• Thread starter Thread starter BEAZER

The home and away season is over. To get some discussion going here is my
Team of the year for division one in 2010 - based on this years form

Back: Hewat (Alb) Mangan (Spot) Russo (Altona)

HB: S.Nicolaides (Heights) Mcghie (Spot) Harrison (Suns)

C: Jenkins (ST Alb) O'Keefe (Spot) Couch (Spot)

HF: Mcanulty (Colts) Wiggins (Suns) Mitchell (Hoppers)

F: Bloomfield (Alb) Keenan (Spot) Mcgregor (Colts)

Foll: Julier (Colts) Morgan (Spot) Douglas (Suns)

Int: Jose (St alb) Miles (altona) Lewis (Spot) King (WF)

The team should reflect the domination of spotswood and thus there are 7 of them in my team with the next best fielding 3 players to reflect the eveness of the rest of the competition. Great topic of debate. It was difficult to seperate the three ruckmen Jose, Julier and Mcghie, hence I have slotted him into CHB.

END OF YEAR SUMMARY for those not playing finals;

PORT COLTS - 2 points from being there in finals but found key losses to hard to cover, still Round 18 and smash fifth placed by 10 goals suggests they possibly under acheived?

HOPPERS CROSSING - 400 Injuries hurts (please), In reality they are all over the shop with too many having there own agendas and to be up there at any level, everyone needs to be working together. Goodbye to Mr Alan Ezard but that was a no win for any. BIG FOOTY this summer will be interesting with the Days of Our Lives story that is Hoppers.:D:D:D

HEIGHTS - Two wins over West Footscray, One over Glenorden. I said to GB50 at the start of the season the second year would be harder and was proven correct. As difficult as it is to recruit, you have to target A grade players and not average second divvy ones.

GLENORDEN - With massive player exodus at the start of the season they were not under scrutiny as much as they should have been. Went way backwards.

WEST FOOTSCRAY - A victim of circumstances as they should not be in divvy 1, but they had a dip and that is all you can do. The top five ressie teams would have more then likely beaten them and the previous executive are to blame (Thanks Dianne).

In a nutshell the comp continues to go backwards and these clubs no matter what the comp looks like, need to raise the bar to make it a more even competition.:thumbsu:

Fair assesment.

We certainly improved this season but just couldnt get the wins on the board. Played a heap of kids for the first time in a few years and are headed in the right direction.

It takes time to get established in Div 1. Remember that Altona will play finals footy this season for the first time in Div 1 since being promoted and they won Div 2 in 2004 (and then chose to stay down).... so 6 years later and they are amongst it.

Also agree on the last paragraph. The issue at the moment for both Us and Orden is that there is no certainty on what division teams will be playing in. If the league would abandon the change of divisions for 2011 (and look at it for 2012) then we could get started on locking in some recruits. As it stands the league have left us just sitting and waiting.

Fair assesment.

We certainly improved this season but just couldnt get the wins on the board. Played a heap of kids for the first time in a few years and are headed in the right direction.

It takes time to get established in Div 1. Remember that Altona will play finals footy this season for the first time in Div 1 since being promoted and they won Div 2 in 2004 (and then chose to stay down).... so 6 years later and they are amongst it.

Also agree on the last paragraph. The issue at the moment for both Us and Orden is that there is no certainty on what division teams will be playing in. If the league would abandon the change of divisions for 2011 (and look at it for 2012) then we could get started on locking in some recruits. As it stands the league have left us just sitting and waiting.

Hope you took my comments non offensive, but a couple of players with quality will help, i.e. Altona with Miles, Russo, Uhi stck with the kids and find a few to help them be good players:thumbsu:

PORT COLTS - 2 points from being there in finals but found key losses to hard to cover, still Round 18 and smash fifth placed by 10 goals suggests they possibly under acheived?

HOPPERS CROSSING - 400 Injuries hurts (please), In reality they are all over the shop with too many having there own agendas and to be up there at any level, everyone needs to be working together. Goodbye to Mr Alan Ezard but that was a no win for any. BIG FOOTY this summer will be interesting with the Days of Our Lives story that is Hoppers.:D:D:D

HEIGHTS - Two wins over West Footscray, One over Glenorden. I said to GB50 at the start of the season the second year would be harder and was proven correct. As difficult as it is to recruit, you have to target A grade players and not average second divvy ones.

GLENORDEN - With massive player exodus at the start of the season they were not under scrutiny as much as they should have been. Went way backwards.

WEST FOOTSCRAY - A victim of circumstances as they should not be in divvy 1, but they had a dip and that is all you can do. The top five ressie teams would have more then likely beaten them and the previous executive are to blame (Thanks Dianne).

In a nutshell the comp continues to go backwards and these clubs no matter what the comp looks like, need to raise the bar to make it a more even competition.:thumbsu:
Abit harsh on West we would have beaten reserves teams calm down mate calm down

The team should reflect the domination of spotswood and thus there are 7 of them in my team with the next best fielding 3 players to reflect the eveness of the rest of the competition. Great topic of debate. It was difficult to seperate the three ruckmen Jose, Julier and Mcghie, hence I have slotted him into CHB.

I can tell you from first hand experience that McGhie is well and truly on top here and has been the most dominant ruckman in the competition this year!
He would start first ruck for any team in the comp... which should include team of the year!

I didn't make it past CHB.....Mcghie is clearly the best ruckman in the comp mate.

I never said he wasn't the best ruckmen in the comp. My reasoning was that all three Jose, Julier and Mcghie have had standout years and deserve to be in the side. I think that there is a lack of dominant CHB's in the competition and I wouldn't mind Mcghie back there marshalling the troops. It could work easily as well with Mcghie in first ruck, Julier on the bench and Jose at CHB as Jose would provide more run off that position than Julier.

I think that the best player would be Torren Bonnett back there... although played more in the midfield this year he is one of the best backmen in the league

cokeefe19 what were your thoughts on your captains behaviour on the weekends game:confused:.

just curious to get the assistant coaches thought's on 2 seperate incidents that caught the eye of many supporters from both Spotty and Hoppers and let me tell you the apraisle was not very kind from his own teams supporters.

I attended the so called "match of the round" which I must say was not a specticle in any way and saw Spotswoods captain refuse to shake the hand of Hoppers captain at the coin toss and then to cap that off after the game a young player from Hoppers put his hand out to shake, he then shrugged it off and walked away from any Hoppers players to stand by himself for 5 min's until the rest of the 2 teams shook hands.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

From where I stood it was actually quite embarrasing.

cokeefe19 what were your thoughts on your captains behaviour on the weekends game:confused:.

just curious to get the assistant coaches thought's on 2 seperate incidents that caught the eye of many supporters from both Spotty and Hoppers and let me tell you the apraisle was not very kind from his own teams supporters.

I attended the so called "match of the round" which I must say was not a specticle in any way and saw Spotswoods captain refuse to shake the hand of Hoppers captain at the coin toss and then to cap that off after the game a young player from Hoppers put his hand out to shake, he then shrugged it off and walked away from any Hoppers players to stand by himself for 5 min's until the rest of the 2 teams shook hands.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

after all that happened last year i wouldnt have been shaking hands either.

I can honestly say that I didn't see either incident, I may have missed the toss of the coin whilst ducking inside the hoppers social rooms to watch the 5th at Caulfield....

After the game I also didn't notice anything. There didn't seem to be any spite or incidents during the game that would lead to this happening so not sure if all hands weren't shaken.

Will have to look into it for you!

quote]

What do we think?

Back: Stott (St Alb) Mangan (Spot) Russo (Altona)

HB: Hewat (Alb) Bonnett (Port) Harrison (Suns)

C: Miles (altona) O'Keefe (Spot) Couch (Spot)

HF: Craig (St Alb) Wiggins (Suns) Mitchell (Hoppers)

Foll: Mcghie (Spot) Douglas (Suns) Jenkins (ST Alb)

Int: King (West) Jose (St alb) Lewis (Spot) Morgan (Spot)

Stott has only been named in st albans best twice and craig three times, that is hardly worthy of a spot in the team of the year. I'm guessing your from St.albans. The times I saw colts play mcanulty absolutely dominated and should easily be in the team on a HFF ahead of craig.

saw morgan got BOG on Sat
2 people have named him in TOY
is he really rated that high?

You might end up in Div 1 again if the vote goes against an 8 team comp for next year (as it should) and Deer Park win the Div 2 flag :thumbsd:
I dont think that would be good for the comp but in saying that i would be more than happy to stay Div 1 but as a club we need to go back down get the fans back

saw morgan got BOG on Sat
2 people have named him in TOY
is he really rated that high?

been a top player for a number of years,hard to get noticed in such a strong team.good to see him get some recognition at last amongst the keen observers that post on here,hope the league see it the same way.:thumbsu:

I agree, though was not the case. Poor carachter shown:thumbsd:.

If it had anything to do with 'FibberGate' last year, and he is opposed to such things, then good on him by standing by what he believes in. That debacle last year is a whole lot different to having a scuffle on the ground and then having a beer later on. Having said that, it may have nothing to do with last year. Give the club a ring and ask him. I reckon he'd be 'man enough' to tell you why.

you obviously sit home and play with yaself a fair bit mate if yu reckon the top 5 sides of the div 2's comp wud beat west. West would beat anyone of these teams by 10 goals plus

Think you will find if you read carefully, the quote was the top 5 RESERVE sides in DIV1 would beat West. After watching the West game on saturday, i don't think it's too much off the mark. In saying that, i also watched the Deer Park V Yarraville game (4th V 5th) on sunday and if you think West would beat them by 10 goals then i think you may get a bit of a shock. This isn't a post to knock West. As i said to their 2s coach on sat, other sides in their position could have just as easily started to play dirty towards the end of the season, but they weren't known for it and just did their best and had a beer afterwards. A credit to them. Be a realist champ. As TTR said, "a victim of circumstances." Also as GBF50 said "you may still be in Div 1." What you and your club should be doing is organise a meeting with the powers at the league and put forward your case that no matter what is put in place by the league next year, West Footscray want to be in Div 2. Would be such a shame to see a club with so much proud history go the same way as the Newport's, and Central Altona's. One last thing, serve real hotdogs.:thumbsu::D

Stott has only been named in st albans best twice and craig three times, that is hardly worthy of a spot in the team of the year. I'm guessing your from St.albans. The times I saw colts play mcanulty absolutely dominated and should easily be in the team on a HFF ahead of craig.

I don't believe being placed in the best has anything to do with being in the side of the year. If that was the case then West and Glenordan would have 5 players each in the side and Juiler would e numbe one ruck man.

In regards to craig I am just going on the small forward who kicked the most goals. Jenkins for St albans has but he is a mid fielder. Next best is craig therefore gets the spot.

With Stott he is a favourite as I saw him when he played at the club years ago. The only forwards who have kicked bags agaisnt st albans was bloomfield and wiggins and he didn't play on them. The leading goal kicker in the comp only kick 3.

In saying all this, I support st albans and it is only my opinion