Well done Saints

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk

:D :D :D had a great time tonite what a shame we can't go talk about it on our old forum though :(

Was great to see the Ausman runnin down the wing again. I thought Thommo did really well and seemed to be the main man to pass the ball off to. Would like to see how many posessions he got! They seem to have more of a game plan this year thank god because there was no structure at all last season but i hope they dont become to predictable with it because it was easy to pick up on just as a spectator. Little Milney was good as always. Hammer did heaps good and Spider well hmm he did miss a few that he shoulda got at the start but still a good effort. Woulda liked to see Stevie Lawrence get the whole game in but not to worry he is tough as nails. Spoke (well ok maybe flirted a bit lol) with little Lukie Ball before the game. He says hes not sure when he'll be playin yet and has just been playing his cricket for now hmm. Interesting to see some other teams players there too...got an autograph off Campo who musta been there to watch Aaron and also saw some of the Roos boys there! ;) oh yeh and i think we should all make note of the fact that Melbourne pretty much had a near full strength side in whilst we were playing a few more inexperienced younger ones so thats another positive :)

Loved every minute of the game.. ;)... I said we wre going to give them a hiden.. and we did.. good on ya sainters.. ;)

Well what a good day to join BigFooty (actually the 15th). Saints were good last night. What a difference a year makes-skill level and intensity were terrible at this time last year. Last night we had a different team. Full credit to Grant and the coaching staff and the players who appear really resolved to make a difference.

Forging ahead in 2002!!!

GO SAINTERS

P.S. Any supporter who isn't a member-please become one now (WE NEED YOU!)

Originally posted by Molky Saint
Well what a good day to join BigFooty (actually the 15th). Saints were good last night. What a difference a year makes-skill level and intensity were terrible at this time last year. Last night we had a different team. Full credit to Grant and the coaching staff and the players who appear really resolved to make a difference.

Forging ahead in 2002!!!

GO SAINTERS

P.S. Any supporter who isn't a member-please become one now (WE NEED YOU!)

agree 100% with your above statements, and even more so of your p.s.

need heaps more members, otherwise it is going to be a hard year financially.

the players had a higher skill level, and i was impressed!!!!

plenty of positives to take out of our first official practice match last night. the first and most important spidey already mentioned is that we seem to be developing a game plan. we constantly moved the ball quickly and always looked to move the ball through the corridor.

pre season games give us an indication of how the young blokes are going. x man was nervous early and had the fumbles but came back on in the last 1/4 and had some usefull possies. dal santo made the most of his limited game time with some quality possesions most notable for his steal in the last 1/4 where he then hit chad davis with a pin point pass which resulted in a goal. 'jerry' maguire looks a ready made defender, he is just 17 and looks very comfortable playing senior footy, we may have unearthed a gem here. our houlihann didn't get many opportunities but like the others he has now been involved in a st kilda win.

last week i mentioned how impressive nick reiwoldt was in the intra club game, last night's performance just re inforces my opinion that he is going to be a star, he ooooozes class.

it's only the first practice game of the season, but i'll celebrate any 12 goal win we get. was having a beer with a mate in the locker room after the game and he said that even though it was only a practice match it is still a great feeling to have won well, i whole heartedly agreed with him. :D :D

go saints...

ps. welcome to all the new members from the old forum.:( :D

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
oh yeh and i think we should all make note of the fact that Melbourne pretty much had a near full strength side in whilst we were playing a few more inexperienced younger ones so thats another positive :)

Firstly, congratulations, you beat us in just about every position on the ground and made us look 2nd rate :(. I know its only Ansett Cup, but youre looking good and working well together.
I was particularly impressed with Aussie Jones who looks like he could get back to his form of 97, Stephen Milne, Nick Reiwoldt and Spider who IMO looks better as a forward. Hopefully you can keep it up and maybe rise a few positions up the ladder. Better StKilda than Essendon. :p

We did have a few more injuries than Spidey said (Schwarz, Nicholson, Vardy, Powell, Rigoni, Ward), but thats no excuse and if we were any good we shouldve covered them easily.

Thanks guys glad to see some of the Melbourne ppl are still civil. Regarding the injuries StKilda did have duel Brownlow Medalist Robert Harvey on the sidelines remember that :p (rubs more salt into the wound hehe) ;) I really dunno what happened to Melbourne maybe it was some of those dead wood players that i was upset about a few weeks ago at training. Main culprit Chris Lamb. One positive i did notice for Melbourne though was how much Wheatley had bulked up i really didn't recognise him hes blown right out. Dissapointin for Clinty but :( i thought he would add much more spark hopefully Danners will give him a bit of a kick up the arse for the season! If it's any concelation Freo and i think West Coast also won this weekend hehe!

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
I really dunno what happened to Melbourne maybe it was some of those dead wood players that i was upset about a few weeks ago at training. Main culprit Chris Lamb. One positive i did notice for Melbourne though was how much Wheatley had bulked up i really didn't recognise him hes blown right out. Dissapointin for Clinty but :( i thought he would add much more spark hopefully Danners will give him a bit of a kick up the arse for the season! If it's any concelation Freo and i think West Coast also won this weekend hehe!

I've also been very impressed with Paul Wheatley so far, not only has he Bulked up but he seems to have more confidence. I think he & Broadbridge will be ones to watch in defence this season.

I have no faith in Lamb whatsoever, the only thing of note he's done in what is now his 4th season playing seniors (For only 5 or so games) was the goal he kicked in the 2000 preseason match vs The saints. He practically tripped over the ball while trying to kick it off the ground, it was pretty funny & a shock because I didn't realise he'd been picked & had never seen him play in attack ever! Dees need Chris Lamb to stand up this year especially since Ellis is suspended for rounds 1&2 for striking Neeta in round 22 :(.