10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Oct 27, 2007
Swan Districts, Everton
The next 2 weeks have 3 teams having the bye each weekend. This weekend though, there are some crucial matches, with a top of the table clash and 2 top 4 aspirants trying to keep a gap between themselves and the chasing pack.

Thunder v Sharks

On Saturday the Thunder will take on the Sharks, who will be keen to keep some breathing space between themselves and the teams outside the top 4. The Thunder seemed all but assured the spoon last weekend and are playing for pride.

The Thunder lose Ebert to the Eagles but they retain Crichton and Faulks from the Dockers. They have been a lot more competitive this year, with no where near as many blow outs as last year and they seem to be keeping a good, young core together. Lycett and Herring up forward give them some good focal points and they have a pretty solid, young defense. A bit more class on the ball might be handy, although Eddy and Healey, plus the Thorntons' give them some bite through that midfield.

The Sharks should be hungry after a week off and whilst Stevens is a fairly big out, the way he's been performing this year, Dodd is a very big out. Played well each time I've seen the Sharks and provides some very good flexibility, although Mitch Brown back sort of offsets that. The run doesn't diminish with the Sharks, with McNamara, Dalziell, McGough, O'Briens x 2, Hadley, Masten providing a pretty formidable running brigade at this level. Add young Boyle, who can run like Forrest Gump, all day, and the strength just gets greater.
This should be an interesting match, although I expect the Sharks to win.

Teams

Thunder
B M Battye J Flaherty B Gillam
HB J Jones P Faulks B Wilson
C C Eddy K Thornton R Healey
HF J Crichton A Thornton R Mason
FF P Pohlenz-Saw R Herring D Mcfarlane
F S Lycett M Brown B Jones
Int.B Thornton, L Meyers, L Mckenna, B Holmes, A Heal, M Green, R Beswick
In J Flaherty, B Gillam, A Heal, R Mason, L Mckenna, L Meyers
Out B Ebert, B Fotheringham, R Nye

Sharks
B A Stephen M Brown J Brennan
HB B Bucovaz L Weller B Sheppard
C B Dalziell M Mcgough T Houlihan
HF R O'Brien R Hadley B O'Brien
FF L Fasolo L Teakle D Chidlow
F R Young C Masten J Mcnamara
Emerg C Leslie T Howlett T Viney
Int.S Lee-Steere, C Yeo, S Horsburgh, M Boyle
In A Stephen, S Lee-Steere, S Horsburgh, M Boyle
Out K Stevens, S Dodd, M Warren, A Tropiano

Falcons v Tigers

This promises to be one of the most cracking matches of the season. Tigers must win to keep a chance of taking top spot off the Falcons.

The Falcons welcome back Mellington, who's been a good forward for them most of the year, Rice, Black and Bewick. That's how good they've been going, these 3 have been in and out most of the year. LeCras has been a revelation at CHB and the Kep plays his first? game of the year for the blue and reds. They've been playing irresistible team footy and deserve to start favourites for this possible GF preview.

The Tigers have been up and down a lot of the year, yet still sit in second spot, only 1 game behind. Both teams play a running based game, but the Tigers probably don't run as well defensively. The Falcons play a fairly stifling game style, giving you little room to breathe, but we'll find a lot out about the Tigers in this match, I reckon. Murphy is a pretty big out, as is Waters, although he's only played the 1 game, but if he does play, as suggested, it will give a few headaches to the Tigers forwards. Handley and Mitchell in are pretty handy ins.
Still have to tip the Falcons, in a reasonably close match.

Teams

Falcons
B D Burns D Fleay J Van Berlo
HB L Tedesco B Lecras R Bartholomew
C S Browne M Hutchings J Morrow
HF C Shadbolt J Gobbels A Strijk
FF J Mellington K Bradley A Tsalikis
F C Keunen M Guadagnin J Salecic
Int. M Crisp, S Bewick, S Tregear, F Stockley, K Manning, A Black, J Rice,
In J Mellington, A Black, J Rice, K Manning, S Bewick, F Stockley,
Out D Hunt, J Pearce, A Saylor,

Tigers
B L Stevenson B Franz C Rudeforth
HB B Jones J Laurie I Rowe
C A Foster R Brabazon C Mclernon
HF G Weedon D Crawford I Richardson
FF B Schammer B Wilkes B Anderson
F M Andrews K Mitchell L Blackwell
Int. M Orzel, B Nisbett, T Willett, T Lee, T Handley, B Saunders, A Gilligan,
In M Orzel, B Nisbett, T Willett, K Mitchell, T Handley,
Out B Waters, J Murphy

Lions v Bulldogs

The final match of the round is a vital one, 3rd v 5th. The beautiful town of Esperance gets to showpiece the WAFL this year and hopefully they get a beauty. The wind may well make it a scrappy affair, but we shall see.

The Lions have improved on last year but are still not able to break into the top 4. Currently they sit 2 games out and need to knock off a couple of top 4 teams to have a chance. Anthony is out, leaving a larger work load to fall on Broadhurst, but he seems to revel with the responsibility. Rix in is a massive in and should give control of the ruck to Subi, whether they can take advantage of that is another story. Joyce is another promising kid coming through the ranks with Kerr, Blechynden and Wheeler, whilst Hughes gives them great flexibility and a bit of class.

The Bulldogs have turned their form around this year, even though they have still had a significant injury list. Murphy is named in the ruck, while Kelly will probably ruck and Murphy the backup, I presume. Running is the key to the bulldogs and they have a pretty fair fleet in Adams, Cook, Bairstow, Phillips, Palumbo, Gaff, Hams, Dell-olio et al. Wilson is named on the bench, but there's not much chance of him starting there as they will need his height and he's started to hit some good form in the past couple of weeks.
This will be close and is harder to pick than it looks, but I'm going for the Bulldogs.:)

Teams

Lions
B R Forrest C Wheeler K Bloxsidge
HB B Randall A Parker B Keevers
C D Hughes C Phelan S Hildebrandt
HF P Hassett B Stevenson J Joyce
FF A Pickett B Broadhurst D Rumble
F M Rix J Bristow K Horsley
Int. G Hampson, R Blechynden, R Kerr, S Douglas, A Davey, S Ward, S Worthington,
In M Rix, G Hampson, B Stevenson, S Ward,
Out J Anthony

Bulldogs
B R Adams T Adams T Bairstow
HB N Borovac R Cook M Cooper
C A Gaff A Hams P Hasleby
HF C Dell-Olio J Head L Kelly
FF A Mccarrey T Mcgrath K Miller
F R Murphy H North J Palumbo
Emergemcy J Winter M Leece A Collica
Int. N Phillips, C White, C Wilson, J Woods,
In A Hams, N Borovac,
Out P Mugambwa, J Winter

I'd tip the Cardies against Claremont unfortunately.

Claremont just haven't been firing lately. Only scraped home against Souths, beaten by Perth, won reasonably well against Subi and downed by the Old Easts and we've already lost to the Cardies once this season.

hey mate do you know what happened to Simon Starling looked reslly promosing i know something bad happened to him but carn't remember what apperently won't play football again?

Well it was a shame that someone had to lose the game today and it was a shame for me that Claremont lost it.
I'm happy that they gave it their all though, not so happy at stupid actions resulting in frees and 50's. I'm also not happy about our injuries. If I'm not mistaken our injury list is starting to grow quite long now.

Well done to West Perth for a gutsy win.

Bloody great game up at Joondy.Seemed like the breeze was a factor in the second half kicking to the northern end. Mellington also had a blinder in the last quarter.Chased down two Claremont players and that resulted in two shots on goal.He'll be wearing purple next week.

On the somber drive home, I took note of how different my mood was. I the way up the freeway, I was happy, very optomistic, still on a high from the Eagles last night. The drive back down to civilisation (;)) seemed twice as long, I wasn't disgusted (like I was after the game v Perth), just dissapointed, kind of!?

Anyway, the game.
It was without doubt the best game of WAFL I have seen in a while, although we were on the wrong side of the ledger
We fought bravely, which is all you can really ask for when your down to 2 on the bench for the majority of the second half. I was however, bitterly dissapointed at the multiple brain-snaps that basically cost us the game.
Following the WAFL trend this year, the umpiring was appauling, I know one of the umps who was umpiring the game and I still booed them off after the game. One positive out of the umpiring was that common sense prevailed (somewhat uncommon in football these days), and the umpires changed thier uniform at half time. Incredibly, the umpires came out wearing yellow, almost exactly the same colour Claremont were wearing, there were numerous times were I mistook an umpire for a Claremont player, and I'm sure the Claremont players faced the same challenge.
I had a laugh at Brett Jones in the third quarter. A soft 50 had just been given (again) and he turned to the kid sitting in the second row and said, "Great game of Netball isn't it bud?" I had to agree, the umpiring was pi*sweak.

I thought Alroy Gilligan was outstanding in a sometimes disfunctional foward line with 27 touches and Ben Saunders justified his selection with 3 goals. Lewis Stevenson was also influential with 23 touches whilst Beau Waters was servicable with 19 touches. Mitch Andrews dominated the ruck contests with 40 hitouts, although not a great number of those were hitouts to advantage.
A real worry for the Tigers is Clancy Ruderforth, who once again strugled, gathering just 6 possesions.
It was promising news in the reserves, with Chad Jones coming through unscaved and bagging 3 goals in his side's crucial 6 point win.

I was proud of my boys, they fought it out, but credit to the Cardies, they were the better team on the day. See you in September ;)

I would just like to finish with a quote from a 'well-to-do' West Perth supporter. "Go back to you fu*king 7 million dollar houses on the river you fu*king C*nts and we'll see you c*nts back here in fu*king september you fu*kheads, Go you fu*king Falcons."

Beautiful:rolleyes:

I can't wait

Yep, certainly was a great game of footy, as a neutral was easy to really get involved in the game. Great show Cardies and Tigers. :thumbsu:

WAFL Round 16, 2011