batfink

Option 1) Footscray beat Adel, we beat Essendon we play Adel at Telstra week one of finals
Option 2) Adel beat Foots, we beat Essendon we play Adel in ADELAIDE week one of finals
Option 3) Adel beat Foots, we LOSE to Ess we play Collingwood in week one of finals at MCG. This would also mean everything going perfect we would not play Geelong till the GF and probably play all other finals in Melbourne.

My preference would be option 1 followed by option 2.
And yes i know it would not be good to lose to Ess but if sides can tank to finish last we could do the same to finish 8th and set up all home finals. And yes i also know Coll have beaten us twice this year.

The aim of finals is to win. Not to go as far as possible.

To win we must be able to defeat all teams includiding an on fire Collingwood, and on fire Bulldogs, and an on fire Cats.
It is finals, they aren't going to lie down and die.

Therefore the only advantage is if we can avoid playing interstate.

Sydney and Adelaide have percentage so close that if Sydney win and Adelaide don't, Sydney will jump above Adelaide in the ladder, meaning that we could be playing Sydney first up.
If we beat Sydney ( or Crows) we then play the loser of Hawks/Bulldogs.
Percentage has nothing to do with it unless Sydney draws and adelaide loses as sydney has had a draw and are 2 points behind adelaide, not 4.

The other option that wasnt there was

Freo beats Collingwood, Port beats North, Bullies beat Adel and we beat Essendon, that makes us 4th, and a chance of a prelim straight off the bat...and if we lose to geelong, we still have the 2nd chance

Percentage has nothing to do with it unless Sydney draws and adelaide loses as sydney has had a draw and are 2 points behind adelaide, not 4.

The other option that wasnt there was

Freo beats Collingwood, Port beats North, Bullies beat Adel and we beat Essendon, that makes us 4th, and a chance of a prelim straight off the bat...and if we lose to geelong, we still have the 2nd chance

Thanks SaintsMan, I didn't notice the 2 pointer, in fact the ladder predicter I was playing with is faulty.
I suggest if you think the other option can actually happen you visit the TAB and put some money on it, pretty good payout I reckon :D

id prefer the option of we flogg essendon... port beat roos adelaide run into another brick wall in the bulldogs and collingwood lose in a massive upset at subi to freo

id love to have first crack at geelong... whats the worst that can happen? we lose to the benchmark team and know where we are at and what we have to do if we make it to grand final day against them

Option 1) Footscray beat Adel, we beat Essendon we play Adel at Telstra week one of finals
Option 2) Adel beat Foots, we beat Essendon we play Adel in ADELAIDE week one of finals
Option 3) Adel beat Foots, we LOSE to Ess we play Collingwood in week one of finals at MCG. This would also mean everything going perfect we would not play Geelong till the GF and probably play all other finals in Melbourne.

My preference would be option 1 followed by option 2.
And yes i know it would not be good to lose to Ess but if sides can tank to finish last we could do the same to finish 8th and set up all home finals. And yes i also know Coll have beaten us twice this year.

please please option 1

I do NOT want to go to Adelaide (as in me, not the saints )

Any chance we'd play Sydney in Sydney?

Sorry but what does the last 4 years have to do with now? Dogs are a very different team lol...Remember how we lost to them by about 6 goals both times we played them?

We just gotta worry about beating Essendon first.

One major advantage we're going to have going into the Dons game is that we are the last game of the round. That means we will pretty much know EXACTLY what we need to do to pull off what. We'll not only know that we have to win, but by how much to jump a spot or two here and there. If we have to win by, say, 80 points to jump a spot, it'll make it VERY interesting to see how Lyon and the boys approach the game.

Option 4) Results go our way and we finish 4th, face North at TD in the semi, Hawthorn at the G in the PF and then Geelong in the big one :thumbsu:

That sounds alright!
However in all seriousness I think a home ground advantage would be best for us so either the Crows or the Swans at the Dome. It would be interesting to see what night it would be on - either the saturday or the friday - with the way other results MAY go. I would guess the saturday?

Sorry but what does the last 4 years have to do with now? Dogs are a very different team lol...Remember how we lost to them by about 6 goals both times we played them?

We just gotta worry about beating Essendon first.
Yeah good point.
But IMO we have a superior finals line up against the Bulldogs. Although Aka would be a worry.

Option 5

We'll take whoever we get (who cares about the other team anyway ?).

We can beat anyone on our day.

We should all definatly be hoping Freo beat Collingwood, which is a distinct possibility at Subi. If that happens we most likley end up in 5th and then dont have to play geelong in a prelim. If Pies win we end up in 6th or 7th and then have to play geelong in a prelim. Which is not good for obvious reasons.

As long as we don't play Cats twice it makes no difference. There is no second prize for a grand final.

From my point of view it would be cheaper for me to play the crows here at aami but i would rather we play them at TD in front of our supporters. TD is awesome to watch footy and is soooo easy to get out of after the game unlike AAMI where it is disgusting.

So pretty much:

Considering we win, the following will occur.

1 of the team above us loses: We finish 6th. And play the team that loses at the G.
2 of the teams above us loses: We finish 5th, 8th at the G. Probly Sydney
3 of the teams above us lose: We finish 4th and play Geelong at the G. :O

So, obviously 6th is almost certain, 5th is a possibility, 4th is extremely unlikely.

I don't know. The great thing about the Adelaidians is that they have free buses to the ground. I just take one of those, and we do fine. I think we could win here at AAMI - we did in the NAB GF - although obviously, if I had the choice, I'd rather the team played at TD.

That sounds alright!
However in all seriousness I think a home ground advantage would be best for us so either the Crows or the Swans at the Dome. It would be interesting to see what night it would be on - either the saturday or the friday - with the way other results MAY go. I would guess the saturday?

If our game is played in Melbourne, it will be on the Sunday. No doubt about it.

Friday night will be Hawks V Dogs.

Saturday I reckon will be Pies V Swans.

Saturday night will be Cats V Roos.

Sunday will be Saints v Crows.

4 games in Melbourne mean one game will be at the Dome which will be ours.

We are the only final 8 team to play on Sunday in Rnd 22. If we play interstate I reckon our game could be a Saturday affair, but I'm hoping it won't happen.

As long as we don't play Cats twice it makes no difference. There is no second prize for a grand final.

Mate, if Freo beat Pies on Friday and we assume that WB will beat Crows. We end up in 5th, we get a definate home final which will be against struggling swans and we then dont have to worry about geelong till the GF. That is the best outcome doesnt matter how u look at it. Lets face it no one wants to face geelong before the GF. If your gonna bomb out against geelong youd rather it be in the GF not the prelim.

Best off the meet them there for sure. Hopefully somebody on the other side can knock them out and then it is on for young and old!