West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)

Absolutely no way WCE should get any Priority Picks.

They recently won a flag!

If they have a few more years down the very bottom then sure, it could be discussed.

To be perfectly honest i actually hate PP but believe the eagles should get help this year same as North did with the 2 x end of 1st rounders that should be traded. They do need help and its sad seeing such a great club playing WAFL level football
they need leaders and could trade these 2 picks for another 2 players like Baker to give their kids time to develop
No it’s not

If they have a few more years down the very bottom then sure, it could be discussed.
How many years do they need to be at the bottom? 5? 6?
How many years until the premiership is no longer relevant? 5? 8? 25?

gee, the cellar dwellers from two decades must be weeping at the current state of PPs. Back then a one-off 5-17 disaster campaign could net you a priority round treasure. Now it is six seasons of 5-17 haplessness and we might discuss it. Not complaining, just amusing how much the tide has turned.

There is absolutely no reason why WC shouldn't be able to attract the same level of players to their club.
It's the biggest club in WA, and homesickness is more of an issue for WA kids than it is for SA kids, as its a 45 minute flight from Melbourne to Adelaide.

Adelaide was very aggressive in getting SA players back, and has also been very quick to draft local kids that support the club.
Many were saying we overpaid for Rankine, but he has been a bargain in hindsight.
Just how much effort does WC put into trying to get the best WA kids back? Take Curtin for instance. I have heard WC is trying to get him, and they should be offering him 850k a year to come home. There plenty of coin in the salery cap, and he is a super talent.

Wrong.

Has been explained in detail.

Several times.

Players moving to SA in their peaks are not risking a shortened career and reduced earning due to the longer flights travel factor. Its a fact the vast majority of WA players dont play into their mid 30s or later.

Many players do not want the travel load and are more tyahn happy to move to Melbourne instead of returning home. Especially after hooking up with an East Coast partner.

Stop ignoring reality.

There is absolutely no reason why WC shouldn't be able to attract the same level of players to their club.
It's the biggest club in WA, and homesickness is more of an issue for WA kids than it is for SA kids, as its a 45 minute flight from Melbourne to Adelaide.

Adelaide was very aggressive in getting SA players back, and has also been very quick to draft local kids that support the club.
Many were saying we overpaid for Rankine, but he has been a bargain in hindsight.
Just how much effort does WC put into trying to get the best WA kids back? Take Curtin for instance. I have heard WC is trying to get him, and they should be offering him 850k a year to come home. There plenty of coin in the salery cap, and he is a super talent.
WC won’t get Curtin coz he wants to come to Freo from what I’ve heard

Why as a WC fan do I care about what happened pre 2021? Our first pick (out of 26) in 2020 was 18. Good teams aren't impacted in the same way as poor teams - particularly those who are the ones benefiting from skewing the draft in the first place. The draft is getting worse which is why it has become a topical issue. The 2010 Gold Coast draft first round was 27 picks long, 2011 GWS draft was 30. It has been 29 and 27 the last two years. The first round is as long as it was when new teams were created and given picks 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15. Let that sink in.

Brisbane (premier) had "pick 5" last year because of F/S rules so their picks are irrelevant. Sydney (runner up) had picks 22, 39, 55 in the end. So their first pick was pushed out 5 spots to 22, then their second was 17 spots from that and their third a further 16 spots from that. Their picks moved 5, 4, 2 spots compared to the initial order. Ours moved 0, 9 and 5 spots. 2023 our picks moved 0, 11, 7 spots. Picks 19 and 21 are a lot more sought after than 2 x pick 30.

No one said WC had a pick pushed back 19 spots. Pick 19 was pushed back 11 spots. 30 - 19 = 11.

Who gives a shit about stuffing the next bad team? The AFL is quite happy for Brisbane to trade first round picks for Josh Dunkley and then pick up Will Ashcroft and Jaspa Fletcher in the first round. The system is embarrassing.
How much did you get Waterman for?
FS prospects are cyclical. Geelong had a heap, and now there's nothing on the horizon. Brisbane are now getting some, but didn't have any for a long time.
Adelaide have finally got 2 that were worth taking in the main draft, after how many years in the comp?
The Bulldogs are getting a few now.
At some stage WC have to take responsibility for their own list decisions.
You paid well overs for Kelly, which has cost you now. You basically gave up two years drafting (2020 and 2021) for him. He's now on his way out, and you could have had Max Holmes,
Wrong.

Has been explained in detail.

Several times.

Players moving to SA in their peaks are not risking a shortened career and reduced earning due to the longer flights travel factor. Its a fact the vast majority of WA players dont play into their mid 30s or later.

Many players do not want the travel load and are more tyahn happy to move to Melbourne instead of returning home. Especially after hooking up with an East Coast partner.

Stop ignoring reality.
Nah. Why is Brisbane able to secure talent in trades now?
10 years ago they were a basket case. They couldn't keep any interstate players, and no one wanted to go there. Now they are a destination club.
Adelaide couldn't get anyone to come back a decade ago, and just like Brisbane they are now a destination club and has been able to get high SA talent back.

At some point WC are going to have to accept that they just don't do enough.
99% of young kids would prefer to stay at home and play in front of their family and friends. The majority would also prefer to play for the local club they grew up supporting.

I will use Curtin again, and I hope he stays at Adelaide as he is going to be a gun, but he has a WA girlfriend, has been homesick when he first moved here, and should be in both Freo and WCs targets. They should be moving heaven and earth to get him back.
Not just him, but the other WA kids in other teams.
Throw some God father offers out, get into their families heads in WA, and get it done.

WC is in the position its in due to their own actions, or lack of them.

WC won’t get Curtin coz he wants to come to Freo from what I’ve heard
He supported Freo, but if he wants to come home, and WC is the most likey, offering more money and better draft picks, then he will take it.
Scott Thompson was a die-hard Port supporter, but he wanted to come home to SA and Adelaide was in the best position to get it done so he came here.
Lachie Neal had no connection to Brisbane, and is an SA boy, but he went to Brisbane over SA. Why?

Yeah, the AFL won't give them one.
They will get a quazi one with the Allen compo pick, but there won't be anything other than that.
They recently won a flag and are one of the most powerful clubs in the comp.
The AFL would not like the optics of giving them one.

The only caviet I would put is if they are still down the bottom a year before Tassie come in, they may give them one then to try and get them back up before Tassie take every good player in the next three drafts.

FS prospects are cyclical. Geelong had a heap, and now there's nothing on the horizon. Brisbane are now getting some, but didn't have any for a long time.
Adelaide have finally got 2 that were worth taking in the main draft, after how many years in the comp?
You paid well overs for Kelly, which has cost you now. You basically gave up two years drafting (2020 and 2021) for him. He's now on his way out, and you could have had Max Holmes,

10 years ago they were a basket case. They couldn't keep any interstate players, and no one wanted to go there. Now they are a destination club.
Adelaide couldn't get anyone to come back a decade ago, and just like Brisbane they are now a destination club and has been able to get high SA talent back.

99% of young kids would prefer to stay at home and play in front of their family and friends. The majority would also prefer to play for the local club they grew up supporting.

I will use Curtin again, and I hope he stays at Adelaide as he is going to be a gun, but he has a WA girlfriend, has been homesick when he first moved here, and should be in both Freo and WCs targets. They should be moving heaven and earth to get him back.
Throw some God father offers out, get into their families heads in WA, and get it done.

No one bid on Waterman and was drafted in to 70s.

And why are players happy to go to Brisbane and Qld?

They stay on the East Coast.

The travel factor is minimal compared to WA. Short trips to Sydney and Melbourne.

Qld is like Sydney and players can escape the fish bowl of traditional football states.

What don't you get between a club based on the East Coast versus the West Coast?

Oh and players know the Lions and Suns will be competitive with all the priority access they get to the best kids. Quality kids paid rookie wages for 2 to 3 years frees up cap space to pay free agents more. Nice little bonus advantage there.

Yeah, the AFL won't give them one.
They will get a quazi one with the Allen compo pick, but there won't be anything other than that.
They recently won a flag and are one of the most powerful clubs in the comp.
The AFL would not like the optics of giving them one.

The only caviet I would put is if they are still down the bottom a year before Tassie come in, they may give them one then to try and get them back up before Tassie take every good player in the next three drafts.

Eagles will ask for and get additional rookie or Cat B list spots.

No priority picks.

And that is perfectly fine.

Just total bullshit the AFL continues to provide assistance to teams like the Lions, GWS and rhe Swans who are super competitive and playing in and winning grand finals.

You fine with that?

The travel factor is minimal compared to WA. Short trips to Sydney and Melbourne.

Qld is like Sydney and players can escape the fish bowl of traditional football states.

What don't you get between a club based on the East Coast versus the West Coast?

Oh and players know the Lions and Suns will be competitive with all the priority access they get to the best kids. Quality kids paid rookie wages for 2 to 3 years frees up cap space to pay free agents more. Nice little bonus advantage there.
So…. What’s the solve?
Plenty love to whinge but few provide any options on solutions.

Relocate closer to the rest of the comp (not serious)? Buy more home games? Use the millions of dollars the WAFL makes off the clubs each year to buy planes for the clubs? Invest better in WA talent pathways so that there is more local talent available? Improve their list and recruiting teams for better identification? Improve development coaches to maximise the talent of those drafted?

There’s plenty of options worth exploring that are closer to addressing the real problems you are identifying. Rather than handing out a token PP and thinking it’s the silver bullet to it all.

How about trying to build and sustain and great culture. It doesn’t necessarily mean winning all the time either.

Waterman was the last pick in the 2016 draft. Discussing F/S and academy players is pointless without context. Big difference between Nick Daicos who was projected to go top 5 and his brother who was pick 57. That is the issue. One of the nuffy media shows highlighted Collingwood have 5 father sons in the last decade. Yes, and two of them are the Browns who didn't make it. It's only Nick Daicos and Darcy Moore that were considered elite talents when drafted. North have had a gazillion top 10 picks and are still ordinary, but that doesn't change the fact that teams finishing high on the ladder having equivalent picks defeats the purpose of the draft.

"At some stage WC have to take responsibility for their own list decisions". :rolleyes: Yeah not like the in the last 2-3 years the club has made massive changes or anything. Let's focus on a trade from 6 years ago because we could've theoretically picked Max Holmes. Could've picked Cooper Stephens and Ryan Angwin too, the actual players that went with those picks. What a difference they would've made.

You just want to sink the boots into WC like 90% of the media. Take a ticket, get in line. In the same post you are arguing we overpaid for Kelly and that we should overpay to bring WA players back. Make up your mind fella.

He supported Freo, but if he wants to come home, and WC is the most likey, offering more money and better draft picks, then he will take it.
Scott Thompson was a die-hard Port supporter, but he wanted to come home to SA and Adelaide was in the best position to get it done so he came here.
Lachie Neal had no connection to Brisbane, and is an SA boy, but he went to Brisbane over SA. Why?
Just heard through my kids who had friend connections that he really wants to get to Freo one day
Very loose sources and not much in it but it’s definitely a thing and maybe they are already in discussions on timing
We could definitely use him
Depends how much of a rush he is in to get home I suppose

So you got an AA quality FS for pick 70?
Bargain.
Why wernt they happy to stay in Brisbane and GC before? Why has there been a ton of players go from GWS back to Melbourne? GWS is on the east coast?

As for distance, Brisbane is 1800km away from Melbourne, 2100km away from Adelaide and 4300km away from Perth.
There's plenty of travel involved in playing for a Qld team.
That's just a cop out.
Not once have to accepted that alot of the blame is on West Coast here.
Why wasn't all this a problem when WC was up and about and winning premierships?
Brisbane was a basket case. No one wanted to play there. They had the go home five, where they lost five of their best young players in one year. One of them went back to the WC in Yeo.
They were saying no one wanted to go there as it was a non football state. They all wanted to go to the heartland of football.
They didn't have the same ability to make money outside the game with TV commercials etc.
Everyone was worried about their future.
But, again, just like WC now, it was all horse shit. They had just come off a triple premiership run, where they had no problem keeping their non Qld players during that era.
It's all about culture and how the club is ran.
Brisbane got their act back together through making it a good place to play football, and they again rose from the ashes. Now, again, they are a destination club. No one has a problem playing for them again, and they are back up the top.

The exact same thing will happen with WC. They will make their changes, build a better culture, start targeting WA players and draftees and get back to where they were.

It's 100% on WC, and only WC can fix it.

Waterman was the last pick in the 2016 draft. Discussing F/S and academy players is pointless without context. Big difference between Nick Daicos who was projected to go top 5 and his brother who was pick 57. That is the issue. One of the nuffy media shows highlighted Collingwood have 5 father sons in the last decade. Yes, and two of them are the Browns who didn't make it. It's only Nick Daicos and Darcy Moore that were considered elite talents when drafted. North have had a gazillion top 10 picks and are still ordinary, but that doesn't change the fact that teams finishing high on the ladder having equivalent picks defeats the purpose of the draft.

"At some stage WC have to take responsibility for their own list decisions". :rolleyes: Yeah not like the in the last 2-3 years the club has made massive changes or anything. Let's focus on a trade from 6 years ago because we could've theoretically picked Max Holmes. Could've picked Cooper Stephens and Ryan Angwin too, the actual players that went with those picks. What a difference they would've made.

You just want to sink the boots into WC like 90% of the media. Take a ticket, get in line. In the same post you are arguing we overpaid for Kelly and that we should overpay to bring WA players back. Make up your mind fella.
Sink the boots in WC? Huh? As an Adelaide supporter I see WC as the Crows of WA. I dont have any negative thoughts of them.
Both WA and SA clubs get the short stick from the AFL, and we both get taken advantage of.
I'm down for anything that gives both our states clubs things that help even it out.

Adelaide had similar issues awhile ago. We couldn't keep our interstate players, and every year we wondered who we would lose next. Dangerfield, McGovern, Charlie Cameron, Jake Lever, Jack Gunston and so on.
We couldn't attract any of the great SA players back to the club, and when we did we got shafted like with Gibbs.
We hadn't preferred SA kids in the draft, and we lost our culture.
Just like Brisbane, we had to own it and turn it around.
We did that. We have been able to attract good SA players back like Dawson, ANB and Rankine, we have gone after the best SA talent in the draft that we could, like Fogarty, Thilthorpe and Draper.

Now, we arnt winning premierships yet, but we turned the corner. We arnt losing all our Victorian kids like we used to. We are willing to pay good money to poach players.

WC are going to have to do the same thing, and I have no doubt they will.
The point is that they have to own it.

I do find Freo supporters using the 2018 flag as a reason for no PPs pretty funny considering how much Freo supporters constantly tell WC supporters to not live in the past (I'm married to one so I know)

As for reasons for receiving one (and i dont necessarily want one tbh)....how about finishing last and only getting one pick before 30 in last years draft? And also having 2 first round draft picks end their careers prematurely due to concussion?

Just for a bit of balance

What exactly are WC not owning?

Since 2022 we have turned over approximately 30 players through retirements, trades and de-listings.

Since 2022 we've had picks 3 & 23, 1 & 30, 3 & 30. We've used picks 9, 14, 23, 1, 30, 38, 16, 30, 46. We elected to bring in Baker and Graham in 2024 because there's a lack of established players in the 25-30 bracket. I did not like the Baker trade but in 3 drafts that's 4 first round picks, 3 of which are from WA. We let Tom Barrass go under contract for an extra first and second round pick this year, and are clearly weighing up a potential band 1 compo pick for Oscar Allen if he leaves on a big money deal.

Fremantle have recruited Luke Jackson, Jaeger O'Meara, Shai Bolton back to WA in the same time period. We'd love Jackson, but I don't think we could have traded a future pick at the time and it also would've meant giving up the pick that became Hewett and Ginbey. He's only 24 but probably would've been a reckless move if he even wanted to come. O'Meara is a 31 year old fringe player and would not move the needle. Bolton is nice but cost two firsts. I doubt at 26 he wanted to leave a rebuilding side to join another. He's also not the kind of player we need to prioritise. Has 6 coaches votes for the year so far. Will be good for Freo when they pull their finger out. Cream player, not cake.

Since 2022 we've appointed a new CEO, new GM of football, new head coach.

WC are shit but it's not news. It's not WC and WC fans who are stuck in 2019/20.

When the fans stop turning up to our home games the AFL has a real problem, its become all about money now so watch the AFL give West Coast something extra to at least get us winning one game a year. Being totally honest here, nobody wants to watch 100 point drubbings even if its Geelong.

I do find Freo supporters using the 2018 flag as a reason for no PPs pretty funny considering how much Freo supporters constantly tell WC supporters to not live in the past (I'm married to one so I know)

As for reasons for receiving one (and i dont necessarily want one tbh)....how about finishing last and only getting one pick before 30 in last years draft? And also having 2 first round draft picks end their careers prematurely due to concussion?

Just for a bit of balance
Stop living in the past, that was two drafts ago.

It was both

Penguin Glasses GIF by Pudgy Penguins

Bottom 3 anyway

When the fans stop turning up to our home games the AFL has a real problem, its become all about money now so watch the AFL give West Coast something extra to at least get us winning one game a year. Being totally honest here, nobody wants to watch 100 point drubbings even if its Geelong.

The AFL don't care about crowds in WA. WC have 100,000 members and it translates to a high rate of return. Outside Geelong at Kardinia Park no one makes more money per member (they make less but keep more).

In 2024 WC received the lowest distribution from the AFL. Collingwood for all its "blockbuster" MCG games and huge crowds made $40m from membership and matchday revenue. WC made $38m, with next to no opposition supporters in attendance at home games and finishing 16th. WC made $5m more in sponsorship/marketing than the next best club and about 2/3 higher than the league average. The AFL gave North $10m more than they gave WC and we still made $40m more overall. Club finances are apples and oranges.

The AFL know they can use WC to eat up undesirable slots in the broadcast schedule. It's not really going to impact our membership base or even our attendances that much. Collingwood at the MCG makes the AFL money. WC anywhere doesn't. The difference between WC and clubs like North is that giving them only dud timeslots does hurt them and then it becomes an AFL problem. So they give them a few token games here and there to make it look like they care.

They also know that our finances, crowds, membership level etc. don't fall off a cliff if we aren't playing finals every year. Brisbane got 33,000 a game in 2005 coming off 3 flags. By 2017 that was 16,000. The Swans haven't been bad for a long time but have probably reached a critical mass of 25-30,000 who will still go when they suck, but footy in Qld and Western Sydney won't take off if the teams aren't winning.

The only incentive from the AFL for WC to be competitive is the look of the game. They don't like seeing teams regularly lose by 100 and they don't like the noise around teams getting to play the likes of WC and North twice. But the fixture is their doing so they can eat that. I mean Harvey Thomas has played at more venues than Scott Pendlebury in almost 400 fewer games and everyone now gets an extra trip to Adelaide because it makes money.

The general consensus ITT is that WC can suck it up. Which is fine, but dry your tears if Adelaide/GWS/Freo knock your team out of a top 4/top 8 spot.

So you got an AA quality FS for pick 70?
Bargain.
Why wernt they happy to stay in Brisbane and GC before? Why has there been a ton of players go from GWS back to Melbourne? GWS is on the east coast?

As for distance, Brisbane is 1800km away from Melbourne, 2100km away from Adelaide and 4300km away from Perth.
There's plenty of travel involved in playing for a Qld team.
That's just a cop out.
Not once have to accepted that alot of the blame is on West Coast here.
Why wasn't all this a problem when WC was up and about and winning premierships?
Brisbane was a basket case. No one wanted to play there. They had the go home five, where they lost five of their best young players in one year. One of them went back to the WC in Yeo.
They were saying no one wanted to go there as it was a non football state. They all wanted to go to the heartland of football.
They didn't have the same ability to make money outside the game with TV commercials etc.
Everyone was worried about their future.
But, again, just like WC now, it was all horse shit. They had just come off a triple premiership run, where they had no problem keeping their non Qld players during that era.
It's all about culture and how the club is ran.
Brisbane got their act back together through making it a good place to play football, and they again rose from the ashes. Now, again, they are a destination club. No one has a problem playing for them again, and they are back up the top.

The exact same thing will happen with WC. They will make their changes, build a better culture, start targeting WA players and draftees and get back to where they were.

It's 100% on WC, and only WC can fix it.
Mate you’d have more luck arguing with your mother in law than most WC supporters . 😁
Particularly the ones on here 😉