Wayne Carey

Ghostwriter

10k Posts RIP North Melbourne - 2014 Daw, Black, Gibson Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2009 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2008 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2007 Player Sponsor
Just watched the video 'Wayne Carey the story so far'.
I think they could've put in heaps more highlights and left out a lot of the interview stuff.
Interesting to hear Arch speak so highly of him and the Kings' constant references to Stevo, from what I could gather they were great freinds. ah well...
To anybody who hasn't seen it it is well worth a look.
But tell me Carlos, NB, Shinners or anyone can you recommend a game where he absolutely took a team apart so I can buy it through Name a Game.

Melbourne, Rd 17, 1996 - where he had 30 odd touches, 15 grabs and 11 goals. That stat line pretty much says it all.

Off the top of my head:

'93 vs. Essendon (4th qtr) - classic quarter.
'94 vs. Hawthorn final - inspirational.
'95 vs. Richmond final - second quarter burst stunning.
'96 vs. Melbourne - 11.2 (two posters).
'97 vs. Geelong final - 7 of 11 goals for memory.
'98 night GF - turned the game from six goals down.

There were many other games where he kicked 6-8 goals, but these ones stand out. The '93 last quarter is of one my all time favourite quarters of football... he was just awesome. Mind you two if his best performances were the '94 prelim and '99 vs. Essendon, but we lost those. If I had my vids I could probably recommend more...

Originally posted by utility
'93 vs. Essendon (4th qtr) - classic quarter.
'95 vs. Richmond final - second quarter burst stunning.
They're the 2 very worthy recommendations.

That Essendon game in particular was just a monstor of an effort. To think we were down going into that last quarter and ended up winning by 38 points was just amazing. There was one reason for that: W.Carey. He was unstoppable.

There was also a game in 93 againts Hawthorn which we actually ended up losing, but Carey was unbelievable in that also.

And the game against Footscray at Whitten Oval that same year was a breathtaking display from him. Was a great game of footy but was underpinned by a rampant W.Carey.

If you can get your hands on the SA vs Vic State of Origin game in 92, thats certainly worht a look also. He pretty much came of age that night.

Originally posted by Stevo's Girl
Round 17 1995 V Richmond

Can't remember Carey in that game, but is worth getting... 38 points down half way through the third quarter, got up and won... great stuff. For memory we had a big finish against Essendon that year too... 5 goals in the last 10 minutes to win by 27 points... (come from behind wins are so sweet).

The '93 game against the Bullies that was mentioned was a great game... that was the day Rocky cleaned up Doug Hawkins and told Steve MacPherson to have a look at the scoreboard... gold! :D McAdam kicked a bag as well.

Oh, and if you have cash left over, get '93 vs. Collingwood... 1st vs. 2nd... 19 goals to 5... just about everyone starred for North that day. :D

Oh, and if you're feeling dirty about Whorethorn, '94 (for memory) where we won by 127 points was good one, he kicked seven.

Agreed, that video was a pis$ poor effort IMO. An opportunity wasted... strikes me as a quick marketing opportunity, not a painstaking trawl through the video archives to showcase the King at his absolute best. It really didn't showcase the Carey I watched in the mid 90s... running blind with the flight of the ball into packs, taking marks above the pack on his chest, those feakish one handed marks, captains goals from the 50m arc at crucial times times in a game, his arrogant and intimidating physical presence, splitting packs open, the way he could bust a game open or single handedly get us across the line... And we probably forget about it now, but at his prime Carey's ability to keep his feet and make second and third efforts.... in his early-mid twenties he was like a steel spring.

And we all knew what Arch and Stevo were going to say (back then) - I'd have liked to have seen some of the all time champs (Mathews, Barassi, Blighty, Silvagni etc...) interviewed to see how they rated him alongside the greats of the game.

Carey wasn't just a great player. He was one of the all time best. Top 5 of all time. Such a shame thats not what he'll be remembered for now.

Originally posted by jozeph
Just watched the video 'Wayne Carey the story so far'.
I think they could've put in heaps more highlights and left out a lot of the interview stuff.
Interesting to hear Arch speak so highly of him and the Kings' constant references to Stevo, from what I could gather they were great freinds. ah well...
To anybody who hasn't seen it it is well worth a look.
But tell me Carlos, NB, Shinners or anyone can you recommend a game where he absolutely took a team apart so I can buy it through Name a Game.

These would be my top 10 ( hard to pick the order ) so I have put them down in order of time.

10: North vs Adelaide 1991, this was the 1st time I can remember saying to a couple of mates after the game, I know this bloke had abilty but christ he is going to be a star after his match winning effort in the final quarter against the Crows.

9: North vs Essendon 1993, I like most people feel this was his most memorable performance, it was such a great match winning performance it wasn't funny and against great opposition, had several blokes on him and still just blew them away in the final quarter.

8: North vs Hawthorn 1994, Better known as demolition derby a huge win by over 120 points, our fist win against Hawthorn in 10 years and Carey was also there taking Hawthorn to the cleaners.

7: North vs Hawthorn 1994 final, What a great match from both sides Jarman & Platten had blinders and normally would have got 3 votes for such great performances, but that man again Carey could do better another match winning effort.

6: North vs Geelong 1994 final, Probaly his best performance and for neutral supporters and Geelong supporters one of, if not close to one of the best games of football for a long, long time, it had everything, a definate last man standing affair, exactly what Preliminary Finals should be, the only sad thing was we lost by 6 points in controversial circumstances.

5: North vs Richmond 1995, Down by 6 goals late in the 3rd quarter and in front of a packed pro bandwaggon Richmond crowd booing Carey, he decided he will shut them up and be a match winner again.

4: North vs Essendon 1995, A funny match we had control for the 1st 3 quarters of the match and led by 5 goals or so at 3 quarter time, kicked the 1st goal of the last a ripper from a blast from the past Warren Campbell to lead by over 6 goals early in the last quarter, I know Rex Hunt by this stage would have brought the fat lady in, but in the blink of an eye Essendon booted the next 6 goals to hit the front at the 20 minute mark and if you hate Essendon you would love this one because their supporters were as quiet as mice all night until then but was the noise loud when they hit the front (thinking they had it won ), but then we kicked the last 5 goals in time on and stuck it up em. Carey played well as well.

3: North vs Melbourne 1996, No other way but to say just showed it was a man playing against boys, just destroyed Melbourne, no other way to discribe it.

2: North vs Geelong 1997 final, again played a blinder.

1: North vs St Kilda 1998 Night Final, I loved this one mainly because I hate St Kilda with passion, but coming from 6 goals down and a nasty and hostile pro St Kilda bandwaggon crowd giving him and us for that matter stick, well Mr Carey would not stand for that and said to himself I will really give you something to boo about and just turned another match with class at its best and won the Michael Tuck Medal and us the Fosters Cup or whatever they called it back then.

So there you go a drive down Memory Lane although there are many others like the 1999 Final against Port Adelaide, 1999 against Essendon although we lost but great game all the same, 1993 against Footscray, 1992 State Match South Australia vs Victoria and many others, I can go on for ages like I just have, a great player with lots of great memories it is a shame he could not control himself in other ways, would loved to have had him playing his whole career with us and give him a great send off but sadly it won't happen because of what he did.

Originally posted by gold cup 1996
8: North vs Hawthorn 1994, Better known as demolition derby a huge win by over 120 points, our fist win against Hawthorn in 10 years and Carey was also there taking Hawthorn to the cleaners.

Geez that was a great game....

one i will never forget that is for sure!!!!
The Searching Kangaroo......
:D