Dwayo

Was in Melbourne and went to the Freo v Carlton game. Could not have been more impressed with the boys and as I have been saying, we will make the finals. And then teams had better watch out.

CC has built a good team, lots of flexibility, speed, right combination of talls and smalls and very tough at the stoppages.

Pav - the best of the best. I believe he is probably best player in AFL at the moment. CC has developed him nicely. With McPharlin the best forward combination in AFL.
JLo and Sandi - starting to fire and complementing each other. IMO the best ruck combination in AFL. Thrashed Carlton.
The midfield - Peake and Cowley great additions with pace and skill. Getting up there to match the Eagles midfield. Won the ball from the stoppages at speed.
The backline - great leg speed with many players running through the lines. Carlton did not know what hit them. Mundy is a real beauty and Parker, what can I say about this great competitor.

Melbourne are the next on the list for a belting and the Freo/CC knockers must be getting really worried.

Dwayo said:
Was in Melbourne and went to the Freo v Carlton game. Could not have been more impressed with the boys and as I have been saying, we will make the finals. And then teams had better watch out.

CC has built a good team, lots of flexibility, speed, right combination of talls and smalls and very tough at the stoppages.

Pav - the best of the best. I believe he is probably best player in AFL at the moment. CC has developed him nicely. With McPharlin the best forward combination in AFL.
JLo and Sandi - starting to fire and complementing each other. IMO the best ruck combination in AFL. Thrashed Carlton.
The midfield - Peake and Cowley great additions with pace and skill. Getting up there to match the Eagles midfield. Won the ball from the stoppages at speed.
The backline - great leg speed with many players running through the lines. Carlton did not know what hit them. Mundy is a real beauty and Parker, what can I say about this great competitor.

Melbourne are the next on the list for a belting and the Freo/CC knockers must be getting really worried.

I managed to get to Vic for the game vs the Demons earlier this year and that was a cracker but I reckon seeing Pav kick 9 would be more enjoyable. Pity bout the last quarter though, I really wanted Pav to get 11 and beat Mod's record of 10.

How were the Blues fans?? Cop any crap or were they well humbled after the first quarter?

Dwayo said:

Love your optimism Dwayo but your comments about stoppages, the ruck and our midfield are a bit over the top. Remember we were playing caaaaarlton, who have lost their last 10 games and we conceded 17 goals.

I dont want to come across as a troll cause i am not one but i just think that freo dont want to get ahead of themselves as its only been two good wins in a row maybe after a couple more i will agree but not yet, agreed on pavlich he is a champion and your kpp stocks are fantastic, but not so on your midfield or your comment on the best ruck combination in the league, sandilands and longmuir are from the most damaging ruckmen in the competition you have to remember the ruckmen that they were competing against not exactly world beaters! and the midfield still needs a lot of improvement before being compared to the likes of westcoast and brisbane just my opinion..!

stylor said:
I managed to get to Vic for the game vs the Demons earlier this year and that was a cracker but I reckon seeing Pav kick 9 would be more enjoyable. Pity bout the last quarter though, I really wanted Pav to get 11 and beat Mod's record of 10.

I had my trip to Melbourne for the Dee's game as well this year, and reckon that would have to have been the pick of the year. Walking to the MCG that day we really didn't think we would win, whereas I would have been fairly confident if going to the Carlton one yesterday.

Eagles_09 said:
I dont want to come across as a troll cause i am not one but i just think that freo dont want to get ahead of themselves as its only been two good wins in a row maybe after a couple more i will agree but not yet, agreed on pavlich he is a champion and your kpp stocks are fantastic, but not so on your midfield or your comment on the best ruck combination in the league, sandilands and longmuir are from the most damaging ruckmen in the competition you have to remember the ruckmen that they were competing against not exactly world beaters! and the midfield still needs a lot of improvement before being compared to the likes of westcoast and brisbane just my opinion..!

Agreed. We don't want to be getting ahead of ourselves. The next 3 weeks will prove whether or not we deserve to get back into finals contention and whether or not we're good enough to go the extra distance to make finals

I was at the game yesterday too, and I enjoyed most of Freo's performance, but I think it is waaaay too soon to be getting excited about our form. We've won two games against teams that are well and truly ensconced in the bottom half of the ladder.

The stats I heard on the radio said the centre clearances ended up being about even. And this was against trhe 16th placed team, who were playing without their first two choices of ruckmen, so I find it hard to be convinced that the ruck combinations and midfield are working as well as they could. The young fellas played well, and that side of things was exciting, but young players being young players, we can't count on them doing it week in and week out just yet.

And I was disappointed yesterday that we never really shut Carlton out of the game. Even when they had two-thirds of their forward line playing in defense, Carlton still found plenty of ways to score.

If we win the next couple, I might be prepared to loosen my grip, but unless and until we win the derby in a month's time, I'm going to be keeping a lid firmly on it.

Eagles_09 said:
i agree. Our midfield is one of the worst in the competition. With hadrill out, we could really do with a good full back.
When pavlich plays close to goal, i would like to to see mcpharlin go back to CHB

Kapow!!! said:
If we win our next 2, then I'll say we're rolling. Until then we're only realistically an outside chance
Thats right. They've gotten our hopes up a few times before this season and then look what happened.

Dwayo said:

You will not make the finals so get used to it.

West Coast and Port Adelaide will beat you and you will be hard pressed to beat St Kilda

ExpectToWin said:
You will not make the finals so get used to it.

West Coast and Port Adelaide will beat you and you will be hard pressed to beat St Kilda
Port won't beat us, but the Weagles and St Kilda will.

Dwayo said:

Now Freo is going well, but you have only won two in a row, against the Bulldogs and Carlton. Don’t come at me with something like ‘oh but we’ll thrash you you’ve lost four in a row’ because it wouldn’t surprise me but some things like:
Best forward combination?
Pavlich is a star and McPharlin will be very good but aside from Pav none of them with maybe the exception of the Wiz who I assume won’t be playing this week are very consistent or known to stand up under pressure (The story of Melbourne :( ).
Best ruck combination?
Sandilands will keep developing and become very good and Longmuir is already good but there are several team’s rucks that I would rather.

Good luck (Except this week) and I think you have a very good list, but this post is getting a bit above yourself.

pav_is_god said:
Port won't beat us, but the Weagles and St Kilda will.

There is no reason we can’t win any or all of these games. In the early rounds we beat Port and had very narrow loses to WC and the Saints. However those games are so far away it may not matter. We have to get over Melbourne this week to keep the dream alive.

Apart from a minority, dockers fans recognised that our season was stuffed when we ended up at 6 wins 9 losses a few rounds back. Some of our home losses really left me more than a bit disppointed.

Unless something significant happens over the next few rounds I have pretty much accepted that the team is not finals worthy in 2005.

Slacker said:
Apart from a minority, dockers fans recognised that our season was stuffed when we ended up at 6 wins 9 losses a few rounds back. Some of our home losses really left me more than a bit disppointed.

Unless something significant happens over the next few rounds I have pretty much accepted that the team is not finals worthy in 2005.

And that is what is wrong with us. No faith! Pies , Port , Brisbane, hell even E-girls fans would expect their teams to make it from here but most freo fans just want to throw the towell in and sit back and sook.

WE ARE STILL IN IT!

RIPPER_46 said:
And that is what is wrong with us. No faith! Pies , Port , Brisbane, hell even E-girls fans would expect their teams to make it from here but most freo fans just want to throw the towell in and sit back and sook.

WE ARE STILL IN IT!

We ARE...but realism tells us that we need to win the next 2 games before we can think about getting excited about being back in the hunt

RIPPER_46 said:

WE ARE STILL IN IT!

Yes we are still have a slight chance of making the finals, key word being slight.

No I am not sooking, just accurately viewing how the team has performed so far. I finished sooking sometime around the roos game.

We just need to win 5 out of the next 6 which we will do
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
right after I bump my arse on the moon.

We are only NOT in it when / if we lose 2 games between now (Round 17) and Round 22. So far we are on zero losses in games from Rd 17 - Rd 22, meaning we have 2 up our collective sleeve....

Only when / if we lose 2 games between now and then can we declare we are finished for 2005.

When / if that happens is still anybody's guess, but I expect the fellas to have a red hot crack between now and the end of the season - whenever that may be.

BB gun said:
i agree. Our midfield is one of the worst in the competition. With hadrill out, we could really do with a good full back.
When pavlich plays close to goal, i would like to to see mcpharlin go back to CHB
I wouldn't say that we have one of the worst midfields in the league. Its hasn't been very balanced.

Crowley as a tagger and Peakes pace balance our midfield out more(don't forget we've got M Carr and Walker out as well).

RIPPER_46 said:
No, in the situation you lot were in a couple of weeks back, almost every team's supporters would give up. Certainly it was all doom and gloom at the Eagles after round 13 last year when we were 5-8, but after a couple of scrappy wins to get back to 7-8 a bit of confidence started to return. The mixture of confidence from some and despondence from others is quite understandable at this point.

You're not out of it yet, but you'll need luck, luck and more luck as well as play the footy you're capable of every week, not just occasionally. It would help to have a team in the eight faltering as well (like you lot did for us last year). I'd suggest Melbourne are doing their best to make a slot available for someone else, making this week's game critical to your chances.