Power slowly returns
23 April 2007 Herald-Sun
Andrew Capel

PORT Adelaide captain Warren Tredrea played just 71 per cent of the game and failed to score against Collingwood at the MCG.

But he was satisfied with his performance.

While Tredrea - in just his second AFL game in nearly nine months because of major knee surgery - did not hit the scoreboard, he had a major impact on the result.

Closely guarded by Magpies acting captain James Clement, Tredrea, who wasn't suited by the wet conditions, laid a couple of bone-jarring tackles and worked hard to hold the ball inside Port's 50m forward zone.

Four of his 10 possessions were hardball gets and he had two goal assists - one which resulted in a Josh Mahoney goal that broke the deadlock midway through the final term.

"My role was not measured on possessions," Tredrea said.

"It was measured more on how many times I was outmarked (none), how many tackles I laid, doing all the one percenters and how much pressure we created in the forward line.

"From that point of view, it was a pass. Obviously I wasn't able to dominate but the main thing was to win, and to give off a couple of handballs was nice."

Tredrea said he didn't expect to be anywhere near his best this early in the season: "That's my plan - to be at full fitness in the second half and really come home well."

I am really worried about Tredrea. I cant really see any of our "depleted" backline players being able to keep him shut down. Would you put Rix or Kosi on him...would they be too slow for Tredrea if the power midfield gets on top and he gets his confidence up? This is very much a danger game for us. IF Brogan, Pearce and Motlop all come in that means Port will have a ZERO injury list...How we (the saints) would love to have this luxury

Do not worry, Wazza is only slowly returning to his best, I am worried about your forward set up, very big, strong and quick

Tredrea is an old fart. He won't do anything against your mob as long as you put someone of the same build on him. If I were your coach, I would be more worried about Damon White and Brett Ebert and find good match ups for them.

Koschitzke may get Tredrea job
6 hours, 47 minutes ago | Back

Brought to you by JOHN SALVADO, AAP

News
ST KILDA'S Justin Koschitzke could get the big defensive job on Port Adelaide skipper Warren Tredrea in Friday night's AFL clash as the Saints' spate of injuries to key backmen continues to bite.

Sam Fisher strained a hamstring last weekend, joining Max Hudghton (quad) and Matt Maguire (foot) on the injury list.

Tredrea has struggled to make an impact in his return from a knee injury, kicking just one goal in two games, but the four-time All-Australian still shapes as a key figure for the fourth-placed Power.

Koschitzke has booted six goals in four games, playing mostly as a key forward, but has the versatility to switch into defence.

"It looks like those defenders will be out for a while and they don't grow on trees, so that's hard," St Kilda coach Ross Lyon said.

"Everyone we have put into roles - (Jason) Blake and (Jason) Gram and (Brendon) Goddard have been playing really well.

"Obviously (Koschitzke) would come under consideration for a Tredrea this week. If you are playing against Jonathan Brown, or a (West Coast's Ashley) Hansen, those big forwards, he can play on those types."

Utility Brett Voss could also come back to bolster the St Kilda defence against Port Adelaide, which is the fourth highest-scoring team in the competition so far this season.

Voss, who played every senior match in 2005 and 2006, was overlooked for the first four rounds after having his pre-season interrupted by an ankle problem.

"Then other players took their opportunities and in round one we were a pretty strong team," said Lyon.

"We decided to go with runners on the bigger grounds and (Voss) hadn't been able to force his way in.

"We'd been vindicated by performances, in a sense, even on the weekend, until the second half (when they were overrun by Essendon)."

Brett Ebert has been the Power's most effective forward this season with 12 goals, while Port coach Mark Williams also has the option of swinging Chad Cornes or Toby Thurstans into attack on Friday night to test the Saints for height.

Lyon said there were no real secrets to winning on the road.

"It's just about demystifying it, not building it up to be something it's not," he said.

"You just want a normal preparation, going over to play footy and not focus that you're going interstate.

"You just keep everything normal.

"Good players play well anywhere and that's what the top teams have a capacity to do."

Good luck on Friday night.

You think Tredrea is gonna be your only head ache? What about our other tall forwards in Brendan Lade and Damon White. Not to mention the other forwards like Brett Ebert (who plays like a tall forward) and David Rodan. Expect Chad Cornes to sneak up forward once or twice, and the Burgoyne brothers, Kane Cornes and Danyle Pearce (assuming he plays) will all sneak up forward at some point when they need a slight break from the mid-field.

I also heard during the replay of your game against Essendon that your players couldnt keep up with Essendon's pace. If that's the case, you aint got a hope of keeping up with ours. Our midfield is alot faster than the Bombers, with the Burgoynes, Pearce, Krakouer, Cassisi, Kane Cornes, Logan, Motlop, Wilson.

We are fast. That is the strongest part of our game.

Without being disrespectful to Tredrea, I don't think he'll be a real worry this match, infact, I don't think he's ever been that dominate against us. Though I could be wrong about that.

But what kills us everytime against Port has been there little men. The Burgoynes, Wanganeen, Ebert, Mahoney...hell even Cassisi kicked 4 goals against us once while tagging Aussie outta the game.

And not to forget there Ruckmen too. Primus, Brogan, Lade always seem to have there best games against us, so Lade scares the crap outta me right now.

Without being disrespectful to Tredrea, I don't think he'll be a real worry this match, infact, I don't think he's ever been that dominate against us. Though I could be wrong about that.

But what kills us everytime against Port has been there little men. The Burgoynes, Wanganeen, Ebert, Mahoney...hell even Cassisi kicked 4 goals against us once while tagging Aussie outta the game.

And not to forget there Ruckmen too. Primus, Brogan, Lade always seem to have there best games against us, so Lade scares the crap outta me right now.

This post is pretty much spot on, you get so worried about Tredders and our small blokes run rings around you, Ebert in top notch form is the worry for you blokes.

2006: First game back from his initial knee injury, 2 goals. Couple dished off memory.

2005: 3 goal game in Tassie win.

2004: 3 goals in the Prelim.

2004: Couple of goals in dominant Tassie win.

He's basically always been servicable without being AA dominant regardless of the circumstances or relative strengths of the sides - even going back to 2003 and 2002 when Port were huge and your lot were just finding their way.

Given how decimated your backline is Tredders is almost certain to get his usual 2 or 3 on Friday night, provided he plays the majority of the game.

Looks like it is going to be wet, so I think Tredrea's 2007 breakout game will not be this week.

True. And our pace won't count for as much.

However, we were extremely tough in the wet against Collingwood last week, so be ready for a good fight.

Well, if Tredrea takes away your BEST defender, then that's good enough for us.

Tredders has also said that he won't be back to his best until the middle of the season at least.

Given Tredrea's current situation, there is no need for him to have the best defender placed on him. Has he kicked a goal in his 2 games back yet? Not anywhere near his best, and doesnt command any repect yet. Ebert is the man to watch out for, and Lade, when he floats foward. Rodan has been in and around the packs also. :eek:

Given Tredrea's current situation, there is no need for him to have the best defender placed on him.
Yeah, but thats not even the issue. St Kilda don't even have their best defender available. Even in his current form, Warren would merit any club's second best defender and at the moment thats St Kilda's first!

Well, if Tredrea takes away your BEST defender, then that's good enough for us.

Tredders has also said that he won't be back to his best until the middle of the season at least.

don't worry about the footy mate! we got the nuggets to worry about right now! what was with only 8 players gettin court time?? JR clearly being under-utilised

Don't worry about the second game, we haven't won a second game playoff series in 23 years and we got to within 3 points from a 3rd quarter 14 point defecit.

GK hates JR :( and our bench players are yet to perform. Nugs to win in 7 :thumbsu:

Yeah, but thats not even the issue. St Kilda don't even have their best defender available. Even in his current form, Warren would merit any club's second best defender and at the moment thats St Kilda's first!

Unforuntately that's true. Actually it's probably even worse than that with our #1 (Hudghton/Maguire), #2 (Hudghton/Maguire) and #3 (Sam Fisher) key defenders out injured so our best option tonight is really our 4th best tall defender. I'm afraid it will either be a severely undersized Jason Blake or a third gamer in Sam Gilbert. The other will have to cover White. Voss, Leigh Fisher or even Goddard seem to be better match-ups, size wise at least, for Ebert.

The only other option for us would be to move Kosi into defence but our coaching staff could be reluctant to do that because they may feel the best chance of winning would be to use our forward line to our advantage.

With Gehrig, Roo and maybe Brooks all other tall forward options and the fact that the game will probably be played in a down-pour, I think we can definitely afford to move Kosi back this week. Especially considerig his horrible game last week.

Added to the fact that your key forwards are aalmost always shut down against us, Milne always gets shut down, and your lack of hardness at the contest is always exploited.

I went and sat in the pouring rain last night and noticed a few things about warren tredrea
He is a absolute try hard bully against younger and smaller players but when he is face to face with bigger and older players he turns and runs like a coward.
he tried to bully attard and gilbert many times but as soon as kosi came down he went back into his hole
Also noticed that he is one of the biggest squealers i have ever seen. I thought c cornes and m lloyd were bad but this tool is right up with them...absolute pea heart tredrea

I went and sat in the pouring rain last night and noticed a few things about warren tredrea
He is a absolute try hard bully against younger and smaller players but when he is face to face with bigger and older players he turns and runs like a coward.
he tried to bully attard and gilbert many times but as soon as kosi came down he went back into his hole
Also noticed that he is one of the biggest squealers i have ever seen. I thought c cornes and m lloyd were bad but this tool is right up with them...absolute pea heart tredrea
And your number one forward Fraser Gehrig is a real man's man, isn't he? If Tredrea played for St Kilda they would win more games of football.

z0mg absolutely. Look at him beating up on this kid, disgraceful - empowered by these gutless bully-boy tactics he went on to take 13 marks and boot 4 in an upset 87-point finals win. I hope he was proud of himself, the big man. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

2wo9afr.gif

If that was someone like Glenn Archer I bet he'd have run away like a girl as you say. :thumbsu:

In all seriousness. Third game back from a career-threatening knee injury, absolutely bucketing down, could've gone into his shell and sooked in the unfriendly conditions but instead he lead from the front and turned in a dominant display on Kossie.

So what if he decided to rough up some of the smaller ones? I once saw David Teague get in his face and abuse him once. The big unit just laughed and booted 6.

If that's a pea-heart then there must be a fair few players running around with atom-sized ones.