Wayne Jackson - He w***er

So whaddaya all think about the AFL's chief gobshite trying to grab further cash for the AFL at the expense of the SANFL? Call it the fact that the AFL is in financial trouble, or the fact that Wayne Jackson has a premature ejaculation problem and is taking out his frustrations.

Originally posted by Humphrey B Flaubert
I am of course talking about the shift of AFL games to Saturday afternoons in Adelaide.

Personally I do not give a hoot when the AFL matches are played.

However I do care about when the SANFL matches are played. SANFL belongs on a Saturday arvo, not bloody Sunday. If AFL matches are programmed at Footy Park on a Saturday arvo then it is likely that the SANFL will schedule matches at other times. I don't mind the odd Friday night game at Adelaide Oval; but having a Sunday match every other week is Just Not On.

It may be possible for SANFL matches to coexist with AFL matches on a Saturday arvo, provided that there is no direct telecast of the AFL match into Adelaide; there usually isn't a direct telecast for home matches. Virtually no crowds would be lost when the smears play at home - especially if Port Magpies' byes can be scheduled around the smears home matches. Certainly the crowds would decrease somewhat when the Adelaide Clowns play at home - but if there is no direct telecast, then this will at least be limited to Clowns' ticket holders.

But the bottom line is exactly what you said: the AFL, desperate to increase the crowds and pull some more $$$, wants to cut in on the local league's territory.

I say BUGGER THE AFL - SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL TEAM

There will be Saturday football next season despite the fact that most members on the Crows website don't want it

The club seems to be accepting it and doing nothing about it

SANFL should have Saturday's to themsleves

The AFL is getting greedy and Jacko is kidding himself if he thinks Rugby Union, Basketball or Cricket (in winter???) are going to be watched on Saturday afternoons

People would much prefer to go to the SANFL, or the Amateurs or play their own sport.

I would be interested to know what Port members think of the idea

We may be able to put up a united front for once.

It's a damn disgrace what is being done to the SANFL, just when it's on the upward curve.

The Crows and the SANFL don't seem to be offering much resistance. Shows me where the SANFL hierachy's true loyalty lays.

I remember 1991 when the SANFL was treated in a piss poor fashion by being shunted to Sunday for most games and even Monday nights (!) so that there wouldn't be a clash with the telecast of Crows Saturday games in Melbourne. True blue SANFL supporters didn't give a rats arse whether the Crows were playing on the box or not, they only wanted to get out of the house and support their club.

The house of the AFL may be an opulent mansion. But how long will it remain standing if the occupants keep chipping away at the foundations.

Although the direct coverage of an SA AFL team playing on a Saturday against the local comp is not desirable, I think the AFL ticketing hike in prices is going to bring more people to back to the SANFL anyhow.
The current trend in attendances for Crows and Power matches supports my view, but I am with Uncle Steve on this.
BUGGER THE AFL,, GO FOR YOUR LOCAL TEAM.
Go the Blues
Smithy

I totally agree. If the AFL want to play SA based AFL matches against the SANFL there's not much we can do about it. Doesn't bother me at all, I'll still go to SANFL matches and the vast majority of true fans I know will as well.................I have nothing but contempt for the whole AFL scene (I'm a disgruntled ex-Fitzroy supporter, can you tell???)

Good to see that there are still some SANFL true believers but to make profits the SANFL need to have Saturday afternoons to themselves because the vast majority of AFL fans will neglect the true great footy that is the SANFL and go along to see some money driven AFL match.

My favourite team in the world is Port Magpies. No matter how many flags the Power win, id rather see a Magpies flag anyday. Saturday Arvo AFL footy in Adelaide will kill the SANFL. It was shown in the paper during the week that SANFL crowd figures this year are highest theyve been for 5 or so years, and second highest since the Crows went to the AFL.

To Blues_Brats comment - of course the SANFL big wigs are more worried about the crows. Leigh Whicker and that shonky arseh*le who i wish would cark it Max Basheer pretty much own the crows. They would rather the crows succeed than the SANFL succeed.

It would basically see the end of the SANFL if they programmed SANFL games the same day as a crow home game. Who would turn up?? The only game that would get a crowd is the Port game, as they dont go to crows games. It wouldnt matter so much Port games, as crows fans dont really care about port games (even tho plenty show up). I hope the SANFL bosses are smart enough NOT to program games the same day as a AFL home game. I cant think of anything more stupid.

There is nothing like going to the local ground on a saturday arvo at around 2:00, seeing the cheerleaders then the seniors play. Nothing beats it. No AFL game beats it. It would be stupid playing AFL games on a saturday anyway...people have other things to do...wouldnt get a large crowd, huge parking and traffic difficulties.

Who knows....hope it doesnt go ahead

LONG LIVE SANFL FOOTY

Well Im a Victorian (ok carm down don't start)
I can understand how you all feel, The AFL COMMISSION think they can do anything and they are doing what the want,
How many club presidents are being bribed or are they just a bunch of money grubbing scumbags for not standing up and looking after its supporters?

As much as you probably all hate Victoria and its people we all have something in commom, we all hate Jackson
Does anyone know how to get rid of that bastard?

Waverley Park was the last straw for me, They took away the peoples ground and I will never go and watch another AFL match again.

please check out my Waverley Web page to see the current condition of the ground

MBER, as you can see, despite Wayne Jackson being a so called South Australian we hate him too for what he is doing.

The Vics hated him because he was from here and they thought his loyaltly lay with the clubs outside of Melbourne.

Obviously not.

Wayne Jackson's loyalty obviously lays with the capitalist bastards and media moguls who have taken the game of the people away from the people. And add insult to injury he is trying to kill the last bastion of grass roots footy.

Perhaps as half time entertainment in this years grand final, we could string the prick up. I'm sure it would be more popular and enjoyable than any fireworks or dancing girls could ever be.

I agree with you all...

Having AFL football at West Lakes on Saturday Afternoons will destroy local football. Most people would rather see AFL than SANFL. And CURTAIN RAISERS?!!! Screw them! That SUCKS! I remember hearing on one of those talkback radio things...the 5AA Sports show with KG and Cornes (I dont listen to them in my spare time!) some country dumbass wants SANFL Curtain Raisers back so that she doesn't have to pay for two matches. Only because she comes from WHYALLA. This dumb woman wants the SANFL to cater for her. A country person who live hundreds of kilometers away! NO WAY. Keep SANFL League matches out of the Curtain Raiser role. And as they say on the ad...

SHOW YOUR TRUE COLORS!!!

Having an SANFL game as a 'curtain rasier' to an AFL game pisses me off.

Most AFL supporters (read Crows supporters) wouldn't give a hoot if there was an SANFL game beforehand.

It leaves the SANFL supporter out in the cold if the match is a sellout.

re: curtain raisers; I hate them for making SANFL fans pay $17.00 to watch their team (over double the price), and making us spend the day with people who couldn't care less about the SANFL. The worst ever was when Centrals played the Eagles before Showdown 1. Thanks alot!!

What I wouldn't give to return back to way football used to be in SA pre-1991.....................

I agree with you all.....**** you Wayne Jackson...keep saturday arvo footy in Victoria! Why can't they play more Friday night AFL games in Adelaide instead of Saturday arvo??

I'll still pay for my AFC season ticket but if it's a choice between SANFL and AFL.....keep an eye out for me on abc tv!

Somebody really should make an anti-Wayne Jakson web site. I really do think Wayne Jackson and anybody who supports his latest idea should be assassinated.

Humphrey, "I agree with everything that you have said except for every third word" - gold gold gold video 1998.

Maybe I am biased but the former EAGLES president, coach & captain is doing a better than average job running the AFL. Can't you see,
He is screwing the victorians - the ones that appointed him!!
getting rid of the holes that pass for their suburban AFL venues,
turning melbourne clubs against each other,
standing up to Mr Elliot - HE w***er, sputnik & steady eddie. The PLAYERS thru their association are the ones driving the money exponentially upwards. So TV rights have been sold - to prop up the struggling victorian clubs & now the broadcasters want sat matches in adelaide.

I bumped in to wayne at a lockleys bus stop when he was on holidays in adelaide, and had a bit of a chat - he was saying that when he at AFL matches he still rings back to adelaide to find out scores about how the eagles are doing. So he still follows the local stuff.

Ok the decision to play on sat afternoons has disadvantages - although the $5.50 park fee will be interesting - I'll still be saying that I am using the ATM only or going to maccas, and refusing to pay.
For the SANFL fans - the crowds are up this year mainly because of friday night games @ norwood & adelaide
True SANFL fans will still go to support their local club, I know I will, I will in preference to using my crows season ticket.
Isn't it only for 8 games in total - 4 each for crows & PAP?
Ethelton are talking lights for the zoo at alberton - this would make 3 venues that could be used for some friday matches.

People are resistant to change - we cannot have the good old days of the SANFL pre 1991 as CDFC lad and we all would like.

The fact is that the 2 adeladie AFL clubs now provide the majority of the SANFL clubs revenue. (Well make that one as PAP are losing money - the SANFL should take the share of PAP's money and pay it to the clubs direct before distribution.) we do not have to like it just take their money & still follow & support our local clubs.

SHOW YOUR TRUE COLOURS

I know we will never get the old days back, it' simply a Freudian 'wish fulfillment fantasy' statement of mine!! But I know one thing......I'll never pay to watch another AFL match unless my beloved Fitzroy FC get back in (we're top of the Victorian Amateur Div 3 so watch out!!) , another fantasy :-)

If I'm not mistaken, didn't we (the SANFL clubs) get jack off of Port last season due to their inability to make an adequate profit margin? I'm sure that will turn around this season!!