Watching AFL Overseas - Solved

RobsJourney

Hey fellow Tigers,
I've been in Japan the past year and decided I'm gonna do a second year here.
Just logged on to afl livesport TV to renew my subscription for 2013 season, and they're not gonna be showing it! Assholes!

Now I'm freaking out a bit.. I can use apple#### on justin.tv right? But he won't always be showing Richmond games... I'm gonna be back to visit for Round 1 but that's it.

Does anyone know other ways I can guarantee seeing the Tigers games? even if it's not completely live, like sometime during the week after the match, I'm okay with it as long as I can watch..

faarrrkkkkkk

Hey fellow Tigers,
Just logged on to afl livesport TV to renew my subscription for 2013 season, and they're not gonna be showing it! Assholes!

Now I'm freaking out a bit.. I can use appleguts on justin.tv right? But he won't always be showing Richmond games... I'm gonna be back to visit for Round 1 but that's it.

Does anyone know other ways I can guarantee seeing the Tigers games? even if it's not completely live, like sometime during the week after the match, I'm okay with it as long as I can watch..

faarrrkkkkkk

dunno mate, as a last resort maybe firstrowsports...

Hey fellow Tigers,

Now I'm freaking out a bit.. I can use appleguts on justin.tv right? But he won't always be showing Richmond games... I'm gonna be back to visit for Round 1 but that's it.

faarrrkkkkkk
Gameanalyser on the AFL website? That's normally pretty good. You might get some weird "You're not in Australia" message bullshit, but you should be able to easily find a proxy that gets you through that. If not, send me a PM. There are a couple of other things simple to applesauce, and also a way to download matches to watch later in the week.

You might want to remove the name of the justin.tv user from your post. There are also other justin.tv people who generally have every game shown, between them. Shoot me a PM towards the start of the season if you don't have anything sorted out by then.

There's another Justin tv channel that shows the other game that apple guts isn't.

Hey fellow Tigers,

Now I'm freaking out a bit.. I can use apple#### on justin.tv right? But he won't always be showing Richmond games... I'm gonna be back to visit for Round 1 but that's it.

faarrrkkkkkk

Absolutely. If you are happy to wait 24-48 hours after the match I HIGHLY recommend specky selector.

http://speckyselector.zzl.org/

Pretty easy to use - choose round, teams, quality and you're set. Works on normal browsers and tablets (need to click the save link to get it playing on tablets / phones).

A Collingwood poster on here runs it I think and has been doing so for the last few years... Hopefully he has it going for 2013 as well.

Watching our past wins etc on it is what gets me through the off season! Everyone should use it (note- no idea about the legal ness of this thing but it has been allowed to run for the past few years so assuming it must be okay. :)

cheers TigerFan11, signed up for the free NAB cup streams, gonna be able to test it tonight!
wondering how the dons will be treated tonight given the current situation..

cheers TigerFan11, signed up for the free NAB cup streams, gonna be able to test it tonight!
wondering how the dons will be treated tonight given the current situation..

No worries mate glad I could help. Just happened to stumble across it. Couldn't imagine not being able to watch it myself! Did it go ok on the weekend for ya?

Just saw TRT's post.

No worries mate glad I could help. Just happened to stumble across it. Couldn't imagine not being able to watch it myself! Did it go ok on the weekend for ya?

Just saw TRT's post.

Checked it out and yeah pretty decent on High quality, unwatchable on Med and Low though :(
On High, much MUCH better than the All-stars game, it's a proper broadcast from Fox Footy afterall.
That said, the quality from the user on justin.tv is better, the quality on afl.livesport.tv was much better, and there's a funny thing with the sound in that the commentary is kind of...soft, and the crowd-noise sorta drowns it out and is oddly prominent.

On High quality though, all in all, worth the $120 it will cost for the season.

Have made myself completely unavailable for Friday night to re-test it with a real team, CARN the Tiges!

Checked it out and yeah pretty decent on High quality, unwatchable on Med and Low though :(
On High, much MUCH better than the All-stars game, it's a proper broadcast from Fox Footy afterall.
That said, the quality from the user on justin.tv is better, the quality on afl.livesport.tv was much better, and there's a funny thing with the sound in that the commentary is kind of...soft, and the crowd-noise sorta drowns it out and is oddly prominent.

On High quality though, all in all, worth the $120 it will cost for the season.

Have made myself completely unavailable for Friday night to re-test it with a real team, CARN the Tiges!

The $120 is a very solid investment! Here's hoping it holds up delivering good quality all year long. Itching for Friday night. Yellowand black!

I was in Japan for years...

In the early 90s depended on the good old lady sending over the back pages of the Monday newspapers.

Late 90s got connected to the net and had a website for instant news....heaven.

Early 2000s got the afl.com membership for game feeds...$50 I think....24 hour delay, so frustrating because it was hard not to go to the website and see the scores before I could watch the games.

But from 2006 or so with optic fibre internet, was watching Star channels on the TV just like foxtel here and back then was watching more games live than free to air here. Movies/CNN/docos on top of the footy...been back a while...but surely the channel still exists??

I was in Japan for years...

In the early 90s depended on the good old lady sending over the back pages of the Monday newspapers.

Late 90s got connected to the net and had a website for instant news....heaven.

Early 2000s got the afl.com membership for game feeds...$50 I think....24 hour delay, so frustrating because it was hard not to go to the website and see the scores before I could watch the games.

But from 2006 or so with optic fibre internet, was watching Star channels on the TV just like foxtel here and back then was watching more games live than free to air here. Movies/CNN/docos on top of the footy...been back a while...but surely the channel still exists??

Hey Dolt what's the name of the site? Sounds good, might look into it before I spend the $120 on AFL tv