Toast West Coasts' Resurgence

• Thread starter Thread starter entourage

Hi all, don't mean to intrude but I'm really bored and avoiding uni study so I'm just walking around the forums.
I don't know why but I feel like congratulating you guys on your teams' comeback from last year. You were a powerful force not so long ago and quickly fell away-yet unlike most clubs didn't plan on standing around for too long. Your play this year has been amazing imo. You have a fantastic list and clearly are well-coached.

I know it's only 7 games in but it's still impressive. Woosha has just got it, don't know what it is, but he has it.
It's also great to see Kerr and Cox still going about their business as they were at the best of times. Recruiting since the premiership period has been a big plus too.

Definately the most imprved team after last year thus far.
You guys/gals must be proud.

Is there any particular reason you guys feel your playing so much better than last year?

Anyway, best of luck on the weekend and in future rounds:thumbsu:

hey

thanks for that

like you i too am avoiding uni study and what better way then to sit on the forums :)

umm i tend to believe our resurgence can be put down to the players' attitudes changing, plus a changed game plan. The players seem to have come out full of confidence this year and using last years poor season as motivation, whilst the game plan and press is working really well, catching teams by surprise and really strangling their ball movement.

Also sometimes can take a few new injections to the team to create improvement. I look at the inclusion of gaff and particularly darling, with his forward pressure really sparks the senior players as well to play in a similar manner and apply the same pressure and little things like that can go a long way to improving the overall team.

Add to that like you said the return to form and fitness of senior players like cox, kerr, embley and continued growth of priddis, hurn, rosa etc. and that is why i beleieve we have improved so greatly this year.

again, thanks and im sure i speak on behalf of all our supporters when i say we are loving being back up again playing good footy and in the mix! :thumbsu:

ps. your mob ain't going too badly either :D

I think simply put our new Chairman has threatened players and Coaching staff with the sack and possible end of their careers , subsequently players are playing accordingly . Alan Cransberg seems to have it all sorted and layed down the rules in December , so far so good but things can change :o

Whilst I don't disagree with the sentiment that the new Chairman has had a positive effect, I think that's too simplistic and doesn't give due credit to the players and football department for the turnaround. I also think a big thankyou needs to go out to Fev and St Kilda. ;)

There is a good feeling at training.

Teague was the right man to help the side. An extremely gutsy player and now a positive energy.

We have also an unsung hero, Koby Stevens who was one of the ones who set the standard at training for tackling and bravery in pre-season.

He might be a real force if he comes into the side.
If he continues getting more speed, I would hate to play on him.
He is built like a brick shithouse.

Some say, one year contracts.

But the main reason for me is, Woosh is pushing the players to improve individually.

He did that in 2002-2004, and some players who were diabolical in patches became stars.

• Significant development of the defensive zone/press
  • Tackling pressure is excellent
  • Having Daniel Kerr back in the side playing some good footy (until injured last week)
  • Embley finding the form he is capable of
  • Having Glass back in the side marshalling the defence and to a lesser extent Butler fit & healthy
  • The inclusion of Jack Darling, significant impact for a first year player
  • Improvement from our 2nd tier players i.e. Rosa, Nicoski, Scott Selwood now contributing more consitently
  • Cox up and firing and the emergence of Nic-Nat
  • Priddis' excellent form in the early part of the year

Cheers for the feedback Entourage.

I think the key to our turn arround has been the health of our players.

Last year we had an injured interupted pre-season. Our senior players missed most of the year; We lost Kerry at Round 4, and Glassy at Round 8.

Experienced players like Embley, Lynch and Nicoski were all terribley out of form.

Our most promising rookie, Luke Shuey missed a great deal of the season through injury.

Those were some big holes to fill, and clearly our youngsters weren't capable.

However this year with those 6 players back, fighting fit and in great form it has really balanced the team.

Through in the fact Sammy Butler has been able to string 5 matches together, can't remember the last time this happened.

Plus the likes of Darling and Gaff coming into the side have really boosted our stocks.

Now we find our selves in a rare position, with quite afew of our fringe players in good form at the WAFL.

I think we'll have some trade bait come October, and hopefully be able to gain some 1st and 2nd Round draft picks.

The Eagles turnaround is due to one thing. An improved mindset. Last year we played lazy undisciplined footy, we won 4 games. To many players and the coaches expected the team would naturally improve after winning 4 out of the last 5 games in 2009 and too many players and coaches thought there positions were 100% safe. With people calling for Wooshes head, he worked hard and is coaching better for it, Embley, Lynch and Niko copped alot of flak last year and rightly so now there in the best form of there career's after a hard working offseason.

Im positive Glass'o and the rest of the older guys had a real long heart to heart meeting shortly after round 22 and decided to step up and lead from the front.

No worries..that sounds about right, i forgot about all those injuries! It's good to see after your side was picked apart re:gardiner, judd, cousins etc.

Obviously Darling is the standout youngster but its good to see youve got back ups in the 2nds too, looking forward to watching Gaff get a full game as well!

I too am just working around that uni study. god anything but starting study for a 2 tests tomorrow seems more exciting right now.

isnt footy amazing?...
only a few months ago we'd never have dreamt we'd be reading a post like 'Entourages'!!?????

lets hope the bubble doesnt burst too soon. or for too long?

i'm sure the current press & tactics will be overcome, and the game will continue to evolve, but meanwhile we have other positives to carry on with - the players!!

pee ess- maybe there should be a scotty burns toast..isnt he largely responsible for the collingwood press at wce??

I agree that the inclusion of Scotty Burns and other new signings in the football department has had a big impact, particularly in changing the attitude. New Chairman Cransberg too, a no nonsense player in his day. And a no nonsense player politically at the club too I hear.
What do you think about moving Suma along?
I know the forward line seems to be working now, but after so many years of ineptitude; it's about time! And more likely to reflect the players than the forward coach. Thoughts?

I agree that the inclusion of Scotty Burns and other new signings in the football department has had a big impact, particularly in changing the attitude. New Chairman Cransberg too, a no nonsense player in his day. And a no nonsense player politically at the club too I hear.
What do you think about moving Suma along?
I know the forward line seems to be working now, but after so many years of ineptitude; it's about time! And more likely to reflect the players than the forward coach. Thoughts?

Suma coached our midfield to greatness and is now after years and years of having a shithouse forward line we are finally getting a very good one and you want to dump him there too.

Cheers for the positive feedback from a non Eagles supporter.

Apart from Freo I think the comp likes a competitive West Coast as opposed to being easy beats.

The improvement has come from many areas. Getting our best back on the park, young guys getting better, the pain of last year driving the playing group, Worsfold taking more of a hands on role, a couple of new assistants with fresh ideas, older players like Lynch and Nicoski hitting great form, half a dozen kids in the WAFL playing well, not too many serious injuries and picking up a gem in Darling.

What I find really funny is the Eastern seaboard commentators last season said the Eagles would be down and out for another 2>3 years, would be finishing last again if Gold Coast didn't and basically saying our list was total crap, our coach was not up to it and we had no direction.

Healy, Walls and Sheahan I'm talking about YOU!;)

Cheers for the positive feedback from a non Eagles supporter.

Apart from Freo I think the comp likes a competitive West Coast as opposed to being easy beats.

The improvement has come from many areas. Getting our best back on the park, young guys getting better, the pain of last year driving the playing group, Worsfold taking more of a hands on role, a couple of new assistants with fresh ideas, older players like Lynch and Nicoski hitting great form, half a dozen kids in the WAFL playing well, not too many serious injuries and picking up a gem in Darling.

What I find really funny is the Eastern seaboard commentators last season said the Eagles would be down and out for another 2>3 years, would be finishing last again if Gold Coast didn't and basically saying our list was total crap, our coach was not up to it and we had no direction.

Healy, Walls and Sheahan I'm talking about YOU!;)

and many other punters too !!!
just before the season started i was in a local expat pub,telling a local afl coach (and tigers supporter) how i thought wce would rebound this year,and watch out for shuey,darling and gaff..he and his mate (freo supporter) laughed,and wished me good luck..then said "who are darling and gaff..never heard of them?"...i see this guy tmoro for first time since then..and you know what i'll be saying to him!! :cool::rolleyes::thumbsu:

and many other punters too !!!
just before the season started i was in a local expat pub,telling a local afl coach (and tigers supporter) how i thought wce would rebound this year,and watch out for shuey,darling and gaff..he and his mate (freo supporter) laughed,and wished me good luck..then said "who are darling and gaff..never heard of them?"...i see this guy tmoro for first time since then..and you know what i'll be saying to him!! :cool::rolleyes::thumbsu:

I had that everywhere I went, when mentioning that Eagles were impressive at pre-season training.

I also mentioned Darling and Shuey and a possessed Lynch and Priddis.

Still tomorrow against Bulldogs, will be touch and go.

It will be much tougher than Dockers, much tougher.

It will be Amazing to see how much they try toooo run through our bludgeoning press.

If it works , maybe all teams will try their method.

McGinnity might stop them.