DanA

Has had a fantastic start to his AFL career giving Geelong almost 2 goals a game and providing tremendous forwardline pressure.
Could still do with improved confidence. He needs to demand the ball and push up the feild a little bit. It seems like he only gets the ball at stoppages and when he has an abo****e paddock. One of the most skillfull players on the Geelong list, I reckon he will be devastating when he can increase his posession count into the 20's.

varco is a classy unit theres no question! and so so pacey....quick question....i might just be a dumb unit over here...but whats a "abo****e paddock"??

I mean nobody gives it to him unless he is completely on his own. was meant to be absolute, must of left out the o

Lets remember that this is still basically his 1st year as was out for most of last year. He needs a few more pre-seasons and build up his body strength as is easily brushed aside at the moment.
Will be a very exciting.game busting type of player down the track,but for the moment is doing what's needed and that's all we should be expecting.

Well, he's playing the idealistic small forward role well. Primarily, he's kicking goals. Secondary, he's positioning himself well at contests, and perhaps more importantly, applying fantastic pressure. Legitimately uses his pace to effect the game, and ensures his tackles stick.

He still has ways and means to go, but as it stands, he's performing his role within the team (however limited it is at the moment) well.

His foward defensive pressure is what stands out about him, something that we were doing so well in our good years and had next to none of last year. Since he and Steve Johnson have been back in the side, the pressure on defenders has increased significantly. That is his standout attribute and what will keep him in the side as long as he keeps on doing it. He's also very handy on the lead, so quick off the mark and hard to match up on when the opposition has to cover our talls and Ablett when he goes foward, as well as Chapman when he is in the side. I love him.

The great part of his game is his pressure. I think someone already stated his average is 2 goals per game, but it's his pressure on the ball in the forward line which creates more goals is the real bonus here.

He creates so much pressure with his speed and agility, oposition defenders often kick under a huge amount of pressure or are cornered into making a mistake.

The attack on the footy early, which gave an easy tackle and free to Steve Johnson in the first is the exact thing I'm talking about. He needs to stay in the side as he is worth more than his stats.

Too light in contests - gets flipped out like a cork. Great around the goals like the old Ronnie Burns.

Totally agree, have yet to see him come close to winning a body on body contest either in the air or on the ground. He either needs to work on this, or utilise his pace and agility better to run down loose balls and take possession with minimal body on body pressure. Otherwise he'll never go far beyond a "defensive pressure" player. The defensive pressure he does apply, however, is superb and his skills and goal sense are very, very good.

This was the only thing I was critical of on Saturday. He at times was too intent on chasing the player he actually missed oportunities where he could have got the ball himself. I think he needs to make the ball his focus rather than just running along side an opposition player in the name of defensive pressure.

But he has great skills and once his body is stronger I see him being more a midfielder than a forward pocket player. But at the moment the forward pocket is perfect for him.

By the way....where are all thoses tools who were bagging him 7 weeks ago? They have suddenly gone quiet :rolleyes:

The kid turned 19 a month ago,and you want him to out body players that have been in the system for years? Give him a couple of years to develop then we can expect more.For now he is doing an outstanding job and is a real plus for the team. :rolleyes:

I'm loving the way he is playing, seems to be always dangerously lurking around goals as a sneak and applying defensive pressure. His work off the ball is exceptional. Anyone else notice that awesome shepherd against WC that gave Jnr a great opportunity for a goal (which he missed! ), top stuff and has been earning his spot in the team IMO.

he is too soft...

I would expect him to be dropped after the last 2 weeks which have been disappointing in my opinion.

Sure he has put pressure on with his chasing but he is too willing to let his opponent grab the ball before he commits to the contest. This has happend numerous times the last few weeks and not every time has he been able to either catch the opponent or make a tackle stick. Some oof his (and uncharacteristically Stokes' too but he redeamed himself in the last 1/4) first 1/2 half against West Coast was bordering on a disgrace, if not at least laughable.

He has a long long way to go before you should be praising him as lavishly as some on here. Don't fall for the WA or SA fan mentality that everyone is a star once they prove they can actually kick. Frankly, he is only getting a game atm on potential and for investment, nothing more. He is going ok (only), with some good signs, but some just as bad signs also. Any other player would have been dragged for some of his weak efforts but Thompson has been giving him some leeway knowing that he has much to do in the toughness area.

He has a good scoring rate and good skills but he wont get a game in front of Chapman who I hope will be back this week. I cant imagine anyone else being dropped.

Totally agree, have yet to see him come close to winning a body on body contest either in the air or on the ground.

He beat young Jake King from the Tigers in a body on body, 1 on 1 contest.
Does anyone else notice him slipping to the ground at least twice a match?
Get some better boots mate!

I don't think for a second anyone is suggesting he would get a game ahead of Chapman. The main thing people are getting at is at this stage in his career he is doing very well, and adds a dimension to the forward line that we have been sorely lacking, ie defensive pressure in the forward 50. He lurks as an ever present danger to opposition backmen, resulting in hurried disposal and mistakes.

I've mentioned before that I have felt that defensive pressure in our forward 50 has been our achilles heel, having a player like Varcoe up forward goes some way to remedying that. Most people on here would agree that he has flaws, but his positives at this stage outweigh his negatives enough to justify his spot in the team.

Keep up the good work Trav!

he is too soft...

I would expect him to be dropped after the last 2 weeks which have been disappointing in my opinion.

Sure he has put pressure on with his chasing but he is too willing to let his opponent grab the ball before he commits to the contest.

seriously, the way he corralled players or actually put pressure on their defenders was fantastic and forced turnovers or bad decisions.

what more do you want from a guy that has played 6-7 games?

i think he is doing his job and contributing to the change in the way we play.

he is too soft...

Sure he has put pressure on with his chasing but he is too willing to let his opponent grab the ball before he commits to the contest. This has happend numerous times the last few weeks and not every time has he been able to either catch the opponent or make a tackle stick. Some oof his (and uncharacteristically Stokes' too but he redeamed himself in the last 1/4) first 1/2 half against West Coast was bordering on a disgrace, if not at least laughable.

He has a long long way to go before you should be praising him as lavishly as some on here. Don't fall for the WA or SA fan mentality that everyone is a star once they prove they can actually kick. Frankly, he is only getting a game atm on potential and for investment, nothing more. He is going ok (only), with some good signs, but some just as bad signs also. Any other player would have been dragged for some of his weak efforts but Thompson has been giving him some leeway knowing that he has much to do in the toughness area.

He has a good scoring rate and good skills but he wont get a game in front of Chapman who I hope will be back this week. I cant imagine anyone else being dropped.

That comment is horse shit. He is getting a game on merit and is borderline for our best 22. Chapman is a star so obviously he comes into the side. I can't see a fringe player like Byrnes taking his spot.

seriously, the way he corralled players or actually put pressure on their defenders was fantastic and forced turnovers or bad decisions.

what more do you want from a guy that has played 6-7 games?

i think he is doing his job and contributing to the change in the way we play.

I worked on the weekend so haven't seen the game yet, but the Herald Sun made note of the hard work, including six tackles.

I've got to agree that you have to let guys of his age find their feet a bit.

Frankly, he is only getting a game atm on potential and for investment,

As Dan said,that comment is just horse shit.
He's been a valueable player up forward.He may miss out this week for Chappy,but him being left out doesn't mean he's stuggling.

He sets up goals for others,which is something we've lacked from a small forward when Jr and Chappy are in the midfield.

he is too soft...Sure he has put pressure on with his chasing but he is too willing to let his opponent grab the ball before he commits to the contest.
Agree, I read that as a lack of confidence. It's much easier defending then to be creative when you're uncertain how to play. A one on one with Bomber or a small-forward mentor would do him some good. Trav'll improve with gametime, and start backing his instincts more often.

At the moment I'm loving his defensive pressure in the F50.