Very Disappointing Last Quarter

r_boy

Aug 12, 2007
Northern Territory
Okay, now I'd like to think I'm not being a so called 'negative nelly' here, and was very impressed with how our boys played, however I would like to make two honest points:

1. From the VERY start of the last term (when the players had just had a break long enough to contest at least early on), they went to absolute shit and did not perform anywhere near what we had seen for the other three quarters. 'Running out of legs' for mine does not constitute as an excuse here.

2. This is merely hypothetical, but I think it is reasonable to suggest that there is no way we would have given up ~40 points in the last quarter if the game was level at three quarter time. Okay so they got tired, but 40-50 points after three quarters of domination? Hmmmm...

It was obvious that the players knew they had it won and just sat on there asses. I don't want to see sugar-coating of this. Our inability to finish teams off was a problem right throughout Laidly's tenure and, combined with our always terrible percentage, represents to me a near enough is good enough attitude. A premiership is all that is good enough in the final analysis, and you will never win a premiership by just gifting 40 points and entire quarters to teams. Yes we won and I truly am very pleased with how all of our guys played (except 1 or 2), but that last quarter was a far-cry from the 'competitive' North that the club has been spruiking - it was instead a capitulation reminiscent of the St.Kilda game in rnd 2.

Okay now I prepare for the negative nelly posts etc... Seriously I really enjoyed that match and how all our blokes played... just the team as a whole really fluffed that last quarter.

r_boy makes a very good point. Had we been level with Adelaide coming into the last quarter or only up by a goal or 2 I think our last quarter would have been better. No doubt the effort of some in the last was a little ordinary. Plenty to still work on. To be honest I walked out of the game disappointed. It was good to win but......

Needs to be rectified, it happens too many times and it's been going on for years now. I don't know how to fix it but players need to realise that 3 quarter efforts are no longer going to win you games. You would work that hard just to get that lead and then to lose it three times as easy proves you can't let off. Also, the players would have to realise that at the moment our percentage is significantly worse than our other competitors, percentage can be the difference between making finals and not. Lastly, I can't think of anything more satisfying than smashing a team by 80-100 points, this should have happened today, at quarter time i predicted a 50 point win. But then I should've realised it's us we're talking about. I have faith Brad Scott can change this mindset, it'll need to be a constant reminder to the players until it's engrained in their head.

**** me, we finally beat a mob that has had it over us for 5 years with a bunch of sensational kids leading the way and we have a thread on the poor last quarter, a thread on how poor the crowd was and a thread dealing with whether the ****ing Adelaide coach will keep his job.

All we need is a "changes for next weeks final quarter" thread and we will have the complete ****ing set.

I sometimes wonder if some of you people actually give a **** about anything positive that happens with the club.

Needs to be rectified, it happens too many times and it's been going on for years now. I don't know how to fix it but players need to realise that 3 quarter efforts are no longer going to win you games. You would work that hard just to get that lead and then to lose it three times as easy proves you can't let off. Also, the players would have to realise that at the moment our percentage is significantly worse than our other competitors, percentage can be the difference between making finals and not. Lastly, I can't think of anything more satisfying than smashing a team by 80-100 points, this should have happened today, at quarter time i predicted a 50 point win. But then I should've realised it's us we're talking about. I have faith Brad Scott can change this mindset, it'll need to be a constant reminder to the players until it's engrained in their head.

Yeah because this team coached by BRAD SCOTT has a lot of similarities with teams coached by LAIDLEY 5 years ago. Except of course for 90% of the players. And the coach. And well, pretty much everything.

I reckon they might know that they need to play more than 3 quarters to win games.
I reckon they know that their percentage is crap.
I reckon they would love the satisfying feeling of winning by 80-100 points.
They're just not their yet. Relax. Enjoy the ride.

**** me, we finally beat a mob that has had it over us for 5 years with a bunch of sensational kids leading the way and we have a thread on the poor last quarter, a thread on how poor the crowd was and a thread dealing with whether the ****ing Adelaide coach will keep his job.

All we need is a "changes for next weeks final quarter" thread and we will have the complete ****ing set.

I sometimes wonder if some of you people actually give a **** about anything positive that happens with the club.

Seconded. Motion passed. Especially the bold.

Why post a thread saying we played poorly in the last term?

Because it ****ing well needs to be addressed. We were all waiting for it to happen, every week we get a good lead we wait for it. It needs to stop and players need to get their heads in the game for 4 quarters.

I mean shit, it was ****ing Adelaide!

I enjoyed the win and the great first 3 quarters.
What I am enjoying the most is no more holding the ball up in the air.

Yeah lets just all hold hands and start singing Kum Ba Yah. I couldn't give a shit about the Adelaide coach but the other 2 topics are worth discussing. They are North related and topical. Didn't yah used to sook about Laidleys once upon a time? Wasn't it being negative? Shit mate you've degenerated into a Namby Pamby poster. I want the old Flag Man back. :stern look

I enjoyed the win and the great first 3 quarters.
What I am enjoying the most is no more holding the ball up in the air.

You know you're right. It's a thing of beauty.

I'm actually analysing why we played poorly in the last term, perhaps read more than the thread title!

I mean really, do you whinge about trivial stuff like this in real life?
Yeah, RB the other day was whinging to me about his 5 inch old fellow. I told him, mate it aint the size of the cue that matters but how many times yah can pot the red and the black. :stern look

I'm actually analysing why we played poorly in the last term, perhaps read more than the thread title!

1. A single ruckman tiring from carrying the entire ruck load.

2. One man down on the interchange bench.

3. A team of kids that were buggered from flogging bigger, stronger and more experienced opposition players for 3 quarters.

/thread.

Let's completely forget that we played with one less man and that theyoung lads ran out of condition and could hardly lift their legs.

The OP is just shit, completely lacking any football knowledge and that goes for those that have agreed with it.

Great win by a team that is showing some real progress and I couldn't give a rats arse if we won by a point, it's 4 points and makes us 4-4, not bad considering we were 0-2.

No wonder we can't get people to the games when you have negative supporters like ours:thumbsdown:

Yeah, RB the other day was whinging to me about his 5 inch old fellow. I told him, mate it aint the size of the cue that matters but how many times yah can pot the red and the black. :stern look

I overheard that conversation and I could have sworn that you said pink and brown.

Yeah lets just all hold hands and start singing Kum Ba Yah. I couldn't give a shit about the Adelaide coach but the other 2 topics are worth discussing. They are North related and topical. Didn't yah used to sook about Laidleys once upon a time? Wasn't it being negative? Shit mate you've degenerated into a Namby Pamby poster. I want the old Flag Man back. :stern look

Massive difference here is Laidley's team was full of older players with experience, this team is the youngest in the comp and we played with 21 men tonight. Or doesn't that matter?

Didn't yah used to sook about Laidleys once upon a time? Wasn't it being negative?

It was telling the truth, but it took 2 frickin years to arrive at that conclusion.

Shit mate you've degenerated into a Namby Pamby poster.

I don't understand the negative shit after a win like tonight's win. There is so much to be positive about.

I want the old Flag Man back. :stern look

He didn't go anywhere.

Not wanting to have a go at the OP, but f*ck me if this isn't the single most predictable, uninspired thread topic that could have come out of tonight. Just pathetic. We won the game.

On second thoughts, I am having a go at the OP ...

I's not like I just put up the thread and posted 'FFS BAD LAST QUARTER WE SUCK', I actually put effort into the OP discussing an ongoing issue.

We haven't put teams away for a long time. That is a fairly innocent issue IMO but gee there are some reactionaries on here thinking I'm having a big vent or something after the game. Give it a rest and just play the ball.

Yeah because this team coached by BRAD SCOTT has a lot of similarities with teams coached by LAIDLEY 5 years ago. Except of course for 90% of the players. And the coach. And well, pretty much everything.

I reckon they might know that they need to play more than 3 quarters to win games.
I reckon they know that their percentage is crap.
I reckon they would love the satisfying feeling of winning by 80-100 points.
They're just not their yet. Relax. Enjoy the ride..
I'm just saying that we've never been able to put teams away that it must be some sort of mindset. We were absolutely smashing them to pieces and to lose the quarter by 45 points is not acceptable, it's not just because we were tired. We had plenty of the ball to do damage of our own and to kick no goals was a worry.

Very Disappointing Last Quarter