Umpiring

Jan 18, 2002
A bay at Rotto
East Rottnest
Watched the game on telly on Saturday night and didn't really notice the umpires. Yesterday a couple of mates (of the knitting needle variety) said that they thought the umpires gave a good run to the Dockers. I didn't bite as I hadn't noticed one way or the other.

I watched the tape last night, closely looking at the umpiring and felt that they let the game go and the players get the ball out of packs. They didn't seem to pay to many "tiggy" free kicks. Alot of players seemed to be holding the ball in and the handballing was regularly done one handed, but the umpires seemed to be consistent.

Any views?.

Originally posted by masai
Watched the game on telly on Saturday night and didn't really notice the umpires. Yesterday a couple of mates (of the knitting needle variety) said that they thought the umpires gave a good run to the Dockers. I didn't bite as I hadn't noticed one way or the other.

I watched the tape last night, closely looking at the umpiring and felt that they let the game go and the players get the ball out of packs. They didn't seem to pay to many "tiggy" free kicks. Alot of players seemed to be holding the ball in and the handballing was regularly done one handed, but the umpires seemed to be consistent.

Any views?.

I watched the game at a pub with a few dockers who turned out to be pretty good blokes. As an eagles supporter I thought the umpiring had no affect on the game and was overall pretty good.

Re: Re: Umpiring

Originally posted by Au_Blue#24
I watched the game at a pub with a few dockers who turned out to be pretty good blokes. As an eagles supporter I thought the umpiring had no affect on the game and was overall pretty good.
I think the bigger problem is that there were only 21 kicks paid all game. 5 per quarter. I want the umps to start rewarding the tackler (ie Pav should have gone, but they got a goal within a minute anyway), but protect the guy with the ball (Farmer's play-on in the square should have been either
a) push in the back;
b) not actually play on and take the kick from the mark; or
c) holding the ball,
but not
d) ball up. which is what the ump did call.
People want to see free flowing footy etc but not by replacing decisions with non-decisions (ball-ups).
Scragging in the forward line or at ball ups is another one where the umps just seem to flip a 3 sided coin to decide whether to pay a kick either way or just call play on. I know the players don't help things by locking arms and both grabbing, but it infuriates me to see arm holds and pushes not paid (to either side), but then a tiny soft jumper grab (easily seen, but has no effect on the contest) paid a kick.
But yes, apart from being averagely bad, the umps didn't affect the result. Our inability to punish their turnovers (how many times did we win the ball in the midfield but then couldn't hit a target up forward) stopped it from being a 5-8 goal drubbing, their turnovers and lack of talls stopped it from being a real nailbiter.

Re: Re: Re: Umpiring

Originally posted by ThePope
I think the bigger problem is that there were only 21 kicks paid all game. 5 per quarter. I want the umps to start rewarding the tackler (ie Pav should have gone, but they got a goal within a minute anyway), but protect the guy with the ball (Farmer's play-on in the square should have been either
a) push in the back;
b) not actually play on and take the kick from the mark; or
c) holding the ball,
but not
d) ball up. which is what the ump did call.
People want to see free flowing footy etc but not by replacing decisions with non-decisions (ball-ups).
Scragging in the forward line or at ball ups is another one where the umps just seem to flip a 3 sided coin to decide whether to pay a kick either way or just call play on. I know the players don't help things by locking arms and both grabbing, but it infuriates me to see arm holds and pushes not paid (to either side), but then a tiny soft jumper grab (easily seen, but has no effect on the contest) paid a kick.
But yes, apart from being averagely bad, the umps didn't affect the result. Our inability to punish their turnovers (how many times did we win the ball in the midfield but then couldn't hit a target up forward) stopped it from being a 5-8 goal drubbing, their turnovers and lack of talls stopped it from being a real nailbiter.

fair dinkum !! it was a great game and you blokes won.

How do you still manage a whinge is beyond me ??

Re: Re: Re: Re: Umpiring

True it was a great game very even nearly all night.
Maybe we have learned to whinge from "BIG BROTHER"!!!! up the road:) :D :p

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Umpiring

Originally posted by anchor man
True it was a great game very even nearly all night.
Maybe we have learned to whinge from "BIG BROTHER"!!!! up the road:) :D :p

you've caught on very well.

also - I thought you guys have taken over that BB title ??

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Umpiring

you've caught on very well.

also - I thought you guys have taken over that BB title ??

man all this brother stuff is really getting on my nerves. I actually like my siblings - an ingredient that I think is clearly missing when it comes to the weavils.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Umpiring

I didn't think it was a whinge, it was a general critisism of the current umpiring standard. I didn't say that they favoured one team or the other, I just said that I didn't think that they umpired in the best interests of the game (ie not my team, but to get the best game), that's my opinion, you can disagree.

Having a low-free kick fast flowing game is fine, but I don't think it was. It was a low-free kick, lots of ball ups game.

I've seen it posted elsewhere that I don't think the umps paid one holding the ball decision all night. Maybe it's just me being a half back flanker/back pocket player as a junior, but I like to see a decent tackle rewarded. They don't anymore. They reward dodgy touch tackles after prior opportunity, tackling ruckmen after bounces and if you try to bounce the ball whilst being tackled. That's it.
I blame Robert Harvey. He started the whole get tackled, put your arms up, look around for a teammate, handball off. He was strong enough to do it. Now the umps expect players to do likewise and unless there has been prior opportunity, won't call a holding the ball.
They forget that the first rule is that when tackled, you must try to dispose of the ball. If it's trapped, then it's a ball up. If it is knocked free, then if you've had prior opportunity, it's holding the ball, other wise it's play on. If it isn't trapped and you simply fall to the ground without trying to get rid of it, it's also holding the ball. This is never paid anymore (saw 1 a few weeks ago, haven't seen any others this year.)

Same with the holding the man - the arm locking, which actually affects the play isn't paid, the jumper pulling that does nothing to the play is paid.

Umpiring was good . Idgive a score of 9/10

BUT...............

They got the Farmer play on decision all wrong. If you look at the replay Farmer did not even deviat of his line after the mark was taken & was pushed in the back .
At the other end in the 3rd Qtr Freo Shot on goal and was punched through by i think Glass , the kick was straight & a point was awarded the thing that irked me & the guys near me is that Glass got a fist to it a good 2 feet over the line !!

Originally posted by Freo Hitman
Umpiring was good . Idgive a score of 9/10

BUT...............

They got the Farmer play on decision all wrong. If you look at the replay Farmer did not even deviat of his line after the mark was taken & was pushed in the back .
At the other end in the 3rd Qtr Freo Shot on goal and was punched through by i think Glass , the kick was straight & a point was awarded the thing that irked me & the guys near me is that Glass got a fist to it a good 2 feet over the line !!

I shouldve written aswell while I was here , yes Pavlich was holding the ball in the last qtr

if umpiring was like that every game they'd be no worries.

my only complaint is a few tackles from behind going straight down that weren't paid as pushes in the back. i think the umpires took the "keep the ball in the pack going" just a bit too far and wouldnt call anythind where the ball was in a pack unless it was clear cut.

i've seen worse.... cant recall seeing much better though.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Umpiring

Originally posted by ThePope
If it isn't trapped and you simply fall to the ground without trying to get rid of it, it's also holding the ball. This is never paid anymore (saw 1 a few weeks ago, haven't seen any others this year.)
If you saw the Carl vs Melb game, Ryan Houlihan got pinged for this... that makes 2 this year.
It's in the "what's your decision" video section on afl.com for those with bigpond access to the videos.

The umpires didn't help you guys out yesterday. I am sure you guys would have won the match against the saints if the umpires were on your side.

Originally posted by goaldrush
The umpires didn't help you guys out yesterday. I am sure you guys would have won the match against the saints if the umpires were on your side.

No excuse - St Kilda were the superoir team , But I am sure Jeff Goosen is gonna get a call from the FFC this week.

Why?

Originally posted by Fred
Why?

Just to get an interpretation of some rules.
Like for one incident in the 2nd qtr Simmonds goes for a mark and is clearly scragged with arms over the shoulders and everything , St Kilda clear I forget who it is but same situation same umpire 4 seconds later , free kick St Kilda.
Sandilands is continually r*ped week in week out & when he responds what happens , free kick to the other team ???

We Need some Interpretation.

Just to get an interpretation of some rules.
Like for one incident in the 2nd qtr Simmonds goes for a mark and is clearly scragged with arms over the shoulders and everything , St Kilda clear I forget who it is but same situation same umpire 4 seconds later , free kick St Kilda.
Sandilands is continually r*ped week in week out & when he responds what happens , free kick to the other team ???

We Need some Interpretation.
I am pretty sure that Fremantle were given a rule book. I don't know if the Dockers were given any sheets/videos on interpretations of the rules.

I will have a look at what Sandilands does to cause the freekicks to go to the opposition side.

It has to be a problem with Sandilands. I know that he is a tall bugger and all that. But he can't hold or anything like that.

I'm not to upset about the umpiring, not too sure why we got pinged, but the we got charities later, that's life.

There was a massive booboo in the second quarter when Gehrig was paid a mark on the boundary line. It was juggled clearly over the line by along way, the boundary ump said it was over but the field ump said he knew better.

Clearly a mark. Even the local commentators agreed.

Yeah, that was a mark.

But I still can't ignore the Guerra incident. He JUMPED to hit schammer, clearly all intentions for the man and the dirty thug should be suspended. Rules state that your feet cannot leave the ground when laying a bump otherwise it is deemed highly dangerous and illegal, a reportable offence for charging.

Originally posted by Kapow!!!
Yeah, that was a mark.

But I still can't ignore the Guerra incident. He JUMPED to hit schammer, clearly all intentions for the man and the dirty thug should be suspended. Rules state that your feet cannot leave the ground when laying a bump otherwise it is deemed highly dangerous and illegal, a reportable offence for charging.

The rules don't state any such thing. It was a shoulder to shoulder bump with no suggestion of high contact.

Yes they do. When you're applying a shoulder to shoulder bump, there is no reason for your feet to leave the ground. That's why the AFL outlawed that ages ago because it was a "dangerous manuvour that can endanger the player"

Umpiring