is all he was. He was recruited as a tagger, with excellent blocking skills, however average overall skills. Nobody is saying he had the disposal of Aker. However, he was great at what he did, blocking and tagging. He never hurt the opposition the other way like a Kane Cornes though.