v cats

our only worry is our players drifting to sleep having to play against Ross Lyon

Short memory pal. your team was hopeless last season and it's still early days! Few good players back our home turf. Won't be the soda you expect! BTW it's not good form to come on to a team's form to bag them. You do that on your own board.

well it was kind of a joke, but yeah uncalled for. If its any consolation I'm actually one of the few that still rate the Saints talent wise, whilst you have a lot of injuries you still have damaging players running around, you've just been playing the last few weeks without direction (just my observations) which I blame on your coach.

well it was kind of a joke, but yeah uncalled for. If its any consolation I'm actually the only one that still rate the Saints talent wise, whilst you have a lot of injuries you still have damaging players running around, you've just been playing the last few weeks without direction (just my observations) which I blame on your coach.

edited for accuracy....

;) :cool:

Just wanted to pop in and wish you all the best for Suday Arvo. It's a shame you have a full list out with rediculous injuries. I look forward to the Cats v Saints match each year. Hopefully your inclusions this week can help the balance.

I'm looking forward the the Baker v Ablett duel again. Ablett rates baker as his best opponent and will really guage where he is at. Gerig v Scarlett will be a ripper too.

I'm not expecting this game to be a blowout or high scoring like other suggest. I can only hope it is exciting.

Just wanted to pop in and wish you all the best for Suday Arvo. It's a shame you have a full list out with rediculous injuries. I look forward to the Cats v Saints match each year. Hopefully your inclusions this week can help the balance.

I'm looking forward the the Baker v Ablett duel again. Ablett rates baker as his best opponent and will really guage where he is at. Gerig v Scarlett will be a ripper too.

I'm not expecting this game to be a blowout or high scoring like other suggest. I can only hope it is exciting.

Cheers mate, same to you. Hopefully our blokes bring their kicking boots to make it a close game.

I hear Reiwoldt & Dal Santo are in doubt after not training. If they miss it will be a damn shame, it is at the point where it is almost Geelong vs St Kilda reserves team.

I hope you guys can keep it together until the injuries clear up. At least enough to make the finals.

I hear Reiwoldt & Dal Santo are in doubt after not training. If they miss it will be a damn shame, it is at the point where it is almost Geelong vs St Kilda reserves team. I hope you guys can keep it together until the injuries clear up. At least enough to make the finals.

Cheers mate. Saints still have some good players in, but the whole team has to play with a bit of heart for it to be a close game.

I think the result will be much, much closer than some pundits are suggesting. The recent history between the two clubs indicates form tends to go out the window for these clashes - perhaps due to how even the two clubs are, I don't know.

Either way I'm not getting carried away, just hoping Geelong can hit the game switched on and firing, and hopefully come away with 4 points. I expect a tough game as always.

I think the result will be much, much closer than some pundits are suggesting. The recent history between the two clubs indicates form tends to go out the window for these clashes - perhaps due to how even the two clubs are, I don't know.

Either way I'm not getting carried away, just hoping Geelong can hit the game switched on and firing, and hopefully come away with 4 points. I expect a tough game as always.
Your spot on there Partridge, sort of game Geelong has dropped in the past.

Hey Guys, just wanted to wish ur mob all the best for the game. hope its a cracker.

cats will choke and burn like always .... gutless n overratted saints to win admid injury crisis . carn the mighty saints step up !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Just heard S.Fisher on the news mentioned they would try and win by "shutting Geelong down"

What a sucky negative way some teams think these days.

Arent saints supporters on here disappointed in what is becoming of their club which only recently had the most potent forward line in the comp?

I'm considering not making the trip up to the dome if its gonna be a sh!tty saints vs hawks style game.

Just heard S.Fisher on the news mentioned they would try and win by "shutting Geelong down"

Arent saints supporters on here disappointed in what is becoming of their club which only recently had the most potent forward line in the comp?

I'm considering not making the trip up to the dome if its gonna be a sh!tty saints vs hawks style game.

By saying that we're trying to shut the opposition down it hardly means that we'll be playing the same as we did two weeks ago.

Believe it or not before Ross Lyon came along teams actually used players called taggers and employed them to shut down the best opposition midfielders. There were players called defenders whose first responsibility wasn't to attack but to actually stop their opponent from kicking goals. I know it's a hard concept to grasp because in the space of 120 minutes Ross Lyon seemingly ruined football but please get some perspective.

Can you even remember the first St Kilda vs Geelong game at Telstra Dome last season? It was one of the more boring and dull matches that I've ever had the pleasure of watching, purely and simply down to the negative tactics employed by your team. Funny enough none of your supporters seemed to have a problem with that because you won the game.

The bottom line is we will need to shut down the likes of Bartel and Gary Ablett Jnr. I'm sure Ling will have a similar job on one of our midfielders too. That doesn't mean we'll see 2 goals from each team at half time.

By saying that we're trying to shut the opposition down it hardly means that we'll be playing the same as we did two weeks ago.

Believe it or not before Ross Lyon came along teams actually used players called taggers and employed them to shut down the best opposition midfielders. There were players called defenders whose first responsibility wasn't to attack but to actually stop their opponent from kicking goals. I know it's a hard concept to grasp because in the space of 120 minutes Ross Lyon seemingly ruined football but please get some perspective.

Can you even remember the first St Kilda vs Geelong game at Telstra Dome last season? It was one of the more boring and dull matches that I've ever had the pleasure of watching, purely and simply down to the negative tactics employed by your team. Funny enough none of your supporters seemed to have a problem with that because you won the game.
The bottom line is we will need to shut down the likes of Bartel and Gary Ablett Jnr. I'm sure Ling will have a similar job on one of our midfielders too. That doesn't mean we'll see 2 goals from each team at half time.

Beat me to it sainter! :thumbsu:

12 goals in the last 2 games should be your bottom line..

Reiwoldt needs to run up to the wing to get a kick and the G-Train needs a deck chair so he can sit and watch Leigh Fisher and <<enter any random saints player>> playing kick to kick on the half back line.

Dont go:thumbsd: who gives a rats toss bag if you shirt lifting clowns go...:mad:

12 goals in the last 2 games should be your bottom line..

Reiwoldt needs to run up to the wing to get a kick and the G-Train needs a deck chair so he can sit and watch Leigh Fisher and <<enter any random saints player>> playing kick to kick on the half back line.

This is the cheap arrogance typical of certain cat fans after a few predictable wins, especially on their own idiosyncratic patch! This time we are back at our Dome home where we have performed quite well.

Beating the raining premeirs who were undefeated and then taking Port to the cleaners at AAMI.

Not really predictable wins and not all on our "idiosyncratic patch". Granted it was a cheap shot but don't sink to his level.

We're not bad at the Dome ourselves. Suits both teams, with their tall timber.

Geelong are the only remaining Vic team with a true home ground advantage equal to the interstate teams. The wins there were not particularly remarkable, that Eagles reeled them in and won at KP last year was remarkable! I'll give you the Port Power one. Geelong are flying high on confidence, but Geelong confidence is a fragile thing and it will only take one loss to dent it!
Hope it's this game! :D

Good bunch of ins. Gram and Montagna are the big ones. Hopefully Max & Thompson are up to it. Clarke brothers are both in as well - never rated X until his last couple of games before injury. R is likely to still be rather awful but will hopefully get relegated to an emergency.

Armitage, Birss, R Clarke, X Clarke, Gwilt, Thompson and Voss on the bench - don't want to see Vossy dropped but have a feeling he might be. Then again we've probably named a half dozen who aren't playing anyway.

Big out in Harvs but at least we're getting a bit of quality back. I know the Cats have had good wins recently but I'm still not sold - West Coast were due and Port played terribly. Other than that, they've beaten Melbourne, Carlton, Freo (at Skilled) and Richmond.

Confidence is a big thing and if they get the jump on us early (like Freo did) it could be all over... will be a good game. Haven't looked at the Cats board but highly doubt it will be the mauling that some of them apparently claim.