Umpiring

What I found frustrating is that every time we got on a role of about 2 - 3 goals, Geelong would get some bullcrap free kick. A lot of the time they were holding the ball decisions against us when our players were getting their tackled around the head.

First 3 goals from the Cats were the result of ridiculous interpretations of the current rules.

The umpires always fall for the "benefit of the doubt" factor with top teams/players. Brisbane recieved it in early 2000's. The umpires have got to stop being starstruck by the Abletts, Selwoods, Judds etcc... and umpire to the rules not the type of player that they think they are.

Ablett never getting pinned for holding the ball has been a regular discussion on BF for years. He is also the biggest sook on the few ocassoins he does get penalised - does he know the Brownlow if the Best and FAirest:rolleyes:

Let's face it, Geelong don't get challenged very often, and when you win by an average of 70 points it is a waste of time, pointing out the inconsistencies of the umpires. When they finally got challenged and won by two points all those glaring inconsistencies came under the spotlight.

A couple I noticed, - Crossy being cannoned into by Rooke, and he gets a free, Ablett being spun and then Ward let go, but Ablett pretended to keep spinning, should have been a free kick but instead they paid a 50 metre penalty that resulted in a goal. Aker being held has been well documented, so I won't bother going into that, but how about Gia been knocked into the camera - should have been a free. As for Ling he was all over Cooney and Cooney only received on free for the game. Imagine if it was the reverse on Ablett:eek:

To get some perspective of how bad it was - we did not get a single free in the third quarter - we were 7 frees at half time and still only 7 at three quarter time - while they were 19 or so.

I wanted to watch a good game of footy, and I think we should have could have won that game - and the honest Geelong fans know that they skipped a bullet.

I take it you don't get along to many games?
The first half umpiring was a disgrace. If you are going pay soft free kicks one way in the first quarter, pay them the other way in the last.
No way would we have to fight back from so far down had the umpiring been consistent. In fact we probably would've been in front most of the game.

Anyone who says umpires can't influence the result of a game is living in La La Land.

Actually I've been to 90% of games for the last 8-9 years (excluding interstaters). According to you I am in La-La land but blaming things on the umpires is for sooky-La-La's if you ask me. All teams get bad and good decisions and in the end they mostly even out. Do you think the players sit around all week after a loss whining about all the bad decisions they got? Of course they don't, they get on with it, and so should you.

I see in an article in the Herald Sun that the umpires are going to review the last moments of the game where Johnson wasn't allowed to play on. They know this was the right descision and are going to review something which they know is right - very brave of them!!! How about reviewing how Wojsinski can ran 20 metres take a bounce be run down, tackled and dispossed yet the call was play on, a disgrace. How about review the massive varation in interpration of the rules between each quarter and half of the game, again a disgrace. How can umpiring interations vary so much in the one game? Time to get a grip AFL, the umpiring standard is bordering on embarassing. Time for a total review of the umpiring department and make them professional in this professional league.

I don't want to complain about umpires because it's for w***ers but I must say, the umpiring really was terrible as the 'yellow magots' love being starstruck by the likes of Gary Ablett and his mob. The Bulldogs were the better team in the end, not Geelong and we should have won but we were robbed by the influence of the shocking umpiring.

I see in an article in the Herald Sun that the umpires are going to review the last moments of the game where Johnson wasn't allowed to play on. They know this was the right descision and are going to review something which they know is right - very brave of them!!! How about reviewing how Wojsinski can ran 20 metres take a bounce be run down, tackled and dispossed yet the call was play on, a disgrace. How about review the massive varation in interpration of the rules between each quarter and half of the game, again a disgrace. How can umpiring interations vary so much in the one game? Time to get a grip AFL, the umpiring standard is bordering on embarassing. Time for a total review of the umpiring department and make them professional in this professional league.
Don't be silly. Why would the AFL want to review the umpiring department when they are perfectly happy with their inept decision making and 'spotlight hogging.':rolleyes:

Spot on. You can imagine them all in the showers after the game, patting each other on the back, telling each other how well they umpired and how they let the game flow in the last quarter by putting the whistle away...MORONS I tell you. A free kick in the first quarter is the same as a free kick in the last quarter. Goals from free kicks still have the same impact on the scoreboard in the first quarter as they do in the last quarter. The AFL is weak, it will never ever come out and look as though they are not in support of the umpires or think that their performance has been sub-par.

Ablett never getting pinned for holding the ball has been a regular discussion on BF for years. He is also the biggest sook on the few ocassoins he does get penalised - does he know the Brownlow if the Best and FAirest:rolleyes:.

He didn't complain at all when he got pinged in the first quarter...

Let's face it, Geelong don't get challenged very often, and when you win by an average of 70 points it is a waste of time, pointing out the inconsistencies of the umpires..

That's true.

A couple I noticed, - Crossy being cannoned into by Rooke, and he gets a free...

Cross heard him coming, ducked his head and went into a foetal position and didn't dispose of the ball. Perfectly correct call.

Ablett being spun and then Ward let go, but Ablett pretended to keep spinning, should have been a free kick but instead they paid a 50 metre penalty that resulted in a goal.

Pretended to keep spinning, hahaha. I don't think the free was really there, but that's gold.

...Gia been knocked into the camera - should have been a free.

For running into a camera?

As for Ling he was all over Cooney and Cooney only received on free for the game. Imagine if it was the reverse on Ablett:eek:

Lucky to get that one really, it was pretty soft.

To get some perspective of how bad it was - we did not get a single free in the third quarter - we were 7 frees at half time and still only 7 at three quarter time - while they were 19 or so.

Meaningless.

I wanted to watch a good game of footy, and I think we should have could have won that game - and the honest Geelong fans know that they skipped a bullet.

Nah.

Don't want to sound patronising or rub it in, I love the doggies and if we don't win I hope you guys do, but just had to reply to that.

Great game on Friday, hope we get the same again in Rd 21. Callan Ward is going to be a gun.

Fact-Umpires can influence results. Bulldogs would have won with fair umpiring.
eg 1st qtr free against Morris to Johnson for holding paid (goal), 4th qtr free to Aker against Johnson for holding not paid, Y??????

Cats 4 goals from free kicks - Dogs None, dogs lose by 2 points.

Sour Grapes! Definately, all we ask is for a level playing field!

Lunch Lady Doris- Bartel gets an 80 point reprimand for a trip, yet the umpires wouldn't even pay Higgins a free kick because it was in front of the Bulldogs goal.

If Bartel contests the trip and he is still found guilty would he get a week or is he still under 100?

I like the Cats, I reckon they are a sensational side and blokes like Ablett and Bartel are champions of the game and champion blokes. I do however think that Ablett gets a reasonable run from the umpires and I do also think we were on the wrong side of the umpiring whip given that the frees with the most impact were all paid to Geelong and all paid in the first quarter whereas the men in yellow shoved the whistle where the sun don't shine for the last quarter. There were frees in the last that should have been paid the Cats' way as well but all in all I reckon we copped it worse than they did over the whole game. Johnson was basically riding Aker in the last minute of play like a randy donkey and it was right in front of the umpire but her refused to pull the whistle out and blow it...there were a number of other should haves but in a 2 point game it did cost us. If it was a 5 goal game then you could say that the umpires didn't have an impact but in this case, they did :thumbsdown:

If Bartel contests the trip and he is still found guilty would he get a week or is he still under 100?

I like the Cats, I reckon they are a sensational side and blokes like Ablett and Bartel are champions of the game and champion blokes. I do however think that Ablett gets a reasonable run from the umpires and I do also think we were on the wrong side of the umpiring whip given that the frees with the most impact were all paid to Geelong and all paid in the first quarter whereas the men in yellow shoved the whistle where the sun don't shine for the last quarter. There were frees in the last that should have been paid the Cats' way as well but all in all I reckon we copped it worse than they did over the whole game. Johnson was basically riding Aker in the last minute of play like a randy donkey and it was right in front of the umpire but her refused to pull the whistle out and blow it...there were a number of other should haves but in a 2 point game it did cost us. If it was a 5 goal game then you could say that the umpires didn't have an impact but in this case, they did :thumbsdown:

I agree that the interpretations in the last quarter compared to the first were ridiculous. If they want to put the whistle away, they should do it for at least the whole match, even better for the whole season. It is confusing for the spectators, imagine how the players feel.

With the Aker one, are you forgetting the play that led to Aker's previous goal, where he grabbed Johnson's jumper at the front, ripped him down and put him on the ground, leaving him free to lead and mark? Fair's fair mate.

It's a bit easier when you can watch the replay mate.

You scored a goal from that piece of play anyway!

The whole stadium (except the umpires) saw the trip and booed.

The fact that we were good enough to kick a goal after that is irrelevant. It was an obvious free that was missed.

With the Aker one, are you forgetting the play that led to Aker's previous goal, where he grabbed Johnson's jumper at the front, ripped him down and put him on the ground, leaving him free to lead and mark? Fair's fair mate.[/QUOTE]

Aker said on Before the game he did that because he was sick of Johnson holding him all the time. Fair's fair and then there is how the umps favoured the cats on Friday night. Just admit it.

Anyone who doesn't think the umpires influenced friday's game is kidding themselves....Geelong had 5 goals direct from umpires decisions & most if not all were very soft.

with reasonable umpiring dogs win & all neutral supporters i've spoken with think this.

its not geelong or their supporter's fault they are getting these decisions or having their tagger get away with more muggings than downtown LA but it doesn't mean the rest of us have to like it or stay slient about it.

if no fuss is made about these things nothing will ever change.

anyway, time to move on--we can play much better than we did fri because we still turned the ball over too much.

we lost the battle but we have not lost the war.....

Aker said on Before the game he did that because he was sick of Johnson holding him all the time. Fair's fair and then there is how the umps favoured the cats on Friday night. Just admit it.

Of course he's going to say that. And he got away with it didn't he?

I thought the early free to Chapman was soft, but he was hit in the head. He may have taken the mark anyway if not for the contact, but it will go in the book as a goal from a free kick.

Lunchlady Doris, to quote Mr Football who also happened to be a Dogs champion - "Winners are Grinners and Losers can just please themselves."

Hopefully this loss will only marinate the dogs determination to knock your mob off this year - so good luck to you and your team.

Of course he's going to say that. And he got away with it didn't he?

I thought the early free to Chapman was soft, but he was hit in the head. He may have taken the mark anyway if not for the contact, but it will go in the book as a goal from a free kick.

Of course Aker is going to say that because it happens to be the truth, yes he did get away with it just like Johnson, that doesn't make it right. Just emphasises the point about poor umpiring.

And the early free to S. Johnson against Morris, also went down in the book as a goal. No way he was going to mark it anyway. Cats won, good on them, but dogs were very hard done by.

Umpiring