What's your greatest punting triumph?

• Thread starter Thread starter Scribe2

Scribe2 said:
I am a pretty bad punter, don't take exotics, usually just go straight out. Can't go a yard in the Spring.

But at the risk of sounding like a Noll, I am the king of the Slipper. Have backed 8 of the last 9 Golden Slipper winners. Follow a formula (rarely fails) and snap up the invariably better SuperTab odds.

My greatest ever day on the punt was when Ha Ha won the 2001 Slipper. Won an absolute packet on her, had a monumental bender, bought a new suit, a dog and a got ticket to Europe the next day.

I was just certain she would win. She had all the ticks. And when she sprinted clear with 300 to go, I don't know who was happier, me or Ian Craig. He just went bananas.

What made the win even better was that I was at South Yarra TAB and Robert Doyle was there (Liberal leader in Victoria and a firm candidate for Melbourne's most unlikeable man) and he was cheering home Accelerator, who stormed home to just miss (a great feeling at any TAB is when you and the muppett in the corner are cheering home rival nags and you just pip him)

In a game that takes more than it gives, I think we should disucss our greatest ever wins...

Two come to mind, Tickle My in 99 at Sandown, backed her like she was 2-1 on started at 15's and got the tri Tickle My - Mayfield-Smiths horse for second - field for third a lot of times walked away with a huge smile on my face that day.

The other would have been Oaks day this year.
Started out in the first thought that the Sydney horse would lead on the outside rail and have a easy time of it, had just the $10 on it cause I hadn't been to the bank yet.
it won, paid $18 - gave me $180 to play around with. Because we had free ********** & food and thought I'll chat with the females. come Quaddie time took the 2 class 4 and above horses in the greys, the 2 Freedmans horses in the oaks, Brockmans Lass & then the field 3 times, cost $180, safe as houses and a $30 winner in the last, walked away with $3300 after starting with $10.

Just recently, RAILINGS. Was certain it would win the Caulfield Cup , after backing it in The Metrop , went silly on it all week leading up to Caulfield , couldn`t believe Beadman hopped off it , crazy move Dazza.Blokes at work backed it off the map as well, even got a sling out of it !!!
Bucks Pride back when he ruled Qld racing, he looked after me very well.

I put my last $5 (until the next payday a few days later) on a trifecta at Flemington early this year, and got it - I had a long odds horse in 1st and 3rd as well, it paid 750-1 :]

This spring carnival i had 3 x $100 bets all on winners, the Turnbull stakes, the Cox Plat and the Melbourne Cup

$300
$240
$370

=$910

I don't think anyone will beat this one -

A few years back I had a double on the Goodwood hcp/Adelaide Cup double. I put all my bigger bets on but there was $1 left in my account so I put it on a rough combination and sure enough it got up! Won $1600 for $1! The double was Zip Zip Aray - The A Train.

Going back a few years now, I would have only been 14 or 15, Dad gave me $20 a race to have a bet on Emirates Stakes day. I picked 6 winners. Testa Rossa carved through the field to win with a stack of weight - I think it paid about $15 too. I finished about $600 ahead. Never ever got close to that again.

Probably Ferocity in this years Ascot Vale. As DT was quoted in the papers the next day, "got out to 26-1 but i think you will find it came into 21-1 in the end betting".

Landed a few big stings recently from that stable, Ambouli, Be Delicous, Forest Spy (*2), Glamour Puss (*2). In fact DT O'Brien is probably the only person from Xavier who i like and i have never met him.

After ten years of heavy losses, 2005 looks to be my first ever profit year on the punt.

As Bull Durham said "you must always respect a streak"

I was with my old man in the late 80's at a midweeker at doomben and he picked this thing called knight of indies at 250-1, he backed it each way and took a trifecta with all sorts of horses with indies to run 1st 2nd or 3rd, anyway we watched the race and it was a sh#t feed from sydney and we couldn't hear the bloody race very well but this thing absolutely flew down the outside and right on the line made a dive but it was too close to call if it won or not. So we're looking at the numbers of the horses and we realise holy sh#t this thing flying was knight of indies. Well holy crap lets look at the other horses, hey we've got that, we've got that, oh my god we've got the tri you beauty. Only prob is we still don't know if indies has won, the photo went for ages, only a nose in it but i looked at the other horses and they were 10-1 and 15-1, and didn't matter if indies wins or not we're in for a huge collect. Photo comes in, Indies didn't get there, DAMN!!! Tri paid $25,000 for $1 and we've got half a unit, also $15 e-way at 250's on the Indies. All up 13grand collect give or take. But whilst we were happy we went and looked at the trifecta pool and it was about 50 grand, and i swear to this day if Indies had've got up we'd have scooped the pool.

But this story doesn't end there...

Next race a thing called Jaykel Star was running, it was 4/6 odds on but i said to dad i saw this thing run last week it missed kick by 5, hunted up to sit outside leader, ran off the track round the turn and ended up on the outside running rail and still only got beat by a neck, to this day still the biggest run i've seen (even better than belle de jour in slipper, who i backed). So he said yeah son you reckon it can win hey, i said it will sh#t in dad, so he went and had 12,000 to 8,000 the win on it on my recommendation. It won by 6 lengths pulling up and i went nuts. Dad gave me a GOOD sling around $500 from memory. Pretty much marked time for the rest of the day and dad walked out with money coming out of his kooloo.

Geelong redhots in 1989 at xmas.

Went there in my bogan shorts and t-shirt, with $80 and nearly backed the card. Won around $1500 on things i was guessing, got paranoid and had to stuff the money in my socks and escape.

Always remember that meet for a ned called Encore Performance,
which at 22to1 on,
bookies closed the books,
never seen that before,
it won by a street.
Didn't back it.

Maybe not the greatest but the most amusing...

My ex was working at a pub doing the lunch shift in the bistro. I went to meet her after her shift finished.

Tuesday afternoon was the Hamilton races. Hamilton race was about to start in 5 minutes. Went up and had a quick look at the form (by quick, I mean 30 seconds). Spent $2 on a standout 1st, with 2/3, 2/3 for $1.

Winner pays $11, 2nd pays $2.60, 3rd pays $1.10...

Tri pays $873...

Got some good lovin that afternoon!

What about another bet my old man had one day, it was in the saab quality last race derby day in 1989 or something, he had $250 e-way on a horse called non-aligned a cummings grey horse, and it was paying about 40-1. He'd also taken it in doubles with cole diesel in the caulfield cup and stood to win over 150 grand if it got up. Anyway i swear absolutely SWEAR TO GOD non-aligned cruised up on the outside with 150m to go going half pace the jockey hand him under double wraps going easy, the horse was jogging i am not kidding, and the rest of them were plodders going nowhere. I thought my god this thing is home, dad's gonna win thousands and he'll have squillions riding on the cup you ripper i'm in the money (he slings when he wins). So the jockey lets it go to the front it got 1/2 length in front and around the 120 mark he goes full boar, and it dead set finds diddly squat and weakened to finish 4th. The horses that run 1,2 were the one's it was passing at the 150 whilst travelling like PharLap. Unbelievable. And that is not a word of an exaggeration, he spoke about non aligned for years after that, the greatest cat of a thing ever to grace a racetrack.

2004 GF, down to about $10 in each of my two online betting accounts.

$6 on Byron Pickett for the Norm Smith at $42 = $ 240 gain (also wasted $6 on Martin Pike at 80s)
$1 on Josh Carr for the first goal at $34 = about $27 gain (laid out $1 on a few others too)

Also had money weeks earlier on, on Port for the flag, so it was a good day all round.

Unwritten_Law said:
Going back a few years now, I would have only been 14 or 15, Dad gave me $20 a race to have a bet on Emirates Stakes day. I picked 6 winners. Testa Rossa carved through the field to win with a stack of weight - I think it paid about $15 too. I finished about $600 ahead. Never ever got close to that again.

One of my favourite races :thumbsu: , along with Ethereal's BMW.

Ricketts said:
One of my favourite races :thumbsu: , along with Ethereal's BMW.
I was working that day at rogies, saw the price on the tote and tried to get on on the phone, no luck, as they were running out I darted out of the stables, across the track and to the first bookie I saw in jeans and a tee-shirt in the rails area.
Got him at 14's had just $50 each way on him but it was well worth the ********** I got in for it at work.

Biggest win's:

$1100 trifecta on a lazy Sunday down at the TAB. From memory I boxed up 4 and had 3 x 10-1 shots in there. Pretty sure they ran in reverse order of favouritism.

$1000 trifecta on Melb Cup day this year. Hillfa came 1st, 20-1. Had a 2-3-5 tri, 3rd was a stride from overtaking 2nd and nearly ruining it for me.

TODAY! Got my biggest Quaddie - $650. Don't do them that often, best win was roughly $100, but today cleaned up at Werribee.

My biggest win bets:

$100 on Elvstroem, Caulfield Cup 04, at $3.70 = $370 collect
$200 on Lad of the Manor, Mackinnon 05 at $2.70 = $540 collect
$40 on Diamond Hailey at Adelaide at $8 = $320 collect
$7.50 EW on Overclock at Adelaide at $33 = $320 collect

Had a few $300, $200, $100 tri's aswell the last few years

Getting the pick 12 (all AFL and WAFL winners) in WA when Fevola kicked that goal against Adelaide at AAMI last year. $7500.
Got a 4k quad thanks to a pacer called King Caesar that is going around at the moment. Also got a 5.5k quad a couple of years ago on the trots.

Took on that bloody thing from Japan , Silent Witness, was down the tote one afternoon, Saturday , lateish , and the bloke who reads the odds goes..." and Silent Witness is going for 18 in a row"....and I`ve said to the boys , "******** that , that`s ridiculous , 18 in a row, no way"...so we`ve pooled the money picked two horses out and gone bang, had 50 on two horses, we`ve obviously backed the winner Bullish roar or Bullish luck something Bull anyway....but have we screamed the tote down ?!?!?!?! Everyone`s on the fave bar our little group, a long day turned into a long night.....

Firstly, I would like to introduce myself to everyone.

I have two moments in my punting life that stick out.

1. At a pub in Emerald (NW QLD) on Melbourne Cup Day 2004. I picked a trifecta in Sydney Race 5 I picked 3 horses (I forget their names) and figured I'd put a total of $50 on a box trifecta. I filled out the ticket, as I would in NSW, forgetting that the TAB tickets are different in QLD. I went to the packed TAB queue, slipped the ticket through the 1950's style machine and was politely informed that the ticket would cost me $300 and that he wouldnt change it because there were too many people in the queue. I handed over the cash and waited, almost crying in my beer.
I watched the race and the bloody thing got up paying $190 for the trifecta. I put $500 on the bar for everyone and collected my $9,500.

2. At Port Macquarie (NSW) on an end-of-year footy trip I laid out $100 on a nag named, Run Amok which was paying $27.00 at the time. It wasn't a chance for the entire race until it flew home to win by a nose, winning me $2,000 in the process.

Thats my greatest punting triumphs.

On schoolies a few years back, punting nirvana. Didn't seem like I could back a loser. The sums are insignificant now, only won about $500 all up, but THEN, being schoolies and being young and all, it was all the money in the world.

Tipping six winners on Derby Day last year, including Miss Potential at 30-1 (with bookies, not on tote), was a highlight as well.

Here is the proof, BTW: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=139874&highlight=Miss+Potentia

Note that my post was edited subsequently (had to for tipping comp), but also note Juddy03's post on the day, congratulating me.

Lockyer24 said:
Biggest win's:

$1100 trifecta on a lazy Sunday down at the TAB. From memory I boxed up 4 and had 3 x 10-1 shots in there. Pretty sure they ran in reverse order of favouritism.

$1000 trifecta on Melb Cup day this year. Hillfa came 1st, 20-1. Had a 2-3-5 tri, 3rd was a stride from overtaking 2nd and nearly ruining it for me.

TODAY! Got my biggest Quaddie - $650. Don't do them that often, best win was roughly $100, but today cleaned up at Werribee.

My biggest win bets:

$100 on Elvstroem, Caulfield Cup 04, at $3.70 = $370 collect
$200 on Lad of the Manor, Mackinnon 05 at $2.70 = $540 collect
$40 on Diamond Hailey at Adelaide at $8 = $320 collect
$7.50 EW on Overclock at Adelaide at $33 = $320 collect

Had a few $300, $200, $100 tri's aswell the last few years
You knew Bella Strega was going to lose :( Damn you. King's Creek was a cert. I was out first leg of that quaddie.. did a bottom end quaddie with Bella 1 out and King's 1 out and then filled the last 2 races.