We need Grant Thomas back

One more point, the only thing that stopped GT winning a flag for us was injuries. In 2005 we had 7 players missing in the Prelim and Sydney had made just 1 forced change in the last 10 weeks of that season. Repeat, Sydney had made just 1 forced change in the last 10 weeks of that season. That is a footbal miracle!!!!!!

If only Barry Hall had knocked out a player and punched the fence the week before :D

Whats with the fighting? We all follow the same team, we need to stick togeather and respect each others point of view.

Silly thread. Since when do coaches get hired when they were previously sacked?

Especially those who have only just finished suing the club.

Silly thread. Since when do coaches get hired when they were previously sacked?
Ross Lyon will be dumped at the end of the 2009 season at the very latest. Then, when Grant Thomas is re-instated as our Head Coach, it will be one of the finest days in our clubs history. The players will once again play with the pride and the passion they displayed between 2003 - 2006.

I can't work out if you're actually delusional enough to think that will happen or you're just trying to take the piss.

GT back??

Why?

Remember that under his leadership Everitt (traded for picks that were then blown) was exited out and Judd was passed over. Put Everitt into the team we had, plus Judd and there would most likely have been extra silverware in the cupboard!!!

GT is ther coach that did not develop players and who basically ignored the rookie system. Relationship with Casey was dismal. Players outside the 22 were left to rot. If you were gifted you played senior footy. If you needed development you just treaded water till you got delisted.

The so called great player manager overpaid players so that we were at 99.99% of the salary cap with the result that we were forced to play 1 or 2 players short in the senior list with no money left for extra rookies either.

GT pioneered long term contacts with such contracts to two players (Hamill and Penny) who then promptly got injured.

GT was gifted a great list by Waldron thanks to the core of the 97 GF team still being there (Harvey, Hall, Thommo, Frankie, Jones, Hall, Max etc) plus players attracted by Blight (Gehrig, Hamill, Voss etc) plus by finishing low in an era of priority picks being handed out =two priority picks. Goddard also gaind due to Carlton being penalised. Add to this finishing low giving the team many early picks.

This combined gifted GT the best pool of talent I have seen in my 4 decades of following the club.

Once Waldron left and GT was left in charge of everyhing all that occurred was a dismal series of trades and draft picks and virtually no player development.

Take McGough. Delisted by the Pies as they saw the way football was going and that a player as slow as him with such poor skills was useless. Whereas GT snapped him up.

Then leadership. The GT myth was that GT rotaing Captains etc was breeding a team full of leaders. The actuality was that he devaluded the captaincy making it a lottery and wortlhess. Instead of a team full of leaders you have now the opposite. Rumour has it that Kosi has cracked the sads because he did not get his turn as captain.

Without the onfield leadership of Hamill the cupboard is very bare. Hayes a pre-GT man one of the few stand-outs.

The GT crop of young players are more prima-donnas than leaders.

The reality of GT stewardship is that he was given a group of players only rivalled by the 60's era when some smart Saints raided Tassie and despite having such an awesome list could not even get into a Grand Final.
Alves did much better with an inferior list.

The reality is that with Waldron having left and with GT seizing control of everything that the St Kilda list was driven into the ground by poor picks, dismal trades and non existant development of young players and rookies.

Most players take several years to be turned into good footballers.

The current team is a the actuallity of GT's gross mismangement of the list.

Whether Lyon is good enough to turn it around or not we will have to wait and see.

But bring back GT??? Nonsense. Withough Blight as bait we do not have stars such Gehring and Hamill clambering to join the Saints. GT would not get the easy ride this time around.

The list and team is going to have to be re-invogorated by hard work in development and through good draft selection. GT has already shown that he was DISMAL in this regard.

GT back??

Why?

Remember that under his leadership Everitt (traded for picks that were then blown) was exited out and Judd was passed over. Put Everitt into the team we had, plus Judd and there would most likely have been extra silverware in the cupboard!!!

GT is ther coach that did not develop players and who basically ignored the rookie system. Relationship with Casey was dismal. Players outside the 22 were left to rot. If you were gifted you played senior footy. If you needed development you just treaded water till you got delisted.

The so called great player manager overpaid players so that we were at 99.99% of the salary cap with the result that we were forced to play 1 or 2 players short in the senior list with no money left for extra rookies either.

GT pioneered long term contacts with such contracts to two players (Hamill and Penny) who then promptly got injured.

GT was gifted a great list by Waldron thanks to the core of the 97 GF team still being there (Harvey, Hall, Thommo, Frankie, Jones, Hall, Max etc) plus players attracted by Blight (Gehrig, Hamill, Voss etc) plus by finishing low in an era of priority picks being handed out =two priority picks. Goddard also gaind due to Carlton being penalised. Add to this finishing low giving the team many early picks.

This combined gifted GT the best pool of talent I have seen in my 4 decades of following the club.

Once Waldron left and GT was left in charge of everyhing all that occurred was a dismal series of trades and draft picks and virtually no player development.

Take McGough. Delisted by the Pies as they saw the way football was going and that a player as slow as him with such poor skills was useless. Whereas GT snapped him up.

Then leadership. The GT myth was that GT rotaing Captains etc was breeding a team full of leaders. The actuality was that he devaluded the captaincy making it a lottery and wortlhess. Instead of a team full of leaders you have now the opposite. Rumour has it that Kosi has cracked the sads because he did not get his turn as captain.

Without the onfield leadership of Hamill the cupboard is very bare. Hayes a pre-GT man one of the few stand-outs.

The GT crop of young players are more prima-donnas than leaders.

The reality of GT stewardship is that he was given a group of players only rivalled by the 60's era when some smart Saints raided Tassie and despite having such an awesome list could not even get into a Grand Final.
Alves did much better with an inferior list.

The reality is that with Waldron having left and with GT seizing control of everything that the St Kilda list was driven into the ground by poor picks, dismal trades and non existant development of young players and rookies.

Most players take several years to be turned into good footballers.

The current team is a the actuallity of GT's gross mismangement of the list.

Whether Lyon is good enough to turn it around or not we will have to wait and see.

But bring back GT??? Nonsense. Withough Blight as bait we do not have stars such Gehring and Hamill clambering to join the Saints. GT would not get the easy ride this time around.

The list and team is going to have to be re-invogorated by hard work in development and through good draft selection. GT has already shown that he was DISMAL in this regard.
The above post has to go down in History as the most ill-informed ever. Stfan, you clearly have no idea what you are talking about. Absolutely delusional but hey, this is just a Fan Forum right?

Actually...it's spot-on-the-money mostly!:thumbsu:

And the irony continues

GT back??

Bit harsh to say long term contracts and injuries have anything to do with each other!! Though your other points have credit - even though I was a bit of a GT man, but don't want him back - he has had his shot.

But in a conversation of could haves and maybes....I would like to see the stats of winning percentage with Penny and Hamill in the team at the same time. I reckon they have been the difference between us and silverware!

Bit harsh to say long term contracts and injuries have anything to do with each other

No one is not causal of the other.

It is a matter of risk. Long term contracts needlessly expose you to increased risk...of the player not being able to play whether through injury or loss of form.

There is also some irony here too as the one 5 year deal he knocked back was to Simmonds who is still playing.

Which somes up GT perfectly. He routinely kept backing the wrong horse.

That is probably the most rediculous statement i have ever read.:thumbsd:

The irony to this thread is when GT was coach everyone wanted him or certainly the vast majority and now that hes gone it's "yeah he was always crap" or along those lines.

When i started this thread i never commended his tactical coaching come match day nor his drafting skills. I was trying to make a point that the players wanted to play under him, played motivated and had some passion.

For the record, i believe Lyon did the right thing Friday night playing the kids and dropping 2 players with serious doubts about there defensive side to there game. Shows hes willing to make the tough decisions and potentially ruin himself for the good of the club moving forward.

Ross Lyon might grow on me yet.

You sound like a Religious Cult Leader!
"...and the great Grant Thomas will rise up from the ashes...."

lol

When i started this thread i never commended his tactical coaching come match day nor his drafting skills. I was trying to make a point that the players wanted to play under him, played motivated and had some passion.

I'm really tired of this being repeated everywhere. What was wrong with his match day work or his tactics. I've heard a lot of coaches say that come match day there is pretty much nothing that can be done. 95% of it is up to the players.
Just because he didn't like throw the team around like Sheedy everyone thought he was limited in his tactical knowledge.

Thomas was different, an innovator, he didn't care if people liked what he did. He had an unnerving belief in himself and that was passed onto the players.

Who was the first team to genuinely build from the ground up, who instituted the rotating captaincy, who refused to flood in a time where ugly football was rampant, who introduced KPI's into the football vernacular.

I liked Grant a lot, but he's gone and never coming back. Time to let Ross have his time.

Who was the first team to genuinely build from the ground up,

Lets see how about the Saints in the 60's when we raided Tassie for their best players?? .

Or what about the fantastic job that North did in taking advantage of the 10 year rule = Wade, Davis, Rantall etc

Now if you mean the saints more recently GT was gifteda great list as coach ready to bloom.

It still had it's stars from the 97 F. had added to it players like Gehrig, Hamill, Voss etc and thanks to Watsons coaching some early draft picks and priority picks.

All these players has very little to do with GT as coach as they arrived before GT was coach.

GT the coach brought us Ackland, Knoble, Watts, Brooks, Rix, McGough.....

who instituted the rotating captaincy, .

And this resulted in what? We are bereft of new leaders and lack leadership.

Rotating the Captaincy may have been trendy but it was ineffective and actually achieved the opposite of what it was meant to have.

who refused to flood in a time where ugly football was rampant,.

Except post Bonnie Doon he did and we started winning.