Upper Murray FL 2019

Rknee

Sep 5, 2012
The Tallangatta league is under no pressure at all to accept any UM team as a single entity or a merged one unless they can support a full contingent on football and Netball Teams. And then the players have to want to play Tallangatta league. A lot of players in the UM come from TDFL clubs so would they be willing to play against their old teams? There is a lot of work to be done to make it happen and it revolves around your junior structure then it does on how competitive your seniors will be.

bidge

Sep 7, 2007
Colonial Stadium
I guess that is the $64,000 question, around if players are willing to continue to travel up to play for an UM team vs continuing to play in the same competition (TDFL) for Wodonga Saints, Kiewa, Yackandandah, Beechworth, Barnawartha or Tallangatta. If we were to look at the percentages of players from the UM area playing for other teams in either the Tallangatta League or Ovens and Murray Reerve competition., there would be enough to build a strong unit. Hopefully the clubs coach/ board can recruit hard for 2020 and lock in some of those previous known players into a Combined UM team to take the Tallangatta League on. All this is obviously hypothetical, but if this be the way forward for the league organisation will be key.

JOHNNY GASTEV

Jan 7, 2008
Lavington
Another pitiful round of football this weekend, Corryong and Walwa barely field the 16 but what’s Tumba’s story a 35 goal loss to Cudgewa?🤷‍♂️

bidge

Sep 7, 2007
Colonial Stadium
Having a look at the results- Corryong had 18 players names, Federals 17, Border Walwa 15. The stronger keep pushing on with their head in the sky whilst we continually see 250+ point losses every week. Tumbarumba and Federals who will play finals against each other have been 200-250 points off the top teams. Certainly the even competition we all hope for is far gone.
Fingers crossed we see a decision in the next week or two because the league needs some strong intervention to continue in some format.
My belief is a merger is the only way forward for the league and it would come with ALL clubs buying into the merger not just some. Upper Murray football/ netball needs to be sustainable for future generations not just some towns.

Old Kenny

Sep 9, 2007
up there
Having a look at the results- Corryong had 18 players names, Federals 17, Border Walwa 15. The stronger keep pushing on with their head in the sky whilst we continually see 250+ point losses every week. Tumbarumba and Federals who will play finals against each other have been 200-250 points off the top teams. Certainly the even competition we all hope for is far gone.
Fingers crossed we see a decision in the next week or two because the league needs some strong intervention to continue in some format.
My belief is a merger is the only way forward for the league and it would come with ALL clubs buying into the merger not just some. Upper Murray football/ netball needs to be sustainable for future generations not just some towns.
Agree with your points mate. For me though junior footy is the bigger problem. Senior footy could continue on for a few years but Without a pathway for underage kids to progress through to senior footy there is no future for the current clubs in my opinion. Some people and clubs are currently getting torn a new one for openly supporting a merged entity. But how can we keep going with only 4 under 14 teams, 0 under 16 teams, 3 reserve teams and really only 2 quality senior teams? It’s a joke that people think things aren’t that bad and that it will improve by tinkering with the edges of this problem.

Greyhorse

Rookie
Mar 26, 2019
Gold Coast
Agree with your points mate. For me though junior footy is the bigger problem. Senior footy could continue on for a few years but Without a pathway for underage kids to progress through to senior footy there is no future for the current clubs in my opinion. Some people and clubs are currently getting torn a new one for openly supporting a merged entity. But how can we keep going with only 4 under 14 teams, 0 under 16 teams, 3 reserve teams and really only 2 quality senior teams? It’s a joke that people think things aren’t that bad and that it will improve by tinkering with the edges of this problem.
Your exactly right Kenny. The league in it’s current state is no good for anyone especially the juniors. Where does this leave Bullioh?

JOHNNY GASTEV

Jan 7, 2008
Lavington
Thoughts on Cudgy wanting the league to continue? Very short sighted thinking, maybe they can be a standalone like Bullioh and try their luck in the tallangatta league 😂

bidge

Sep 7, 2007
Colonial Stadium
I think this shows the issues in regards to the competition. The AFL NEB are scared to make a decision because of the ramifications over only a few. UM Clubs may be happy with their current position but going forward its going to be hard to create a league with three teams? Federals and Corryong are barely getting the minimum numbers and unless Border Walwa has an overhaul they wont have a team for 2020. Tumbarumba have expressed issues regarding recruiting and sponsorship. Bullioh's best option is to swallow their pride and join with another club in hope to play in the TDFL. Would Cudgy be that club?

Another strong round of results!

Relton7

Rookie
Nov 22, 2016
So Cudgewa have obviously opted against a merger because they are currently trekking along well and have signed there current coach for next season. That’s fair, but surely as a club they are not really hanging there hats on absolutely belting teams such as Corryong who have the likes of Peter Shaw playing senior football for them? Very short sighted and sad to think they would prefer to be the best in a currently extremely weak competition rather than support the region and its junior footballers and try to establish a single entity in the TDFL.

Proceed without them if they think there going that well...

JOHNNY GASTEV

Jan 7, 2008
Lavington
Doubt a merger will happen, too many egos putting club loyalties ahead of the greater good. Unless something drastic happens expect the league to limp along next season and in my opinion no football left up there in 5 years. All for a game of sport 🤬

bidge

Sep 7, 2007
Colonial Stadium
It's a sad state when we are making more sense on a forum discussion than the actually conversations happening. For the league to be viable three clubs would need a list overhaul. Corryong have struggled to field a competitive team, Federals again struggled to put a team on the park for the majority of the year, yesterday on the end of a 25+ goal loss to the 2nd place side. Playing only a Seniors competition is obvious due to numbers, but it doesn't create a list opportunity. If you have a team of 20 players (seniors) who will be filling in due to unavailability and injury? During the middle months of the season when players seem to find reasons not to play, the UM could become more of a basket case. Border Walwa named 14 players yesterday against Tumbarumba. This could be regular occurrences for all clubs with out a Reserves competition.
I agree football in the UM is fast becoming a secondary interest for the community and going forward it will be the same volunteers attempting to keep the teams/clubs alive.
Looking at a positive is the hope that 2021 could be a new dawn for UM and clubs will see the issues facing all clubs going forward.
joining together in the TDFL is all which could save the league long term, this would limit volunteers, sponsors and player numbers. Having an extended list of 50+ players to pool from would mean the pressures half the league currently faces would cease.

I have been putting some thought into this...

An Upper Murray Eagles/Giants/Crows.... What ever team you'd like....

Bullioh Home Games- Beechworth, Wagunyah, Rutherglen, Chiltern, Barnawartha
Cudgewa Home Games- Mitta, Dederang
Border Walwa Home Games- Kiewa, Wodonga Saints
Corryong Home Games- Tallangatta, Yackandandah

This isn't even but allows most clubs to have an 1.5hr drive to their away game and allows all teams to join with at least one game at their home ground. Maybe this could be what we see in 2021.

kenton

Nov 19, 2010
hobart
Be sad to see the league fold your local footy team is the heart and of community Iam from tassie and lots of teams/ leagues have folded in the past20 years

The Toecutter

Feb 25, 2007
wodonga
So Cudgewa have obviously opted against a merger because they are currently trekking along well and have signed there current coach for next season. That’s fair, but surely as a club they are not really hanging there hats on absolutely belting teams such as Corryong who have the likes of Peter Shaw playing senior football for them? Very short sighted and sad to think they would prefer to be the best in a currently extremely weak competition rather than support the region and its junior footballers and try to establish a single entity in the TDFL.

Proceed without them if they think there going that well...
Cringing to think what the competition is going to resemble next year. What happens if there's only 4 clubs and they struggle for numbers? Is the NEB only trying to keep the old tallangatta league clubs happy? This doesn't make any sense.

The Toecutter

Feb 25, 2007
wodonga
It's a sad state when we are making more sense on a forum discussion than the actually conversations happening. For the league to be viable three clubs would need a list overhaul. Corryong have struggled to field a competitive team, Federals again struggled to put a team on the park for the majority of the year, yesterday on the end of a 25+ goal loss to the 2nd place side. Playing only a Seniors competition is obvious due to numbers, but it doesn't create a list opportunity. If you have a team of 20 players (seniors) who will be filling in due to unavailability and injury? During the middle months of the season when players seem to find reasons not to play, the UM could become more of a basket case. Border Walwa named 14 players yesterday against Tumbarumba. This could be regular occurrences for all clubs with out a Reserves competition.
I agree football in the UM is fast becoming a secondary interest for the community and going forward it will be the same volunteers attempting to keep the teams/clubs alive.
Looking at a positive is the hope that 2021 could be a new dawn for UM and clubs will see the issues facing all clubs going forward.
joining together in the TDFL is all which could save the league long term, this would limit volunteers, sponsors and player numbers. Having an extended list of 50+ players to pool from would mean the pressures half the league currently faces would cease.

I have been putting some thought into this...

An Upper Murray Eagles/Giants/Crows.... What ever team you'd like....

Bullioh Home Games- Beechworth, Wagunyah, Rutherglen, Chiltern, Barnawartha
Cudgewa Home Games- Mitta, Dederang
Border Walwa Home Games- Kiewa, Wodonga Saints
Corryong Home Games- Tallangatta, Yackandandah

This isn't even but allows most clubs to have an 1.5hr drive to their away game and allows all teams to join with at least one game at their home ground. Maybe this could be what we see in 2021.
Check this thread and see what you think

bidge

Sep 7, 2007
Colonial Stadium
Can't see it surviving until the end of 2020. Teams will be running with under 15 players by round three. 12 Games + Finals? What's the point!
My hope was that AFL NEB would come to the party and help facilitate a new structure to continue to the UM in a new platform.
The hope is the league survives in 2020 and can still facilitate a merger into the TDFL in 2021 with enough players to be competitive...

Fruit

Jul 24, 2012
Cringing to think what the competition is going to resemble next year. What happens if there's only 4 clubs and they struggle for numbers? Is the NEB only trying to keep the old tallangatta league clubs happy? This doesn't make any sense.
I think the AFL NEB are gutless. They should be telling Clubs what to do rather than just watch it die and hope clubs make the right decision.

bidge

Sep 7, 2007
Colonial Stadium
It's a great example. The Hume league has shown the pathway for clubs on how to continue. CDBHU, BB saints, and also RWW Giants.
Looking at the scores today... Corryong and Border Walwa could do with some help going forward... There is definitely a big gap between top and bottom in our league.