VFL score?

I reckon.

The majority of the team would of been ring ins.

Blake, Callan, Spencer, Thurley, Mackie, Lonergan, Koula the only listed players?

Originally posted by Unwritten_Law
I reckon.

The majority of the team would of been ring ins.

Blake, Callan, Spencer, Thurley, Mackie, Lonergan, Koula the only listed players?

Plus "2 weeks" Foster,Wojcinski [returning from injury] & rookies Byrnes,Smith,Allan & Buckland.

The rest were top-ups.

You couldnt kick goals because your forwards lead to the [ockets and the boundary line. You arent playing direct footy.
Its not just your firsts your VFL side dpes the same thing. Its a coqaching trait. when you went direct in the firsts you looked good. Crazy .......

I think thats a bog part of your problem in the firsts and your seconds plays the carbon copy .

Originally posted by TheHeatleyStand
You couldnt kick goals because your forwards lead to the [ockets and the boundary line. You arent playing direct footy.
Its not just your firsts your VFL side dpes the same thing. Its a coqaching trait. when you went direct in the firsts you looked good. Crazy .......

I think thats a bog part of your problem in the firsts and your seconds plays the carbon copy .

I think that's a little unfair on the VFL side. Considering we had so many players out, the VFL side would have been stacked with top-up players, half of whom wouldn't have known the game plan and most likely played their own brand of footy.

Yeah, but im not talking about just todays game also the game a couple of weeks ago.
I just think you pi$$ fart around with the ball on the wings and pockets.
the reason you kicked innacurately was because you were having a heap of shots from the pockets.

Youre never going to kick a winnihg score from there.

You had some big timber up forwards in your firsts and still went to the pockets. Why would your ressies have a better game plan ?

Originally posted by GeeCat
Because I have firm belief that Ronny Watt is a better coach than Bomber Thompson.
fair enough. i dont know much about him.just an observation.
Remember the ressies coach plays under the instrauctions of the first coach.
Barry Mitchell and Peter Dean train the Bullants the same way we train under Pagan and Elshaug

Fair enough, but once the VFL coach is in the box, the team is under his control and no one elses. Ronny might train the boys the same way as Bomber, yet that doesn't mean he has to use the same tactics.

Optus Oval Sunday April 4, 10:30 am
Northern Bullants 7.4 10.9 14.13 22.17 (149)
Geelong 1.5 7.7 9.9 9.10 (64)

Northern Bullants
Goals: Beasy 4, Maslin 4, Mott 3, Pleming 3, Bentick 2, McCormick 2, McGrath 2, Franchina, Zorzi.
Best: Davies, McGrath, McCormick, Simpson, Zorzi, Franchina.
Goals: Greaves 3, Koulouriotis 2, Thurley 2, Wojcinski, Callan.
Best: Spencer, Mackie, Egan, Koulouriotis.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
We got smashed by some 14 goals.
Absolutely deplorable, and it almost seemed as though the AFL team tried to emulate that substandard VFL performance, although you have to cut some slack for the VFL team as it was a very undermanned line up.

I suppose habbits die hard, and it almost seems as if both the teams mirror each other's performance. Ah well, I'm sure the VFL team will go alright this year.

We were never really in the hunt, but if we just used the ascendancy gained from a burst of about 10 minutes (from either the 2nd or 3rd quarter) then the match could have held a completely different completion.

Being just in touch at ¾ time, but losing by 14 goals really puts a sour taste in your mouth.

Cats crunched in curtain raiser
Adam White
gfc.com.au
9:37:06 AM Mon 5 April, 2004

A rampaging Northern Bullants blew away the Bendigo Bank Cats in yesterday’s early game at Optus Oval, with the Cats going down by a humbling 85 points.

The Bullants’ eight goal last quarter, while holding the Cats goalless, boosted their final total to 22 – 17 (149) to just 9 – 10 (64).

The Geelong side had a number of new faces, including first round Captain James Byrne, while injuries to a number of senior listed players meant the majority of the VFL list were called in to action for the match.

A nervous start from the young Cats saw the Bullants jump out to a five goal lead, with Luke Maslin and Ricky Mott each goaling twice and Callan Beasy once in the opening 20 minutes.

The closest the Cats got to a major was a running James Allan shot, which Daniel Foster unfortunately fumbled through for a point while attempting a mark at the goal mouth.

Jon McCormick soon extended the lead with a good snap shot from 25 metres, and only well in to time on were the Cats able to register their first, following a free kick to tall forward Aaron Greaves.

When Beasy booted his second on the siren, it was the Bullants by 35 points at the first break.

David Wojcinski capitalised on a kick in error early in the second quarter for a goal, though Beasy soon had a third, courtesy of a downfield free from a late Sam Clark tackle.

Former Tassie Devil Cameron Thurley worked his way in to the match with a few touches around the ground and a goal at the 14 minute mark, while teammate Greaves was able to outpoint Irish debutante Setanta O’hAilpin for his second goal soon after.

Allan soon got reward for his efforts with clever roving goal, and the Cats suddenly were gathering momentum.

A bit of rough stuff saw James Davies and Luke Buckland clash, with the Carlton listed Davies having his number taken following the incident, which left Buckland on the ground for several seconds before being attended to by trainers.

Adam Bentick of the Bullants, Greaves, with his third, and McCormick traded goals, and when Thurley marked and converted right on the half time siren, the Cats had it back to a 20 point margin.

Former Bomber Cory McGrath kicked a sensational goal for the Bullants to open the second half, with Brett Zorzi soon extending the margin with another.

Pre-season draftee Paul Kouloriotis booted two beautiful long goals within minutes to try to keep the Cats in touch, but some lacklustre misses from team mates undid some of the better efforts.

McGrath was able to pounce on a defensive error for his second major of the quarter, and then Maslin capitalised on a red hot holding the ball decision to extend the margin back out to 34 points at the final change.

The final quarter was a procession of goals from the Bullants, with the Cats seemingly running out of energy in the warm autumn conditions.

Anthony Franchina, Mott, Maslin, Beasy, and McCormick all took part in the goal feast, while young team mate Sam Pleming snared three for the quarter.

Even O’hAilpin stormed down from defence to have a shot, though the big Irishman presented more danger to the fans in the Legend Stand pocket than the goals on this occasion.

It was a huge final margin of 85 points at the final bell, and Coach Ron Watt was making no excuses for the heavy defeat.

“They were terrible. Didn’t do what they were asked to do and just had no urgency about it, so they deserved to lose the way they did,” he said.

Watt gave his side some credit for his sides efforts in the second and initial stages of the third quarter, but believes the side was always playing catch up football, which was a drain on their energy levels in the finish.

“They had to work that hard to get themselves back in that position (of being within 18 points midway through the third quarter) and they had nothing left to go with. If they had started the way they should have it might have been a different story,” Watt said.

Some of the leading possession winners for the Cats were Andrew Mackie, who had 21 possessions and seven marks, while Thurley and Koulouriotis had 19 apeice, and a returning Wojcinski had 16 touches and a good four quarter hit out.

Matthew Spencer was also among the Cats best in a key defensive post, with Watt singling him out for particular praise.

“If everyone was to show as much care for the team as (Spencer) does, you would never lose a game,” Watt said.

The Cats travel to Bendigo next week to take on the Bombers, and while the Geelong boys accounted for them just a week ago in a practice game, Watt knows it will be tougher next week.

“They probably had their best five players out (in the practice game), so they will be harder to beat over there (in Bendigo),” Watt said.

North Ballarat 1.4 5.6 10.14 17.15 (117)
Northern Bullants 1.1 2.5 2.6 4.9 (33)

Ouch.

The Devils are going to make one hell of a mess next weekend.