What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

1)AFL
2)VFL - because of the AFL Players
then SANFL
3)SANFL is full of blokes not quite up to AFL standard but very good players. Alot of country vic good players are heading over again this year. A few going from Echuca and Shepp as well.

4)WAFL long last at present.

hence the word arguably. Im no expect on the sanfl but some def believe it is a better league

Did hear that apparently played over 150 games in the O&M and is a more than handy player. Will boost squares midfield. Also heard the Mark Lloyd is a massive chance to head back to square.

Luke Saunders news is huge i have no doubt there would be some very happy opposition side defenders. No doubt he has caused some headaches for these blokes over the years.
i reckon you in particular would be very pleased with the saunders news trickle. i understand you've had some good battles with him over the years old mate

hence the word arguably. Im no expect on the sanfl but some def believe it is a better league

You can say arguably but sanfl has the score on the board....the vfl these days because of the revamped system the afl goes by is so much in a comp for developing for the afl.
Why is'nt the wafl stronger than it should be !? as there are alot of victorians that play over there !?
Fair enough alot of sanfl clubs these days look to victorian country for players and their would be a high percentage of vc players that are up to the standard or do well.
Even before the afl (then vfl) became national the sanfl would've been on a par if not just in front of the old vfl.
Either way the sanfl & vfl will always be the best two competions outside the afl....
WAFL maybe no 1. for lifestyle :D:p:thumbsu:

You can say arguably but sanfl has the score on the board....the vfl these days because of the revamped system the afl goes by is so much in a comp for developing for the afl.
Why is'nt the wafl stronger than it should be !? as there are alot of victorians that play over there !?
Fair enough alot of sanfl clubs these days look to victorian country for players and their would be a high percentage of vc players that are up to the standard or do well.
Even before the afl (then vfl) became national the sanfl would've been on a par if not just in front of the old vfl.
Either way the sanfl & vfl will always be the best two competions outside the afl....
WAFL maybe no 1. for lifestyle :D:p:thumbsu:

You must be having a laugh saying the SANFL would have been on a par with the old VFL(which is now the AFL). The old VFL was the best Comp by a country mile in the the land as the best players from the SANFL went to play in the VFL....Blight, Cable,Glendenning,Farmer ect.
I'm hoping i've misunderstood your original post. If so im a DC.If not your a DC

You must be having a laugh saying the SANFL would have been on a par with the old VFL(which is now the AFL). The old VFL was the best Comp by a country mile in the the land as the best players from the SANFL went to play in the VFL....Blight, Cable,Glendenning,Farmer ect.
I'm hoping i've misunderstood your original post. If so im a DC.If not your a DC
Cable, Glendinning and Farmer (Polly) all came from the W.A.F.L. if my memory serves me correctly.

Thats right those players were the cream of the WA at different stages but they came over to play in the VFL because it was the number 1 comp.

Just on the argument about the SANFL and the VFL the VFL is widely known as the 2nd best comp in the nation as it has the most AFL listed players running around while there seems to be numerous players trying to keep themselves under the nose of the AFL clubs by playing in the VFL in preference to playing in the SANFL or WAFL e.g- Cloke and Skipworth.

You misunderstood mate & my mis pronounciation could be blame too.
In saying the old vfl i meant the vfa !! it's much of a muchness the difference between the two state leagues and one that would have opinions for both arguments.Yes the vfl does have that advantage of afl listed players but as does the sanfl with their crows or port listed players on a smaller scale.
The continual exodus of vfl/vcfl highly rated players to s.a does prove that the sanfl is a good standard to re-ignite ones fortunes to get back in the system or to improve ones self after starting out and looking to test yourself in the next best comp outside the afl.
Anyway this argument probably has been tossed and turned already in other threads.
In getting back to where i was going to go with this post....What type of player is Saunders and will he make the transition easily or he may need some adjustment !?

hey all,

just letting you know how im fairing up north of the border. extremelly well as a matter of fact, my foot is coming along nicely and i am reasonably fit.

we have an intra club on feb 22nd and then some praccy's in late march. ill let u all know how i go....and how many go through the big sticks. haha!

catchya all,

Damo xoxo

In getting back to where i was going to go with this post....What type of player is Saunders and will he make the transition easily or he may need some adjustment !?
best country footballer ive seen (and hardest). quality players like this bloke will step up to that level without to much trouble. vic country vice captain 2 years ago and would have been captain last year if not for injury. absolute champion bloke to.

not sure how may name attached to the post you are referring to. I would never suggest that the old vfl was on par with the sanfl. I have always thought the old vfl was by far the best league.

best country footballer ive seen (and hardest). quality players like this bloke will step up to that level without to much trouble. vic country vice captain 2 years ago and would have been captain last year if not for injury. absolute champion bloke to.

If we can agree that the vfl and sanfl are both of similar standards then it is fare to say he is already proven at this level. Played a few games with carltons vfl side(when they had a stand alone) about 4-5 years back and preformed very well(well enough to be invited to train with the ones in that pre season) and also played 1s with coburg when alot younger.
Agreed that he is a legend of a bloke.

The continual exodus of vfl/vcfl highly rated players to s.a does prove that the sanfl is a good standard to re-ignite ones fortunes to get back in the system or to improve ones self after starting out and looking to test yourself in the next best comp outside the afl.

It also means they pay well if not better than most VFL clubs as they have an untapped market and are not competing on the same scale for the dollar all vic clubs are.
I know a few playing in the SANFL and they wont play AFL but they will be very well compensated for their efforts

speaking of playrs heading west hears one 4 u
seamus young of the hurst will join his bro ross young at perth club in the wafl
beleve ross was on carltons rooky list but was delisted ovr summr meaning both youngs will be in perths colors this wintr

have heard james cozens will be bak in the maroon and blue after a shoulder reco
and kieran prowse returns to the q after a couple of years teaching in the u.k.
prowse is a handy addition .... inter leag player apart from kicking in skills for the dragns after a behind has been scored

Agree with this he has is the best player going around and not becuase he has the strongest hands or great skills but because he is the hardest, he tackles, chases, smoothers, blocks and does all the little things better than anyone and in 5 minutes he can win you a game. Not many blokes capable of that..

Anyone interested in a change of lifestyle which includes playing for the Zillmere Eagles in the State League competition (AFLQ) please contact me privately.

The club has a terrific history and are a young club on the rise after playing in the 2006 AFLQ Grand Final and last season winning the Reserve Grade Premiership. One of the top 5 clubs Australia Wide for players drafted.

Club has been involved in some off field issues which have now been resolved but have found ourselves slow out of the blocks from a recruiting point of view. The club is seeking recruits who feel they have something to offer at this level and would like to take the oppurtunity to live in QLD and play in the AFLQ.

Wouldn't have thought Lloydy would play against Kerang and if he did i'd reckon he would most likely go with Swan hill as his missus old man has had heaps to do with them over the years

Living and playing with Clint Kelly(Tyntynder) up in Darwin, so would be a bit of pressure from there.

Last time i spoke to him he was deciding between Kerang and Golden Square and it depended on him getting a job apparently Square have got him one would be very surprised to see him play at a different club in the CMFL.. would think a bloke by the name of Brett Jardine would make a comeback to play against him if he went to tyntynder or swan hill.