Wayne Carey

• Thread starter Thread starter Sco

Originally posted by Dan26

Make no mistake, losing Hardwick has not been the problem. Our defence is right up there with the best in the AFL this year. We simply havn't been able to kick enough goals. Lloyd and Carey together is dream material. I'd be creaming myself.

A drop of in goals kicked isn't just a direct reflection of the performance of the foward line. As a team we dont rebound as well out of the 50. We're missing Hardwick and Solomon in that area - not only for their drive, but both had alot of respect/confidence placed in them from their team mates. Players are more likely to take a risk with two extra all australians out there. The foward line are the least of our troubles, we need to work on getting it down there better and i agree with Wally - it's definantley a poor reflection on the ruck, and the midfield. That being said I still wouldn't mind Wayne at the club.

Originally posted by windyhill
When news reached me that Solly had done his knee, that was the season for me there and then. The boys have done very well down back considering who we have lost. Losing Solly.......

I don't rate Soloman quite as high as you. I rate him as a mid-range player at best. I like him in our side, and I like the way he plays, but our flag hopes do NOT revlve around him, as you imply.

I remember watching him last year, and I was saying to my mate, "You know, Soloman's okay, but he's not THAT good." I didn't really notice in 2000, because we were so good, but last year, some of his flaws became more apparent as we struggled.

There's just a bit of finesse, and touch that he lacks. It'll be good to get him back, but he's nowhere near the mould of a best and fairest winner like Hardwick. From memory, he could only manage 9th or 10th in our B&F despite playing every game. That's not the kind of form, premiership hopes hinge on.

Soloman is just a player. Good, average, want-him-in-your-side player, but nothing more at this stage.

I remember watching him last year, and I was saying to my mate, "You know, Soloman's okay, but he's not THAT good." I didn't really notice in 2000, because we were so good, but last year, some of his flaws became more apparent as we struggled.

Some of his strengths shone through too, such as the ability to play "tall", something many players cannot.

Soloman is just a player. Good, average, want-him-in-your-side player, but nothing more at this stage.

Solomon's form in the finals series last year was as good as I've seen and had he carried it over to this season was ceretainly good enough to win a B&F the way things have gone this year.

Solomon hit a bad spot mid way through last year, then lifted.

As Dave pointed out he's the only type that can play on the taller players. Unlike henneman who is as weak as ****.

Solomon's performance against Richardson in the Qualifying final was superb, but he wasn't like that every week. I was frustrated with him at times last year. Whilst, he's been a good finals player, the 22 round week-to-week grind will establish whether you are a top-line player.

By the way, Dave, you suggest Solomon could have won the best and fairest this year. I find that ludicrous. I suppose, there are surprises in football, and I could be wrong, so we'll wait and see, but I have huge doubts whether Solomon will be a B&F winner - he hasn't got the talent. To me, he is a slightly less skilled verson of Damian Hardwick. He'll never be as good as Hardwick. I hope he is, but he won't be IMHO.

By the way, Dave, you suggest Solomon could have won the best and fairest this year. I find that ludicrous. I suppose, there are always surprises in football, and I couldbe wrong, so we will wait and see, but I have grave doubts whether Deam Solomon will ever be a B&F winner for Essendon - he hasn't got the talent. To me, he is a slightly less skilled verson of Damian Hardwick. He'll never be as good as Hardwick. I hope he is, but he won't be IMHO.
Sorry to intrude. Been reading this thread with obvious interest considering the subject matter.

Just as a matter of interest, i remember Gary Lyon and others comparing Solomon favourably with Glenn Archer. Regardless of whether this is a valid comparison, i think its worth noting that Archer has never won a B&F either. In fact i dont think he has finished higher than 3rd or 4th, although that might change this year on current form.

Now granted he has played in a pretty handy era for us with some equally handy players, but would you consider Archer a lesser player than Shannon Grant (01 B&F) or Peter Bell (00)?

Solomon is a very talented, valuable player IMO, regardless of where he finishes in your B&F for the rest of his career.

Mate, Soloman has nothing on Glen Archer. If both were the same age, you'd take Archer every time.

Look, I like Soloman - I just find our supporters overrate him. He's not that good.
Fair enough. And i agree, i would take Arch every time! ;)

But FWIW though, i respect Solomon because he plays it so hard yet has the skill to compliment it. Rare quality in players like him IMO. Plays above his height and looks a natural leader. I'd take him over Blumfield, Heffernan or McVeigh any day and he'd look great in a blue and white guernsey!! With his style, he'd fit right in too!

I know you're not disputing this Dan, but to risk stating the bleeding obvious (and despite all the bloody stats etc) you're a much better side with him in it.

And while i'm admiring your side (this is starting to get sickening) i also reckon you'll make the 8 comfortably and will have a massive say in the finals, particularly by beating Collingwood (ok, now i'm hoping more than anything). I would love a first up final between you two. Only thing i'd like more is for us to play them in the finals.

All the best.

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
so getting caught red-handed screwing your best mate's wife in another mates guest bathroom during his wife's 30th birthday party in front of 100 or so guests is the hallmark of 'a great guy and a great leader' is it Dan26 ?

What's wrong with you?:mad: :mad:

Isn't CAREY ;) on Sydney's list? Or haven't Sydney got anyone worth trading? :o :o

If Sheedy wants Carey, you will get him.

Sheedy sleeps just fine when it comes down to off-loading players to obtain who he wants....(eg: Hardwick) Actually, pretty much any Coach has to do it at some stage.

So, if it comes down to Sheedy wanting Carey and Carey wants to go to Essendon.....it is all over folks.

Best you start looking at who will not be wearing your jumper next year. Someone has to go and I don't think it will be one person, to afford Carey, it will have to be a couple.

If it comes off, and Carey stars, you will all be laughing.

Originally posted by BrisGirl
Sheedy sleeps just fine when it comes down to off-loading players to obtain who he wants....(eg: Hardwick)

I don't believe it was by choice that he/we "got rid" of Hardwick.

Losing him and Solomon this year has killed us.

There's just a bit of finesse, and touch that he lacks. It'll be good to get him back, but he's nowhere near the mould of a best and fairest winner like Hardwick. From memory, he could only manage 9th or 10th in our B&F despite playing every game. That's not the kind of form, premiership hopes hinge on.

Man, you're on the wrong drugs.

How can you say Solomon is just a "good average want-him-in-your-side-player"????

I seriously doubt your knowledge of footy when you make statements like this. Sure, everybody has an opinion, but anybody with half a clue knows that Solomon is more than a "good average player."

Just another example of Dan letting the stats make his mind up for him.

Originally posted by gPhonque

Man, you're on the wrong drugs.

How can you say Solomon is just a "good average want-him-in-your-side-player"????

I seriously doubt your knowledge of footy when you make statements like this. Sure, everybody has an opinion, but anybody with half a clue knows that Solomon is more than a "good average player."

Just another example of Dan letting the stats make his mind up for him.

Mate, Soloman's good, but he's not in our top half dozen. I havn't missed an Essendon game since '97 and I've only missed three in the last 11 years so I think I'm qualified to have an opinion. Last time I checked you weren't even a member (or you weren't last year, as I recall you saying on bigfooty at one time)

He played every game last year, and couldn't finish higher then 9th in the best and fairest.

I never said he wasn't any good. I like him, and I think he is an asset to our defence. He's a good player. But, he is simply an "want-him-in-your-side" player. Nothing more. We tend to overrate the tough players and put them on pedestals. Soloman is a good tough player, but he lacks the polish of some of his peers. If you look at our best 22, I'd put 8-10 players above him ansd 8-10 players below him. He's in the middle.

It will be good to get him back.

Originally posted by Carlos
And while i'm admiring your side (this is starting to get sickening) i also reckon you'll make the 8 comfortably and will have a massive say in the finals, particularly by beating Collingwood (ok, now i'm hoping more than anything). I would love a first up final between you two. Only thing i'd like more is for us to play them in the finals.

All the best.

Your mob will have a bigger say that what we do.

Last night I was frustarted by our lack of efficiency. We have the players to score the goals, but we couldn't. A Denis Pagan coached team would have approached last night's match differently.

Your great coach has taken an average bunch of players and had made them play with such ruthless efficiency, that you have become the most competitive team year in year out that I've ever seen. Your kick-it-long, alawys centre the ball, always leave the forward line open, never U-turn, never chip it around for a meaningless possession therefore minimsing your errors philospophy, will have you contending for the flag every year.

I've never seen a team in my life, where the success can be put down 100% to the coach. With your mob, it's almost as if the players are irrelevant (exaggerartion), and Denis would simply use different players (if avaialable) to implement his "playing the percentages", mathematically perfect game-plan. As an example, look at his success with the under 19's where he guided them to 9 consecutive Grand Finals, despite a turnover of players every two years.

I've often wondered how many premierships we would have won if Denis didn't leave our club in '92. His impact on ALL the teams he's coached at all levels leaves me of the opinion that he is the greatest coach of all time.

And with him, you are a contender.

I always put money on North to finish in the top-4 after the finals, because they do it every year. Putting money on North is an investment - not a risk. I'd love to see you guys play the Magpies, because I reckon you'd knock them off in a final. I don't think we're quite there, but I reckon we'd have more chance of knocking them off in a final, than in Round 20.

Originally posted by Michele

You are not only hypocrytical, but stupid too!

How is that chelley luv?

Moorcroft is definately finished this year.
Caracella hasn't resigned and has had a poor year.
And if you even suggest keeping McAlister, you're a bigger moron than anyone could have guessed.

As a north supporter I would love if Wayne went to Essendon because then there would be one other team that wouldn't booooo him anymore.....
Now I know that I will apprectiate every game he plays. He is an absolte legend of the game...