Cars & Transportation Weird Driving You Have Seen

• Thread starter Thread starter emuboy

I have a friend who drives really aggressively but the one habit I hate most is on expressways, etc he accelerates really close behind someone up ahead before quickly swinging into the next lane to overtake like he's getting into their slipstream and overtaking them on a race track. He's going ******* kill someone one day.

Yup I've had someone I reckon doing 150Km/H at least, in peak hour. ****en scared the shit outta me, was lucky I stayed in the same lane and not try get out of his way, could have been a collision.

Old people are the worst when it comes to weird driving. My grandpa was clearly not all with it after my grandma died and was on some meds for a bit of stuff, and would eventually be stopped from driving. Before that we were at an intersection once and he literally just stopped there while we had a green light. See so much stuff like that from elderly people.

It's almost as bad as idiots spaced out on drugs driving. You look into their cars and see them just oblivious to the world around them.

Not far from where I live there is a winding section of road followed by a massive straight. I was driving along this road with a mate one day, and when we hit the straight I decided to hit the accelerator and see what speed I could get the old piece of shit up to. Had it up to a little over 150 and you could tell the car wasn't appreciating it based on the noise it was making. Anyway, as we were hooning along a car was approaching us from behind - gaining on us quickly. When I first saw it I was sure it was a cop so I started to slow down a little, but it sped up behind us and then just calmly overtook us. We were doing around 140 at that point, so I would guess the other car had to be doing 165 plus given how quickly it caught and went past us. As the other car went past we looked across at the driver; a little old lady - had to be in her 70s at least - with her window down, smoking a dart, casual as ****. If my mate hadn't been there to witness it, I'd have sworn I dreamt it.

a little hate of mine is people who are turning right at an intersection and waiting for traffic to pass, but don't move into the intersection to turn! They just sit in the right turn lane and don't move until everything is gone. ffs you can wait in the intersection for traffic to pass!

I drive during peak hour every day, and whilst busy, it's actually not too bad. The majority of people know where they're going, what lane to be in, how to keep traffic moving etc. Most days you'll get a youngish female (yep, always female) refusing to let you in or punching up hard on a freeway. Usually shits up the traffic. But whilst you shake your head, you just know that they're never going to earn the same as a male for doing the same job as them, so you put up with it (sorry girls).

However, did the school run for a week with the kids earlier this term. **** me. Saw one mum pull up into the McDonalds drive-through exit to let her snot-rags out of the car. The tradies she was blocking in did not look impressed.

We used to travel isolated main highways at night when we were younger. We would often turn our lights off when there was no traffic or we were on flat land and could see other cars lights from a long distance. I often wonder if anyone ever saw this and what they thought of a car barreling down the highway at night doing 80 mile an hour without lights.

I drive during peak hour every day, and whilst busy, it's actually not too bad. The majority of people know where they're going, what lane to be in, how to keep traffic moving etc. Most days you'll get a youngish female (yep, always female) refusing to let you in or punching up hard on a freeway. Usually shits up the traffic. But whilst you shake your head, you just know that they're never going to earn the same as a male for doing the same job as them, so you put up with it (sorry girls).

However, did the school run for a week with the kids earlier this term. **** me. Saw one mum pull up into the McDonalds drive-through exit to let her snot-rags out of the car. The tradies she was blocking in did not look impressed.
School time traffic is the worst. All manner of sense goes out the window with those people.

I live in France so weird driving to me is actually seeing someone drive sensible, or normally.

For instance it's common for people to drive miles with an indicator on, but when they actually want to make a turn they turn it off.

It's common to see people turn right, from the left lane at a roundabout, and somebody else turn left from the right lane.... AT THE SAME ****ING TIME!

I've had to stop at a roundabout while two people are walking across the intersection and had a chat for 60 seconds.

People get a call on their phone? No problem just stop in the middle of the road and answer that call while the cars pile up behind them.

It's truly incredible how stupid and completely oblivious French drivers are. Actually it's not just driving, they're the same at the shops or on the footpath, it's like they have absolutely zero self awareness, or of what's going on around them. No wonder they were so shit at WWII.

I hope you drive near me so I can refuse to let you merge one day :mad:

Over the last few weeks I have noticed quite a few people not turning their headlights on when the sun has gone down (before the street lights are on). The other day I had someone get shitty at me for breaking suddenly when he was right behind me. I couldn't see the idiot because his dark grey car completely blended into the road and he had no lights on.

Also the amount of times I've nearly been hurt or killed in shopping centre car parks because of idiots speeding through the actual parks is ridiculous.

Working at a supermarket as school ends is bad enough. The shop gets filled with woeful parents and annoying as shit kids. It's funny watching the chaos unfold outside though. Been plenty of cars backed into, plenty of beeped horns and all that, all because mothers (mostly) think they can pull up anywhere and wait for their kid or let them out.

School time traffic is the worst. All manner of sense goes out the window with those people.

It's truly a battle ground.
I start at 8am, finish 4pm so I'm never in school traffic. :thumbsu:

For me it's the freeway on the way home. FFs, the amount of lane changes, undertaking and near misses I see in front of me- all over the place it's like dodgem cars. I'll only change lanes if some dick is doing 70-80 in front of me and the lane is clear ahead. Oh but for like 99% of drivers they gotta get where they're going like 1 minute sooner. :rolleyes:

Driving along a major road (two lanes going both directions, separated by large median strip of grass, 80km/k) in the norhern 'burbs of Melbourne on Wednesday and I had done a U-Turn so there was no traffic with me. A guy comes driving AT me coming the wrong way flashing his lights and beeping his horn as if I was going the wrong way, I swerved out into the right lane so as to be nowhere near him and then lost sight of him in my rear vision mirror around the bend.

I expected cop cars to come chasing him or something but nothing, have no idea wtf he was doing.

Driving along a major road (two lanes going both directions, separated by large median strip of grass, 80km/k) in the norhern 'burbs of Melbourne on Wednesday and I had done a U-Turn so there was no traffic with me. A guy comes driving AT me coming the wrong way flashing his lights and beeping his horn as if I was going the wrong way, I swerved out into the right lane so as to be nowhere near him and then lost sight of him in my rear vision mirror around the bend.

I expected cop cars to come chasing him or something but nothing, have no idea wtf he was doing.

Wasn't that the same day that crazy person was driving wrong side of the ring road?? Could have been him..