VFL Rd 1

Blueinblood

Bullants take on Bendigo at Visy Park this week. 2pm start and a great chance to make a double header and hopefully see the Blues beat the Bombers twice in one day.

Will be great to see the likes of Lucas, Casboult, Donaldson, Browne, White, Hadley, Garlett and Cachia out there. Bendigo didnt win a game last year, so theyll be looking for a good start. Possible return of Austin and ROK.

Get down and have a super Saturday and get to both games!

Casboult i think will be played in the Seniors, at least to begin with. He along with Hampson when he returns and Josh Donaldson will be the KP forwards (AFL listed). Not too sure on the pickups over the offseason from the Ants, but you would like to think they have picked up some taller players (particularly a ruckman) as they lacked a bit of height when Carlton listed players were out with injury.

But with players like Hadley, Garlett, Hampson, Jacobs, Grigg, Ellard, Lucas and Browne, and a defensive unit with White and Anderson at times they will win more games than they lose.

Not a chance the club will want to rush Casboult, particularly after the preseason he has had. The other player that the club will want to get some senior game time at the Bullants is Tiller, who came to the club as a bottom aged forward, and is probably now ready to play more consistent senior footy with the Bullants.

Interestingly Tiller has been used as a backman this pre-season.

HBF, what do you think about Arrowsmith. Im just wondering if it was a Bullants inspired move to grab the lad, or if Carlton had a little input and urged the Ants to take him on board, maybe as they rated him a bit before he went to WC, and then was largely unseen. I cant really see Carlton being interested, due to the likes of Kerr and Robinson being on the list, but certainly he has been in great form this preseason (Bag of 6 and some good performances) and if he can have a ripper year, might get a spot on the rookie list or even a GC list.

My mate umpired the Ants against Balywn in a paccy match recently.

Skinny Jeff kicked 6 or 7

(yes I'm aware umpire mate is an oxymoron)

Wiggins played well too.

we won by about 1000 points btw

Players like Hendo Wiggins Lucas etc who are on the fringe must impress early to keep their names up there. I expect the Ants to be a force

Bendigo are not fielding a reserves side this season, so if some of the boys are not up to it yet they will have one more week to wait until they suit up.

I wonder why Ashley Arrowsmith didn't make it with WCE?

Seems to have the talent - perhaps not the application?

Not sure either, to be honest. From what I have heard he has been quite handy for the Ants already, highlighted by a big haul in one of the games (IIRC he kicked 6 or 7 - can anyone confirm?)

One thing is for sure - with the 2 new clubs coming into the competition over the next few seasons, the other 16 clubs need to go a little out of the square to find new recruits. If that means getting more mature players to the club, for example guys around the 21 year old mark, then so be it & I'd be all for recruiting a couple.

Often all a rejected player needs is a second opportunity to show what he can offer. If Arrowsmith has a really good season for the Bullants (or anyone anywhere else for that matter) I'd have little hesitation in recruiting them, as long as they are mentally able to handle the pressures of being an AFL footballer.

I think we'll see a significant increase in mature aged recruits in the coming seasons and I'd have no problem with Carlton showing initiative and being heavily involved in that.