Us vs. You - Friday Night

Seeing as I am your favourite Melbourne poster, I thought I'd see how you rate this weekends game.

Personally, I think it will be a ripper - both sides play attacking footy rather than defensive rubbish, so hopefully it's of a high standard.

Hard to do past you guys this week, as I just don't see you losing 4 on the trot. We have the form, the home ground and Byron, but something tells me it might not be enough. I'm hoping it is, as I haven't totally written us off, but it's going to be a challenge!

Who is set to return this wekeend? Kingsley? Steve Johnson? Nathan "I got to where I am today based on my last name" Ablett?

And Hi JUBJUB, I hope to see you there on Friday night! :)

I don't really know what to make of this week yet. Our ins will be crucial - I would think Kingsley is a definite, maybe Playfair and maybe Ricco IF he is ready. We can't fall into the same trap of playing under done players, which could see H on the sidelines again.

Dog may come in though apparently he only played in bursts in the VFL, which something Bomber will want to eliminate so he may stay in the magoos. Kelly needs to be dropped, Ricco may come in for him but that's iffy, as Kel has special status even though he's been garbage.

Given some of your outs, though, I would hope for a win so long as we get a decent forwardline on the park and the midfield takes some risks this time around, instead of the stop and prop stuff from the last few games.

CowboyFromHell said:
Nathan "I got to where I am today based on my last name" Ablett?

What started as a good post was seriously let down by a silly, unwanted comment towards the end.

Everyone wants an Ablett, We've got two. Stop with the jealousy.

Geelong in a tough battle - 21 Points.

CowboyFromHell said:
Nathan "I got to where I am today based on my last name" Ablett?

Dipstick
The same line can be used about Gary Ablett Jr,Matthew Scarlett,Dustin Fletcher,Jonathon Brown,Ben Cousins and every other F/S selection.

Just f**k off if you want to be a smartarse troll.

JUBJUB said:
Dipstick
The same line can be used about Gary Ablett Jr,Matthew Scarlett,Dustin Fletcher,Jonathon Brown,Ben Cousins and every other F/S selection.

Actually I'd disagree... Gary Jr (legend), Scarlett (best kick around), Fletcher (pretty consistent), Brown (doing well), Cousins (champion) Nathan Ablett (just getting by).

Even Geelong supporters have been blasting him on threads, saying he should go back to the VFL and learn how to play. Had a fair season last year, but not really performing this season.

And Nathan has copped that exact criticism ever since The Falcon's, so it's not a new dig by any stretch of the imagination.

i reckon geelong will SMASH the dees, the demons defence is :D:D:D:De and no neita up forward with robbo still with knee worries
Cats will have some great ins with hopefully kingsley, harley, playfair, riccardi fit and and ready to play, their spine is slowly returning and the catters should show the dees up for the average team they are, if we beat them by 50 then u guys can beat them by more, just make sure u tag that pickett bloke :thumbsu:
go the cats!!

hyperswivel said:
Actually I'd disagree... Gary Jr (legend), Scarlett (best kick around), Fletcher (pretty consistent), Brown (doing well), Cousins (champion) Nathan Ablett (just getting by).

straight through to the keeper
:rolleyes:

And Nathan has copped that exact criticism ever since The Falcon's
He never played for the Falcons

JUBJUB said:
straight through to the keeper
:rolleyes:

He never played for the Falcons

:o Silly me... sorry... but still he's definately not firing like the others you mentioned... especially Gary.

hyperswivel said:

Ben Cousins - 212 games
Dustin Fletcher - 246 games
Gary Ablett jnr - 84 games
Matthew Scarlett - 143 games
Nathan Ablett - 5 games

Spot the difference here dopey? :rolleyes:

Honestly the trolls on our forum are getting dumber by the minute.

And Nathan has copped that exact criticism ever since The Falcon's

You idiot.

For the record, none of us think he has been travelling that well this season.
He kicked 6 in a ressies game, but that is about it.

He has played 5 senior games and has a long way to go.
I'm sure much like Fletcher, Cousins, Scarlett etc had a long way to go after their 5th game.

CowboyFromHell said:
Seeing as I am your favourite Melbourne poster, I thought I'd see how you rate this weekends game.

Who is set to return this wekeend? Kingsley? Steve Johnson? Nathan "I got to where I am today based on my last name" Ablett?

First point.. well you're damn well not our favourite Dees poster now with that crack about Nablett!

Secondly, it's amazing.. you know the names of some of our players! I suggest you go learn your own players names! :D

Now pee off back to the Range Rover board.

hyperswivel said:
:o Silly me... sorry... but still he's definately not firing like the others you mentioned... especially Gary.

Did I say he or any of those I mentioned were firing or not firing ? NO
You mentioned that.

Perhaps you need to re-read Cowboymorons comment [Nathan "I got to where I am today based on my last name" Ablett].

Now re-read mine

Now see if you can actually workout what all those players have in common with Nathan.Just a hint,read the part of Cowboymorons post that I highlighted just for you.

hyperswivel said:
Even Geelong supporters have been blasting him on threads, saying he should go back to the VFL and learn how to play. Had a fair season last year, but not really performing this season.
Would you please go away, seriously?
I have never bagged NA, ive bagged the people that want him in the team just ebcause of his name.

should be a good game...but the catters should be triumphant :D

Unfortunately for the demons they are playing us at the wrong time, the best time to play the cats is after they've just given someone a shellacking...not when they're coming off 3 disappointing weeks of poor, unlucky and lazy football.

this will be a great contest, any loyal melb geel supporter should be there. imo itll be a good midfield battle. some great matchups here, bruce mite take ling & johnstone on mayb enright. really lookin forard to it

demondude said:
this will be a great contest, any loyal melb geel supporter should be there. imo itll be a good midfield battle. some great matchups here, bruce mite take ling & johnstone on mayb enright. really lookin forard to it

A ******ed midget could take on Ling the way he's playing at the moment. He's playing opponents into form brilliantly this season.

Kent_Kingsley said:
should be a good game...but the catters should be triumphant :D

Unfortunately for the demons they are playing us at the wrong time, the best time to play the cats is after they've just given someone a shellacking...not when they're coming off 3 disappointing weeks of poor, unlucky and lazy football.

Well Geelong have been meant to bounce back for the last two weeks now, though I'd expect they'll be a lot better this Friday.
IMO we can kick more goals with you even if Robbo and Neitz are out but it will come down the midfield like all games.

JUBJUB said:
Dipstick

Temper, temper fatboy. No need to go overboard. I was not actually trying to be a smart arse, I was being deadly serious. If his last name had not been Ablett, he would never have been drafted. He would still be running around for Modewarre looking for a kick. The others you mentioned had TALENT to get drafted.

Regardless, the paper said Kingsley, Harley and Riccardi are all tests... who is a chance to play? Harely and Riccardi would be outside chances yes?

And yes Fatty, I'm still alive. I almost came back to make a praise Nick Davis thread, but decided not to. Silly me.

CowboyFromHell said:
Temper, temper fatboy. No need to go overboard. I was not actually trying to be a smart arse, I was being deadly serious. If his last name had not been Ablett, he would never have been drafted. He would still be running around for Modewarre looking for a kick. The others you mentioned had TALENT to get drafted.

Regardless, the paper said Kingsley, Harley and Riccardi are all tests... who is a chance to play? Harely and Riccardi would be outside chances yes?

And yes Fatty, I'm still alive. I almost came back to make a praise Nick Davis thread, but decided not to. Silly me.

I'll try and make it simple for you...

Name not Ablett = normal upbringing = normal football development. With the amount of talent the kid has he'd have played for the Falcons and been drafted without the slightest, infinitesimal shadow of a doubt.

Eejit!

catempire said:
I'll try and make it simple for you...

Name not Ablett = normal upbringing = normal football development. With the amount of talent the kid has he'd have played for the Falcons and been drafted without the slightest, infinitesimal shadow of a doubt.

Eejit!
Good on ya empire:thumbsu:

I'm pretty confident actually.

You guys haven't been playing great, have some key players out and we will be intent to perform better than we did in the final.

Like I said I'm confident

we can keep your winning margin to under 100pts::o