Viduka

Well done Dukes - we're going to miss you in SA - massive hole, impossible to fill.

Paul Trimbole is also a massive North supporter, and Joey Didulica is a big Geelong supporter, having come from Geelong.

At time when he had to overcome a serious injury, he spent most of the season doing his rehab with GFC (and by all accounts, loved it).

...good to see at the elite soccer folk can demonstrate respect

Mate - at every level we used to demonstrate respect for Aussie Rules when I was growing up.

In return we got the taunts: it's a game for "sheilas, wogs & ****ters".

I've had some terrific converstations about Aussie Rules with the elite level, too.

It's just at the supporter level, the majority of Aussie Rules fans - not all, THE MAJORITY - are unsophisticated, uneducated & insular bogans.

You may, or may not believe, but I was a Member (Junior, Student & Adult) of the Hawthorn FC from 1977-2002. Stood at Princes Park, Waverley and then the MCG with my mates and had the best times of my life.

But, I always played football - not, Aussie Rules - and, the constant abuse from Aussie Rules types when we played or trained finally hit a nerve and I said - no more.

Now, I will never spend another cent on anything to do with Aussie Rules.

Mate - at every level we used to demonstrate respect for Aussie Rules when I was growing up.

I've had some terrific converstations about Aussie Rules with the elite level, too.

It's just at the supporter level, the majority of Aussie Rules fans - not all, THE MAJORITY - are unsophisticated, uneducated & insular bogans.

You may, or may not believe, but I was a Member (Junior, Student & Adult) of the Hawthorn FC from 1977-2002. Stood at Princes Park, Waverley and then the MCG with my mates and had the best times of my life.

But, I always played football - not, Aussie Rules - and, the constant abuse from Aussie Rules types when we played or trained finally hit a nerve and I said - no more.

That' the saddest story I've ever heard in my life. :(

Excuse me while I go and get a tissue...

Yes footy done you wrong, most here would have figured that out by now.

And of course soccer supporters are world renowned for their sophistication, education and willingness to embrace other cultures.

I don't know how the Hawks have survived without you.

That' the saddest story I've ever heard in my life. :(

Excuse me while I go and get a tissue...

Not sure what you're sad about?

I enjoyed following Aussie Rules when I was younger; but, I grew up!

Now, I guess I have more sophisticated tastes and talking football is the universal language in every country - probably, other than the former British colonies!

FIGJAM,

Get off your high horse.

I played soccer as a junior, watched much of the last WC on TV, play online soccer and have lived in a non-english speaking country etc.

Regardless of any of the above, because I don't think the WC should be held in Australia ( mostly because i don't think the costs are worth the benefits ) and support AFL, according to most soccer fans on this forum I'm an insular bogan who couldn't have a valid opinion if I said the sun will rise tomorrow.

The same soccer fans who seem to think that because their sport is bigger internationally, it makes them open minded.

I don't know how the Hawks have survived without you [figjam].
:D

The Hawks only doubled their membership and won a flag since figjam left. I don't think he's missed :p.

Figjam comes across as one of these new born religious types who in a desperate attempt to prove they belong to their newly found faith they totally reject and pour scorn on their past life and then bible-bash those who have been believers all their life accusing them of being less worthy in some vain attempt to gain a feeling of superiority and hide his own insecurity underneath the false bravado. Meanwhile we tell him to **** off for speaking deduled fanatical BS on our doorstep, slam the front door in his face and go back to the couch to watch the football of our choice on tv :p.

The Hawks only doubled their membership and won a flag since figjam left. I don't think he's missed :p.

Figjam comes across as one of these new born religious types who in a desperate attempt to prove they belong to their newly found faith they totally reject and pore scorn on their past life and then bible-bash those who have been believers all their life accusing them of being less worthy in some vain attempt to gain a feeling of superiority and hide his own insecurity underneath the false bravado. Meanwhile we tell him to **** off for speaking deduled fanatical BS on our doorstep, slam the front door in his face and go back to the couch to watch the football of our choice on tv :p.

Great Post :thumbsu:!

Go Pies ;)

That's a great post and how I feel generally, sick and tired of the AFL only insular fans trying to constantly put football down when it's such a big part of our country and our heritage. Great post.

... and then bible-bash those who have been believers all their life accusing them of being less worthy in some vain attempt to gain a feeling of superiority and hide his own insecurity underneath the false bravado. Meanwhile we tell him to **** off for speaking deduled fanatical BS on our doorstep, slam the front door in his face and go back to the couch to watch the football of our choice on tv

Actually, it gives me untold joy to realise Football will never attract support from "your type" of demographic.

Yes, I am a football snob, but I'd rather watch football in 1/2 empty stadia with the true believers than have to share space with people, who are ignorant of the "laws of the game" and don't:

a) appreciate the technical nuances

b) understand the tactical moves

c) love the ethnic foundations upon which the game was established in Australia.

So, by all means, wear your Ausse flag and chant that inane "aussie aussie aussie oi oi oi" during June ...

... but, the true believers will be happy to see you depart after June and will continue to laugh at your lack of culture and sophistication.

Figjam comes across as one of these new born religious types who in a desperate attempt to prove they belong to their newly found faith they totally reject and pour scorn on their past life and then bible-bash those who have been believers all their life accusing them of being less worthy in some vain attempt to gain a feeling of superiority and hide his own insecurity underneath the false bravado. Meanwhile we tell him to **** off for speaking deduled fanatical BS on our doorstep, slam the front door in his face and go back to the couch to watch the football of our choice on tv :p.

So he's really not much different to the Hawthorn bandwagoners who replaced him...

Actually, it gives me untold joy to realise Football will never attract support from "your type" of demographic.

Yes, I am a football snob, but I'd rather watch football in 1/2 empty stadia with the true believers than have to share space with people, who are ignorant of the "laws of the game" and don't:

c) love the ethnic foundations upon which the game was established in Australia.

So, by all means, wear your Ausse flag and chant that inane "aussie aussie aussie oi oi oi" during June ...

... but, the true believers will be happy to see you depart after June and will continue to laugh at your lack of culture and sophistication.

Sounds to me like you are living in the wrong country MATE!

That's a great post and how I feel generally, sick and tired of the AFL only insular fans trying to constantly put football down when it's such a big part of our country and our heritage. Great post.

A big part of our heritage?

Whose heritage?? :confused:

Sounds to me like you are living in the wrong country MATE!

I love a lot about Australia, but I'm not that insular to think it's the best country in the world.

No country - just like no family - is perfect.

I'm happy to criticise and have a laugh at Australia & Australians - just like close families & good friends take the piss out of each other.

However, if any non-Australian takes the piss I'll jump to the defence of Australians - even the Flag wearing bogans! ;-)

I love a lot about Australia, but I'm not that insular to think it's the best country in the world.

No country - just like no family - is perfect.

I'm happy to criticise and have a laugh at Australia & Australians - just like close families & good friends take the piss out of each other.

However, if any non-Australian takes the piss I'll jump to the defence of Australians - even the Flag wearing bogans! ;-)

It's actually the soccer types that wrap themselves in Australian flags - a concept that's quite foreign to most Australians. Surely you saw these types in Germany? YOu may even have been one of them!

Interestingly, in all these various comps about best this or best that, Australian and Australian cities always do exceedingly well, so it looks like Australians, by and large, have every reason to be happy with living in Australia.

Greece, Thailand and South Africa are only a plane ride away.

It's actually the soccer types that wrap themselves in Australian flags - a concept that's quite foreign to most Australians. Surely you saw these types in Germany? YOu may even have been one of them.

Yes, you are absolutely correct.

Certain football-types really do know how to "wear their country's colours" with style.

But, as you can see - they are nothing like the Cronulla-flag draped bogans you will see at the Cricket or on Australia day.

fussball.png

And, there is no end to the beauty on display at Deutschland 2006 - just click on the Flag - even some Aussies made the cut!

http://fivefalcons.com/world_cup_babes_2006/

It's actually the soccer types that wrap themselves in Australian flags - a concept that's quite foreign to most Australians. Surely you saw these types in Germany? YOu may even have been one of them!

Interestingly, in all these various comps about best this or best that, Australian and Australian cities always do exceedingly well, so it looks like Australians, by and large, have every reason to be happy with living in Australia.

Greece, Thailand and South Africa are only a plane ride away.

Mate im sick and tired of your constant references to football not being an Australian sport. It's been here since the late 1800's and our national football team first competed in 1922. That's what really annoys me about all of the insular footy fans out there like yourself - you are always looking to talk down on football and constantly label it as a foreign sport and "not Australian".

That's gold! Keep making a fool of yourself with every post. You definitely like showing the world you don't have a clue about anything assuming stuff you know nothing about and are just sad and insecure.

I played Soccer dopey and go to Victory games along with half the crowd who are also AFL club members. I've followed Soccer for over 30 years so your little childish rant about demographics and nuances is hilarious. You probably even one of those idiots who think the word Soccer is an evil Aussie bogan creation rather than an English abbreviation for Association Football used since the late 19th century.

The A-league is meant to embrace the wider community but hey it's so typical of too many Soccer-only bitter zealots in Oz like yourself who hate anyone who isn't judged "worthy" to be apart of the sport and who despise our Australian culture, our Australian sports, and worst of all our and your own country :thumbsd:. LOL @ trying to make yourself feel superior by only wanting to belong to a small minority who hates the majority. Well no wonder you feel at home at 442 :p.

Snob = insecure. Thanks for proving my point :cool:

Yes, you are absolutely correct.

Certain football-types really do know how to "wear their country's colours" with style.

But, as you can see - they are nothing like the Cronulla-flag draped bogans you will see at the Cricket or on Australia day.

fussball.png

And, there is no end to the beauty on display at Deutschland 2006 - just click on the Flag - even some Aussies made the cut!

http://fivefalcons.com/world_cup_babes_2006/
Yet most of the those girls above would be the very once-in-4-year patriotic types you claim to hate :rolleyes:

As for the Cronulla jibe. Ummm last I heard the shire is RL territory. Funny and ironic how the birthplace and heartland of Aussie Rules is the most multicultural and European styled city in Australia and there's never been any Cronulla-style race riots. Aussie Rules doesn't separate opposing supporters nor put crowds behind caged bars like animals as they do overseas in other sports. We're not perfect but it's something in Aussie Rules we can be proud of and be protective of.

Perhaps they call you a sheila, wog or ****ter in retaliation for you calling them uneducated bogans??

Perhaps if you explored football a bit more you would realise that:
1. supporters come from a very wide range of backgrounds.
2. its not just played in victoria (or even the world)
3. its a multiskilled game (not just strength)