2nds West Coast Eagles WAFL Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter new breed

If former players didn't want to join the Beagles because we weren't trying to win, then the fears about our ability to poach the two best players from every other club are unjustified as we're only endeavouring to make up the numbers.

Maybe but the difference is the former AFL player has made a good sum of money out of his footy career being on an AFL list where as offering a WAFL player a reasonable sum to switch clubs might be hard to knock back.

But aren't we governed by the same salary cap as all other sides? Otherwise what's stopping any club bank rolling the best 2 players from every club and building a dynasty side?

I thought so as well but with the Eagles it is a bit different as they have so many AFL listed players in their squad. My Understanding is the Eagles salary cap in the WAFL is higher than it should be.
Bottom line is the club needs to find somewhere for their players to play, I can't see anyway it will be in the amateurs and I highly doubt it will be a Bunbury alignment. Which leaves finding a way for them to play WAFL.
My gut feel is the players will be spread across 3-4 of the clubs but not all. No idea how that will work though and what the other 5 clubs will think of that.

I thought so as well but with the Eagles it is a bit different as they have so many AFL listed players in their squad. My Understanding is the Eagles salary cap in the WAFL is higher than it should be.
Bottom line is the club needs to find somewhere for their players to play, I can't see anyway it will be in the amateurs and I highly doubt it will be a Bunbury alignment. Which leaves finding a way for them to play WAFL.
My gut feel is the players will be spread across 3-4 of the clubs but not all. No idea how that will work though and what the other 5 clubs will think of that.

Do we pay the clubs to take our players or do the clubs pay us for access to our AFL depth under the old model?

I don't think their is any costs associated with the farm out model. The clubs certainly won't be paying the Eagles anything as their chook raffles don't bring in enough.
Mate I think it is just an agreement the Eagles get somewhere for their players to play.

What's going to happen with Hammer now. Will they move him into the academy, with Nik Nat's program?

Perth FC declined the alignment option with West Coast ....next option not sure there is one , Fold .
I hate Perth FC.

Everything about it makes sense. Stodgy fools would rather we retain our identity. Yay, perennial losers forever!

I mean, congrats on winning a Ressies flag (by playing League talents at a lower level in Yeo, Eyres, Rogers, Colledge throughout the season etc). Over it.

Consider this the thread to pitch your clubs to me going forward.

(Who am I kidding, I’m stuck with this mob…)

I hate Perth FC.

Everything about it makes sense. Stodgy fools would rather we retain our identity. Yay, perennial losers forever!

I mean, congrats on winning a Ressies flag (by playing League talents at a lower level in Yeo, Eyres, Rogers, Colledge throughout the season etc). Over it.

Consider this the thread to pitch your clubs to me going forward.

(Who am I kidding, I’m stuck with this mob…)
If this year has taught me anything, and it hasn't, it's that a terribly run club with no talent called the Demons will never eventuate to anything and you should cut and run while you still have time.

If former players didn't want to join the Beagles because we weren't trying to win, then the fears about our ability to poach the two best players from every other club are unjustified as we're only endeavouring to make up the numbers.

Why would someone like Ben Johnson want to play for the Beagles when he has just been sacked by the club? The only guy who showed up for work at the same place after being sacked is George Costanza.
Why would Jetta or Schofield stay when they can get paid more at a wafl club and play with a team wanting to win something.

Why would someone like Ben Johnson want to play for the Beagles when he has just been sacked by the club? The only guy who showed up for work at the same place after being sacked is George Costanza.
Why would Jetta or Schofield stay when they can get paid more at a wafl club and play with a team wanting to win something.

We managed to retain McInnes and Brayshaw to captain the club after they were sacked.

Mcinnes got given a job inside the club and brayshaw has no ties with a wafl club to draw him away

His dad played over a hundred games for Claremont and his granddad won a premiership with them.

And how many games did he play for Claremont or in their junior squads? Nil. so he had no pull to them whatso ever.

May as well do away with the whole father son rule, if players have no pull to the club their father played for.

So what pull would he have to Claremont seeing his dad moved in 2000 to Victoria when Hamish was under two years old and hasn't lived in the state since? Absolutely bloody nil.Its no different to Josh Kelly having a pull to East Perth because his dad played there and wont two Sandovers.

What pull did Jono Brown have to the Lions growing up in Warrnambool? What pull did Tom Hawkins have with Geelong growing up on a farm in NSW then going to a school in Toorak?

Brayshaw will be odds on to join Claremont next year if he stays in WA.

What pull did Jono Brown have to the Lions growing up in Warrnambool? What pull did Tom Hawkins have with Geelong growing up on a farm in NSW then going to a school in Toorak?

Brayshaw will be odds on to join Claremont next year if he stays in WA.
So now you want to compare the AFL to a second rate comp in the WAFL.. And perhaps his own words last year about how little father and son meant to him would suggest you would be losing that bet if you took odds on.