Vinyl questions.

Hi, I've got a mate who's turning 21 in about a month - very into collecting vinyl's, however I don't think he's got a particularly good collection or a particularly good turntable.

I just wanted to know a bit about the different types of vinyl's (LP, 2xLP (does this just mean there are two LP's??!?), 7'', etc.) and how to tell which ones would be better quality, etc.

Also what price range should I be looking at for a solid quality turntable (bear in mind that me and my mates are poor uni students).

Thanks.

Plural of vinyl is still vinyl.

Now, that's the pompous out the way.

A 7" has (almost always) two songs: one song on the a-side, another on the b-side. Back when bands physically released singles, they'd be on a 7".

An LP is pretty much always on a 12". That's an album. If it's a 2x12", it'll have two vinyl discs. Usually because it's a special edition, a long album, or for some artistic reason.

As for turntables, no idea. You can get one that'll suffice for like a hundred maybe.

If you're after budget entry level brand new go with Pro-Ject. easy to set-up, no need to service it. Pull it out of the box, balance the tone-arm and you're away. This is more ideal than the turntables you might find at JB Hi-Fi but you are looking at $300-400.

If you're going second hand you may have trouble with it, may have to be serviced etc. but will cost you less than a new one. What's your budget?

As for quality...you win some, you lose some with vinyl. I've bought some shoddy 5 second hand jobs that looked battered to the shizen but sound amazing. Others are in top knick, look good, but sound awful in patches.

Budget probably about $150 for the turntable - I've found one on amazon which seems pretty solid, being given 4 star reviews on average over 112 reviews, crosley CR8005A - goes for between $100 and $120 online so far as I can see, haven't been able to find it at JB.

Looks decent for a first one...Do you have an amp with a phono stage and stereo speakers?

If the first question is no, then, assuming you have an amp, you need a phono preamp to go with it....can pick one up for about 30 bucks on ebay i think.

The main difference between cheap record players and the ones I'm talking about is the cartridge, magnet cartridges are better and I believe better for the records too. Ceramic cartridges can be a bit harsh on records but if you're just buying it to see how you like it it won't matter, just keep in mind if you decide it's awesome you'll definintely want to upgrade sooner or later....it can be quite addictive :oops:

No worries, let me know if you want any more advice, I'm fairly new to vinyl so I had many of the questions you ask when I started my set-up and collecting.

If you decide to delve into it, no matter your music taste, check out www.discogs.com if you haven't already. If it's been released on vinyl, it's probably on there..It's the ebay of music and pretty much the only place I get my records from.

Might be out of your price range but the Audio-Technica AT-LP2D-USB is probably the best cheap TT at the moment for around $200, as well as a built in phono pre-amp, it also had USB so it can be hooked up to your computer.

If you want to stay around the $150 then the only option worthy is the Numark TTUSB from JB also with built in phono pre-amp, it also had USB

If you get the Audio Technica it will have a half decent cartridge, so that saves money, and the Numark will have a basic ordinary one, so save some money down the track and get an Ortofon OMB5 (best cheap cartridge on the market) about $50, of preferably a Ortofon OMB10 for $90. You will end up with a fantastic budget sound.

And as pointed out earlier, entry level Project for around $400 is impossible to beat.

Might be out of your price range but the Audio-Technica AT-LP2D-USB is probably the best cheap TT at the moment for around $200, as well as a built in phono pre-amp, it also had USB so it can be hooked up to your computer.

If you want to stay around the $150 then the only option worthy is the Numark TTUSB from JB also with built in phono pre-amp, it also had USB

If you get the Audio Technica it will have a half decent cartridge, so that saves money, and the Numark will have a basic ordinary one, so save some money down the track and get an Ortofon OMB5 (best cheap cartridge on the market) about $50, of preferably a Ortofon OMB10 for $90. You will end up with a fantastic budget sound.

And as pointed out earlier, entry level Project for around $400 is impossible to beat.
Audio Technica makes wonderful gear. Personally, I'd not spend less than $200 on a turntable. Audio Technica cartridges, though a bit exy, are well worth the extra.

Half the battle with vinyl is cleaning the disc. Don't know now, but there used to be available an aluminium-based brush with very fine, soft hair bristles embedded in it. Never put any so-called cleaning liquid on a vinyl disc, unless someone has vomited on it. Then, use water only, and hope for the best.

The other half is to ALWAYS put the records back in their plastic sleeves once you've played them, no matter how pissed you are. DO NOT allow others to handle your records, EVER. Finally, make sure the needle in the cartridge is always free of dust.

Yes, this all seems very anal, but I have vinyl which is 45 years-old and in perfect condition. This is because I know how to handle records. They are due respect, given the pleasure they afford. I never thought I'd see such a revival in vinyl. The world has finally stopped going mad.:)

Im with you, i would never spend under $200 except for second hand.

Decibel hifi are a fantastic online mob to deal with (in Queensland) and are ultra promp in getting your orders off, and lots of good back up email service. They have a great vinyl accessory section especially cleaning.
Very, very good to deal with.

http://www.decibelhifi.com.au/

And for buying new records the three i like best are

Red Eye
http://www.redeye.com.au

Vinyl Solutions online -
http://www.vinylsolution.com

Vinyl Eye Records
http://vinyleye.com.au

Decibel also have limited stock and have quick access to a massive catalogue.

And im also wrapped in the revival, as NOTHING beats the sound, and their are so many treasures in the secondhand shops to be found.

Okay quick bump;

I've got a few options here I think

The Audio Technica AT-LP60 - It's generally between $90 and $120
http://www.audio-technica.com/cms/turntables/9a7f42b88ee1e14b/

Also, looking at some second hand units -

Pioneer PL 200
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/hawthorn/audio/vintage-pioneer-pl200-turntable/1019498089

Encel
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/hawthorn/audio/vintage-pioneer-pl200-turntable/1019498089

Apan
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/south-yarra/audio/apan-wooden-case-vintage-turntable-/1019662921

There's even a semi-new ProJect turntable - Negiotiable for $350, $250 is the extent of my budget so if I can get that would it be the right option?
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/forest-hill/audio/price-drop-pro-ject-1-3-genie-turntable/1019261473

Any recommendations?

Also anyone know any place to buy used turntables in Melbourne?

Appreciate any help!

I have an old Technics Quartz DD with a pmount tonearm.
I bought a shibata cartridge for it from Japan.

Here it is.
http://www.vinylengine.com/library/technics/sl-q200.shtml

Sounds amazing.

Not as solidly built as an sl-1200 but the sound is terrific especially when you upgrade the stylus to a shibata.

Plays my old jazz,metal and prog albums fine.

Direct drives generally don't waver in speed (wow and flutter)like A belt driven unless you spend a shedload on a belt drive table.

Technics have the quartz function which further makes corrections to the platters variation in speed.

I think the AT TT mentioned by Bazaar above has quartz and is a great value TT.

http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-AT-LP120-USB-Direct-Drive-Professional-Turntable/dp/B002S1CJ2Q

On ebay for 299 free shipping from the NT .Just search for that model in ebay.

That would be your best bet.Pretty good value I reckon for a new table.

If you want better quality sound just upgrade the cartridge to one with a shibata stylus.
Shibata stylus generally have a thinner tip and get down lower in the groove of a record avoiding surface noise.
Also shibatas generally don't have the dreaded degradation of sound as the stylus moves to the end of a record.