We don't booooo enough !

Mar 25, 2008
Victoria's Secret HQ
One thing that I reckon our supporters need to do more of is boo the really bad decisions. Reason being that if you go to Adelaide or WC or you play Collingwood or Essendon and a decision goes against them that they don't like, they bring the house down and let the umpires know and psychologically despite what the umpires will tell you, it has an effect on them that could in the end be the difference between winnng and losing from one free kick. So next time we get a bad one and you're at the game, I want to hear BBBBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO...it's the supporter equivalent to a one percenter !!!

I actually agree with this. I'm not into booing the opposition, but, you have to do it with the umpiring- if you get the crowd momentum going it really changes the atmosphere at the game.

Another one percenter opportunity for fans is to yell 'play on' a bit earlier than the umpy calls it. Especially with kick-ins. If a whole section of the crowd gets going - it can really put pressure on an individual IMHO.

this is not a silly post.....for years i have seen games decided over here in Adelaide by port or crows fans putting pressure on the umpires.....you don't get the first couple but eventually maybe you get a cheap one.

hostile home crowds anywhere in any sport always provide some sort of edge....& it is possible to be loud without being a total bogan!

I was ready to say how much I disagree, because I thought it was going to be about opposition players we don't like.

But in regards to the umpiring, I agree booing does help. Knowing that the crowd is against you suggests that maybe you did make the wrong decision, and would push them (slightly) into a different decision next time. I think we do an alright job of it though :)

It's hard to distinguish between BOOOOOOOOOOOOO and COOOOOOOOONS.

So true, last year at Melbourne game I was sitting in front of a couple of Melbourne supporters who look like they don't see much footy and at half time they tapped me on the shoulder and asked why the "fair haired player" was getting booed so much!

Good post. I also think we don't yell "chewy on your boot" enough. There were several occasions on Friday night when a Geelong player was kicking for goal, and if they had've looked down at their boot at the last minute to check for chewy they probably would've missed.

So true, last year at Melbourne game I was sitting in front of a couple of Melbourne supporters who look like they don't see much footy and at half time they tapped me on the shoulder and asked why the "fair haired player" was getting booed so much!

Poor souls, obviously their Range Rover was in the shop and they couldn't make it up to Mt Buller.

Our cheer squad is pathetic. i feel sorry for the few people in there who try to get the rest going cos most of them just sit there the whole time. I sit on the top level behind the cheer squad usually and its useless.

I agree with the cheersquad thing. We need some real screamers and cheerers in there because ours is too quiet. We need one more like Carlton's, I remember going to the Geelong vs Carlton NAB Cup match and if you recall seeing the game, Gary Ablett took a mark inside 50 and instead of taking a shot, he played on and tried to kick a ripping goal but he was easily tackled by Aaron Joseph and it was holding the ball. After that happened, the Carlton Cheersquad were chanting "GARY'S A w***er"

In regards to the umpire's descision making, I play my role in the game veeery well.

We don't cheer/chant enough .
Especially in the first 2 quarters - seems we take ages to warm up, & then we only cheer if we're ahead.
this statement is too true.

lets start some better chants than "bulldogs *clap clap clap*"

like... sing the song? haha :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I think our cheer squad is okay! Though it's true we're only loud while winning, but aren't all teams' supporters like that? ref: Adelaide supporters in Adelaide - "Get infront to shut them up" kinda thing?

And I'm not sure that booing will sway the umpires, I think they're just generally dumb and bias :p

We don't booooo enough !