Toast Welcome to Hawthorn, Finn Maginness “absolute Hawthorn nuffie” and a Hawk to 2025

I'm eagerly awaiting when we play Collingwood in Rd 21. I see it as a win/win.

Were he to do a good job, we'll have a blueprint to beat the Pies in the future if we where to encounter them in a final.

If he gets beaten then he'll have learned a lot from playing on Daicos and will go along way for his development.
Nice!

It's going to be an interesting watch over the coming weeks and years. The dominant theory in footy for several years now has been that good sides don't throw out their system by playing a purely negative tagger. Whether a top 4 side would play one every week remains to be seen but having one on the list who can be deployed for a big job is valuable.

Simply could not have asked Finn to do more in the jobs he's been given over the last month, with yesterday being a career game. He gave us a "nil-all draw" against the competition's most consistently dominant player this year. That's a huge huge feather in his cap.
Finn had 3 kicks and 3 handballs

Nick had 4 kick (including a play on kick in and “charity” goal from a free) and 1 handball.

Not only did Finn tag him out of the game, but the offensive / ball in hand influence he had was probably fractionally less than Finn anyhow.

So IMHO that’s not a purely negating outcome. It’s a player so devastatingly shutting down the key playmaker so as to win the head-to-head battle.

Going into 2024 I think the aim for Finn will be to develop into a Crowley / Ling type player who:

1. reduces the output of the best mid AND

2. gets a little more of the footy themselves by running off and being dangerous when we create turnovers.

Sam has stated openly Finn would be a regular if our side was further developed than in 2023, so unless something goes astray I think he will have quite a few years at the club and play that Sewell / Shiels role we needed in those 4 flags

Talk about the perfect Sam Mitchell project. Forget his weaknesses, Sam wants our players to display elite attributes and from there, working on the weaknesses can come with time.

That was an astonishing shut down he performed on Daicos. Sign him up for 3 more years tomorrow and watch him go to the next level once he starts winning his own ball as well.

Had my Collingwood supporting mate saying "oh you tag him down back, well we will just move him middle or forward", people still do not realise how elite Finn is as a tagger. He is invaluable to this side.
Finn is very comfortable playing down back. Played down back heaps for box hill. Taking finn to our backline is probably playing i to his strengths. I was surprised the pies didnt work that out.

He's more like Cameron Ling. Was a huge factor in Geelong's success.

Ling and Sewell were quality midfielders in their own right. Ling in particular was a goal kicker, which is simply huge for a tagger.

Finn has the tank to be able to work off his man and (hopefully) become damaging, or at least contribute in passages of play. Hopefully he's learning when to make his move.

Finn is very comfortable playing down back. Played down back heaps for box hill. Taking finn to our backline is probably playing i to his strengths. I was surprised the pies didnt work that out.
It seems we've moved him around at times to build these aspects of his game. I thought we were just trying to find a place for him but maybe those stints as a pressure forward or in the backline were just further development as a tagger.

IMO their best bet to break the tag was to keep him around the ball and playing through the middle. More congestion and Finn won't start on him at CBA's.

My view, for what it is worth, is that we spend too much time on these forums looking at deficiencies and not enough about what a player brings to the team and the specific geniuses that they possess that others don't. For me his concentration and athleticism mean he can shut down almost any player in the competition, something he has proved again and again over the last two years, and i would be looking at how that could translate not worrying about his kicking.
Talks about strengths
Name subtlety implies he is part of a group that wears the No.5
Is that you Sam......?

List of scalps from last season to date:

• Ed Langdon
  • Jordan Dawson
  • Tim Kelly
  • Jye Simpkin
  • Touk Miller
  • Shai Bolton
  • Sheezel / Thomas, split
  • Dan Rioli
  • Nick Daicos

I'm probbaly forgetting someone else. Such diversity.

Kept Sinclair to 4 touches (two were kick ins). Finn moves off Sinclair who picks up 14 touches in a single quarter.

List of scalps from last season to date:

• Ed Langdon
  • Jordan Dawson
  • Tim Kelly
  • Jye Simpkin
  • Touk Miller
  • Shai Bolton
  • Sheezel / Thomas, split
  • Dan Rioli
  • Nick Daicos

I'm probbaly forgetting someone else. Such diversity.
Kelly @ 6 possies vs Giants about 4 weeks back

Hoping he gets Bont next week. Would be another brilliant challenge and additional insight into what he will offer the team going forward.
Seriously doubt that, due to Bont’s aerial ability. Of Judd2Sewell ’s
list of scalps only Dawson is a tall mid. All the others are genuine small/mid runners.

Would be easy for Bevo to send Bont forward, isolate them and create a mismatch (which would be too dangerous for us).

I expect he will go to Treloar.

Seriously doubt that, due to Bont’s aerial ability. Of Judd2Sewell ’s
list of scalps only Dawson is a tall mid. All the others are genuine small/mid runners.

Would be easy for Bevo to send Bont forward, isolate them and create a mismatch (which would be too dangerous for us).

I expect he will go to Treloar.
Except Bont going forward is a win for the midfield group

Daicos trying to get away from Finn yesterday 😉
Scared Baby GIF

How good is this guy?

10/10 for Sam Mitchell in getting the importance of someone like Finn on our list.

10/10 for Kane Cornes for acknowledging where we are at and Finn’s role.

Given he played it for the majority of his career, Kane would be very familiar with the role Finn is playing.

Kane kept Simon Black to 15 touches in the 2004 GF and was 3rd BOG according to the Norm Smith voting.

Toast Welcome to Hawthorn, Finn Maginness “absolute Hawthorn nuffie” and a Hawk to 2025