Watson - 2012 and beyond

Couldn't agree more. Bower is too good to be happy being a depth player and Watson has too much potential for us to let go. Bower & pick to Freo for Silvagni?

We have enough backmen, why trade Bower for Silvagni.

Lopsided deal giving them a draft pick as well.

Not against trading Bower but not for that deal.

Hurley beat him on the lead, and turned him a couple of times. I thought Hendersons body work, not only against Hurley, bet Petrie, Riewoldt (both N and J) has been outstanding, and certainly not "weak". Keep in mind......make him "stronger" or bulk him up and you lose pace.

Pfft......yeah that's it. He never fluffed marks that he had got out on the lead, with it laced out to his face........never dropped those, just the "poor delivery" and he was always great body on body as he is now. Must be my memory that is failing........could I be arsed bumping a thread or two? Yeah nah. :o

Scarlett plays FB. Jammo is the comparison you are looking for.

Oh, and if EMU "trims down" much more the umps will signal a behind if the ball hits him...

Hurley did brush him off nicely on the boundry with easy and kicked a lovely behind. Did out mark him a few times in the last H/A game too. I'd like Henderson to beat his man one on one and out mark him a little more. He's been doing that the last few weeks which has been great. Like he did against Riewoldt who is a pansy with no idea how to play one on one and take a mark inside that big pretty arc.

The whole bulk him up and you lose pace is a not entirely true. It's only a real problem if you bulk up too quickly. If it happens gradually then the hard training and sprint training compensates for it. Jamo is a great example of that.

haha, good call on Bower, that is gold. Seriously though I went to the NAB challenge game V Geelong at Visy Park (game where he got injured and never returned for ages) and saw him up close and he was bloody massive. Seeing him now he has lost a shitload of weight which makes me think that the club has been going this way with him for a long while. He still is built like the hulk hogan compared to dustin fletcher and the Reids. He was massive during the preseason comp, no doubt he has spent time trimming down. Probably one of these guys who is stronger than he looks and who's legs couldn't handle the extra bulk.

Scarlett doesn't play full back all that often. Harry Taylor has been taking the best tall forward and Lonergan has been playing CHB.

I think given the age of Thornton, O'hAilpin and Waite, we should be giving thought to who will partner Hendo as well.

Other than Scotty, these guys are the oldest on the list. Shore up their replacements (Lucas will have Scotties spot in a year or so) and we are set for some time.:thumbsu:

Well hopefully one of our ruckmen push on to improve as a forward. I have noticed Hamspon playing a lot up forward in the VFL and Kreuzer playing up forward a lot in the AFL. Definitely a push to develop their forward game going on.

We have picked up mitchell and are persisting with Casboult so we are trying to push our tall forwards along. Wouldn't be surprised if some of our tall backmen that we have picked up are sent forward next year and we may yet draft another tall forward prospect.

I think given the age of Thornton, O'hAilpin and Waite, we should be giving thought to who will partner Hendo as well.

Other than Scotty, these guys are the oldest on the list. Shore up their replacements (Lucas will have Scotties spot in a year or so) and we are set for some time.:thumbsu:

Dangerfield? :D

Gut still says that Henderson is a more natural forward than a backman. You just need to look at how Henderson reads the play and marks the opposition's inside fifties. Plays like a forward with his judgement and clean hands to intercept. Yet Hurley was too strong for Lachie before we took control of the midfield and had the balance of inside fifties. Jamison had to go across with Henderson taking their resting rucks. Watson should play on the resting rucks and bigger forwards who aren't as nimble.

Very simple... it is far easier to play Aussie Rules footy as a defender than a forward.

Especially as a CHF :thumbsu:

I posted earlier in the year on one of the Hendo bashing threads that throwing him down back would not be the worst idea to find some footy and confidence as he will find it easier back there, that is all that is lacking in the kid from being a fantastic KPF for us.

People forget he is only 21 years old and his situation reminds me so much of JK its not funny. The amount of people bashing JK on this board when he was a kid was ridiculous (EDIT posting under a diff name back then) yet when he came good no one wanted to admit that they ever doubted him.

Nothing worse in football than a bandwagoner, not just on clubs but getting on and off players! I guess it comes with the territory of being an AFL supporter that there are plenty of morons willing to throw in their two cents and not have to be held accountable for what they say/write.

We have enough backmen, why trade Bower for Silvagni.

Lopsided deal giving them a draft pick as well.

Not against trading Bower but not for that deal.

Unless Bower has long term injury issues then I believe we should keep him. Has heaight, pace and flair. Will be a perfect complement to Jamison, Henderson and eventualy Watson. Still think he deserves to be playing in the seniors now.

bowers great he just isnt needed simple as that a commodity that carlton has plent of medium sized rebounding defenders

Could the solution be that Duigan could realistically move into the centre of the ground?

He is a big body, strong, just needs to improve his handling below the knees. But could he fill a gap we thought Brock was going to do?

That would leave room for Watson, Laidler, Henderson and Jamo to be a monster back line (maybe too tall?).

Some masterstrokes have been made with Thornton and Walker up forward, Henderson and Yarran down back.

Why not Duigan to the middle?

(puts on flame ******ant suit)

Could the solution be that Duigan could realistically move into the centre of the ground?

He is a big body, strong, just needs to improve his handling below the knees. But could he fill a gap we thought Brock was going to do?

That would leave room for Watson, Laidler, Henderson and Jamo to be a monster back line (maybe too tall?).

Some masterstrokes have been made with Thornton and Walker up forward, Henderson and Yarran down back.

Why not Duigan to the middle?

(puts on flame ******ant suit)

good thought mate but as a 27 year old he isnt going to improve below his knees. he is to much of a plodder for the midfield leave him where he is. yaz is the only one out of the backs that could be a regular midfielder

bowers great he just isnt needed simple as that a commodity that carlton has plent of medium sized rebounding defenders
You're most definitely wrong.

Bower's season has been interupted, to say the very least. It's not fair to judge a player on a season that has been littered with injuries. The last time he was fully up and about was when Jamison went down in 2008 (I believe) and stopped some of the best forwards in the league.

He certainly isn't done yet. When he gets going, he is an incredible player. Bower, Russell and Yarran as rebound defenders sounds good to me.

Very simple... it is far easier to play Aussie Rules footy as a defender than a forward.

That depends who you are, who you are palaying on and what your midfield is doing.

Gut still says that Henderson is a more natural forward than a backman. You just need to look at how Henderson reads the play and marks the opposition's inside fifties. Plays like a forward with his judgement and clean hands to intercept. Yet Hurley was too strong for Lachie before we took control of the midfield and had the balance of inside fifties. Jamison had to go across with Henderson taking their resting rucks. Watson should play on the resting rucks and bigger forwards who aren't as nimble.

Henderson's ability to read the play and mark the ball off the opposition's boot suggests he's more of a backman than a forward. Being able to leave your opponant who is trying to get away from you when the opposition have the ball are trying to get it to them so that you can mark is is completly different from standing next to a guy who is trying to stay on you and stop you from getting it. Hederson has the smarts to play both end, he is a smart footballer and that's the best part about him. I think he'll get a whole lot better in that position. He was going for his marks more on Sunday and held a few of them which was good. He is reminding me a bit of Harry Taylor of Geelong. Henderson is doing what we all used to hope Austin would do.

The suprise was Henderson's composure and ability ag ground level and ability to carry the ball. We actually have a proper structure down back. I wouldn't mess around with it too much. It's the forward structure that we can play with and I think that's where we should be trying to develop our tall young players.

I see Bower as a tall rather than medium option. Think he is 192cm and has good reach that has him play even taller. Would bea good third tall option to Henderson and Jamo this week.

You're most definitely wrong.

Bower's season has been interupted, to say the very least. It's not fair to judge a player on a season that has been littered with injuries. The last time he was fully up and about was when Jamison went down in 2008 (I believe) and stopped some of the best forwards in the league.

He certainly isn't done yet. When he gets going, he is an incredible player. Bower, Russell and Yarran as rebound defenders sounds good to me.

yes but ahead of who? Laidler/Duigan/Yarran/Henderson/Jamison are are a fixed part of the back 6. That leaves one sport - currrently occupied by a relatively well performing Joseph, and previously held by Russell. An in form Russell completes the defensive picture for me.