What The Blues Need

tucky_16

Draftee
May 17, 2004
Brisbane
CARLTON BLUES
I think in order for the blues to have a successful next few seasons they need the addition of some good, mobile, big men.

carlton is lacking multiple tall players that can play centre half forward and someone to play a match up role on opposition key forwards, whether these players are traded or gained in the draft these sorts of players are vital.

also a strong leader like craig bradley and silvagni provided to the squad (not saying kouta isnt but he is always injured and camper doesnt possess the star leadership qualities!)

Please post your thoughts.

Originally posted by tucky_16
I think in order for the blues to have a successful next few seasons they need the addition of some good, mobile, big men.

carlton is lacking multiple tall players that can play centre half forward and someone to play a match up role on opposition key forwards, whether these players are traded or gained in the draft these sorts of players are vital.

also a strong leader like craig bradley and silvagni provided to the squad (not saying kouta isnt but he is always injured and camper doesnt possess the star leadership qualities!)

Please post your thoughts.

Im still wondering if this would have been a good deal for last years trade:

offlode our 2nd pick in the national draft to the bombers for Jacobs (traded to hawthorn for pick 6) and mark bolton (almost traded) and maybe someone else maybe mcgrath if they really wanted him, then we traded matty allan and/or murphey to spice the deal up.

imaging if we had these 2 guys into our list. suddenly we have enough talls to fill all the key position spots, and our backline would have consisted of:

Bowyer Thornton Lappin

Teague Bolton Jacobs

(With players like livingstone, morrel, norman etc being able to fill in if necessary).

So in other words i agree, we desperately need some height and maturity into our defence, as well as a quality ruckman which i know is hard to get.

Re: Re: What The Blues Need

Originally posted by BlueBoy83
Im still wondering if this would have been a good deal for last years trade:

offlode our 2nd pick in the national draft to the bombers for Jacobs (traded to hawthorn for pick 6) and mark bolton (almost traded) and maybe someone else maybe mcgrath if they really wanted him, then we traded matty allan and/or murphey to spice the deal up.

imaging if we had these 2 guys into our list. suddenly we have enough talls to fill all the key position spots, and our backline would have consisted of:

Bowyer Thornton Lappin

Teague Bolton Jacobs

(With players like livingstone, morrel, norman etc being able to fill in if necessary).

So in other words i agree, we desperately need some height and maturity into our defence, as well as a quality ruckman which i know is hard to get.

We have plenty of strong leaders in the form of Lappin, Koutafidies, Whitnall (through his smarts), Stevens, Campo (make no mistake he runs hard all day to the point where you see him stuffed at the end, his lack of effective running is due to down confidence, which was evident when he was chaired off) and Harford (I assume he does have plenty to contribute to the playing group from his formative years).

I'm sure there's a couple of others I haven't thought of.

As for the suggestion of dumping Walker - he showed in one game how good he will be. He might not have shined as much since but he has still been better than any other top 10 pick (Tenace excepted because he's fallen into a team that suits his playing style). Jacobs is a good flanker and despite Sheedy's many attempts, Bolton is not KPP (at least not at the moment).

So in summary, you're both a little off track.

No, what we need is CONFIDENCE.

Confidence in our own abilities, and confidence that we can look at a team and say that "we can beat them" no matter how talented they are. We have shown what we are capable with it - that win against West Coast, the 10 goal final quarter against Brisbane (and no, they didn't take the foot off the pedal) and the comeback win against our old enemy in Collingwood.

In direct contrast, see the team that lost against St. Kilda. No confidence in winning at all, we basically conceeded the match beofre it began because the player mindsets had no hope of being close. This in turn resulted in how **** we played. The mind is a wonderful thing - if you are not as talented or as skillful as the rest then you must be mentally strong. Disclipine, spirit and comittment are the key words - if you use them, then sometimes talent can be overcome due to sheer willpower. This is what we are lacking - the willpower and the confidence to win games.

Even when playing bad, you still should think that you're always a chance. Otherwise, what's the point playing?

Originally posted by Thrawn

Confidence in our own abilities, and confidence that we can look at a team and say that "we can beat them" no matter how talented they are. We have shown what we are capable with it - that win against West Coast, the 10 goal final quarter against Brisbane (and no, they didn't take the foot off the pedal) and the comeback win against our old enemy in Collingwood.

In direct contrast, see the team that lost against St. Kilda. No confidence in winning at all, we basically conceeded the match beofre it began because the player mindsets had no hope of being close. This in turn resulted in how **** we played. The mind is a wonderful thing - if you are not as talented or as skillful as the rest then you must be mentally strong. Disclipine, spirit and comittment are the key words - if you use them, then sometimes talent can be overcome due to sheer willpower. This is what we are lacking - the willpower and the confidence to win games.

Even when playing bad, you still should think that you're always a chance. Otherwise, what's the point playing?

If your looking at lack of confidence have a look at ryan houlihan ...

a silky skilled player who never seems to fumble, has ever since the bulldogs game been fumbling and turning the ball over numerous times ....

exactly right what pagan said that footies played 90% above the head .... so i think if we can inject confidence back into the group adn get a real belief we can win, everythign will take care of itself

how does everyone feel about the crap lance is getting, this can't be good for his confidence!!

What we need is a coach theat can inspire greatness in players, pagan can not. Why would he bring in bradley to take a coaching session today. Considering pagan publicly stated that the reason he did not want bradley as an assistant was because he wanted to start a new era, seems as though he is reverting back to the tried and true, in the form of a favourite son.

if bradley is able to inspire these players more then the coach, then we have the wrong man.

Originally posted by godsmack
What we need is a coach theat can inspire greatness in players, pagan can not. Why would he bring in bradley to take a coaching session today. Considering pagan publicly stated that the reason he did not want bradley as an assistant was because he wanted to start a new era, seems as though he is reverting back to the tried and true, in the form of a favourite son.

if bradley is able to inspire these players more then the coach, then we have the wrong man.

Every club uses respected past players to inspire their players. Pagan has only personally known the group for only two years, so inspiration is harder to come by. Which is why your club captain, past champions, and your team mates must provide inspiration with actions or words.

You could have the most inspirational coach in the world with the best team and the best gameplan ever. But if the players have little to no confidence - then all of it is worthless no matter how good your coach is and no matter how good your players are.

Just looks to be another subtle dig at Pagan on your part.

exactly right what pagan said that footies played 90% above the head .... so i think if we can inject confidence back into the group adn get a real belief we can win, everythign will take care of itself

No, the "she'll be right" method will only make it worse.

After confidence is gained, you then look at your team's weakness aside from mentality. What you need to ask yourself is "how can we make this team better than they already are?" We need a ruckman for one, and also a strong, tall, CHB marking machine as well as a couple of strong in and under midfield types.

Then some addition to depth - a FF/CHF type, a FB and some small defenders.

Every club uses respected past players to inspire their players. Pagan has only personally known the group for only two years, so inspiration is harder to come by. Which is why your club captain, past champions, and your team mates must provide inspiration with actions or words.

You could have the most inspirational coach in the world with the best team and the best gameplan ever. But if the players have little to no confidence - then all of it is worthless no matter how good your coach is and no matter how good your players are.

Just looks to be another subtle dig at Pagan on your part.

you are completley right, but it is the coaches job to inspire confidence in the players. And as for saying that pagan has only known the players for 2 years, well most of the players in our team are new, so bradley wouldn't have even known them for 1...........

tell me what is the job of a coach, and is pagan doing that??

you are completley right, but it is the coaches job to inspire confidence in the players. And as for saying that pagan has only known the players for 2 years, well most of the players in our team are new, so bradley wouldn't have even known them for 1...........

tell me what is the job of a coach, and is pagan doing that??

Pagan is doing his job, it's just the players are so down on confidence it's hard to respond. Three years for some of them of these poor performances on-field and they're waving the white flag... it's fair enough.

Bradley doesn't know all the playing group, but he does know some. The enthusiasm he generates in those players I'm sure would prove to be infectious.

Yawns loudly......

No, the "she'll be right" method will only make it worse.

After confidence is gained, you then look at your team's weakness aside from mentality. What you need to ask yourself is "how can we make this team better than they already are?" We need a ruckman for one, and also a strong, tall, CHB marking machine as well as a couple of strong in and under midfield types.

Then some addition to depth - a FF/CHF type, a FB and some small defenders.

You misred what i said mate .... i said that we are not playing to our potential in some games this year, which is true because some players, ie ryan houlihan and fevola for eg's are low in confidence. houlihan is fumbling everything. our team on paper has a lot of ability, and atm some players are struggling.

obviously we need more depth, ive never said we have a good enough list to do nothing at the end of the year. ive stated many times what we need most is a tom harley chb type. kouta was meant to be the man but he's been injured all year .... arrrrr

what i want from this years trade is a mature chb (any ideas??), a young ruckman (ottens is out of contract, symonds from freo maybe), and a midfielder (a young midfielder, llike a luke ball, we oculd use our first round pick and a player for him). as well as some more quality picks in the draft.

As you can tell i have a long plan of what carlton should do ... but make no mistake for teams to play well no matter the list they need confidence in their ability as well. Melbourne is the best example of this. When their confident they are awesome. As we saw in rd one, with little confidence and drive they are very very average. so footy is played largely above the shoulders.

Sorry Jimmae, but Camporeale and Whitnall have SFA leadership abilities. They would be demonstrating them on-field if they did and they don't. We're going down, they should be talking, encouraging the boys and they're not. They are show-ponies. Is it little wonder that Stevens has just had enough of this and is addressing the team at the huddles? This should be the captain's job and Camporeale is just not doing that and neither is Whitnall.

That is poor leadership.

What The Blues Need