Analysis Umpires

Agree about the conditions on Sat night. My point stands though.. In any given game, in any State and in any weather condition, players will make significantly more errors than umpires that will influence the outcome of a game.
No different to league, union, soccer, basketball etc.

And it's not the criticism of umpires that is the issue, I have no issue with that.
it is the bullshit claims of bias, cheating and umpire insert name/number here hates Carlton that is laughable.
This rubbish is even more prevalent than you can imagine. Some will even suggest its driven by the AFL who have an against our club. As you say, laughable.

I don't think I've seen a carlton-geelong match for quite a while consequently I was pretty shocked to see selwood getting booed every time he got a kick (maybe not in moving play). This bloke has been booed his entire career. His entire career? It was something I struggled to place in the context of things.
I would say that it`s got to do with the fact that he seems to be on the AFLs "protected species" list (like Cotchin has always been as well....just ask Sheil about that one!) as far as him getting away with reportable acts that others get punished for, and he has made a career out of the "Selwood Shuffle" that Ginnivan seems to have adopted this year along with others. Selwood often takes cheap shots at guys when a pack forms and there are a lot of bodies around the ball, and last year he raked his fingers across a guys eyes and also punched him in the head but it was not even looked at, so people get down on him for that sort of stuff even though he has been a wonderful player throughout his career. It`s things like Hayes copping 2 weeks for an ordinary tackle that bloody Christian called dangerous, while the AFL seem to close their eyes to almost all of Selwoods` dodgy actions......just my take on it, but Selwood is not likely being booed for any Adam Goodes sort of reason is he......o_O

Agree about the conditions on Sat night. My point stands though.. In any given game, in any State and in any weather condition, players will make significantly more errors than umpires that will influence the outcome of a game.
No different to league, union, soccer, basketball etc.

And it's not the criticism of umpires that is the issue, I have no issue with that.
it is the bullshit claims of bias, cheating and umpire insert name/number here hates Carlton that is laughable.

yeah because history shows that people with power are not capable of any bias what so ever - ever...no game ever has been fixed , no ump ever has been found to be biased no official ever has been a crook or stupid or incompetent no player has ever cheated bet against their team .....

no no no ..it is all good

wakey wakey sunshine.:rainbow:

yeah because history shows that people with power are not capable of any bias what so ever - ever...no game ever has been fixed , no ump ever has been found to be biased no official ever has been a crook or stupid or incompetent no player has ever cheated bet against their team .....

There is absolutely corruption in sport.. Show me evidence of this in our game from an umpiring perspective?

images.jpeg-277.jpg

This rubbish is even more prevalent than you can imagine. Some will even suggest its driven by the AFL who have an against our club. As you say, laughable.
I am convinced the AFL have an agenda against us. No question in my mind. We are consistently strongly membered and attended despite our performance. They know the comp will be stronger if we are a mid tier club and bandwagon teams like Richmond and Essendon are strong

Please tell me this is a pisstake

There is absolutely corruption in sport.. Show me evidence of this in our game from an umpiring perspective?

View attachment 1450253

they are very very clever at hiding the troof mate - take protection now!

Please tell me this is a pisstake
It is not. The book, The Boys Club, is an interesting insight - when you have Essendon power brokers in the AFL, combined with modern day corporate advisory firms providing advice on how to maximise product revenue - I am certain that we are on a 'no need to do any favours for' list at AFL house.

So much positive and negative energy expended and nobody is right or wrong. There’s only one person who’s always right and that’s the umpire.

I’ve played a lot of footy and watched a lot of footy and I can’t remember an umpire saying during a game “Sorry guy’s I got that one wrong. What was I thinking?”

Good teams just get on with it. Bad teams bleat about it.

Once you’ve entered the world of not giving a shit about what the officials are doing you’re freed forever. It’s a marvellous feeling where you just concentrate on the game and when you win you celebrate how good you are and when you lose well you’re disappointed but there’s always next week.

It is not. The book, The Boys Club, is an interesting insight - when you have Essendon power brokers in the AFL, combined with modern day corporate advisory firms providing advice on how to maximise product revenue - I am certain that we are on a 'no need to do any favours for' list at AFL house.

Right, so if you take out *, the AFL only want to see us, of the other 17 clubs performing poorly?

Surprised they are allowing us to finish in the 8 this year

So much positive and negative energy expended and nobody is right or wrong. There’s only one person who’s always right and that’s the umpire.

I’ve played a lot of footy and watched a lot of footy and I can’t remember an umpire saying during a game “Sorry guy’s I got that one wrong. What was I thinking?”

Good teams just get on with it. Bad teams bleat about it.

Once you’ve entered the world of not giving a s**t about what the officials are doing you’re freed forever. It’s a marvellous feeling where you just concentrate on the game and when you win you celebrate how good you are and when you lose well you’re disappointed but there’s always next week.
It is the umpire fault, it couldn't possibly be us, we are perfect.

It is the mindset. How can we improve? Rather than finding an outside party to blame. Once you absolve yourself of the responsibility, there is no need to reflect on your own performance.

Umpires stuff up there are varying levels of ability. They aren't robots. The HTB and subsequent 50m against Docherty were terrible decisions. Even so, I would be more upset if the team or individuals in the team, were so disenchanted by a mistake that they allowed them to impact how they were playing.

It is the umpire fault, it couldn't possibly be us, we are perfect.

It is the mindset. How can we improve? Rather than finding an outside party to blame. Once you absolve yourself of the responsibility, there is no need to reflect on your own performance.

Umpires stuff up there are varying levels of ability. They aren't robots. The HTB and subsequent 50m against Docherty were terrible decisions. Even so, I would be more upset if the team or individuals in the team, were so disenchanted by a mistake that they allowed them to impact how they were playing.
leave that to the supporters.........

I think some hard conversations need to be had to all teams in regards to the spirit of the game. The AFL is concerned as to why numbers are dwindling, supporters are jaded and coaches/players circumventing the spirit of the rules and thus this makes the umpires also second guess a lot of stuff.

In finals or close games why do umpires revert back to a more spirit of the game approach to adjudication?

Right, so if you take out *, the AFL only want to see us, of the other 17 clubs performing poorly?

Surprised they are allowing us to finish in the 8 this year
Carlton, along with Collingwood, are well supported and attended clubs that do not require AFL assistance. In contrast, clubs like Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, GWS require constant AFL support to be viable. The Western Australian and South Australian clubs require no assistance but also aren't actively penalised. Minnow Victorian clubs such as St Kilda and North are largely treated with contempt, maintained financially but no great effort is made to support or hinder them on field. Richmond and Essendon are seen as the biggest bandwagon clubs and keen efforts are made to ensure these clubs are performing well in order to drive off field success. Due to the size and history of Carlton and Collingwood, the AFL will take measures to hinder Carlton and Collingwood if it will benefit Richmond or Essendon or one of the other small market teams.

I think some hard conversations need to be had to all teams in regards to the spirit of the game. The AFL is concerned as to why numbers are dwindling, supporters are jaded and coaches/players circumventing the spirit of the rules and thus this makes the umpires also second guess a lot of stuff.

In finals or close games why do umpires revert back to a more spirit of the game approach to adjudication?
I love the idea of this, even if I question it's application to the current status quo within AFL circles.

There's too much money in the game now for an intangible 'good for the game' approach to win over a coach's desire to keep their job. A coach is not simply going to 'let them play' if he can stifle the contest and drag it down into a shitfight in which his team has the best chance at victory they're going to get. And the AFL clearly understand this, which is why 6-6-6 is a thing.

Carlton, along with Collingwood, are well supported and attended clubs that do not require AFL assistance. In contrast, clubs like Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, GWS require constant AFL support to be viable. The Western Australian and South Australian clubs require no assistance but also aren't actively penalised. Minnow Victorian clubs such as St Kilda and North are largely treated with contempt, maintained financially but no great effort is made to support or hinder them on field. Richmond and Essendon are seen as the biggest bandwagon clubs and keen efforts are made to ensure these clubs are performing well in order to drive off field success. Due to the size and history of Carlton and Collingwood, the AFL will take measures to hinder Carlton and Collingwood if it will benefit Richmond or Essendon or one of the other small market teams.

Okay, so at this point the AFL haven't taken measures to hinder us (and Pies), given we currently sit in the 8.

Let me know when these measures are rolled out, to hinder us

you need to monitor your breakfast ingredients more closely - when you've done that - and only then - please bring me the evidence of afl games being fixed and/or umpires/players being in collusion and/or on the take - I shall then happily remove my support and any further interest in the game - thanks

I love the idea of this, even if I question it's application to the current status quo within AFL circles.

There's too much money in the game now for an intangible 'good for the game' approach to win over a coach's desire to keep their job. A coach is not simply going to 'let them play' if he can stifle the contest and drag it down into a shitfight in which his team has the best chance at victory they're going to get. And the AFL clearly understand this, which is why 6-6-6 is a thing.
Staging fines/warnings have been non existent most of the season (I can only recall LOB). Nothing wrong with giving the Ginnivan's, Selwood's, McKay's some please explains publicly, just to incite coaches and players into re-thinking strategy. We don't have to suspend/ban players yet but as ex-AFL players in commentary say, "the players adapt quickly". I get there may be some feedback to umpires at half time in relation to their adjudication, which is why suddenly you see Ginnivan not get frees, and the context of first half decisions seem to somewhat change at times.

It's time to give the game back to the people, beyond fixed price ticketing, cheaper food at the game, etc. The game is the selling point, the rest is just fluff. Invest in getting the mechanisms of what goes on in game right, the rest will work itself out a lot easier.

dff.gif

You only have to look so far as the AFL's corrupt free agency compensation for Daniher, compared against Jarrad Waite who we received NO compensation for.

Analysis Umpires