Very confident

• Thread starter Thread starter Cyclops

captain subtext said:
This is gonna be a good, tough game (I hope, we could get smashed) and I really find it tough to pick a winner.
Right now I'd have to go with the Dees by 18pts but we've heard by many of your faithful you are "very confident" and will smash us. If you guys do go down will we get some respect or will you roll out the injury excuse?

Can't speak for anyone else, but I've respected Melbourne all along -- though I may have wavered when you lost your first few... I tipped you to finish in the eight at the start of the season and didn't understand the pessimism from some.

I think Collingwood will have enough of our best players on the park -- though I'm a bit worried about the two extra injured players we're rumoured to have -- that it'll be a bit lame to resort to the injured-player crutch.

May the best team win --and if we don't, well, good luck to you.

I know you blokes have alot of injuries but in saying this half of them are talented players and the others arent as important I dont think, Maxwell would not of had to much of an impact and I Know Richards did play well last week although he can be replaced and you seemed to be doing okay without Caracella in their either, but I do understand that Swan,. Holland and Wakelin are pretty big losses. But you also have to take into acount that Melbourne have some pretty big outs to such as Moloney, Miller, Bizzel and especially Whelan (Maybe out)

PS- Maxwell and Richards are players of the future

trav_16 said:
I know you blokes have alot of injuries but in saying this half of them are talented players and the others arent as important I dont think, Maxwell would not of had to much of an impact and I Know Richards did play well last week although he can be replaced and you seemed to be doing okay without Caracella in their either, but I do understand that Swan,. Holland and Wakelin are pretty big losses. But you also have to take into acount that Melbourne have some pretty big outs to such as Moloney, Miller, Bizzel and especially Whelan (Maybe out)

PS- Maxwell and Richards are players of the future
yes true, however maxy is capable of playing great games of footy has been abit off in the past few weeks. His strength is his courage, leadership and creativity he does the things others dont want to do and he makes those around him better players. WIll improve out of sight when he has to (ie. when presti and wakes retire)

rick James said:
Funnily enough I feel equally as confident about the Demons chances this week.

This is what football at the G is all about, and I hate you Collingwood losers, and I will let you know about it on Monday - but god damn it I reckon we're going to be in for one hell of a game.

Over the last 8 years it's 5-3 in our favour, so it's been pretty close between the sides historically.

Our midfield grunt will match yours this year, hell, it did last year and it's got better. And our classy midfielders are on a totally different level to yours. Your forwards would slightly pip ours for effectiveness this year, but ours have more "wtf" factor and ability to turn games. Your defense won't generate as much run as not a single one of our forwards can be given space.

Prediction: Dees by 30.

:eek: I would rewrite that bit about slightly pip ours does 250 more points ring a bell!!!! Count yourselves lucky our midfield copped a brusing on saturday night, should be a much more even contest now but 100 points your going to have to wear, it all depends on how many you score?:D

rick James said:
Your forwards would slightly pip ours for effectiveness this year, but ours have more "wtf" factor and ability to turn games.

Have you not seen any of our games this year. Even when we have lost we have turned it on for 10-15 minutes kicking 5 or more goals in quick time.

Slightly?!

Pies scoring average = 120.5 points per game

Demons = 96.4 points

4 goals per game is quite a significant advantage I would say.

Mate how many top 8 teams u played this year?

demondude said:
Slightly?!

Demons = 96.4 points

We have played West Coast, Adelaide and The Bulldogs. Also Hawthorn were in the 8 when we played them.

Don't start that easy draw crap. 5 out of the 7 teams we have return games against played finals last year. Not our fault or the AFL's fault a few of them are **** this year.

Collinwood are having a great year, there is no doubt about that.

May the best team win.

Hopefully Rocca will wear shorts that fit him this week.

GO DEES!

PS. MELB FTW! HEHE

rick James said:
I said effectiveness though. We aren't going inside 50 anywhere near as much as you this year, which is hardly our forwards fault - probably more a result of our changed gameplan.

What I was saying is more that, considering oppurtunities etc. yours would be ahead, but not by heaps.
oppurtunities ???.....i would not be giving spelling lessons to others if i was you mate..get a dictionary

rick James said:
And our classy midfielders are on a totally different level to yours. Your forwards would slightly pip ours for effectiveness this year, but ours have more "wtf" factor and ability to turn games. Your defense won't generate as much run as not a single one of our forwards can be given space.
I don't know how you have come up with stuff, but it isn't from facts and figures...

Per match this season, Collingwood have 50.5 more possessions, 25.4 more kicks, 7.2 more long kicks, 25.1 more handpasses, 17.5 more marks, 1.3 more contested marks, 4.1 more goals, 0.8 more behinds, 2.5 less possessions per goal, 6.2 more inside 50’s, 0.5 less inside 50’s per goal, 1.6 more rebound 50’s, 47.1 more uncontested possessions, 2.7 more bounces, 1.6 less errors, and 2.8% less disposal errors.

It couldn't be Melbourne's 'classy' midfield turning it over more could it?

The only areas that Melbourne have an edge over Collingwood this season is that they have 8.3 more hitouts, 0.8 more contested possessions, 23.1 more 1%’s, and 1.7 more centre clearances.

Pro-Stats: Collingwood v. Melbourne

McLean not playing its been reported! Done a hammy apparently!

I don't think we can win now. Injuries - curse them. :mad: :thumbsd:

Keithy George said:

That's disapppointing. Both teams losing players. It would've been great to see both teams slugging it out at full strength in front of a big crowd. That said, it may still be an absolute ripper.

Keithy George said:

McLean wouldn't have won the game for you .

zebbitty said:
He's one of our best players, I have no doubt he could be the difference between a 15 point defeat and a 15 point win.

We're screwed with him out (and Phil Read in probably!) just quietly...

demondude said:
Slightly?!

Demons = 96.4 points

Geelong, West coast, adelaide, dogs, hawthorn either played finals footy or were in form when we played them! we are in good form and i cant stand ppl saying that we arent playing well when we quite obviously are!

zebbitty said:

Wrong. If a key midfielder goes missing someone it creates a domino effect in the team where players are shifted around to cover the loss. McLean wins clearances, that's probably the best attribute a midfielder can have and it is not easily replaced. It's a bigger loss than Swan (as good as he's been) or Holland.

Trust me when I say we player better with him, in fact we are overly reliant on him and Rivers. However, its a good chance for the rest of the team to stand up.

Keithy George said:
Wrong. If a key midfielder goes missing someone it creates a domino effect in the team where players are shifted around to cover the loss. McLean wins clearances, that's probably the best attribute a midfielder can have and it is not easily replaced. It's a bigger loss than Swan (as good as he's been) or Holland.

Trust me when I say we player better with him, in fact we are overly reliant on him and Rivers. However, its a good chance for the rest of the team to stand up.
As I said in the thread on your board, if McLean being out takes away your chance to win, then you are conceding that with a full side in, or even just a couple out of Swan, Holland, Caracella, Maxwell and possibly Richards and Wakelin all healthy, you definitely wouldn't have been a chance.

vinnie_vegas69 said:
As I said in the thread on your board, if McLean being out takes away your chance to win, then you are conceding that with a full side in, or even just a couple out of Swan, Holland, Caracella, Maxwell and possibly Richards and Wakelin all healthy, you definitely wouldn't have been a chance.

I'm not saying that at all. Even if those players you mentioned were playing and if Brock was playing I'd still be confident we'd win. However, none of your missing players are your premier stoppage midfielders.

Swan - more of an outside player, wingman correct me if im wrong
Holland - tagger, not a chief playmaker
Caracella - bit the same as Swan
Maxwell and Richards - well we're missing Wheatley, Brown, Moloney etc..but meh...not potential match-winners.
Wakelin - we are missing key defenders too.

The thing is you guys still have your key midfielders the players you are missing are good additional players and the game is won in the midfield generally.

It's like when you guys lost Rocca in the GF. You simply can't replace some players.

Having said that, I hope I'm wrong in suggesting we are lost without Brock. Iit will really show where the rest of our midfielders are at.

Swan has been our best midfielder this season. Don't know where you come up with that. He is also FAR from an outside player. I guess it seems that way because opposition supporters will probably only notice him when he finds a heap of space with his smarts and goes forward and kicks goals or links play. Collingwood fans notice when he is at the centre bounce and wins the ball out of the pack to give off to the likes of Lonie and Johnson.

I tend to agree with Dundalis, Swan has probably been our best player this year he can win the ball he can use it well in tight and in space and he can float forward and convert! Brodie is a good tough in and under mid and is underated! The problem with losing these to is that we lose in the midfield rotations that have kept our mids so dominant! having said that we didnt have any rotations last week and we still one despite having 17 fit players at one stage!

Wakelin is a courageous champion defender and his absence wont hurt us much because miller is out. Having both maxy and wakelin out could hurt us tho, perhaps trav cloke can play on jeff white or jamar if they float forward!

Your right however that the rest of the players are easily replaced, even tho our backline is far better with maxy in it then not! He does the 1% that no1 else has the guts or selflesness to do every1 around him is a better player because of it!

Should be a cracker match with or without brock! If he doesnt play i dont think you can win, coz our forward setup is far to dominant for ANYONE to contain

Pies by 30

Cyclops said:
I feel very confident abou the game coming up against Melbourne. I think this team is ready to flex a bit of muscle and crush a top 8 opponent. I know we shellacked Geelong but there was something unreal about that game, it was NQR. I think this time we will take the varnish off our enemies for real.

I think we have matched up well against Melbourne in years past: even in our terrible 2005 season they only snuck past us in the last quarter. I understand they've injected some grunt into the midfield but its young grunt, and we still have the usual punishers. Tarrant, Rocca and T Cloke will terrorize the backs, and our bewildering array of midfield options will bamboozle them in the middle. There's no stars there for them to snuff out, no lock for them to pick, no keystone to punch out and bring our house down, just an endless supply of competent team players who give nothing away. Even Didak is playing unselfish footy.

I know Melbourne have the skills to beat good sides and they desevre respect for their performances this season. I just feel we can upset their applecart big time.

So what will you be saying and doing when the Demons win on Monday ? I am confident Melbourne can win and pul away midway through the last quarter t owin by 3-4 goals

Mclean is averaging the most clearances in the afl. enough said. The scales are now heavily tilted in ur direction. so much for a good game. every single player that collingwood has injured, apart from swan, is cr@p!!!...so its no loss what so ever.