List Mgmt. Welcome Tom McCarthy (Pick 1, 2025 MSD)

This has been a mid season drafting masterclass. He looks like a 100 game player with skill, speed great poise and decision making. Amazing to think there are likely other such talents hiding out there.
I actually think WC should be going over every state league with a plan to draft the best 22-24yo rookie into our team to complement all the kids.

These gems more often come from Amateur leagues as late developers. Someone from a WAFL,VFL or SANFL coaching position sees them or hears about them and then goes and watches and then strongly recommends they try playing at the next level. (A level they never thought they'd make)

They then get into a state league system and with the MSD as well as normal end of year drafts are being picked up 6,12,18 months down the line.

If you have a trade or similar and footy is only a pastime there is a shitload more money in amateurs than there is in the VFL, SANFL or WAFL.

You still get your standard late developers at state league level but as their rise isn't as sharp and as quick they normally need 2-3 very good seasons to get looked at and given an opportunity.

There are always a lot of players who for whatever reason haven't committed themselves to the lifestyle, diet and fitness requirements to become top line footballers. Talent is one thing but in a lot of cases these guys don't even need to train during the week.

They do their normal work, get paid to play a game on a reasonably short drive on the weekend for cash (plus footy club benefits) and then rinse and repeat.

I remember watching a 16 year old Lewis Jetta play down here and he was just happy playing with friends and nothing more until I think it was someone at the WCE when he was 18 got in touch with him and told him if he put effort into it they thought he could be a really good player at AFL level.

Bit of a swing and a miss, the Eagles gave him the jolt and he went down the right path but the recruiting team obviously didn't think he was ready at the end of 08 and then 12 months later he goes as a first round pick to the swans. He eventually ended up at the club and ended up a dual premiership player.

A few more games like this and oppo teams will be working to nullify him. Baker brings the toughness and Duggan can accumulate and provide drive off half back but with ball in hand mccarthy is just too potent. Opened up the pies a few times on Saturday.

These gems more often come from Amateur leagues as late developers. Someone from a WAFL,VFL or SANFL coaching position sees them or hears about them and then goes and watches and then strongly recommends they try playing at the next level. (A level they never thought they'd make)

They then get into a state league system and with the MSD as well as normal end of year drafts are being picked up 6,12,18 months down the line.

If you have a trade or similar and footy is only a pastime there is a shitload more money in amateurs than there is in the VFL, SANFL or WAFL.

You still get your standard late developers at state league level but as their rise isn't as sharp and as quick they normally need 2-3 very good seasons to get looked at and given an opportunity.

There are always a lot of players who for whatever reason haven't committed themselves to the lifestyle, diet and fitness requirements to become top line footballers. Talent is one thing but in a lot of cases these guys don't even need to train during the week.

They do their normal work, get paid to play a game on a reasonably short drive on the weekend for cash (plus footy club benefits) and then rinse and repeat.

I remember watching a 16 year old Lewis Jetta play down here and he was just happy playing with friends and nothing more until I think it was someone at the WCE when he was 18 got in touch with him and told him if he put effort into it they thought he could be a really good player at AFL level.

Bit of a swing and a miss, the Eagles gave him the jolt and he went down the right path but the recruiting team obviously didn't think he was ready at the end of 08 and then 12 months later he goes as a first round pick to the swans. He eventually ended up at the club and ended up a dual premiership player.
cheers, just trying to get a decent player in the mid age range 22-24 that can play decent footy at AFL level and provide instant success at WAFL level.

This is why I am contemplating cheap players on the fringes of other teams to provide depth, exposed bodies to AFL and decent WAFL help or our multitude of kids with growth, support and more if we can get more out of them.
The obvious ones that come to mind are Erasmus and D Robertson, don't want to be spending much more than 3rd and 4th round picks to get a couple on the list.
For the benefit of the AFL side and WAFL side.

Think it was in the second quarter - had one kick leaving D50 where he's looked inboard and gone the risky corridor kick, think it was to Flynn from memory. Immediately started swearing at the TV assuming it'd be cut off and turned over like our corridor entries usually are, but he peeled it off.

Super refreshing.

Edit: gif'd it for your enjoyment.

View attachment 2355842
1543920957741-Screen-Shot-2018-12-04-at-105542.png

That Bailey Dale comparison is a good one. Moves very similarly, is the same height, and can obviously accumulate like a prime Brad Dalziell if you don't mind. I reckon TMac has a bit more toe though.

He's got that same upright torso style of running and the 5th gear to click into when you already think he's sprinting at 100% like Judd.

That said...hope WC give him the no. 5 from our last gun hb flanker, Brad Sheppard!

I'd be fine about waiting until players have actually left the club before reassigning their numbers....

There'll be time once things settle for players to decide if they want to ask for a new number. Plus, I'd rather see players make their own history in a number, not be a continuation of someone else's.

Was impressed again with his game on the weekend. Felt like he showed a couple of more traits compared to his debut game. I previously knew about his kicking, run and decision making but didn’t know about his contested game. I felt he showed some really good signs there, both on the ground and especially in the air.

Dare I add another comparison of what he could be - Tom Stewart (without the flog factor)?

Was impressed again with his game on the weekend. Felt like he showed a couple of more traits compared to his debut game. I previously knew about his kicking, run and decision making but didn’t know about his contested game. I felt he showed some really good signs there, both on the ground and especially in the air.

Dare I add another comparison of what he could be - Tom Stewart (without the flog factor)?
Hes got a lot more dare and run than Stewart, but maybe lacks the elite intercept and ability to read the ball Stewart had - not saying McCarthy is bad at it.

I like the Bailey Dale comparison tbh, maybe Lachie Ash a bit too

There’s some other lanky gun half back he reminds me of but I can’t quite put my finger on it

Me too Clint. It's the running style or the way he moves and kicks or something.

Think it might be a past player. Only current player I can really think of is Blakey, but nah.

Proved last week wasn't a fluke.
We didn't have a player with 30+ touches all year.
Struggled to get a player to 25 touches.
We had 5 players with 25+ on the weekend with Baker leading the way on 35.

Took a first gamer to show the team how's it done. Work rate and want.
The hitting of targets helped out a lot on the weekend, the handballs were a lot more accurate as well as the ratio climbing (from memory the commentators mentioned this) which leads to more touches.

We seemed less fumbly in general and the handballs were hitting team mates more frequently.

The hitting of targets helped out a lot on the weekend, the handballs were a lot more accurate as well as the ratio climbing (from memory the commentators mentioned this) which leads to more touches.

We seemed less fumbly in general and the handballs were hitting team mates more frequently.
It's because the team now understands the structures. Think how poor the kicking looked at the start of the year. It was always because the players were never sure where their team mates were supposed to be, so either hesitated and got pressured or sent it in a general area quickly.

Now both the player with ball and the loose players know where everyone is supposed to be, they can make sure the ball gets to the right spot quickly.

List Mgmt. Welcome Tom McCarthy (Pick 1, 2025 MSD)