Where has everybody gone?

I realise that there are other sites for us to visit. Coaches Box for example but BigFooty as a site for all fans gives us a chance to show the other teams the level of support we have for the Blues. I know some of you will say "who cares what the others think?" but we have developed a reputation around here as fans that go missing in action a fair bit. The lack of posting even when the season has started probably adds weight to the views of rival fans.

Surely, we all have questions, theories, memories and boasts that we can come up with about Carlton? I will keep posting topics as that is my obligation but I would much rather read thoughts of all other Blues fans and it doesn't hurt for the others to see that the Blues board has come alive.

Cheers

Sorry ODN haven't really been able to get online all that much lately, I've got heaps of work at school and stuff.
I'll make an extra effort from now on.... keep the topics coming and i will keep replying!!
To get it started.... how does everyone think we will go against the Hawks on Saturday?

Meg, it's going to be a toughie, the Hawks look to be in great form. This week we have Hicky back (YEEEHAAA) and Kouta and SOS will pick up with a game behind them. I've tipped Carlton to win, I think the boys can come through, but I think it will be pretty close.

------------------
Nat

Me too, Nat. I think it will be a definite toughie. I think the Hawks are a much improved team, and so it'll be a hard one!!

Though I'm going to tip the Blues by 2 goals
smile.gif

Hawks are getting continually hyped by all those ex players that hang around the media. I saw them play v Magpies and really they were pretty weak. They will be struggling to match up Kouta and Matty. If we can stop their backline - Hay, Rawlings etc - from running it out, there's no Plan B. Lance must stand up and the ruckmen must come forward to give them something to think about. The guy who could do it is Hotton - I liked his efforts last week. He's tough and likes to tackle and annoy, plus he can kick goals.
The ex players live vicariously through this team so let's paste them.

I'm very confident for this game and for the season in general. With only Franchina and Christou to come back (and won't a fit Ang make a difference) and some good youngsters coming through, this side is looking great. I don't care about the one point win over Freo. We were gone but still got up. I have seen a lot of Blues games where we wouldn't have come back from that. If we have done enough praying to the injury goals, we will be Grand Finalists for sure.

Our midfield looks set to decimate the Hawks. We just need to find the goals. I'm looking for a Sos-a-thon in the goalsquare.

ODN, you are so right, a fit Ang will make such a difference. Franchina will also be a plus for the Blues, I really think we miss him. So far the injury gods have treated us kindly, let's hope that continues!!

------------------
Nat

Originally posted by Grendel:
ODN,
tongue.gif

Winners are grinners and losers can please themselves. I look forward to returning the gesture next time around Grendel.
wink.gif

Fair dinkum? What is that supposed to mean? Will we still be Carlton supporters? Um..Yes!

Will we come on here in droves to eat the shit you will be dishing out? Why should we?

I am not one of the people who make big statements and go missing in action if it all goes wrong. In fact, I am very cautious about each upcoming match and if we lose, the last thing I want to do is talk about footy. I usually need to concentrate on something else because it hurts too much for the first day or so.

I am also not one of the people who asks where all the Bomber supporters have gone if they lose. I understand passion and disappointment and everybodys need to deal with a loss. I do not have a problem with calling out the fans who brag and gloat about how good they and what they are going to do to the other team but disappear when it is time to take what is coming to them.

So Dan, exactly what is your point? Apart from it being a long weekend this week and having to go places and do things, IF the Blues do lose, I may or may not be around the boards and if I am, I certainly will NOT feel duty bound to respond to disrespectful slagging off but may respond to constructive discussion.

Do you see a problem with that?

------------------
mens sana in corpore sano - a sound mind in a sound body

ODN

For once, I think Dan has a point - the very same point YOU started this thread with.

Fair dinkum = non frontrunner, non fair weather friend supporters.

If you all continue to turn out all year despite a hypothetical lean trot - like we did during the pre-season mini-debacle then you can tell him he's wrong.

Fair question.

My question remains. How many would the Blues have to lose on the trot (be it due to form, injury or a bit of both) for Jack to take out Brittain. I would have thought Wayne has a get out of jail free immunity for at least 1/2 the season... but
with Parkin's controlling influence gone...it begs the question.... particularly if you get murdered on Thurday night (not saying that you will).

Sorry Dan..Carlton supporters are very loyal
and we dont jump ship when the weather is bad. You have to be a carlton supporter to know how we think..ask any carlton supporter and he/she will tell you that success is just around the corner. We dont rebuild..no 3-5 year plans..just regroup..we are a flag chance every year..we dont aim to make the eight.. we aim to be on top of it...thats why we dont have a wooden spoon in our cabinet next to our premiership cups. Essendon are top dog at the moment and good luck to them, they have worked hard and deserve their success..but you know as well as any football supporter.. we are your greatest enemy because you know we wont accept running second or third, and we have the resources to get back to the top.

Originally posted by The Dutchman!:
ODN

For once, I think Dan has a point - the very same point YOU started this thread with.

Fair dinkum = non frontrunner, non fair weather friend supporters.

If you all continue to turn out all year despite a hypothetical lean trot - like we did during the pre-season mini-debacle then you can tell him he's wrong.

Fair question.

My question remains. How many would the Blues have to lose on the trot (be it due to form, injury or a bit of both) for Jack to take out Brittain. I would have thought Wayne has a get out of jail free immunity for at least 1/2 the season... but
with Parkin's controlling influence gone...it begs the question.... particularly if you get murdered on Thurday night (not saying that you will).

Dutchman, Firstly I will be around here just as much as I usually am but I will pick and choose which topics I reply to. If it is constructive, I will reply. If it is merely disrespectful drivel, I either won't reply or my reply will be equally as disrespectful. I don't treat others badly when they are upset about a loss, so I don't have to answer to them either.

As for the other Blues fans, I am not suggesting they are not loyal. I know that they frequent some Carlton sites only as that is where there interest lies. Maybe so committed to the Blues that they don't want to know about the other clubs. That's not fairweather. I just wanted to increase the presence around here to show the other fans we do have loyal fans. If they come and go, it is because that is what they have always done, not because of the ladder position at the time.

Brittain's future is neither here nor there, two games in, it's a mute point and far too early to even speculate. You don't get over a legendary coach like Parko that quickly. Whatever will be, will be.

btw Sticks, never a truer word has been spoken mate. It doesn't matter where we are on the ladder, I always expect to win the flag. Maybe that is why my disappointment is so intense when it doesn't happen.

------------------
mens sana in corpore sano - a sound mind in a sound body

ODN's

Chill out a bit. I'm only stirring you. I'm ust excited about Thursday night. It's going to be a big win for the Bombers over our most despised rival, and it's going to make my week!! I can't wait!!!

ask any carlton supporter and he/she will tell you that success is just around the corner. We dont rebuild..no 3-5 year plans..just regroup..we are a flag chance every year..we dont aim to make the eight.. we aim to be on top of it...thats why we dont have a wooden spoon in our cabinet next to our premiership cups.

Sigh.

Those were the days.