ThePeckers

Suspended
May 20, 2007
On Australian Idol South Australia copped it again. We really need to round up all the bogans and put them in a place where no one can see them....

We really are becoming the butt of all jokes, its gotta change.

• Banned
yes yes I know they probably edited it very heavily.

But it does concern me, because whenever I travell interstate I get a reaction everytime I say I am from South Australia. When in reality South Australia in my eyes is one of the best places in Australia. Whenever a show like Aussie Idol does that its just another drop in the respect levels for South Australia.

haha Prime example was when I went to Thailand I got asked where I was from (Wearing my crows jumper ofcourse) "you from Sydney....Melbourne...Brisbane...Perth...Darwin?"

I reply "Adelaide"

"Ohhhh addddddewade" Then does the smoking the hooch hand sign. Made me laugh, then cry.

Dude, it really doesn't matter what other people think of this state in the grand scheme of things ...

Simple fact is we need bogans, they buy and produce Holdens, make army warfare boats and mine precious minerals which are the things keeping this state afloat for the moment!

• Banned
I dont usually watch Australian Idol, but it was in SA so I thought I'd give it a go.

Does it not worry anyone that we are the butt of all jokes?

Yet we wonder why no one is coming to our state. SA & Tassie would be the two most payed out states and we are the two states which struggle to attract new people.

Nice to see Coober Pedy is the only place in SA to be named on the 30 things you must see before you die.

Margret River Wine Region got in there and not the Barossa! WAHHHH:confused:

Nice to see Coober Pedy is the only place in SA to be named on the 30 things you must see before you die.
phew, thats 1 crossed off the list then....

1. Who cares wehat idol crowds think. The average Idol fan less less IQ than a doorknob.

2. Coober Pedy is a hole. Worst Hyped town there is. You take 20 mins to take a mine tour, and then 10 minutes to have a look at the underground church and then you have seen all of coober pedy.

i disagree with you, there isn't a lot to see within coober pedy itself, but the landscape outside the town is some of the best you'll see

theres a place called the breakaways that's on the road to oodnadata, that at sunset is really breathtaking!

1. Who cares wehat idol crowds think. The average Idol fan less less IQ than a doorknob.

helps if you know a local to know what to do and see (my brother and sister in law live there) :)

Jimmy Barnes > Australian Idol

Adelaide is a great place to live, bad place to visit. Its full of dumb, boring, suburban types. Who cares? I still love it.

2. Coober Pedy is a hole.
Didn't they blow up the cop shop there once ?? :eek:

FWIW , if someone up here bags me out about Adelaide , i just say " Ain't no ****en MARDI GRAS down there , mate !" :D

Well , i don't.......but i will :D:thumbsu:

On Australian Idol South Australia copped it again. We really need to round up all the bogans and put them in a place where no one can see them....

We really are becoming the butt of all jokes, its gotta change.

Yes, I think it was selective editing because Brisbane only had 3 people they chose for the top 10 while Adelaide had 11.

Didn't they blow up the cop shop there once ?? :eek:

FWIW , if someone up here bags me out about Adelaide , i just say " Ain't no ****en MARDI GRAS down there , mate !" :D

Well , i don't.......but i will :D:thumbsu:

The only real negative things I have heard about Adelaide is the city's inability to enbrace change, we couldnt even put up 1/2 a kilometre of tram line without it turning into a massive sook fest.

How's that going by the way? When I left it was about at the Cas, and almost down to SA West.

all the trackwork is done now, they are basically just building the stops and it'll be ready :thumbsu:

I am all for the tram. I think they are great. I want them to go all the way along North Terrace connect to East Terrace. Would be a great way of getting all the revellers around at night :thumbsu:

1. People still watch Idol - they should change it to Idle.

2. The tram extension is typical South Australia - people cry out for it for years, then when they do they complain about it. The Marjorie Jackson-Nelson hospital is another example - people want to keep a dilapidated old hospital that is an eyesore and a maze to say the least (level 3 = ground floor for example)

I'll bet my next paycheque that when they start redeveloping Vic Square, or someone comes out with another bold vision for Adelaide (eg if they build a new Telstra Dome-style stadium in the CBD) people will whinge and complain about it.

Adelaide should be known as 'The Whingeing State'

My god I hope they do something to Vic Square. I would like to see a tower like that of the rusty nail in Sydney. with Tunnels going underneath it . Have the bottom floor of the tower filled with bars and restraunts (make it a bit like federation square). Then make it the gathering place for the ashes/olympics/world cup/FOOTY?

I would love that :thumbsu:

We got burnt