What Now

• Thread starter Thread starter Daphne

Daphne

Once before I posted a topic in here that I suggested that my head said dont do it, but my heart said stuff it I am going to do it anyway, so here goes.
Sure the Kangas are fair game at the moment, because a lot has been written about us over the past few weeks. This also means that other teams have been left alone, no one knows what is going to happen to their teams this year, some need to have a good year to survive in the future, others can just go on the way they have been and will still survive. But what you have to remember is that the heartbeat of all supporters beats just as loudly as yours, wheather they are at the bottom of the ladder or at the top, wheather they are in financial trouble or not. Everyone has some crap that they want to say about another club, and as Joffa pointed out to me yesterday that is what football is all about. But if one team goes down in Vic, it doesnt matter who it is, things will be different and it wont be long before something else happens and another club only has to fall in a hole for a year or two and the same thing will happen. Sure the Kanga suppoters in here get upset with what is written about our club,as you would if it was said about your club, but we all know we will survive somehow, someway.
Now you can all come in here and pick the crap out of what I have said, I expect that but dont tell us that we dont matter, the members that we have the players that we have will make sure that we do matter, and I am sure that you will find that out by the end of the season, and yes we will be here at the end of the season.

[This message has been edited by Daphne (edited 07 March 2001).]

Daphne, very brave post, I am sure they will all shoot you down, but I applaud you.
smile.gif
I said something similar in a post last night, something along the lines of: You can laugh at the ones who are in the most financial strife at the moment, but you might wake up the next day and discover it's YOUR club next. And it's absolutely true, I don't think any Victorian club is safe (well maybe a couple of the bigger ones, but nothing is certain). They'll find something else to amuse their tiny minds soon enough.
biggrin.gif

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

This isn't an issue for every supporter simply because it could be their team - this is an issue because it affects the game itself. The mere suggestion that we could lose another club like Fitzroy makes me sick. Is this what the game has been reduced to?

I've said it on other posts and dammit I'll say it again. Footy isn't about making the most money, it's about playing the game as well as one can play it. Things like the salary cap should be based upon the teams with the smallest budgets, not the "norm" (ie. Essendon, Carlton, West Coast). Until supporter catchments are equivalent nationwide, budgets will and should be dictated by the poor. This is because playing footy is not about making money - and as Dan would say - "anybody who disagrees is just plain wrong".

Bravo Daphne great post, kinda know what the kangas are going thru' we Hawks almost lost our club in 1996.
I truly hope for all our sakes the Roos not only survive but thrive.

Remember "No man is an island......
When we lost Fitzroy it certainly diminished me, so i hear the bells toll again not just for the Roos but for us all.
C'mon the Roos.

A very good post daphne like i said in a previous post but for some strange reason got rediculed maybe cause im a collingwood supporter i dont know but here goes.

There are a lot of arseholes on this board excluding yourself daphne we have people who think they know it all about football but reading their postings you get the idea they know sweet bugger all.

We have the idiots that could not laugh in a circus because in all communities you have your pathetic do gooders you know people who think that there a bit better than every one else and dont mind saying so.

And there are those who lets say have knocked around a bit they love a joke and a good old shit stir the loners and the backward ones hate these sort of people cause its sometrhing they aspire to be like but can never be.

I gave 5 bucks to the north melb footy club on sat night its not a lot of money shit it's two pots in some places and half way to a pack of ciggies but i am sorry for north's troubles,a well known dickhead said on here yesterday 'well they have to look after themselves'or words to that effect i say true
but that is a selfish and a negative comment.

I love all other PASSIONATE afl supporters like i said in the heat of the battle i hate the bloody lot of them and i mean HATE!!
I havn't got time for the fringe supporter you know the type, the one who bloody craps on how much he loves his club but has never been a member or in any way financially contributes to his club or even worse never goes to see them play and believe you me there a re heaps of fringe supporters.

I wish your club daphne all the best i dont want to see north melbourne fold or dissapear or what ever term you want to use
it would be sad to see another club go just as i was sad to see fitzroy go.I went to the last fitzroy game at the MCG and i cried with all those fitzroy supporters.

I say to all you north melbourne supporters get behind your club like you have never done before if you love your club this is the time to show it your wasteing time answering all the dickheads on here who want to see your club fold.

And if it comes to the crunch somewhere in the near future i will be out there with the rest of yous rattling the tins in my collingwood gear of course.

And i suggest to all you other people ring the bloody north melbourne footy club or send them a donation it would be heartbreaking to lose another victorian club
we must all rally together to make sure this club does survive full stop.
you have my support daphne,darky and shinners
if you have any raffle tickets you want sold or if you need any help at all you all have my email and i know a few of my collingwood buddies would only be to pleased to help
joffa

------------------
There is nothing in life greater,than to be a supporter or our beloved collingwood football club,we must remain united,we must stand tall,we must be prepared to fight for our glorious black and white,for we are THE ENVY OF ALL NATIONS.

Originally posted by magpie_joffa:
A very good post daphne like i said in a previous post but for some strange reason got rediculed maybe cause im a collingwood supporter i dont know but here goes.

There are a lot of arseholes on this board excluding yourself daphne we have people who think they know it all about football but reading their postings you get the idea they know sweet bugger all.

We have the idiots that could not laugh in a circus because in all communities you have your pathetic do gooders you know people who think that there a bit better than every one else and dont mind saying so.

And there are those who lets say have knocked around a bit they love a joke and a good old shit stir the loners and the backward ones hate these sort of people cause its sometrhing they aspire to be like but can never be.

I gave 5 bucks to the north melb footy club on sat night its not a lot of money shit it's two pots in some places and half way to a pack of ciggies but i am sorry for north's troubles,a well known dickhead said on here yesterday 'well they have to look after themselves'or words to that effect i say true
but that is a selfish and a negative comment.

I love all other PASSIONATE afl supporters like i said in the heat of the battle i hate the bloody lot of them and i mean HATE!!
I havn't got time for the fringe supporter you know the type, the one who bloody craps on how much he loves his club but has never been a member or in any way financially contributes to his club or even worse never goes to see them play and believe you me there a re heaps of fringe supporters.

I wish your club daphne all the best i dont want to see north melbourne fold or dissapear or what ever term you want to use
it would be sad to see another club go just as i was sad to see fitzroy go.I went to the last fitzroy game at the MCG and i cried with all those fitzroy supporters.

I say to all you north melbourne supporters get behind your club like you have never done before if you love your club this is the time to show it your wasteing time answering all the dickheads on here who want to see your club fold.

And if it comes to the crunch somewhere in the near future i will be out there with the rest of yous rattling the tins in my collingwood gear of course.

And i suggest to all you other people ring the bloody north melbourne footy club or send them a donation it would be heartbreaking to lose another victorian club
we must all rally together to make sure this club does survive full stop.
you have my support daphne,darky and shinners
if you have any raffle tickets you want sold or if you need any help at all you all have my email and i know a few of my collingwood buddies would only be to pleased to help
joffa

That was straight from the heart joffa well done mate i sometimes think we misunderstand collingwood supporters.

Thanks Joffa, can you imagine how great that would be other supporters in their club colours shaking their tins for our club. We had better stop all this holding hands stuff though, next thing you will see us all singing that song, Thats what friends are for lol. But it is still ok though i just had a reality check and I still hate your team.
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

P.S. When did you want me to send you the video of last Sat game
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

It's strange hey shinners this is a real football topic and no one responds.Yet when we shit stir and have a joke we are accused of being detrimental to the game.

May 13 round 7
colonial seeya there ok and you to daphne!!

------------------
There is nothing in life greater,than to be a supporter or our beloved collingwood football club,we must remain united,we must stand tall,we must be prepared to fight for our glorious black and white,for we are THE ENVY OF ALL NATIONS.

Joffa
I think you will find people aren't responding, because this topic has been done to death & people get sick of repeating themselves.
Shinners & other Roos know that I am right behind the Roos to help them out.
Hopefully with the way peoples emotions are running, it might help to stop the demise of the Roos.

------------------
mantis

As Much as i hate north when we play them, I would never like to see them fold or merger whatsoever.

I dont know what i would be like if Collingwood in the same place as them and never wanna find out either.

We all know the afl wont help out with saving north but they will relocate them to Sydney with some cash coz they are a Scummy Orangiastion.

I for 1 would be behind the North Melbourne Footy Club to never fold and would do everything I could do possible to help save them in my pies gear of course.

When Fitzroy died I was pretty pissed off back in 96 cause it was very sad and I didnt like the way the Afl let Fitzroy die.

Shinners, Darky and Daphne u are true supporters of your club thats y I like ur passion so much.

Mags

in all seriousness i hope north stay in the afl as a stand alone club, or that being
impossible i hope they enter the vfl and preserve their own club and colours, etc.
although the afl seems to be making it hard for vfl clubs to do that these days.

i read a rumour that carey was still being paid his full salary throughout the
financial crisis last season whilst other roos went unpaid. if that's true he's an
even bigger prick than i suspected. i know he was about to get married but i'm
sure he could have got by without all his wages. he should be the first one to try
to give back to his club and his team mates or else north should drop him and his
bloated salary first!

i'm confident north will be ok and this crisis has been exaggerated by opposition
supporters (me included). this sounds like the same shit that was being talked
about five or six other clubs throughout the 90s and only one of them went down.

i read a rumour that carey was still being paid his full salary throughout the
financial crisis last season whilst other roos went unpaid. if that's true he's an
even bigger prick than i suspected.

I liked it till I got to this part, people make up rumors about this guy to make him out to be a prick. Do you realise that most of his money comes from his sponsors, and yeah sure he is our highest paid player, but he is our best player. He buys his membership for the club every year, I am not sure that other players do this. if it was not for Wayne Carey I think our club may not have survived this far. I could tell you the things that Carey does for the club but then you wouldn't boo him next he plays your team, and we really think he finds something extra depending how loud the boos.
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

My 20 Lira...

I too believe that the culture of Melbourne's football should be preserved, and I think it would be a shame if North went to the wall... HOWEVER...

There is also a bigger picture of spreading the game, involving places that have never had an AFL team to support in the first place. That this necessarily has to come at the expense of another club is debateable (and I would like to think that it isn't necessary, but apparently it is....)

Anyway, back to the point I was going to make... I said it would be a shame to see another Melbourne club disappear, but what North have been doing is to remove themselves from Melbourne's football culture... by distancing themselves from the name "North Melbourne", by playing home games in other states... its admirable that they are trying these things, but you can't have it both ways. You can't claim to be "Australia's team" when it suits you, then tug on the Melbournian heart-strings to stay afloat. I think they need to decide for themselves which way they want to go... remain a traditional Melbourne club, or be "Australia's team". If they choose the latter, which they seem to have, my sympathy for them is somewhat limited.

I have a feeling I am reiterating something someone else posted in a different thread, but unfortunately, I cannot generate the feeling for the Kangaroos that I could for other Victorian clubs, because they (the Kangas) already seem to have distanced themselves from Melbourne somewhat.

And it is the unique culture in Melbourne, not any one club, that I would like to see survive.

Just my opinion, hope noone took any offence to it.

Cheers,
Sbagman.

------------------
Life has meaning only in the struggle.

Well said Daphne,

We will survive because of supporters like you. They have been saying we would fold ever since I can remember and we have always pulled through.

this is not meant to be insulting but the reason so many people dont like north is because of carey, everyone seems to hate him, i dont know why, personally i dont like him either, but i do respect him, he just seems a bit arrogant, aloof and slightly condescending, the majority of people began hating him when he was about 22 i think, in a year that he was particularly nasty to the umpires and oppostion, and was supsended quite a bit, hes attitude got up peoples noses

it may be simple jelousy but almost everyone who doesnt support north will say they hate carey. As much as he the lifeblood of north he is its achillies,

I beleive when he leaves memberships will go up :P

As we all know, giving money to the poor extends the poverty cycle. If I could see that giving money to North Melbourne would increase the likelihood of them staying afloat by themselves in Melbourne, then I would give what I could.

But what would giving money now, or even buying a membership (as a supporter of another club) really achieve? It would help them out in their immediate situation, sure, but would we be seeing this horrible situation rear its ugly head again next year, or the year after that?

North Melbourne need a long term solution to this problem. I hate the idea, but maybe moving is the only option. Unless more teams were started up in areas where teams have the monopoly of supporters (ie. interstate). Why don't we instead help in lobbying the AFL to stop allowing the rich teams to call the shots regarding the salary caps?

The answer ?

Sack the AFL and start again.

North are in the top 150 footabll clubs in the world in terms of crowd figures. Are they saying all but 150 of all the professional football clubs in the world should be disbanded ? No

It's just poor management on behalf of the AFL

Originally posted by ah_19:

I beleive when he leaves memberships will go up :P

This is ridiculous. I can't think of a North supporter who doesn't think Carey is the greatest player to have played the game in the modern era (if not of all time).

Originally posted by McKenna for PM:
As we all know, giving money to the poor extends the poverty cycle. If I could see that giving money to North Melbourne would increase the likelihood of them staying afloat by themselves in Melbourne, then I would give what I could.

Well, I certainly won't be voting for you for PM.
smile.gif

But, really. How can the word "poor" ever be used to describe any A.F.L. club?

Spare me the cheap melodrama.

If the dickheads who run this club ... with all their sponsorship dollars, all their devoted and altruistic supporters, all the free publicity they get constantly in the mass media, all their on-going history/tradition/rah-rah-rah are not capable of making ends meet ... then f*ck them.

I certainly won't be lifting a finger to help them. What has the Kangaroos Football Club ever done for me? They wouldn't piss on me if I was on fire. If I barracked for them, I'd buy a membership ... as you do if you barrack for a club. But I don't barrack for them and I couldn't give a toss what happens to them.

OK. So you might well ask how would I feel if it was Collingwood that was in trouble financially. OK. I'll tell you.

I'm a Collingwood member and I pay dearly for the privilege. But if my Club can't make ends meet with all the money (including mine) that passes through their coffers ... then f*ck them too. They can rot.

Just like the Kangaroos can rot for all I care.

It's certainly not my mission in life to try to save all the insolvent corporate entities of this world.

------------------
**floreat pica**

We have been in financial trouble a couple of times before Alf i think our worst time was in the mid 80's when the banks were banging on the door and it wasn't a nice feeling i can tell ya.My sympathy goes to the supporter of the north melb footy club just like us the real north supporter loves his club as much as we love ours.The supporters are not to blame Alf they just wanna see there club each week that is the point im trying to make my offer of help was directed at the north supporter.The supporter should not be held accountable for the financial failings of his or her's club.
Although i would suggest to all north supporters to get a membership or donate what ever you can.I can tell ya when speculation is rife on wether or not your club is goin to be around much longer is the most gut wrenching feelings one can imagine.
And just like last time i'd like to think that if we were ever again in the same situation as north we to would have the support of other supporters.Which brings me onto another idea maybe supporters of all clubs should form some sort of group just to let the powers to be know that as a group we are sick with a lot of shit thats goin down in our wonderful game.what do yous reckon!!

------------------

Originally posted by AlfAndrews:

It's certainly not my mission in life to try to save all the insolvent corporate entities of this world.

You are likening a football club to a corporate entity. That is incorrect. A corporate entity is an organisation existing to exploit a resource for the sole purpose of making money. In stark contrast, a football team is an organisation existing to play football.

Your statements demonstrate to us that you are not a true supporter of your team, much less of Aussie Rules Football. For that reason, we cannot hope for you to understand the true problem.

YOUR'E TALKIN SHIT MACKA!!!!!!

------------------
http://www.mp3.com/joffa