Victoria Park

PieLebo87

Hall of Famer
Veteran A Star Wars Fan 10k Posts Cake Connoisseur
Sep 14, 2005
How is this stadium going these days?

What are they doing with it at the moment?

What does the future hold?

Anyone have any recent pics?

Do the Pies have any involvement still with it?

If we win a flag, do we go back there afterwards?

It's been heritage listed so it will always be there, but the Magpies home is now the Lexus centre and I doubt we'd go back there after a GF win. Also I don't think Collingwood has any involvement with the ground anymore since moving, but I could be wrong.

was actually there on wednesday and geez it bought back some fantastic memories... looks in very average condition though everything is fenced off and the only reason i got in was because a gate was open because they were mowing the grass.. however even though it doesnt look like much they have lines painted on the field so it mustve been used for something very recently.. i would love to see the black and white army there after the 2008 grand final geez that would be special..

It's been heritage listed so it will always be there, but the Magpies home is now the Lexus centre and I doubt we'd go back there after a GF win. Also I don't think Collingwood has any involvement with the ground anymore since moving, but I could be wrong.

The Club actually booked vic park for a function after grand final day, so we would have gone there if we participated.

One of the biggest regrets in my entire life not getting to see them play there, will haunt me forever.

Living in Tassie and only being a young teen at the time we left there I just didn't think of the importance of doing everything I could to get there before we moved.

It would be great if the ground could be developed into the new Collingwood VFL teams home ground. Much better than having to use MC Labour Park.

The playing surface used to be fantastic.

Every time I went there I used to stand behind the goals right on the fence. Absolutely loved the place.

It would be great if the ground could be developed into the new Collingwood VFL teams home ground. Much better than having to use MC Labour Park.

The playing surface used to be fantastic.

Every time I went there I used to stand behind the goals right on the fence. Absolutely loved the place.

Ditto love Vic Park.

Was lucky enough to see collingwood play their last game there against brisbane. even though we lost it didn't matter, was an otherwise great day but very sad to see the old girl go. was great to be amongst 'family'.

Hell, why don't we play our VFL side there!!!!!!!!!! :D:D:D

Bring Vic Park back to life!!! We could afford to do it up a little bit and wouldn't it be great to see the black and white running around there again :rolleyes:

Sadly it's in the hands of Yarra Council now and the future plans don't involve footy. It's all about "community activities" and similar arty farty stuff. As if it wasn't about the community in the old days! There'll be treed areas, walking tracks, recreational space, playgrounds - oh yes, and what used to be a footy ground! It's for the new residents now, the Dinks and twinks and other assorted well heeled trendies who are taking over the area, and these people don't want nasty football crowds clogging up "their" streets like they did for a hundred years or so.

The ghosts of a thousand old players and a million old supporters will still haunt the place forever though and maybe on a cold, dark Saturday night in July the roar of a distant army will still be heard.......

Well said mate

Goosebumps Stuff :D

Vic park has been heritage listed and development are underway to maintain the venue, will no longer be a 'stadium' but will have the oval still there and parkland etc. around it. A couple of stands will remain as too (i think) some terraces. I have always said that this should be a maintained venure and could have been used by the VFL for GF's etc.

With the developments taking place which can be found on the coucil website it won't be impossible to see a return of footy in some capacity being played there, but highly unlikely, would have been ideal for Collingwood VFL next season.

After the show the other night I tried (in vain) to talk everyone into going over for to Vic Park a kick of the footy - we had spent the evening watching the 1990 premiership on DVD - a few were up for it but we just ended up staying in The Retreat and talked about how we should go over there...

I loved Vic Park as a kid - I only got to go there when my Dad decided I was old enough to handle standing room so it was a real big deal - once, when I was 11 or something, I was busting for a piss and ducked into the Laird on the way to the game from where we parked the car outside that parking zone they used to have. That was an education!

Yep, tonnes of great memories - it would be grand if the VFL side played out there! Someone should bring it up at the AGM or something.

Victoria Park