Whats Andrew McLeods Problem?

• Thread starter Thread starter - PC -

Stiffy_18 said:
I am pretty sure it was a 3 year deal. The only big name player that signed a 2 year deal is Hart. The club has a policy not to signs up players to contracts that take then beyond 30 years of age.

Patfull is an interesting one. I have seen some games where he has been superb and have seen some games where he has been very average. Has a huge leap and is not a bad mark. However, I think he is too short for a KP. He is more like Welsh but not as talented. At his best he is excellent. At his worst he is very ordinary. The problem is that there is too big a gap between his good games and his bad games. Another worry is that he doesn't produce his best often enough. He is a goal kicker and kicked 100+ goals in a season at U17.

Rookie List at best IMHO.

Cheers.

Stiffy_18 said:
He signed up at the end of last year for 3 years. I think he qualifies for veteran's list next year.

That's how I recall it too Stiffy. A 3 year contract with 2004 being the first year. Word has it that it was for $550k per annum, and for that money we're entitled to the Macca before mid 2003 not the one we got after mid 2003.

He definitely qualifies for the veterans list in 2005 - meeting the requirements of turning 30 in that year and having played at least 10 seasons with the one club.

Re: I can't believe some of the things being written here....

Mad Dog said:
I you read what I said carefully.....it said he had good years in '97 and '98....but his REPUTATION as a star is PREDOMINANTLY built on the 2 GF performances.

Reputation as a BIG game player, yes, but not as a star.

I think his list of achievements speak for themself, hardly a 2 or 3 game wonder.

He won't go down as an ALL TIME great, in the league of a Voss, Buckley or Hird, (contemporaries to which he was often spoken compared and analysed with) but a star nonetheless and certainly better than just a very good player.

Mad Dog said:
That's fine - and I hope we do see the old Andy.......but if we do - it doesn't say a lot about his character and pride in himself as a footballer, and commitment to his mates over the last few years IMO.

Exactly. Surely, if we are being honest with ourselves, how can this be ignored. If you don't get along with the coach, you still put in the hard yards to support your teammates.

Stiffy_18 said:
I am pretty sure it was a 3 year deal. The only big name player that signed a 2 year deal is Hart. The club has a policy not to signs up players to contracts that take then beyond 30 years of age.

Patfull is an interesting one. I have seen some games where he has been superb and have seen some games where he has been very average. Has a huge leap and is not a bad mark. However, I think he is too short for a KP. He is more like Welsh but not as talented. At his best he is excellent. At his worst he is very ordinary. The problem is that there is too big a gap between his good games and his bad games. Another worry is that he doesn't produce his best often enough. He is a goal kicker and kicked 100+ goals in a season at U17.

Rookie List at best IMHO.

Im a Norwood supporter and have seen lots of Patfull. When played up forward he is very inconsistent. Plays better at half Forward than Full Forward. But when Macca moved him to Centre Half Back he was great.

Like a lot of players plays his best football in the back half. With Scotty Bassett back at the Legs next year Patfull will play a lot more down back as I see Bass filling the role up forward

Well at least Macca has presented himself back to training in great shape, which would suggest he is motivated mentally to have a great year. It will make heck of a difference to our team with the Macca of old & a fit Goody to assist out Roo & Edwards in the midfield.

Fred Phillis said:
my two cents worth:
make him tag the opposition's best midfielder every week, tell him to lay two tackles a quarter...
Bloody expensive tagger Fred ;)

Stiffy_18 said:
:D

@ $550K a year you would want him to be a match winner not a tagger and a bloody expensive one at that.

Exactly. He's paid the money of a champion mid-fielder, and nothing less is good enough for that sort of money.

Just on a different note, Stiffy, how would you like a date with Miss Australian Idol - Casey Donovan?? Yes??? :cool: :p

Stiffy_18 said:
:D

@ $550K a year you would want him to be a match winner not a tagger and a bloody expensive one at that.

so what else do you do with him?
@$550k he's bloody well failed beautifully as a match winner!

Someone earlier has quoted his stats for the last 2 yrs at 21 per game. They would have to be the softest 21 going around.

I hate Dermott Brereton but one thing that overpaid egomaniac got right this year was his observation of McLeod continuously "fair dinkum bludging" on the boundary side of throw-ins (in the defensive 50 in the instances I can recall).

McLeod is nothing more than a good player anymore. That's the important part, who cares why?

I have steered clear of this thread because I thought it would be a Macca bashing exersize and it is.

Maccas a champion, no doubt about it. 2 Norm Smiths (both deserved IMO), 1 Tuck medal, runner up in the Brownlow (when he should have won it over Clackermanis), 2 time club champion, all aussie several times and clearly the most skillful player we have. My missus even fancies the dude, but I will let him off on that one.

Ive already got $ on him winning the 05 Brownlow, I'm a beleiver, the real Macca's back in 05.

Crowked said:
I have steered clear of this thread because I thought it would be a Macca bashing exersize and it is.

Maccas a champion, no doubt about it. 2 Norm Smiths (both deserved IMO), 1 Tuck medal, runner up in the Brownlow (when he should have won it over Clackermanis), 2 time club champion, all aussie several times and clearly the most skillful player we have. My missus even fancies the dude, but I will let him off on that one.

Ive already got $ on him winning the 05 Brownlow, I'm a beleiver, the real Macca's back in 05.
I will have some with you too....

It wasnt a bashing exercise just asked a question as to where his consistency has been....maybe his standards were too high ?

I just felt there was a general laziness in his approach and wanted to see if others had felt as I did he dropped his bottom lip after missing the Brownlow.

PerthCrow said:
I will have some with you too....

It wasnt a bashing exercise just asked a question as to where his consistency has been....maybe his standards were too high ?

I just felt there was a general laziness in his approach and wanted to see if others had felt as I did he dropped his bottom lip after missing the Brownlow.

I dont think he is lazy, I think he has just been disenchanted in Ayres coaching and the game plan. Like everyone who has ever witnessed a game he coached. He would have to be among the most negative coaches in the history of the game. I am expecting much better from several player around the club, including him, Bode, Ladhams and Torney. All coincidentaly naturally attacking players.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Well at least Macca has presented himself back to training in great shape, which would suggest he is motivated mentally to have a great year. It will make heck of a difference to our team with the Macca of old & a fit Goody to assist out Roo & Edwards in the midfield.

Whilst I'm sure some will take this as a troll could the new leaner Macca have anything to do with a documentary he and close mate filmed up here in the NT just over a month ago and is apparently the first of a few the duo have planned over the next couple of years.

Personally I'd like to see the old Macca playing again in 2005 (except against us of course) - hopefully we see the old attitude and sparkle back in his eye next year.

maccas problem is that hes maybe lost half a hard and the fact that theres no johnson, bickley and now stenglien dishing it out to him, hes mainly a reciever, and your only as good as the supply you get. i dont think ppl realise how important bickley was to our midfield. i think hes a little greedy too, taking about 500,00 they reckon, it unnecessarily puts the club under the squeeze.

jack did it said:
maccas problem is that hes maybe lost half a hard and the fact that theres no johnson, bickley and now stenglien dishing it out to him, hes mainly a reciever, and your only as good as the supply you get. i dont think ppl realise how important bickley was to our midfield. i think hes a little greedy too, taking about 500,00 they reckon, it unnecessarily puts the club under the squeeze.

PowerKop is that you? Your not playing around are you? Jack(cahill)_did_it?

And I am sure his gf would be worried if he has lost half a hard :p