Voss, Akermanis, Ashcroft, Michael....

• Thread starter Thread starter Danni

Danni

....Major Congrats to them all for being selected in the AFLQ ToTC.

What a fantastic night.

'Black Tie' affair - which meant of course the only 2 of the 100 nominees NOT to wear a tie of ANY sort, let alone a black bow tie, were Voss and Akermanis!!

By the time the positions on the 'oval' diagram had been filled, there was an amazing tension around the room.

Surely the 2 nominated players who were both brownlow medalists, dual premiership players, and one of them dual premiership captain, weren't going to miss out??????

Then came the "Foll:" category! The ruckman was named to many's relief......then the 2 extra places.............and all bets were off.........it just HAD to be.....and IT WAS....... M Voss & J Akermanis!!!

Then of course the 'leadership' announcements!

Presenting the Captain of the AFLQ Team of the Century.......

Michael Voss!!!

Vice Captain.......

Jason Dunstall.........(ToTC Full Forward).

Ashcroft named in the backline, Mal Michael named on the interchange, Voss and Aker in the Ruck/Follower division, and of course Voss as Captain.

Former Brisbane Bears Coach - Norm Dare - named as Coach of the Century - presented by Leigh Matthews, Scott McIvor made the final cut as well for the ToTC.

Overall a fantastic night out, great to catch up with some old faces, and even 'our' old players who were in the 100 nominees such as S Lawrence, D Dickfos, etc got a fantastic greeting from the crowd. Oh yeah, old mate Nathan Clarke's dad, Barry Clarke, from Wilston Grange, got a nod in the final 22 as well.

Congrats to all!

B: Marcus Ashcroft (Southport), DickVerdon (Sandgate/Coorparoo), Wayne Stewart (Mayne/Cooparoo)

HB: Gavin Crosisca (Western Districts), Don Smith (Sandgate), Zane Taylor (Southport)

C: Scott McIvor (Wilston Grange), Doug Pittard (Western Districts/Taringa), Des Hughes (Coorparoo)

HF: John Stackpoole (Sandgate), **** Parton (Windsor), Barry Clarke (Wilston Grange)

F:: Ray Hughson (Western Districts), Jason Dunstall (Coorparoo), Owen Backwell (Western Districts)

Foll: Ken Grimley (Wilston Grange/ Coorparoo), Michael Voss (Morningside), Jason Akermanis (Mayne)

Interchange: Keith Leach (Wilston Grange), Alex McGill (Mayne), Noel McGuiness (Morningside/ Coorparoo), Mal Michael (Morningside), Gordon ‘Freckles’ Phelan (Kedron), Clem Ryan (Mayne).

Coach: Norm Dare

Umpire: Tom McArthur

yeah i was happy to see Norm get in there as the coach.. i met him when we went to the geelong game earlier in the season.. hes a nice fella

yeah i saw good old barry was on there...
& owen backwell...footy is in their blood... his kids have it too...
& gavin crosisca

& yeah you would have expected the 3 of them... but thats great for mal i reckon.. i wouldnt have thought of him so thats a great accolade for him....

will be a great game on saturday when the QLDers wear the jumper from the 1920's & we will have our own lil team of the century bit on the jumper which is really cool....

what a great & proud moment it will be for those guys wearing the jumper... as it is to don the state jumper anytime...

good old Zane Taylor... played 26 state games....
& no wonder why else he was picked....16 GF in 16 years....
Grogon 1n 85 & only just missed out due to a controvercial decision to suspend him in 83 i think they said it was....
he played for Southport, good old W-Z & geelong & that doesnt include the other medals he got & the number of B&F he won....

what a good spread over the years as well

The breakdown of the team according to their era was:-
1920s – Clem Ryan
1930s – **** Parton
1940s – Doug Pittard, Gordon Phelan
1950s – **** Verdon, Ray Hughson, Alex McGill, Noel McGuinness
1960s – Wayne Stewart, Des Hughes, Ken Grimley, Keith Leach
1970s – Don Smith, John Stackpoole, Barry Clarke, Owen Backwell
1980s – Gavin Crosisca, Zane Taylor, Scott McIvor, Jason Dunstall
1990s – Marcus Ashcroft, Michael Voss, Jason Akermanis, Mal Michael

(AFLQ WEBSITE)
the actual page is:
http://www.aflq.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=24895

I think the aflq team of the century is a bit of a joke, sure they picked great servants to qld footy, but surely not the best team. Qld footy has really hit its peak in the last ten years in regards to players in the number one league in australia. Surely those players need to be recognised. How they could go past two time premiership ruckmen in one the greatest teams ever Clark Keating is beyond me. It also amazed me how Stephen Lawrence from hawthorn missed out as well, he won a premiership and was the dominant ruckmen for hawthorn for a number of years. It disgusted me that Brett Voss didn't make the final one hundred cut, sure he has played 80 games in the AFL and sure when he played at aflq he was a cut above the rest, but yet couldn't make the top100. There are many great servants to the game in qld that missed out. Tony Lynn, Craig Edwards, Danny Dickfos, Jason Cotter and Darryl Bourke were all great players when the league was probably at its strongest. Bourke led arguably one of the strongest sides in QAFL history to multiple premierships and won the grogan on a couple of occasions. I know there are always a lot of room for speculation about these teams, but if you are picking a team on ability then surely you cannot go past the fact that these modern day players would be twice the players compared to the older players of yester year. I am not trying to be disrespectful, just a little lost on the whole thing. Sounds like a team to try and add some history to our competition. AM I BEING HARSH OR AM I WAY OFF THE MARK?

There are only 22 spots in a side, Nino.

No-one is saying that the players who weren't selected haven't contributed marvellously to the code. However, those player who were selected, were obviously deemed to be the most appropriate based on whatever criteria was used.

You can argue about players until the cows come home, but unless you are prepared to make specific points about selections, then you might as well be peeing into the wind.

Pour me another red too, while you're at it.

Congrats to all the players who got in the team of the century in Queensland.
I am rapt that Aker, Jason Dunstall and Gavin Crossica made it in.

Originally posted by Slax
Great to see but I'm intreged about a couple on non-natives getting a gig.

Which ones Slax?

The criteria was pretty broad, but at the same time specific.

Because of the late entry of a team into the VFL/AFL competition, and the on again/off again love affair with grassroots footy up here, I suppose there was always going to be a couple of questionables, but overall I think they got it mostly right.

On a totally different note, for a team that didn't enter the comp till the 50's and folded in the early 90's, my childhood club Wilston Grange did pretty darn well getting 4 reps into the team!

yeah 4 is great....

3 from mine & we started just over 50 years ago

& guess who 2 of them play for now???
thats right.. US....

yeah acuguy Daryl Bourke i hear was a great player for the siders... & with some of these things in you footy resume, you would have to be...

Grogan Medallist 1989 & 1993, Best and Fairest 1990, 93 and 95

I am sorry but I have to say it - Steve Lawrence was stiffed!! :mad:

And Wayne Jackson - couldn't get on a plane and make an appearance or send Demetriou as a deputy or anyone for that matter?

Aside from that a fantastic night - met some amazing people with even more amazing stories to tell.

Aker as usual added some contoversy with his ****ter comments and I don't think it was possible for Vossy's chest to be any more puffed out with pride than it was!

Go Queenslanders!!!

Originally posted by Lady Lawrence

And Wayne Jackson - couldn't get on a plane and make an appearance or send Demetriou as a deputy or anyone for that matter?

Aside from that a fantastic night - met some amazing people with even more amazing stories to tell.

Aker as usual added some contoversy with his ****ter comments and I don't think it was possible for Vossy's chest to be any more puffed out with pride than it was!

Go Queenslanders!!!
Don't be mad LL, he didn't play as well when he played for the Lions, he is now, that he is playing for St Kilda.

Originally posted by Lady Lawrence

Steve Lawrence?
QLD team of the century?!?!

I don't think he was 'stiffed' personally.

Great team there.
Great to see Gavin Crossica in there. A great Premiership player for us.

If this was held in 5 years, Nick Rieworldt would have been in it.

Originally posted by rchowell
goaldrush I think the Steve Lawrence everybody is talking about is the former Hawthorn premiership ruckman, not the tough as nails St Kilda half backer. I *THINK*... :rolleyes:

Nah rchowell, in this case they are talking about ex-Lion Steven Lawrence as opposed to the other nominee with the same name/different spelling Stephen Lawrence who was the Hawks player.

What was it they introduced him as the other night? Fearless defender... I think it was.

Fearless defender/utility who defied two knee reconstructions, topped 100 games, All Australian Teal Cup in 1993, 1%er of the year 1998, Most Improved Player 1999, represented Qld twice in 1994 and Allies State of Origin in 1998. Played 50 AFLQ games for the Sharks before making AFL debut in 1995.

Of course my view is also totally biased :D

Does anyone remember C. Co(katoo-Collins? He did play for Cairns, so he's the most obvious one I can think of in the past decade not to make the top 100...

Anyway, Great to see Brett Backwell's dad (Owen) and Nathan Clarke's dad (Barry) in the final 24. And McGuiness, Ashcroft, Crosisca, Dunstall, etc... A tribute to the longevity and consistency of certain players.

I read an article about Aker, Vossy and Simon Black in the Herald Sun today.

Very good article by Damian Barrett