Roast Varcoe

Better than 2/3 of them, you must be joking?
Varcoe is in our top 5, and if we base it on retention value in our team, ie most important to keep on our list, #1. Until Hawkins reaches potential

In the first 10 picked.
Every time

Among the last 6 picked for me.
Mackie copped a bagging for 26 possessions the week before, or was it 28, 5th on club possessions up to last week, and got dumped on.

Lets just watch him (Varcoe) this week, you all slagg off at Mackie.

10s to 12s about it at the moment IMO.
that's like saying SAINTS are 12th best atm. Sure they are now but where will they be when it counts, end Sep? Top 6 easily.

Trav is a favourite of mine obviously, which is why I lost it in here last night of course! I guess we all have different emotions here. I have learnt VC just wants more out of him, rather than to just bag him, but others have used this as a platform to simply bag him which is a shame. Naturally it forces others in here to defend him like me.

We are all cat supporters, but I think sometimes people take the bagging too far. Not just here but in many other threads. Its a forum, its very hard to work out whats too much or not enough. I do think my behaviour last night was over the top though, so apologies for that to all. :thumbsu:

pretty safe to say that the majority in here who do nothing but bag the players obviously have desk jobs and wouldn't have even tried playing for the local footy club back in the day:p....great work boys, will be waiting for the next player/s to cop a flogging from the supporters:rolleyes:
GO PIES!!! "ahhmmmm eh sorry', I mean....GO CATS!!!!:D

Varcoe is in our top 5, and if we base it on retention value in our team, ie most important to keep on our list, #1. Until Hawkins reaches potential

Geez that's a big call mate.
Just as a matter of interest, if he's top five which seven of Bartel, Kelly, Corey, Selwood, Chapman, Ling, Enright, Johnson, Scarlett, Taylor and Ottens would you have him ahead of?

#not answering for veedubs obviously but imo I'd definitely have him top 5 too infront of Enright, Kelly, Ottens, Taylor and Lingy if we going on today's current form because the guy is a sensation and the ultimate game breaker. His influence in the 4th quarter of the 2009 grand final along with Byrnesy was invaluable and helped get us the 2nd flag in few seasons. Those blokes do the job week in and week out but Varcoe is gonna be the difference in the game against the Hawks and Collingwood coming up you watch:thumbsu: he's gonna have a huge season

Bobby....meto is going to have ****ing apoplexy over this post. :thumbsu:

Hold on to your hat matey :D

Okay, but that still doesn't make him top five unless you put him ahead of two more from Bartel, Corey, Chapman, Selwood, Johnson and Scarlett, plus I have to add that it's hard to believe you've really thought this through if you reckon he's having a better season then the five you named.

Thought his influence in the last quarter of the 09 GF was minimal at best, and as much as I hope you're right about the Hawks and Pies matches coming up, well we'll just have to wait and see I guess, as his record against the better opposition [ with a few exceptions ] hasn't been that flash in the past.

Good player who has already exceeded my expectations, but still a long way off what you [ and others ] make him out to be IMO.

Bobby....meto is going to have ****ing apoplexy over this post. :thumbsu:

Hold on to your hat matey :D

Don't know about Meto but as for myself, well although there was no apoplexy I think there were a few heart palpitations ............ be honest now, surely even you were a little taken aback.

You don't take a Maybach out to pick up the fish and chips. You save it for the important trips.

Don't understand this philosophy at all. If he wants to become an elite performer, then he has to do what they do. Which is perform week in, week out.

This is professional sport, you don't get to pick and choose when you play well (That goes for all players by the way, not just Varcoe).

Sim Dog................Varcoe is our best defensive player in the team alongside Boris. He is like Alwyn Davey and Rioli when applying the pressure and is probably the best tackler at doing exactly what you reckon he needs to learn from Kelly and Bartel:thumbsd:
I'm not sure what his stats are but he would have to lay the most tackles per game.

No he's not. Not even close. When he wants to he's great at chasing guys down, but he doesn't do it all the time. As a defensive player, Enright has him covered by three miles of daylight. Watch the way Enright can work an opponent out of the game while gathering stacks of possessions himself. Varcoe can't do that.

That's not a slur either, Varcoe isn't a defender. His defensive skills will not be as fine-tuned as guys like Enright or Scarlett or Milburn, as it's not the core part of his game. No matter how much people might want it to be, it's not.

My thoughts (after having just watched it) of his performance against Port was it reminded me of him about 2-3 years ago. He was solid, but he definitely avoided some contests where he should have gone harder at the ball. The main reason he improved so much last year in my eyes was because he was prepared to put his body in to get the ball. Previously he wouldn't do that. Against Carlton in the practice match he was doing that and looked sensational.

It was however only one game. Plenty of time to atone this week.

Don't know about Meto but as for myself, well although there was no apoplexy I think there were a few heart palpitations ............ be honest now, surely even you were a little taken aback.[/QUOTE]

Yes I was. I have no doubt that Travis will one day be in our top 5 but when you look at Scarlett, Chapman, SJ, Bartel, Enright and Corey, at this stage its premature to put Trav in front of those 6 because of what they have achieved.

These guys are 200 game + B&F players who have achieved so much. Travis will be mentioned in the same tones before long though.

The bashing of Travis on this board is laughable, so I forgive Bobby for balancing things out with a bit of enthusiasm for the guy.

that's like saying SAINTS are 12th best atm. Sure they are now but where will they be when it counts, end Sep? Top 6 easily.

Go on, say it, I dare you!
We should all be saying numero uno, number one, the best.

But I'd say, what for? Precious little, so far, in comparison to the hype that comes from his fan club.

Lets just hope number one can get a kick this week and do something, rather than just glide.

Just as a matter of interest, if he's top five which seven of Bartel, Kelly, Corey, Selwood, Chapman, Ling, Enright, Johnson, Scarlett, Taylor and Ottens would you have him ahead of?

The Varcoe virus must effect the brain.
None of the above that's for sure, and any notion of that is just ludicrous, you're talking about real players now! :eek:

Right now on form he may be below some of those, but if an opposition team could pick 5 of our players , I'd bet my membership Varcoe would be in that 5, more times than not.

Go on, say it, I dare you!
We should all be saying numero uno, number one, the best.

But I'd say, what for? Precious little, so far, in comparison to the hype that comes from his fan club.

Lets just hope number one can get a kick this week and do something, rather than just glide.
What is your point here? Number 1. Who/ what?

VD you need to let meto slide when it comes to varcoe.
He is off the planet

You would think he'd admit to being wrong. So far

The Varcoe virus must effect the brain.
None of the above that's for sure, and any notion of that is just ludicrous, you're talking about real players now! :eek:

So Varcoe is not a " real player " ? You enjoy making these inflammatory statements about Travis?

Its almost as if you're wishing him to fail. A totally negative campaign against a Geelong player over a long period of time.

I can imagine if Varcoe plays an average game on a wet confined SCG, you will out there saying I told you so. Thats a little sad tbh.

Gotta stop sucking those lemons meto.

So Varcoe is not a " real player " ? You enjoy making these inflammatory statements about Travis?

Its almost as if you're wishing him to fail. A totally negative campaign against a Geelong player over a long period of time.

I can imagine if Varcoe plays an average game on a wet confined SCG, you will out there saying I told you so. Thats a little sad tbh.

Gotta stop sucking those lemons meto.

Carefull your getting sucked in way to easy DTC.