Weekly Laycock whinge

• Thread starter Thread starter toddy104

Well said.

And personally I find this disgraceful from all you player bashers. I was embarassed to be an Essendon supporter yesterday, sitting in the crowd whilst other "supporters" bag Laycock, Michael, Dyson and others no matter what they did. Such a bad reflection of our club, and the constant bagging that goes on is pointless and often unnecessary.

Admittedly, we will probably consider Laycock for trade at the end of the year, but he has shown considerable improvement of late. Maybe we should give him another year, at least we could try to draft some talls or give Bellchambers another year to develop. He really hasn't been bad in the past 5 or so weeks, and we don't have any other option at this stage. Give the kid a break.
Who on earth was bagging Michael and Dyson?

Laycock will stay on the list unless EFC trade for a ready made second ruckman.

Th reality is that there is only about 10 AFL standard rucks ( at this stage ) in the competition.

The rest of the rucks are B or C standard.

Laycock probably fits in between B and C.

Remember the Collingwood game when Hille dominated the other 3 ruckman, Laycock, Wood and Bryan.

This occurred because Hille is an A standard Ruck and the other 3 are B or C Graders.

14th minute mark of the final term - Laycock contests a ruck contest just outside the centre square closer to our forward 50 - Watson at his feet with 5 metres clear on either side of him - Laycock smacks the ball 20 metres behind himself causing us to gain possession at the rear of the centre square close to our back 50 - which we end up turning over regardless.

Laycock certainly wasn't a ruckman from my reserved seat yesterday.

hey ben, should we start a pool on when you will have to change yr sig? cause it will either disappear or (hopefully) have to change to laycock is a gun... unfortunately it seems the captain and coach do not share yr optimism.. :) although you don't actually state which team laycock will be a gun for... :)

Will change my approach to this topic

I have to say to any poster

-who supports the EFC sending David Hille into 2009 with Bellchambers and some ruck draftee, whatever their draft status, is irresponsible.
-who supports the EFC sending David Hille into 2009 with Bellchambers and some ruck discard or traded stock is gambling with
  • David hille
  • the club
  • and the idea that constructive criticism is better than flagrant, repetitious critical posts which offer nothing
and hence is irresponsible also

Moving forward, ruck stocks need drafting, and trading might offer something too. But all these footy experts slamming Laycock offer Hille nothing in 2009.

THe irony is that Cartledge has been elevated from the tigers rookie list to support simmonds. And Simmonds like Hille has had an excellant year in middling sides. Read support.

Now I am not saying that we should have kept cartledge but I am saying that Laycock still has more to offer than the obvious reserve stock that cartledge is for the tigers. Clubs do do this you know.

But it will never suit the monday knockers

I am more than happy for you guys to blather on in this sandpit when we have options to persue, depth in the list and talent knocking the VFL over.

Just now we dont. And this postional talent doesnt grow on trees, and rarely well traded for. You have too draft and mature it. Laycock stays:thumbsu:

agree with aintplayin03. well said.

laycock put in a better game than 75% of the other essendon players out there on saturday.

michael, johns, JJ and lee will go before laycock (and should too). rama (sad to say) should go before laycock.

chook is one of the better backup ruckman in the league even in his current form and has only really had one year of uninterrupted pre-season.

give him another good pre-season, put him on notice about giving 100%. stop bagging him unnecessarily. he is obviously very much down on confidence and essendon supporters jeering him would not help.

with confidence, effort (which has been better in the last couple of weeks) and plenty of training into holding his ground he will be a very handy player.

should he not do that then we can at least afford to have him on our list for another year while bellchambers matures.

The concern i have with him is for a big bloke he has no physical presance. He doesnt hurt anyone or break open packs or knock blokes over.
He runs around like a big marsh mellow .

Actually thought he wasnt that bad today, considering he was having back soreness and blurred vision. Would have been benched if we had any players to bring on.

When we have best players as Dyson, Nash, Hille, Watson and get smashed in the middle he is not the only concern.

The concern i have with him is for a big bloke he has no physical presance. He doesnt hurt anyone or break open packs or knock blokes over.
He runs around like a big marsh mellow .

Hence why I really hope he spends a huge amount of time in the gym and someone niggles him for every second while he is at training. Then we might get a bit of mongrel out of him.

That really is all he is lacking - a bit of mongrel and strength - the confidence will come if he gets them and then the knockers will have to shut up. Until he does though, he is going to keep his staus as whipping boy numero uno.

So we mercilessly bag the guy and that achieves what exactly?

I assume you were one of the ones who wanted to flick Monfries?

Why would you assume that? There a lot of people who bag NLM and McPhee also, I don't expect that they are all the same people bagging every player. Assumtion is dangerous P-L.

Will change my approach to this topic

I have to say to any poster

-who supports the EFC sending David Hille into 2009 with Bellchambers and some ruck draftee, whatever their draft status, is irresponsible.

-who supports the EFC sending David Hille into 2009 with Bellchambers and some ruck discard or traded stock is gambling with
  • David hille
  • the club
  • and the idea that constructive criticism is better than flagrant, repetitious critical posts which offer nothing
and hence is irresponsible also

Moving forward, ruck stocks need drafting, and trading might offer something too. But all these footy experts slamming Laycock offer Hille nothing in 2009.

THe irony is that Cartledge has been elevated from the tigers rookie list to support simmonds. And Simmonds like Hille has had an excellant year in middling sides. Read support.

Now I am not saying that we should have kept cartledge but I am saying that Laycock still has more to offer than the obvious reserve stock that cartledge is for the tigers. Clubs do do this you know.

But it will never suit the monday knockers

I am more than happy for you guys to blather on in this sandpit when we have options to persue, depth in the list and talent knocking the VFL over.

Just now we dont. And this postional talent doesnt grow on trees, and rarely well traded for. You have too draft and mature it. Laycock stays:thumbsu:

Agreed. I have never been a big fan of the Big Lazy, his efforts really worry me. His best is quite good but his worst makes Chris Bryan look like Dean Cox. But I will say if we de-list Lazy and Hille gets injury next year, we are stuffed! Means we would have to pull Paddy from a already weak backline and play him mainly in the ruck with Big Belly supporting him:eek: That would be diabolical on many fronts, you would kiss the Finals in 09 goodbye. We have to do three things, persist with the Big Lazy and draft another ruckman and another tall defender this year, they are our two biggest problems.

hey ben, should we start a pool on when you will have to change yr sig? cause it will either disappear or (hopefully) have to change to laycock is a gun... unfortunately it seems the captain and coach do not share yr optimism.. :) although you don't actually state which team laycock will be a gun for... :)

It stays until people start giving him credit where it's due, or I find a new crusade.;)

Phat Toni

You are a person with great wisdom.

The only way we could allow Laycock to go is to trade for a ready made second ruckman.

A READY MADE RUCKMAN = a player who has been in the system for 4 or 5 years.

Was it my imagination or did Laycock take 9 marks on the weekend ? Not a bad output from the supposedly worst performed player in a team that got thrashed.

How did all the other second string ruckman perform on the weekend for their respective teams ?

This is my argument Daytripper.

The facts are that IMO, Laycock has not progressed this year as much as I hoped, but comparitively he is an average to slightly above average second ruckman.

Geez I hope Laycock doesn't read BigFooty

Whether or not he deserves to be in the side, old lazy boy would be pretty distraught if he read through all the stuff on these boards. And that's not a criticism against the posters at all - I'm just saying that if I was in his shoes, I would steer well clear of the "Laycock" topics, for fear of having whatever is left of his confidence smashed into tiny littles pieces.

So Jason, if you read this, know that although I think you are a bit of a muppet, you still have my sympathy vote. It's almost unfair that you aren't dropped, because then at least you could hide in the seconds for a while! Come on tiger, get in there and show us what you're made of!

Was it my imagination or did Laycock take 9 marks on the weekend ? Not a bad output from the supposedly worst performed player in a team that got thrashed.

How did all the other second string ruckman perform on the weekend for their respective teams ?

It's more his perceived lack of pressure, intensity and body contact around the contests that are the worry and are on show for everyone to see. He took 9 uncontested marks, big deal. When you see that footage of his pathetic chase inside 50, that angers me.
He bludge's off team mates and if you were his team mate you'd be asking yourself, why should I bust my balls for him?
Lloyd has had enough, Knights is trying to stay positive and god knows what his team mates are thinking of his efforts this year.

He's lucky he's at a club where the ruck department is pretty weak.

After having a full pre season and being one of the rare players to have stayed injury free, he has been a major disappointment after been given plenty of chances this year.

What club would Laycock get a game at?

www.footywire.com

Season 2008 Totals/Averages for Jason Laycock

G K HB D M G B T HO GA GC I50 FF FA DT * SC *
Total 16 75 61 136 45 14 9 23 154 3 17 16 14 11 802 869
Average 16 4.7 3.8 8.5 2.8 0.9 0.6 1.4 9.6 0.2 1.1 1.0 0.9 0.7 50.1 54.3

I know these stats don't look that impressive, but this is what you would expect a backup ruckman who is still relatively young and hasn't had enough opportunities to build himself up enough.

He averages nearly 1 goal a game. David Hille averages a little more than 1 goal a game. So we a pretty much garuanteed goals from our ruckman. I don't know if there are many other ruck duos which can boast 2 goals a game between them.