swannies

10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Swan Districts, Everton
Well, after an upset or 2 and the continued decline of the Sharks, every round has increased significance now. The Royals kept their slim finals hopes alive, whilst the Bulldogs are right in the mix and the Falcons catapulted themselves back into the top 4. We'll start with the second biggest match of the round.

Lions v Bulldogs - The Lions are firmly in the top 4, for now, but a couple more slip ups like last week and they may not be. The Bulldogs fortunes have been up and down all year and now we're at the pointy end of the season they have clawed themselves into contention, being 1 game out of the 4. However, this game is the proverbial 8 point game for them because they lose and are 2 games out of the 4.

The Lions will need to stop the twin peaks of Murphy and Wilson. Rumble and Parker will have their hands full and will need their other defenders, Randall, Phelan and Martin to come across and help out. Cossom, Keevers, Hilde, Kerr and Blechynden will need to provide some spark through the middle and Campbell and Re will need to provide support for Broadhurst up forward.

The Bulldogs will need to keep a lid on Broadhurst, they will need a run with, tall utility to go with him, someone like Mgumbwa maybe? Hunt just needs to keep a tight rein on Campbell, he usually doesn't put up a whole lot of fight but if you keep the clamps on him the job is that much easier. McGrath, Miller, Bairstow, White are solid through the midfield while Gugliamana provides a bit of zip and Palumbo, Collica, Carter will need to provide good run and support for the veterans.
I think the Bulldogs will just get over the line, but maybe that's wishfull.

It's also a Family Fun Day at Leederville with face painting, bouncy castles and other activities from 1 - 4 pm. The first 200 kids through the gate get a Subi "truckers" cap, so Ljp, Reep, Biggie - get on down there for your caps!:D On the other side of the coin, Tundra, Pacey, IP - don't let the kids get their hands on them!

Demons v Royals - This will not be as easy for the Royals as many anticipate. The Dees pushed Claremont last week and beat Swans the week before and the Royals only seem to be able to get up if there is a milestone game involved.

With the Demons it's all going to come down to run. The Royals struggle with a bit of run from time to time, but it's the key to the Dees game. When you have Young, Mzungu, Siekerka, Ruffles, Moody, O'Sullivan, Armstrong, Elari, Conca, White, Fiegert, Bollenhagen there is a lot of run. Even McDougall has been seemingly enjoying himself and running all over the field. Ferguson still provides a good target, with Houghton, up front and Billings has become a very good defender.

The Royals, as I have been saying all year, have been relying too much on their veterans, old stagers, call them what you will. Sweet has been a good find, Noakes hasn't really reached the levels of last year, neither has Merrington (injuries may be why with them), McKinley in the midfield has been a reasonable move and he'll probably continue there with Glancy, Wulff, Pickering, Swan. Beeck was super last week and they've missed him with a fair amount of injury too, I believe, so suddenly, with Clarke, they have a potent ruck division that can go forward. Clutterbuck's footballing style follows his hairstyle, daring and noticable, Seal is up and down, Prior seems to be improving and MacAulay is in and out of the side.
Royals should win, but which team will turn up?

Swans v Tigers - MOTR, Claremont are playing for retribution and to cement top spot, Swans are playing to keep alive their contention for top spot.

Swans were average in despatching Peel last week, lacked that bit of zip and zest. They were all over Peel for the first 10 minutes and then took a leave of absence. Dawson should have them up and firing for this match, they will know they have to be at the Montes from start to finish, it's how they beat them the first time. Krakouer, Roberts, Walters, Garlett, Davis, Roach will need to be at their best to combat Blackwell, Brabazon, Foster, Swift, Neates, Schammer, Yu, Ninyette.

No Hansen up forward for Swans, but there is Geappen, whilst the Tiges are without C Jones, but have Crawford, Richardson, Ninyette, Neates etc. The 2 best defenses are up against each other with Ames, Spencer, G Jetta, Pratt having their hands full with the smaller, running/mobile players, whilst Laurie, Franz, Mitchell will have 2 or 3 bigger forwards and then Walters and Krakouer at their feet. With fine weather this should be a cracking, top of the table clash.
Claremont to win, by a few.

Falcons v Thunder - The Falcons put themselves right back in the mix last week, with a big win over the Lions. The Thunder were competitive for 2.75 quarters, so will they run the Falcons close?

The Falcons got great service from R Bewick, Bartholomew, Salecic through the middle, with Brent LeCras running amok from CHB. Tsalikis, Keunen, Saylor are hard to match up on up forward. Defensively Lasscock, Tedesco, Hunt, McClintock or Zanetti are hard to shake and find room for yourself. Mitchell has been good in the ruck this year and has a pretty good running division, when they're up and about, to feed to.

Battye is a good all round footballer, wither up forward or in the middle. Crichton and Mason did good "stopping" jobs on their respective opponents last week, whilst the O'Briens pick up lots of, albeit cheapish, possessions. Luff had a good tussle down back last week and got some reasonable help from Filo, Wilson. Jones, Brown?, Holmes gave them good drive from the middle, actually their run was very good last week, whilst Harley Bennell flashed in and out.
Falcons should win comfortably.

great write ups mate. When do the team sheets come out? Also why do we play you guys twicce in 4weeks?

Swannies great write up, but thought you would of gone with the your heart with a game this close and given your beloved "Black Duck's" the points, I would've.
Looking forward to a beauty, GO TIGERS!!!

great write ups mate. When do the team sheets come out? Also why do we play you guys twicce in 4weeks?

Because someone from the WAFL stole the AFL's fixturing software!:eek: It's the only explanation!

Swannies great write up, but thought you would of gone with the your heart with a game this close and given your beloved "Black Duck's" the points, I would've.
Looking forward to a beauty, GO TIGERS!!!

Not the way we've played the last 3 weeks WO, don't give us a big chance at all. But then I am told I am a pessimist when it comes to Swans, all those years of expecting and getting failure, drums it in to you!:)

Yeh but at "Steel Blue" you guys seem to grow a leg, and with the amount of Turn overs the Tigers have had during their last few games, just simple bad choices of who they kicked or handballed too, very frustrating.
But still both teams should be pumping themselves up for it so hopefully this lifts the standard of footy as well.

Was thinking of stealing some show time light here in the WAFL board and starting Paceys WAFL Punting thread. But It may make a good addition to Swannies round threads. Note my punting has been terrible this year but my WAFL tipping is up there was the best on this board. The betting agency I use is TABplayer (ozbet)

http://www.w*************.au/games/ I get my team access here.

Subiaco vs South Fremantle

No line here as the head to heads are both $1.85. Probably not a game I should comment on. Subiaco at home fighting to keep the hope of a home elimination final as I doubt they can finish top 2 and South Fremantle HAVE TO WIN to keep there finals hopes alive. In's for Subiaco B.Randall, S.Douglas, A.Pickett, R.Stack while Toby Mcgrath is a key in for South Fremantle. I expect this GF replay to be closer than last years GF. Too tough to call this one but I can say the margin should be within 15 points at sirens end. My heart may be assisting this but SOUTH FREMANTLE 5 POINTS

Swan Dictricts vs Claremont

Should be another good game this one and swannies is right with MOTR here. Swans are $2.80 here and that is VALUE for some punters and Claremont $1.38 I would call unders. But the bet of the round should be the line here Swans 16.5+. Swans at home are going with a un changed line up so still no Tony Notte but Clarement bring back Holt, J.Murphy, D.Ross, T.Willett and lose N.Suban, P.Mcginnity, B.Schammer and with there start goal kicker Chad Jones still out it is very much an even contest. Another 15 margin game each way I feel but Claremont have only lost 1 game all season with a superior percentage. Not surprised if Swans pinch this one but in the end CLAREMONT 8 POINTS

Perth vs East Perth

I know I have said this alot this round but another good game and should be closer than expected. East Perth coming from a surprise thumping win againist East Fremantle and Perth were very competitive againist Claremont last week. H2H see's East Perth at $1.54 and Perth $2.30. The line here is just 9 which is strange as I thought it was more than this last night? If East Perth show the form of last week they should win by 4 goals but the Perth line up looks strong on paper with many former AFL players and potential AFL draftees in their side. Moody looks like the only in for Perth where as for East Perth it appears only T. Howlett will be the only one to make the 22. Tough call and originally I had tipped Perth this week but I believe East Perth showed something last week and still have a shot at finals. Brave punter if you pick a line in this one. EAST PERTH BY 10 POINTS
West Perth vs Peel Thunder

Strangely enough Peel beat West Perth easily last time they meet at Bendigo bank stadium. J.Gobbells comes into the starting 18 this week where as for Peel they have been building little to no chemisty this year with B.Holmes, M.Giumelli, and B.Culpitt appear to be the ins but they lose C.Timbrell and J.Crichton who is a big ot for them. H2H well practically every team since round 8ish a side playing againist the thunder have started at $1.01 and this doesn't change here. West Perth can not afford a slip up here like earlier in the season as they also have to win to stay in the top 4. Thunder trying to aviod the wooden spoon start at $11.50. The line is 61, some who don't follow WAFL would say wow thats value for any side. But Peel average 100 point losses and who could forget the 194 point loss againist Claremont. West Perth percentage is not up to standard for a top 4 side and this will be discussed before the game. West Perth expected to win the question is by how much? Peel will show confidence in this as they beat them last tieme and I expect them to start off well. But stamina has been in issue with them this year as they really fade away. West Perth alot to play for here and I expect them to cover the line. WEST PERTH BY 72 POINTS

Ninyette you SPUD can't even kick 50 metres. I could just at 17. Poor form. But is it the umpires fault as well? I think the ball was punched in before the siren went????

Who was at the game? How was the empty feeling?

mate 50 meatres out when youve just been playing a full league wafl match which was very physical and when you see the size of him im suprised he could kick that far. I thought they where robbed because isnt the ball still alive if they punch it through as it hasnt yet touched the ground. Read before you post flog

You're just pissed because you let this one slip. What about the poster he hit with about 5 minutes to go? Too much pressure for a bloke who some are considering may be a rookie listed player for an AFL club?

No mate the ball is only still alive after the siren has gone if it goes thru without being touched not after being forced thru by a Claremont player. Great game tho :)

You're just pissed because you let this one slip. What about the poster he hit with about 5 minutes to go? Too much pressure for a bloke who some are considering may be a rookie listed player for an AFL club?
That poster was from an impossible angle! :)

I think you're being too harsh pacie!:) Look at how Ashton Hams has improved in an AFL system, same would happen to Ninyette, IMO.

That poster was from an impossible angle! :)

Really, I only heard it on the radio and they said it was kickable:o

I think you're being too harsh pacie!:) Look at how Ashton Hams has improved in an AFL system, same would happen to Ninyette, IMO.

Yeah I see that now, I just really wanted all those who tipped swans to not gain a point in the tipping so I can have a better chance in winning. Look at what this WAFL tipping has turned me into:eek::D

Was at the game with mates, all swan supporters. Great game, thought we wasted a heap of chances though, we miss Jones big time, didn't really have a heap of options to kick to up forward, and some bad kicking. I couldn't see the shot that well, but i heard it was off the side of his boot. I think he thought he could make the distance as well, unlucky but what can you do, such a physically demanding game. I think we should have Jones by the next game, at Claremont oval, I reckon we will win that one.

Kudos to Swans, very fit and I thought, based on their season, they have great last quarters and would run over us. They pressure well, very fit, and have a good mix of players in the team. Bring on the swans in 3 weeks time!