Watson: "Dons closer to a flag than Adelaide"

Tim Watson (Watto's Waste) on SEN this morning: "Essendon are closer to a flag than Adelaide" Apparently he really rates N. Craig as a coach but they dont have any automatic stars to replace Goodwin, McLeod, Edwards when they retire.

IMO they have plenty coming thru led by Porplyzia and Bock, backed up by Vince, Knights, Van Berlo, Mackay, Tippett with Hentschel to return from Injury I dont think they are looking too bad.

Lets compare that with the bombers who in the next couple of years will lose.. Lloyd, Fletcher, Lucas, Michael.

Watson said they have the following potential A Graders to fill the void... Houli, Myers, Lonergan, Hislop.. Even adding the likes of Ryder and Stanton looks to me like Watto has his bomber goggles on.

Neither team have great KP prospects in the wings... But what Adelaide do have is a young brigade with a decent level of AFL exposure...

Tough times ahead at Windy Hill... and Tim Watson is a FLOG!!!

I rate Houli. I reckon he has a bit of class and will become a very good player.

However, the rest of Essendon's young brigade just seem to be made up of plodders. I mean, Reimers, Lonergan, Monfries, Slattery, Nash, Dyson. They all have the same slow, clumsy, uncoordinated look about them.

Yes, Tim, has an astute football brain, as demonstrated in his highly successful career at St. Kilda as a coach and at Channel 7 as an autocue reader.

His opinion holds no weight in the football world, in fact, it tells me that Adelaide will win 2 or 3 premierships before the Bombers do.

Here's something for the Scum fans out there to bookmark - Essendon will not make a Prelim Final with Matthew Knights in charge and Essendon will not make a Prelim Final by 2012. That is a lock.

So are you saying the ALBINO will keep us entertained for many years to come?

I'm saying, whether Pinky is there or not, the Bombers won't be a serious contender over the next 4 years.

They have a debatable bunch of 'young talent' and given the GC17 draft concessions, they will not get that injection of talented youth to further bump them up the ladder.

Sad but true.

I'm saying, whether Pinky is there or not, the Bombers won't be a serious contender over the next 4 years.

They have a debatable bunch of 'young talent' and given the GC17 draft concessions, they will not get that injection of talented youth to further bump them up the ladder.

Sad but true.

We have young talent, there is nothing debatable about it. We recruited well in the last few years and we wont be one of the clubs to be affected by the new clubs entry. There is plenty of youth at the club. As for Knighta, the jury is still out. Sad for you guys, but true.

Some talent... a lot of which remains unproven. However this thread was more bagging Tim Watson than Bomber talent.

Same goes for most clubs Browny. Yeah fair enough, i loved Watson as a player, but as a media personality sometimes his a let down.

Tim Watson (Watto's Waste) on SEN this morning: "Essendon are closer to a flag than Adelaide" Apparently he really rates N. Craig as a coach but they dont have any automatic stars to replace Goodwin, McLeod, Edwards when they retire.

IMO they have plenty coming thru led by Porplyzia and Bock, backed up by Vince, Knights, Van Berlo, Mackay, Tippett with Hentschel to return from Injury I dont think they are looking too bad.

Lets compare that with the bombers who in the next couple of years will lose.. Lloyd, Fletcher, Lucas, Michael.

Watson said they have the following potential A Graders to fill the void... Houli, Myers, Lonergan, Hislop.. Even adding the likes of Ryder and Stanton looks to me like Watto has his bomber goggles on.

Neither team have great KP prospects in the wings... But what Adelaide do have is a young brigade with a decent level of AFL exposure...

Add dangerfield and walker to that list.
We got pumped on the weekend. Geelong to good and we played shite to help them. No excuses for that but in general, the future is rosy

How many afl games have they played?

Of course we're closer than Adelaide look at how we'll be when all our young guys start to prime. Adelaide will have to work hard to make the finals in the next 3 years, but the Dons look like they're on the up.

Any shit team can talk about how great their kids are going to be in the future. Port did that in 2006 and look at them now!

Just for the record, apart from Houli and Stanton, I think the Bombers have shit youngsters.

I wouldn't add those to the list as they are completely unproven. However I think with a Midfield including Thompson, Porps, Vince, Knights, Douglas, Reily over the next few years the crows will be a force. Just need Tippett & Sellar to kick on and the Crows could push for a flag in the next 2-5 years

Any shit team can talk about how great their kids are going to be in the future. Port did that in 2006 and look at them now!

Just for the record, apart from Houli and Stanton, I think the Bombers have shit youngsters.

....and how many threads have been started by Essendon supporters talking about how good the kids are?

What record is that, the no clue record?;)

Mate you probably didn't see Leroy Jetta against Freo but he was close to best on ground. And have you seen Jobe Watson? He reads the ball as well as anyone.
Paddy Ryder, he'll be one of the best CHBs when he's older.
Kyle Reimers is one of the best young blokes in the AFL and Alwyn Davey will be better than his brother. And then there's Lovett and Myers, they'll be some of the best midfielders going around.

Mate you probably didn't see Leroy Jetta against Freo but he was close to best on ground. And have you seen Jobe Watson? He reads the ball as well as anyone.
Paddy Ryder, he'll be one of the best CHBs when he's older.
Kyle Reimers is one of the best young blokes in the AFL and Alwyn Davey will be better than his brother. And then there's Lovett and Myers, they'll be some of the best midfielders going around.

"Jousting sticks"
"How much is he askin' "
"$250"
"Tell him he's dreamin' "

I would agree with him the Crows problem is their ruck men way to in expreience and the next crop as you mentioned Vince, Knights, Van Berlo have seemed to hit a hurdle.Tippet looks ok but needs more lots more time Maric is comming on ok and Griffin will be ok.

He is correct there is no one to replace Goody Macca and Edwards and lets be honest all 3 are close to the end of the line very close

The only difference is Craig will be there for a long time

Knights ?????