Well done

• Thread starter Thread starter cleveland

Thanks. Takes a bit to come onto this board when half of our mod are in arrogance mode. First Dogs fan to do so if I'm not mistaken. :thumbsu:

Thanks mate. Might be the dip the dogs needed to have before makin an assault on the finals. FWIW, there's no other team inside the 8 I'd like to see win the flag more than the doggies.

Yeah, that was a good win for you guys.
I reckon some of your young fellas are coming through - must feel good!

Just don't get caught up too early in the hype - like we have!!

i just want to sympathise on 1 thing with the doggies fans

the holding the ball in the last quarter against daniel cross when he threw himself at the contest head on ferociously with no care for his welfare and got first hands on the ball to have a carlton player jump on his back and then get pinged for holding the ball

was the single worst piece of umpiring in recent memory that clearly shows the umpires are out of their depth and do not understand the game of australian rules football.

its no wonder that the modern day footballer has become soft and we witness players hanging off the backs of packs and chipping the ball around every week.

was an absolute fantastic effort from cross in a desperate attempt to win the contest and he was penalised for going in hard.

the netball grand final tomorrow night will be tougher and more uncompromising than the incompetent administration and its umpires have turned the game of AFL football into.

well done Daniel Cross that was inspirational and very very tough hard gritty play

and it cost him a free kick and an eventual goal that fev got at the end of the play from the free kick

the AFL has become a farce and a joke

Yeah, that was a good win for you guys.
I reckon some of your young fellas are coming through - must feel good!

Just don't get caught up too early in the hype - like we have!!

Must feel good? Mate after the 6 years of purgatory we've been dragged through you bet it feels good to see glimpses of the great Carlton finally returning.

Just quietly though, i probably don't get quite the satisfaction out of beating the Dogs as i do pretty much any other opposition. Always had a soft spot for you guys and will certainly be barracking for you come September. Hopefully this is just a minor lull for you guys. ;):thumbsu:

the holding the ball in the last quarter against daniel cross when he threw himself at the contest head on ferociously with no care for his welfare and got first hands on the ball to have a carlton player jump on his back and then get pinged for holding the ball

was the single worst piece of umpiring in recent memory that clearly shows the umpires are out of their depth and do not understand the game of australian rules football.

its no wonder that the modern day footballer has become soft and we witness players hanging off the backs of packs and chipping the ball around every week.

was an absolute fantastic effort from cross in a desperate attempt to win the contest and he was penalised for going in hard.

the netball grand final tomorrow night will be tougher and more uncompromising than the incompetent administration and its umpires have turned the game of AFL football into.

well done Daniel Cross that was inspirational and very very tough hard gritty play

and it cost him a free kick and an eventual goal that fev got at the end of the play from the free kick

is that the one where the footscray player just jumped on top of the ball in the 4th? because if it is that is a free, you cant just jump on top of a ball.

You always have more cred when you bag umps after a win. I agree with your sentiments. For some reason courage is now seen as some sort of reckless element in a players arsenal.

Courage is the single most exciting trait on the ground. Give me Kenny Hunter over Buzz any day. Not because Buzz was soft but because No 9 went places you just didn't go. So did Trevor Barker, Gary Wilson, Glenn Archer. It's the thing I value most in a player largely because I never had it. But even club players with no ticker understand what it takes to play this sport.

The umpires used to protect the player who was going after the footy. Now they just want to listen to themselves on the playback tape at home with the missus.

I still can't believe we won! :eek:

Yes you can -I read a post of yours over the weekend saying that you're not giving up hope of playing finals until it is a mathematical impossibility...

You're starting to scare me - you don't miss a thing. I've started dressing and showering in the dark.

It's not the same thing.

Even had we lost, we still would have been a mathematical possibly, and I would still not be losing hope.

But I didn't expect us to beat the Doggies. Well, that just makes me more happy. :)

Daniel Cross wasn't penalised for the initial effort of diving on the ball, yes that effort was courageous and he was determined to win the ball, once he made the dive the ball then bobbled loose, then he dragged it back in, then the Carlton players laid the tackle. There was no high contact at any stage during the play.

I have no sympathy for him, the umpire interpreted the rules correctly, holding the ball.

Must feel good? Mate after the 6 years of purgatory we've been dragged through you bet it feels good to see glimpses of the great Carlton finally returning.

Just quietly though, i probably don't get quite the satisfaction out of beating the Dogs as i do pretty much any other opposition. Always had a soft spot for you guys and will certainly be barracking for you come September. Hopefully this is just a minor lull for you guys. ;):thumbsu:

Only 6 years?
You guys have had it too good over the last 40 years if only 6 have been a problem for you!
Follow the Dogs for a few decades and then get back to me...

Daniel Cross wasn't penalised for the initial effort of diving on the ball, yes that effort was courageous and he was determined to win the ball, once he made the dive the ball then bobbled loose, then he dragged it back in, then the Carlton players laid the tackle. There was no high contact at any stage during the play.

I have no sympathy for him, the umpire interpreted the rules correctly, holding the ball.
Yes, that was the interpretation. He did well initially but he did drag it in after it came loose. It wasn't even technically correct if against the spirit of the game, it was in the spirit of the game as well. He held it up because he was surrounded by Blues players. Great initial effort, as you would expect from any of your players but it was the secondary action that brought him undone, although I think it was Wiggins who helped keep it in there against Cross.