Unique Crows Record

• Thread starter Thread starter D_One

Read my post again. 01-03 was not wasted for our team. It resulted in a GF and a premiership in 04. I would take 3 years of final failures if it led to a premiership in the fourth. Every single time.

2007 hurt us. Not denying it. Hurt us in 2008, but we will finish stronger than last year. What the last two years has done has highlighted some weaknesses in our gameplan which we are taking steps to address.

For the record, Crows will finish between 3-16. No Grand Final appearance this year. :thumbsu:

05-06 was not wasted for our team either, we went into it expecting to struggle to make the finals and ended up giving valuable finals experience to those who will be leaders of the club for our next flag (VB, Reilly etc).

I find it hillarious that a club that is supposedly about pride and fighting would try to knock a club that actually goes about business in that manner.

Port talk about it, Adelaide live it.

Fight to win every time you pull on the jumper, that is pride. Port don't have that.

3 and 16 eh, You must really know your stuff if you're willing to be that specific :rolleyes: Also funny that you use grand final appearances - port's measure of success is it?

05-06 was not wasted for our team either, we went into it expecting to struggle to make the finals and ended up giving valuable finals experience to those who will be leaders of the club for our next flag (VB, Reilly etc).

Valuable finals experience? 2-4 under Ayres. 2-5 under Craig. about six years ago, that wasn't called valuable. That was called a monkey. This is not the Blight team anymore. This Crows outfit is still waiting for its 2004 moment. There is not one club who "owns" the choker tag - if there was, it probably belongs to Collingwood. The Crows are just another one now, don't fool yourself.

I find it hillarious that a club that is supposedly about pride and fighting would try to knock a club that actually goes about business in that manner.

Unless we're talking about grand finals. In that case, it's better to talk about it than actually live it, apparently. The Crows get mocked for making finals and losing them, Port Adelaide gets mocked for winning finals but getting smashed in one big one. Most of us have been arguing since 2007 that the game was better to live than just to talk about . . .

Absolutely wasted. Your club has been on the decline since then, and nowhere near challenging for a flag.

Fight to win every time you pull on the jumper, that is pride. Port don't have that.

3 and 16 eh, You must really know your stuff if you're willing to be that specific :rolleyes: Also funny that you use grand final appearances - port's measure of success is it?

I've said nothing about GF appearances being a measure of success, but you realise you actually have to make the last game of the season in order to contend for a premiership? 6-12 is more likely. But I'm pretty certain Crows will not be appearing in a GF this year.

Unless we're talking about grand finals. In that case, it's better to talk about it than actually live it, apparently. The Crows get mocked for making finals and losing them, Port Adelaide gets mocked for winning finals but getting smashed in one big one. Most of us have been arguing since 2007 that the game was better to live than just to talk about . . .

So you agree that this talk about "The Creed" is nothing more than talk from Port and that if anyone embodies the spirit for which that is supposed to stand it is Adelaide.

Absolutely wasted. Your club has been on the decline since then, and nowhere near challenging for a flag.

I've said nothing about GF appearances being a measure of success, but you realise you actually have to make the last game of the season in order to contend for a premiership? 6-12 is more likely. But I'm pretty certain Crows will not be appearing in a GF this year.

We have played 2 seasons since 06 with results of 8th then 7th, hardly a decline. Port on the other hand have enjoyed a highly successful slide to 12th.

Yeah you have to make the grand final...how do you do that from 12th again?

Wow, big call picking the Crows not to be in the GF :rolleyes: You realise you could draw a team at random and say that and still have an 87.5% chance of being right? you've really shown a test of your knowledge there, lol.

So you agree that this talk about "The Creed" is nothing more than talk from Port and that if anyone embodies the spirit for which that is supposed to stand it is Adelaide.

Well, no. The Creed demands total devotion to the cause from players, coaches and management. The powers that be in the Crows heirarchy don't give a flying f*** about winning premierships so long as they maintain their market share.

My point about "living it" still stands. We lived the Grand Final, you say that's not good enough. You would rather just talk about it. But continually going nowhere in finals is worth living, rather than talking about.

???

Well, no. The Creed demands total devotion to the cause from players, coaches and management. The powers that be in the Crows heirarchy don't give a flying f*** about winning premierships so long as they maintain their market share.

My point about "living it" still stands. We lived the Grand Final, you say that's not good enough. You would rather just talk about it. But continually going nowhere in finals is worth living, rather than talking about.

???

LOL, That is exactly what the Crows are and the Power aren't.

Aim to win every game and you will get flags. Giving up half way through the season gets you Richmond/Port.

You didn't bold the important sentence. The present has been the only focus at West Lakes for quite a while now. It's unrealistic, and without a damn good football department it won't win you flags, and it isn't winning you flags. It must come from the top, since it has been ten years and two coaches of this crap. You're just another poor gullible fool swallowing another load of Triggy's creamy PR goodness. He's a marketing man with a Cornflakes degree, and boy do you buy what he's serving.

And Richmond haven't played in a Grand Final for 30 years. That last line was utterly meaningless.

You didn't bold the important sentence. The present has been the only focus at West Lakes for quite a while now. It's unrealistic, and without a damn good football department it won't win you flags, and it isn't winning you flags. It must come from the top, since it has been ten years and two coaches of this crap. You're just another poor gullible fool swallowing another load of Triggy's creamy PR goodness. He's a marketing man with a Cornflakes degree, and boy do you buy what he's serving.

And Richmond haven't played in a Grand Final for 30 years. That last line was utterly meaningless.

We shall see, I wonder what you'll be saying when 2>1 becomes 3>1

Are you seriously that naive?

2002, 2005, 2006 all genuine chances as 01,02 & 03 were for Port.

We took an ordinary team that close to a flag, we're putting together a decent list now, we will win a flag or 3 before you losers do.

Careful, sekaj will get a hold of you for trying to predict the future.

Looking forward to the Power quitting in Round 13 again this year. Apparently, quitting gets you closer to a premiership than playing finals.

I wonder why the Power quit so easily. Must have something to do with the Creed. :thumbsu:
Rediscovered the cut-and-paste function hey sekaj?

We have played 2 seasons since 06 with results of 8th then 7th, hardly a decline. Port on the other hand have enjoyed a highly successful slide to 12th.

Wow, big call picking the Crows not to be in the GF :rolleyes: You realise you could draw a team at random and say that and still have an 87.5% chance of being right? you've really shown a test of your knowledge there, lol.

http://finalsiren.com/AFLLadder.asp?AFLLadderTypeID=2&SeasonID=1996&Round=22-1&Go=Go

LOL, That is exactly what the Crows are and the Power aren't.

Aim to win every game and you will get flags. Giving up half way through the season gets you Richmond/Port.

We've done that recently (2004) - when did you guys last do that again?

???

Yet they still won them. Imagine if we started trying! Stupid comment. We also don't need to do anything to maintain our market share, what is going to diminish it? the 36ers? Thunderbirds? United? certainly not Port - you can't convince all the Magpies supporters to follow you - so much for the 'guaranteed 35,000 per game' you promised the AFL. Our market share doesn't take much to maintain, in our worst year (our second) we averaged 38,000+ home attendance. Unless you are playing us you don't even get that through the gate let alone average it. Where are all these passionate, live for football, die hard, creed driven supporters driven like their team supporters?

But you're right you can't win flags unless you make the GF, but you don't want to be the team that finishes 2nd, 13th, 3rd, 14th, 2nd, 11th, 4th, 12th either, just ask Melbourne, OK one year a dogs breakfast the next. It's about sustained performances year in year out to make the finals to give you the chance to win, that's what made West Coast and North the two best clubs in the 90's albeit neither of them won more flags in the 90's than Adelaide. But we weren't consistently good

Our club has produced premierships, day and night, a brownlow medallist, a Century goalkicker, a multitude of AA's, AA captains and soon to be our 4th 300 gamer, only the 40th player in the history of the game to play 300 for one club - not bad for a Corporation. We've always been tipped to finish dead last each year since Craig took over full-time, but we've managed to keep making finals despite what everyone calls a crap list with no forward line, sure we haven't had real success recently but it's better than finishing in the bottom 5. My club has always been good value for my money. I've been to both GF's, 4 Night GF's, and every home game bar the Carlton game in 1997 and the Melbourne game last year, and probably 30 or so games interstate, in Melbourne, Perth, Brisbane and Sydney.

What's better to flog on about 139 years of history most of you know less than about than you'd care to admit, or be part of your Club's history. I enjoy the fact I have seen every game my club has played, those who think we are jealous of Port's now somewhat manufactured and compromised history are deluded. It means nothing when you are screaming over the boundary, at least there is someone over the boundary at our games to throw the ball back when it goes over the fence.

You've done it once in 12 years, twice in 18 is better. Therefore we're better.

I dunno. Horses for courses, but Adelaide enjoyed a far friendlier finals system in 97-98 than Port did 01-05.

This much is undeniable. Not sure you can directly compare given the obvious differences.

there are no asterisk's in the record book tho' and that is all that matters in the end.

Yep. Hence Fitzroy's 1916 flag where they finished bottom of a 4-team wartime league with just the two wins, only to come good in the 4-team finals series to win the flag is counted as the equal of any VFL/AFL flag and superior to any WAFL/SANFL one.

No really. 5 and a half wins, a wooden spoon and a flag!

But I digress...

I just think it's trite to use it as a definitive guide to superiority, especially in this case when the post-1999 series is far more unforgiving and brutal as Port and Adelaide have both discovered.

well the Vicentric flogs might like to believe it means more than the 76 SANFL flag or the 81 WAFL flag but we know better.

They are also the same tools who reckon Glenn Archer is the toughest bloke to play the game when they didnt see guys like Ray Hays or Ken Eustice and guys like Gavin Brown deserve to be Hall of Famers over the likes of Carey, Bagshaw and Davies

It's certainly a decline from 06 is it not?

Do you really think you've got the goods to make a GF? Even top 4? Adelaide spend year after year with the simple goal of playing finals, not winning them. There doesn't seem to be any rebuilding and no genuine up and coming match winning talent.

What's better to flog on about 139 years of history most of you know less than about than you'd care to admit, or be part of your Club's history.
Ummm... both? :cool:
PS A lot of us know a lot more about our club's history that you'd care to admit.

I enjoy the fact I have seen every game my club has played, those who think we are jealous of Port's now somewhat manufactured and compromised history are deluded.
Good on you for supporting your club, but do you see the childishness in the second part of your statement?
It's like a kid not getting a bat at school cricket, and shouting "I don't wanna play your stupid game anyway".:cool:
If you don't care, show us you don't care.

It means nothing when you are screaming over the boundary, at least there is someone over the boundary at our games to throw the ball back when it goes over the fence.
Sure, go for the "crowds" backup, as if it makes our history any less relevant. If that doesn't work, try 119!!

Ummm... both? :cool:
PS A lot of us know a lot more about our club's history that you'd care to admit.

Good on you for supporting your club, but do you see the childishness in the second part of your statement?
It's like a kid not getting a bat at school cricket, and shouting "I don't wanna play your stupid game anyway".:cool:
If you don't care, show us you don't care.

Sure, go for the "crowds" backup, as if it makes our history any less relevant. If that doesn't work, try 119!!

You've never heard me harp on about that as an issue, someone always going to have a record, used to be Melbourne, it wont last forever.

And as for not caring, no one cares that Adelaide is younger, its pretty obvious in context to the Port history if you look at it in a simplistic way. Why does the Port thread say Port Adelaide - est 1870? why does the jumper say 1870? the Port supporters are more paranoid about it than anyone else. Hence the response you get and not just from Crows fans. Its that inferiority complex of trying to 'out do' the others that makes the Vics look down on us.

The crowd has nothing to do with your history, your history wont bring the crowds, that's for the now. Not a manifesto written 50 years ago. The Creed won't put bums on seats just like the Shinboner spirit won't save North ultimately.

Port Adelaide has only had one home jumper. You are being disingenuous if you're suggesting that one-off designs for fans are "changes" when they have immediately gone back to what is still the original home jumper.
The six jumpers you are thinking of are probably no different to the plethora of strips the Crows design for away games every couple of years.

Plus, if 32 years of playing in colours other than black and white doesn't change the PAFC before 1997, why does it have any relevance afterwards?

Royal blue vertical stripes, navy blue horizontal stripes, navy blue solid. They're not similar guernseys, let alone similar nicknames as well.

Nevertheless, the arguments surrounding Port Adelaide's entry into the AFL have been done to many deaths over in the Port Adelaide forums. If you're not satisfied by reading the millions of threads created on the subject, then by all means, feel free to duke it out with some of the regular contributors over there. But I think you know how weak your case is when it's not designed just to score cheap points alongside your likewise ill-informed brethren in Bay 13 . . .

What was that abomination worn last year designed by a kid? You started of with 3 guernseys...NAB cup Home and Away..thin lightning bolts, fat lightning bolts , stripey lightning bolts........then the stylised one that looked like a barium meal X-Ray, then the White gay one this year...that's 5 for starters..I'm sure there was some heritage round one that makes 6 and I'm not even trying hard to remember. And don't crack on about the Crows jumpers changing...we have not attempted to brow beat every man and his dog that we are traditional.......My point was that if you were so hot on tradition , you would have done an Eddie and stuck to one design, but the marketing people didn't like that ....so now the maerketing people have come up with this Creed shit. They're doing a ripper job..aren't they?

As for the blue/white argument....you could have done black solid with PAFC on it in white like Carlton and reversed it when you played them for example. There's one idea and I don't even care ...so what were your club doing when this was all happening...the teal thing with a nickname that isn't a "thing" that kids can relate to was garbage from the start.

As for "duking it out " on the Port board ...yeah ...right...the mere mention of anything that does not tow the party line there gets carded straight away. The most precious board on the whole of this site.

You've never heard me harp on about that as an issue, someone always going to have a record, used to be Melbourne, it wont last forever.

And as for not caring, no one cares that Adelaide is younger, its pretty obvious in context to the Port history if you look at it in a simplistic way. Why does the Port thread say Port Adelaide - est 1870? why does the jumper say 1870? the Port supporters are more paranoid about it than anyone else. Hence the response you get and not just from Crows fans. Its that inferiority complex of trying to 'out do' the others that makes the Vics look down on us.

The crowd has nothing to do with your history, your history wont bring the crowds, that's for the now. Not a manifesto written 50 years ago. The Creed won't put bums on seats just like the Shinboner spirit won't save North ultimately.

Spot on:thumbsu:

What was that abomination worn last year designed by a kid? You started of with 3 guernseys...NAB cup Home and Away..thin lightning bolts, fat lightning bolts , stripey lightning bolts........then the stylised one that looked like a barium meal X-Ray, then the White gay one this year...that's 5 for starters..I'm sure there was some heritage round one that makes 6 and I'm not even trying hard to remember. And don't crack on about the Crows jumpers changing...we have not attempted to brow beat every man and his dog that we are traditional.......My point was that if you were so hot on tradition , you would have done an Eddie and stuck to one design, but the marketing people didn't like that ....so now the maerketing people have come up with this Creed shit. They're doing a ripper job..aren't they?

As for the blue/white argument....you could have done black solid with PAFC on it in white like Carlton and reversed it when you played them for example. There's one idea and I don't even care ...so what were your club doing when this was all happening...the teal thing with a nickname that isn't a "thing" that kids can relate to was garbage from the start.

As for "duking it out " on the Port board ...yeah ...right...the mere mention of anything that does not tow the party line there gets carded straight away. The most precious board on the whole of this site.

Port Adelaide lost all creditibility in regards to home jumpers when they let a kid design a jumper for a competition. In the ellusive chase to get every SA child as a future member they shot their "traditional club" ideal in the foot. Most clubs hold the home jumper as sacrosanct, even the Crows. But not Port. They see it as another way to get a few more punters through the gates. The "Planet Teal" Logo is a nice touch.

Port-Teal-2007.gif

Port-Teal-2008.gif

Sad thing is these jumpers are better than any of the Away jumpers they have had profesionally designed.