wce vs hawks

• Thread starter Thread starter alstar562

Very high.

Although, if we lose, we can kiss a top 4 spot goodbye. Realistically, we should win our next 6.

Originally posted by ozzult
Very high.

Although, if we lose, we can kiss a top 4 spot goodbye. Realistically, we should win our next 6.

I think its going to be more a case of us losing it than the Hawks winning it.

Very high.

We may get done in one, but should win at least 5 of 6.

If we go 6 out of 6 and Port go 5 out of 6 and lose their derby, we will get top spot.

I bet ya top spot will come down to Round 22.

If we go 6 out of 6 and Port go 5 out of 6 and lose their derby, we will get top spot.

I bet ya top spot will come down to Round 22.
They're 6 points clear, so would need to lose this week (at Brissy) plus the Derby. But yeah, I reckon we can get em.

this weeks revenge week for what happend in round 16 and for what happened in round 2.

I hope our guys don't forget the pain of that loss, and go out there and belt the living fu(k out of these pricks.

Despite everything else thats happened this year, this is close to our biggest game of the year (I know this is an often used cliche). If you look at - we win and we'll be back in the hunt for a top 2 spot, and with a win behind us we'll get some confidence back. We lose and not only have we been thumped by the number 1 team, we'd have lost our subi record, and lose to a bunch of ****en knobs, and that'll probably spell an end to our chance of doing major damage come september IMO.

I think we will win, but I always think we will win. At home we are a much better side and with some key outs for Hawthorn we should go in the heavy favourites. But we too have some key injuries so it will be a tough game, particularly with Hawthorn in great form.

A must win game though so Im tipping us.

Originally posted by Mr Eagle
We have got to seriously punch their lights out, as much for our own psychological boost as to make sure other sides still come west with real fear in their hearts. Brisbane is already starting to look vulnerable, we don't want to go down that path too.

I think the Carlton win has done enough to strike fear into all opponents travelling the continent to play the mighty WCE at Subi. A loss to the top placed side in Adelaide will do little to dent that fear.

ONE GAME AT A TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Port at Geelong, Kangaroos against soft St Kilda, Eagles at home to Bulldogs - how many games does it take for footballers and fans to learn to respect their opponents?

Hawthorns great form is not against top sides. They should be easily beatable at Subi. Both away games are dangerous and we could lose both, in any case I would think an upset in one is a good possibility. The Fre derby is no certainty either, a home final may be being played for and Freo know how to scrag. So my prediction in another 4-5 wins........and percentage could be a big factor.

Originally posted by Frodo
Hawthorns great form is not against top sides.

Hawthorn's last 6 matches

defeated Melbourne by 7 points
lost to Brisbane by 12 points
defeated Footscray by 73 points
defeated Freemantle by 30 points
defeated Collingwood by 33 points
defeated Adelaide by 5 points

-----------------------
3/5 wins against top 8 sides
1 narrow loss to a top 8 side

smashed the lowly bulldogs
gutsy come from behind win against Melbourne.

West Coast's last 6 matches

lost to Port Adelaide by 64 points (away)
defeated carlton by 116 points (home)
lost to Sydney by 8 points (away)
defeated Kangaroos by 9 points (home)
defeated Brisbane by 69 points (away)
drew with Footscray (home)

------------------------

The game against Carlton was good, the game against Brisbane was excellant. Otherwise WCE form hasn't really been that impressive over the last 6 weeks. A bit inconsistent.

Originally posted by jj flash
The game against Carlton was good, the game against Brisbane was excellant. Otherwise WCE form hasn't really been that impressive over the last 6 weeks. A bit inconsistent.

See, folks? The Carlton thing means little when it is bookended by "poor" losses, never mind where the games were played. Psychologically, this has got to be a good win if we are to start warming up for September.

However, in response to jj's view of things I would point out two things:

1. That the one loss in that period was in the Hawks' only true "away" game of the bunch (Freo travelled much further than them to get to York Park). And Subi is a nasty trip.

2. I respect only three of those results: v Adel, v Bris, and v Dogs. Collingwood played a godawful game that day compared to some of what we've seen them do this season. Freo at York Park is hardly a surprise, and Melbourne are 4th quarter chokers of the worst kind ;)

However, in response to jj's view of things I would point out two things:

1. That the one loss in that period was in the Hawks' only true "away" game of the bunch (Freo travelled much further than them to get to York Park). And Subi is a nasty trip.

We had the home ground advantage at York park. The MCG games were all neutral, with a slight advantage over Adelaide. They actually had a lot of support and tend to go OK in Melbourne anway.

2. I respect only three of those results: v Adel, v Bris, and v Dogs. Collingwood played a godawful game that day compared to some of what we've seen them do this season. Freo at York Park is hardly a surprise, and Melbourne are 4th quarter chokers of the worst kind ;)

I agree with all, except Collingwood. The truth was that we didn't let them play any better.

It should be an intersting game, we haven't beaten the Eagles at Subi since 1994. (Our last win over the Eagles in Perth was '99 at the W.A.C.A).

Originally posted by jj flash
We had the home ground advantage at York park. The MCG games were all neutral, with a slight advantage over Adelaide. They actually had a lot of support and tend to go OK in Melbourne anway.
I was thinking more re travel. Neutral crowd support maybe, but it's 30 minutes down the road compared to a long plane flight. And neither Brisbane or Tassie requires a time zone shift. That will be the problem.

Friday Night Football returns to WA!

I remember the last time we had it over here, Dipper was the boundary rider and they had that Coke Cola promotion.

Originally posted by GoEagles
Friday Night Football returns to WA!

I remember the last time we had it over here, Dipper was the boundary rider and they had that Coke Cola promotion.

I don't really like us playing night games, we seem to under-perform in them (perhaps due to the lack of them that we actually play in).

We seem to be lacking agression and that extra bounce/zest on game night compared to when we play in the afternoon (barring the carlton game as anyone seems to be able to thump them).

So I seriously hope we don't drop our guard again and drop the game against Hawthorn, that would be bad news for all of us.

Originally posted by RzrBlade
I don't really like us playing night games, we seem to under-perform in them (perhaps due to the lack of them that we actually play in).

At home we've only played two night games this year - and we won them by 52 points (Richmond) and 116 points. Last week I don't think it would have mattered if the game had been played in the wee hours of the morning, we'd still have been thumped.

Remembering that Richmond at least were in form when we met them (that set them on their slide), I think our night form is no less than our day form.

Originally posted by Mr Q
At home we've only played two night games this year - and we won them by 52 points (Richmond) and 116 points. Last week I don't think it would have mattered if the game had been played in the wee hours of the morning, we'd still have been thumped.

Remembering that Richmond at least were in form when we met them (that set them on their slide), I think our night form is no less than our day form.

The stats for this season may suggest that we perform quite reasonably in night games, but I am also trying to look at a broader spectrum - say over the past five years or so.

It just seems IMO we aren't as geed up for night games and are a bit slack with our eye-to-eye coordination disposal wise. I can remember so many times going to night games at the G' (usually on Monday Nights for some strange reason) and getting thumped by Richmond by 50+ points in lacklustre performances. The only two night games I have rejoiced about was our Round 1 match against the Roos in 2000 which was fantastic, and also the 1999 Qualifying Final against the Doggies which we won by 5/6 points with a scoreline around the lines of 65-59 or something similiar to that.

I realise my examples have been away games, but I also feel we are a higher-percentage chance of winning a game at Subi during say a Sunday arvo game compared to a Friday/Saturday night game.

What I am trying to say I guess is that I would be more at ease if this weekends fixture was a day game. In saying that, we should still win or we don't deserve the top 2 spot we are chasing. Go Eagles!

Hawks will give the eagles some trouble.

1. We know Daniel Chick's strengths and weaknesses
2. We have the running players to combat the onslaught of Judd, Cousins and Sampi.

Hawthorn will win by 15 Points